0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Martin Performing Artist DCPA4R Rosewood - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 36 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin Performing Artist DCPA4R Rosewood - Natural?

Questions about the Martin Performing Artist DCPA4R Rosewood - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Augusta, Ga October 6, 2016

    Cannot own a Michelangelo, but got close

    My Martin Dreadnought DCPA4R has solid Sakai Spruce top Rosewood back and sides that adds tonal color and awesome sustain. This model features a 14-fret cutaway with Performing Artist profile neck and Fishmanís F1 Analog on-board electronics. The fret-board is a pleasure to grasp and it enables one to let their fingers dance the entire length with ease. Holding this work of art close the body or away from the body the Martin sustain still rings out. I love playing guitar, but with this Martin it is hard to put down. In addition to this I bought a Fishman acoustic amp which delivers a very clean sound with just enough gain, high, mids, and low switches to change the flavor of my sound. Between 1 to 5 stars I would give this Martin a 10. The only thing that was just ok were the Martin strings that came on the guitar. Too much noise when changing chords. As always the service and deliver time from Sweetwater was excellent.

  • from Ky September 16, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Engineer

    My forever acoustic!

    I was in the market for an OM sized guitar, and just happened to pick up the DCPA4 Shaded in a local store. I loved it! But.... That one was sold, so I called Sweetwater when I got home, and ordered the last Shaded they had. When it arrived, I played with it some, and found the action was just way too high, and couldn't be worked out. It needed a neck reset. Long story short, Sweetwater quickly made it right, and I ended up picking the DCPA4R in its place, and it's a much richer sounding guitar! I never dreamed it would be that much better. I've put several hours on this one already, and love the feel and tone. It has that tone you expect from a Martin, but with a little warmer midrange than others I've played. The neck is great, not huge, but not modern electric thin. I'll hang onto this one forever. It's a perfect fit for me!
    And there's never been a greater group of people to deal with than the folks at Sweetwater. The sales guys and the service department are very knowledgable and really on top of things.

  • from Norwich CT August 10, 2016Music Background:
    Garage bands and open mics.

    Martin DCPA4R

    Bought this guitar a few weeks ago. My first higher end acoustic guitar. I was very happy with the guitar. It was everything I wanted and more. My sweetwater rep Ashton Vaugt made this a great experience. During the initial inspection there was a fault (scratch) . They got me another one that passed and I couldn't be happier. The level of customer service I received at sweetwater was over the top. I highly recommend them to all my musician friends. This was a huge step up from my old Takamine guitar. Yes there are more expensive and better Martin guitars. This is what I call a working man's guitar. Solid and flawless quality.

  • from Oxford, AL March 22, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Bummed I bought it

    I thought my best sounding guitar was my Gibson J45 Custom, until I purchased this jewel, bummed me out I spent 3 grand on the J45. This guitar proves that you dont have to spend 3 or 4 grand to have a guitar that sounds amazing. I'm a worship leader at my church and I absolutely love this guitar plugged or playing in my lap. Good deep sound you expect from Martin and fretting is like dancing on cotton. I love this guitar, I'll never get rid of it and when it sounds good, you play more and when I play more, I'm happy as I can be.

  • from Hurley WI March 2, 2016

    DCPA4 R Rosewood

    Excellent guitar, was delivered on Friday, and being played live Saturday, solid construction, sublime tone, electronics are way more than I had expected, action is so crisp to it's almost like not playing acoustic. I'm glad I didn't spend more on a higher end Martin, this will do famously till the end of time. Great praise unto Martin for a high quality guitar for the workin folk. Having Aaron as a sales rep made the buying process so smooth, and simple that if sweetwater doesn't carry what I'm after... I must not need it. Many Thanks

  • from Upland, Ind November 29, 2015Music Background:
    Gospel, folk and traditional country.

    Very good

    I got mine in Ft. Wayne and it has proved to be a out standing guitar. The action was almost perfect, slight adjustment took care of that there in the store. The tone is outstanding as well. It would have looked a little better if it had been a gloss finish is all. Very easy to play and changing the battery is very easy as well.. Sweetwater knows how to prepare their guitars rite out of the case. Oh yes, the case it came in is wonderful too. Mike Hughes, Upland, Indiana.

  • from Arizona October 29, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur player. Playing about 30 years.

    Couldn't Be Happier

    I haven't owned an acoustic guitar for decades. My last acoustic was a Yamaha FG-75 back in the 70's. I've played mostly rock/Southern rock on electric so haven't had much need for acoustic.

