0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Martin Performing Artist DCPA4 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin Performing Artist DCPA4?

Questions about the Martin Performing Artist DCPA4?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Chicago October 5, 2016

    Performing Artist

    Absolutely love this guitar. Sounds great plugged in or unplugged. Looks great and feels great. Highly recommended

  • from New York October 16, 2015

    best guitar for the price

    I purchased one of these used from a local music store about a year ago and I absolutely love it. The neck is thin and the action is low, so it plays more like an electric than an acoustic. It sounds incredible and even smells good... you can't really go wrong with it. I'm keeping mine forever.

  • from United States December 11, 2014Music Background:
    BLUEGRASS GOSPEL

    MARTIN DCPA4

    This is my first MARTIN GUITAR and Im totally impressed with eeverything about this guitar!! Plays AWSOME and SOUNDS GREAT!! We play BLUEGRASS!! 5 STARS BUY IT

  • from Nashville, TN October 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    DCPA4

    I have played music all my life, had lots of guitars over the years. Dad had a Martin when I was a kid and later had a Gibson which we still have. I am amatuer for sure but have always enjoyed playing music, including keyboard. Like othes here I always wanted to get a Martin again but the cost are high. I finally decided to do it. This DCPA4 is awesome!! There is nothing like a Martin and this model especially for the price cant be beat. Sound is super and quality is impecable. Being use to the narrower neck guitars i.e. like Gibsons get a little getting use to, but a great guitar.

  • from Florida September 13, 2014Music Background:
    Born to Play

    I love this guitar!!!

    I have been looking to upgrade my acoustic/electric for a while, and was seriously considering some of the higher-end models that Martin & Taylor have to offer.... but when I visited my local shop and actually played each model, it was clear that the Martin DCPA4 was the one for me. It just feels right... as if it were made for me. And it sounds amazing. I couldn't be happier with my decision to buy this guitar.

  • from Erie, PA July 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    MARTIN DCPA4 ROSEWOOD

    I am somewhere between a beginner and intermediate player and wanted to buy that "last guitar" without breaking the bank. I had purchased a Martin D-1 a couple years ago, but now wanted an upgrade. A Martin Sales Rep at the Nazareth, Pa plant suggested the DCPA4 series as I wanted some volume along with the cutaway.

    I have to say, I am well pleased and will cherish my last guitar to the end.

  • from Cookson, Oklahoma January 20, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Martin DCPA4

    I have been wanting to up grade to a Martin for a long time. I played a number of guitars at a local store before deciding on this one. You can not beat it for the price. Yeah, it is kind of plain jane. I would have like to have had all the fancy stuff, but could not justify spending 3 or 4 grand to get it. The tone and action on this guitar is awesome! I purchased a Fishman Mini Loudbox at the same time. Great combination. By the way, I purchased these from Sweetwater.com. Those guys are great to work with. Free shipping and no sales tax.

  • from Swansboro, NC USA December 13, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This six string delivers...

    This six string delivers the goods. Projection is outstanding for a small gig. Plug in amp up and the onboard electric features very adjustable tones that are pleasant to the ear. Over design, is quality for sure. Neck and fret board is silky and user friendly.

  • from Atlanta September 6, 2013Music Background:
    Amateur with no training

    Martin DCPA4 Rosewood

    For starters I'm a fat-fingered rank amateur, but I have had guitars for almost 50 years. Over the last year I have begun to play much more often than in recent years, and I could begin to hear the limitations of the guitar I have had for 20 years.

    I had some money to spend on a new one, and decided I would get one good enough to be "my last guitar".

    I narrowed it down to a few models by the better manufacturers and played a few. I found a DCPA4 in a local store, and after playing it for an hour, I bought it.

    My playing is less than great, but the clarity and depth of tone this guitar produces is fantastic. It makes me pick it up almost every day just to hear it. The fretboard is almost as easy to play as a good electric, and I plan to have an adjustment to lower the strings just a tad above the 12th fret.

    This guitar makes me work at getting better. I love it.

  • from Pensacola, Florida January 14, 2013Music Background:
    just play for fun

    great sound

    Great guitar. I have wanted a Martin for a long time and finally decided to add to my collection. I have a Taylor, Fender, Epiphone, Ovation, Yamaha and a Takamine and this Martin has its own sound that really fits my ear and is easy on the fingers.

  • from Minnesota July 18, 2012Music Background:
    30 yrs of playing, hobbyist, student

    Cant be beat for Quality & Money!!

    After playing just about every guitar I could put my hands on that was comparable in style, quality, options and price , I couldnt find anything even close to the DCPA4! I was looking for American made with solid wood and a great pickup. This is it...if you are looking for a cut-away nothing touches it in playability , tone, fingering , neck speed. I was a bit leary buying site un-seen from Sweetwater, but Mark Bruhn and the staff were perfect. The guitar was pristine and the packaging looked like it came from Fort Knox. I'm sold on Sweetwater and Martin!!

  • from United States April 26, 2012Music Background:
    semi pro

    Martin Performing Artist DCPA4

    I did research before buying, but was still surprised by the way this guitar plays and sounds. I am very impressed with the neck - ease of play up to the higher register, and also the satin finish is nice. I mostly perform unplugged, so this guitar is what I have been seeking after for good projection to accompany my vocals. The on board tuner is a nice touch and the ease of use and minimalist features of the electronics in general are a plus as well. With a hard shell case built into the price, I can't seem to figure a reason why you should not buy one : )

  • from Virginia Beach, VA March 17, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing sound

    I played a bunch of different guitars today including Taylors, Martins, Seagulls, and Breedloves. My objective was to check out the Martin GPCPA4 as I thought that it was the guitar that I wanted after doing a bit of research. However, I also wanted to check out other guitars in the $1000-$1500 price range. Now don't get me wrong, I enjoyed playing all of the guitars that I picked up and would be excited to have any one of them as a gift or what have you. But if Im spending my hard earned money on one of these guitars, without a doubt Im buying the DCPA4. I hadn't even considered this guitar when I walked into Guitar Center today. I really liked the shape and size of the GPCPA4 and was sure it was the one for me. I didn't like the look of the dreadnought as much. In fact it was maybe my least favorite appearance wise. Ive got to go with sound over appearance and I will own this guitar very soon. Play it and you will know what I mean.

  • from nj March 4, 2012Music Background:
    14, years

    Martin DCPA 4

    You can't top this guitar for the price. I am Impressed with the overall tone . This particular model plays loud yet rich full balanced tone unpulgged! The workmenship is nothing short of a magnificiant instrument . The fishman electronics is basic , if you do gigs you may want to think about the dcpa3 . Overall very pleased would do the deal all over again