    In the last few years I've been seriously contemplating an acoustic and had a price range in mind. I set out exploring my options but I've always wanted a Martin. My first guitar teacher, when I was just a kid, played a D35 and I loved the tone of it.

    After kicking the tires of various Martins for the last couple years, I finally decided on the CDPA4. I got the 4-R strictly by accident. The store I called only had the rosewood in stock so I asked them the best price they could do. $1555 OUT THE DOOR! I even talked them into throwing in a strap.

    When I showed up at the store, they took me into the "boutique room" and I grabbed the DCPA4R. As soon as I ran through "Melissa" by the Allman Brothers, I knew this was it. Effortless playablity, no fret buzz anywhere. The tone and resonance gave me goose bumps. The electronics are good, the tuner works well and the neck profile fits my hand perfectly.

    The only place I could see improvement would be a rosewood or ebony fingerboard but that would jump the price up a couple notches. Honestly, this fingerboard is fine and you'd never know it was synthetic.

    The sound is full and balance and all "Martin". To me, the darker Martin tone is the "classic" acoustic tone. If you like the full, dark Martin sound, you'll love this guitar. The tone is balance and the highs are crisp and resonant.

  • from Manchester NH August 31, 2015Music Background:
    I'm a passionate player

    Martin DCPA4R

    I' am not the type of person to purchase a guitar sight unseen without playing it first. The usual routine is to visit the local music store and whatever guitar I choose will be played, and if it's still in my hands 2 hours later, then I consider it to be the one.
    I needed an acoustic and having owned 3 Martin guitars in the past , there was no question about purchasing a Martin. I visited the Sweetwater and was looking at the DCPA4R Rosewood acoustic. I wanted to know more about this model, so I read the reviews. They were all positive. Then I gave Matt at Sweetwater a call to order this instrument. It arrived witin 3 days and the FedEx guy handed it to me well packaged. When I sat down to play, I had my concerns and expectations, and especially would I bond with this guitar. I sorted through my collection of picks and found the one that unlocked the sound I was hoping to hear. That beautiful Martin sound like no other, complete with the proper sustain and harmonics indicative of a great guitar maker. This guitar is not only a joy to play, it's inspiring and feeding my soul. This is one great guitar! My fellow musicians, if you need an affordable guitar made to be played, this is it. There is no need to have any doubts just buy it. Martin has been making guitars pre-civil war, think about it, and Sweetwater made it possible with easy financing to make ownership a reality. Thanks, Matt & Sweetwater.

  • from paducah, KY August 28, 2015

    Oh yes.

    This is my first Martin guitar. It's about time- I'm 56 years old- and a "professional." I've owned many acoustics. Yamaha, Ovation, Taylor, Larrivee, Parker, Alvarez...

    I've dealt with Sweetwater for years. There is none better. Anyway this Martin guitar. LOVE OUT OF THE BOX! Though I like to mic my acoustic, it's not always possible. This guitar is a dream, when using the onboard Fishman pickup.

    When I first tuned it up- I felt that the action was a bit high. I like to use a capo up high on the neck. I took it to my luthier. He used to work at Martin. He told me that most Martins come with "higher" action because the typical Martin player is bluegrass. That mean's they bang and pick the hell out of it.
    He lowered the action- $40. Oh yes. Get one of these!

  • from Michigan May 12, 2015

    love at first touch!

    I could not be any happier with this guitar. The playability, feeling, sound, and even smell of this guitar are out of this world. As someone who gigs as a hobby a few times a year, the onboard electronics were really a must for me. They sound FANTASTIC through by Bose L1 Compact. The action is very light, yet no fret buzz. I didn't know bar chords could be so easy! The clarity is awesome. I have had this guitar in my sights for a long time and couldn't be happier I finally pulled the trigger. Top notch service from the guys at Sweetwater as always. You guys rock!

  • from Ironwood, MI April 13, 2015Music Background:
    Played for many years, but still learning!

    Tears to my eyes with a sound for my soul

    Just got my DCPA4R today! When I opened the case what a beautiful sight! I took , out played a few chords and the sound soothing to my soul. I had previously sold ,10 years ago, my 1971 D 35 and have been sick ever since. The sound of this performing artist model has now taken the sickness away and I have a perfect replacement to the beyond my budget D 35. This guitar plays so well I can't put it down. The neck is perfect and the sound is unbelievable. The build and finish is perfect. The smell of the rosewood is addicting. I will never sell this one! Thanks Sweetwater for the excellent set up and service. The 24 month no interest is perfect, too!

  • from Kerrville, TX February 10, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Songwriter, Jam Addict

    Perfect Fit For Me

    This is the guitar I've been waiting for. I've always preferred the Martin tone -- have owned a DM for 15 years and played every Martin model I could get my hands on. The issue I've had with every one is that their necks just aren't made for my caveman hands. For this reason, I always figured my next acoustic guitar would be a Taylor -- much easier on my hands than the standard Martins. A few months ago, I had the opportunity to play one of the PA series Martins and I knew I had found my next guitar. It's the perfect combination of playability and good ol' Martin tone. Add in solid rosewood at this price range, along with the cutaway design and this is my dream guitar. I've owned this guitar for just over a month and in that time, I've found myself playing more often and for longer stretches than at any time within the last five years.

    This was my first purchase from Sweetwater and I must say, I'm very impressed by their attention to customer service. My sales engineer, Ashton, was very helpful and the new guitar made it to my front door in three days. Couldn't be more pleased!

  • from Ellettsville, IN, USA February 5, 2015Music Background:
    Pastor of Media (Live Sound/Media), Beginner Guitarist

    Great Sound

    Great Sound with the guitar. Electronics taking a bit of getting used to as they are very sensitive for the the lack of a better word to describe it. They pick up REALLY well. I play with the praise team at the church and it has been good to be able to bring down the gain. It is primarily the eq structure on the sound system end.
    The action is very nice and has great playability. I have noticed mush less finger fatigue compared to my Washburn that I had prior to this. I am still learning but this is a guitar that I can continue to grow into without a doubt. A lot of guitar for the money. Sound is comparable to the $2500 and $3000 guitars with only minor sound difference to the discerning ear. The biggest sound difference is the money that is still in your pocket at the end.
    Devin at sweetwater picked the guitar out of there stock for me and chose very well. The grain on the top is beautiful and the Rosewood is a very warm rich tone in color and sound. He hasn't steered me wrong once.
    The case is quite nice and is heavy compared to others that I have had. Feels very protected when the guitar is in the case.
    I am very happy with this purchase.

  • from Twin Falls, Id. December 26, 2014

    awesome service by Andy, Beautiful guitar with excellent sound

    Very impressed with Sweetwater service. Andy answered all of my questions, helped me choose between 2 guitars. Love this guitar , beautiful quality and sound.

  • from NJ USA October 28, 2014

    Martin DCPA4-R

    The Martin DCPA4-R is perfection in the shape of a guitar. Bar chords and power chords are effortless to achieve and ring with the punch and clarity you can only get through real Rosewood back and sides. Itís also worth mentioning the smell youíre hit with every time you open the case of a Martin. That smell alone justifies the price.

    Thanks to Sweetwater for their exceptional service and thanks to my sales rep Joe Schafer (ext 1393) for pointing me in the direction of this beautiful guitar.

  • from North Haverhill, NH October 7, 2014Music Background:
    Bluegrass Gospel, Flatpicking songs and Praise and Worship music at church

    Greatest Guitar ever!

    This guitar is the greatest playing guitar ever. Perfect when I opened the shipping box. Plays beautifully and the sound and sustain is excellent. Sweetwater is my only source for all music needs. Staff was the best and extremely helpful. I can't say enough positive things about Sweetwater.

  • from Texas August 18, 2014Music Background:
    Picker

    Martin DCPA4

    Got my Martin DCPA4 around July, 6 of 2014. I've played a lot of different acoustics but this one has really taken me. From the moment I opened the box the smell was and still is intoxicating. Plays and feels almost like an electric guitar. Israel Foster is my blood brother thank you for everything.

  • from Vernon, Texas June 21, 2014Music Background:
    country, blue grass, gospel in country & bluegrass

    Martin DCPRA Purchased by senior guitarist

    There's nothing more to say about the dcpa4r than it is completely perfect. it arrived just as Sweetwater said it would, and the steps they went through before shipment assured me it would.
    Which brings me to Sweetwater Music & Sales Personal.
    I'm a 68 year old musician- bought so many instruments that I can't even remember all of them.
    If I could suggest anything at all , it would simply be this: Musician Friends & other such musical dealers sure do need to take some lessons from Sweetwater. --- Thanks Guy's, Job Well Done

  • from Pa April 6, 2014

    Great Guitar Paired with Great Customer Service

    The only thing better that this great guitar is the customer service given to my order. Thank you Peter and kudos to you and your company. I can't put this beauty down. I will definitely buy from sweetwater again! They deliver what they promise. You can't go wrong with a Martin and you definitely can't go wrong with sweetwater!

  • from Guntersville, AL February 14, 2014Music Background:
    PLAYED OF AND ON SINCE 11 YRS OLD +45 NOW

    Sustain is Incredible

    I was lucky and received a little reduction for what I purchased due to it being a demo but that did not bother me at all when i received the guitar, I felt like I stole it, The tone of the rosewood sides and the x-braced sitka spruce top makes for a harmonic tone that will stick to your ears and as a woodworker and ex owner of takamine sg523sc t;here is a huge difference in the difference of the maple and the rosewood. For what this guitar sells for it is the perfect performing artist guitar made

  • from Ogilvie, Mn. February 10, 2014Music Background:
    The wife of a man who loves to jam on his Martin.

    Good choice

    I bought the DCPA4R for my Husband's Birthday present. He was SO pleased with the Martin! The sound is incredible. The workmanship and quality is flawless. Finally, the service and customer followup by Sweetwater is unmatched. I will be making future online purchases from them.

  • from Upland, Indiana February 8, 2014Music Background:
    Gospel -folk and traditionsl country, not this new crap.

    Fantastic

    I now own this rosewood one and simply love it. I have found that it plays better then many $3000+ guitars and the tone pluged in or not is simply wonderful. If you are looking for a working artist guitar that you would be proud to play on stage or in a studio, you won't go wrong with this Martin.The neck design fits my hand as if Chris Martin had measured it and directed the guys in the shop to make it just for me.

  • from Upland, Indiana December 24, 2013Music Background:
    Gospel, folk and traditional country.

    Rosewood DCPA4

    I just got mine on the 23rd and am very pleased. Tone and action is great. The wood is also outstanding to look at. This will shine on stage or at a jam session. This is truly a working players guitar, not so costly that you wouldn't want to take it out but very high quality and stage or studio ready. Take one out for a spin and you will want it in your collection as I did.

  • from Beckley,WV November 4, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Project Studio Engineer

    Very Nice!

    Right out of the case, this guitar was ready to impress. Playability was incredible and the clear tone was room-filling. Probably the best Martin I've played in years. I wouldn't consider it a D-28 replacement, but with a little more bass resonance it could be. If you like a modern brighter tone in your AC/EL try this one out.

  • from Rosharon TX March 8, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Martin DCPA4R

    I realy like my Martin great sound.I have a hard time putting it down . Sweetwater did a great job for me and will be glad to give them my buisness on other gear. THANKS ALOT SWEETWATER

  • from Elizabethton,Tn March 1, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Big dollar quality at an affordable price!

    If you are looking for a quality acoustic/electric guitar,there`s just no way you can go wrong with this one.Shimmering highs,and deep,full lows that don`t muddy out.Just got it Wednesday and I`m still like a kid at Christmas!Guitar came perfectly set up and even perfectly in tune!Flawless!And the candy is a nice touch!Thanks to Lindsey and everyone at Sweetwater.You guys are top notch!

  • from Tulsa, Oklahoma February 25, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    This guitar

    This guitar has a super feel and plays better than any I've played, and has a great sound. So thanks guys.

  • from paris, MI January 24, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Musician.

    Awesome guitar!

    Had this guitar for just about a month, and I still can't put it down! Makes me smile every time I play it! Sweetwater as always was great to work with as well. The action came nice and low from the factory. Best sounding acoustic I've ever heard! The electronics are very user friendly and easy to use. Sounds great plugged in as well. Everything about this guitar is great! Flawless! I am very happy with my purchase! Thanks Martin, and big thanks to Sweetwater! I won't do my shopping anywhere else!

  • from Marietta, GA January 4, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Great Guitar!

    This guitar has all the quality of highend instrument at a reasonable price. I love it.

  • from Pa September 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, light performing musician

    The best purchase I have ever made !

    I've had this guitar for close to a month now and am so glad I bought it. I I am always hesitant to spend the extra money to get what I want but am
    so glad I did. Made in The U.S.A. By a respectable company. It came flawless, no buzzing anywhere on the fretboard. Sustain beats all my other acoustics, deep beautiful sound. So much easier to fret bar chords than my cheaper guitars. If this one would get stolen or lost to some kinda disaster I'd be ordering another A.S.A.P. The best purchase I have ever made. If you love to play buy one.

  • from Lewiston, CA August 23, 2012Music Background:
    Studio rat, occasional live player

    Wow. Yup. Wow.

    I hate it when I have to acknowledge a weakness in my own personality. But, I admit... when I first saw this series of Martins, I was disappointed that they appeared to be caving to the Taylor Revolution. I realized alot of people love Taylor, and that's what makes the world go around, but they have always been lacking in low end tightness and too hyped in the high end for MY personal taste. So, when I first picked up the Performing Artist series Martins at a big box store, I didn't know what to expect. What I got was that amazing sound that just makes me smile and feel all warm and fuzzy like I just picked up a puppy. That was the Sapele sides and back, as well. The rosewood is even less sloppy at the bottom end, I believe, though I did not get to A/B them. The feel is fantastic, quality is flawless, the playability incredible. The built in tuner, the plugged in sound quality.... all nice. Comes with a sturdy hard case. Sweetwater was, as always, amazing. Ordered it on a friday, got it in California the next thursday with no cost for shipping. I balked for a long time to make this purchase, as I'm not the greatest player in the world, but this thing beckons to me to work harder and just inspires with every note. If you are like I was- wondering, thinking, analyzing.... just do it. You will not regret it.

  • from Old Bridge, NJ June 5, 2012Music Background:
    Avid Hobbyist

    Martin DCPA4 Rosewood Delivers

    This guitar really blew me away from the first chord. It has that classic Martin tone combined with great playability.The Rosewood back and sides really give this guitar a great dynamic range from deep rich bass to sparkly treble. For the money this guitar cannot be beat. This was the first guitar I ever ordered on-line, so was a bit nervous. Kudos to Sweetwarer for their focus on customer service. The guitar arrived just a few days after I placed the order, and it was in immaculate condition. There were no blemishes whatsoever, and the action was perfect (low with no buzz on any string on any fret).

  • from Virginia Beach, VA May 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great guitar with Quality sound

    Of all the guitars that I had played in this price range, the DCPA4 was hands down my favorite. It has a really full sound with warm lows. I was originally interested in the Sapele version although deep down I wanted a guitar made with Rosewood. Very soon after I noticed that Martin now had a Rosewood DCPA4. I called up Sweetwater to see if they were going to get any and how much they would cost. Since this guitar was a new model the sales associate had to do a little research and then call me back. He was very fast in getting back to me. Not only could they get me the guitar, they beat the list price by $50.00 and shipped it to me for free. Shipping only took like two business days. The guitar also came with a full Sweetwater two year warranty for free. The same type of warranty that Guitar Center will try to sell you for a couple hundred dollars. After receiving the guitar, I am extremely satisfied. It sounds amazing. I have since played some other more expensive Martins and I think this guitar sounds better. Play one and you will agree.

  • from Shell lake, WI October 12, 2013Music Background:
    musician

    Great guitar

    Recently had my hands fixed and was looking for a new guitar I chose this one and was impressed from the git go .love the ease of play on the neck and was impressed by the rich tone and bottom end sound that it gave when played. ive played more in the last month than ive played in ten years .look forward to having this guitar for a long time.also Sweet water staff was great from start to finish look forward to doing more business with ya in the future.

    Slickycapo

  • from Arizona January 16, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Enthusiast/Hobbyist

    Martin Performing Artist DCPA4-R

    I have been playing on a Taylor 210 and Taylor 214ce the past several years. I was quite pleased with Taylor guitars for the price. I have played on a few friends Martins and liked the sound and playability. The descent Martin guitars were always too expensive for the amateur guitarist and too poorly sounding in their lower end models. Finally Martin began producing a modest priced great sounding quality guitar for the non professional guitarist. I absolutely love the playability of the DCPA4R and the beautiful ranges of sound it can produce! The DCPA4R has rich lows and crisp highs, and the Fishman Electronics is adequate and allows the person to reasonably dial in the tonal effects the person is looking for. The resonance and sustain are so much better than either Taylor I own. I hardly ever pick up my other guitars anymore unless going out to the deck/fire pit to play at night. I am so pleased with this purchase. I know that at some point in my future, I will purchase another Martin Guitar.

  • from Nashville TN February 26, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good guitar, ridiculous pricing policy

    This is a case where Martin made an affordable guitar that sounds good enough that any level of professional would have no problem performing with it in any kind of setting. I think this guitar has a solid design and build quality. Just a good guitar. I have seen better finishes but think it is in line with the price. This guitar plainly did a respectable job for the price and I had decided to order one until I was told Martin jacked up the price nearly 20%. In one day Martin jumped the price from $1649 to an absurd $1959. Sweetwater gave me the old price or I would have walked. Many other Martins went up a similar amount. Inflation has averaged 3% or less per year for several years. The whole thing has dramatically changed my opinion of Martin who has historically offered exceptionally good products at a fair price. I quickly lose respect for any company who will abandon the chance to offer their customers a good product at a fair price, but would rather exploit what many might say is a pricing policy of grab all you can now and hope the customers don't notice.
    Bottom line, a good guitar but there are betters things available for the money.

Questions about the Martin Performing Artist DCPA4R Rosewood - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close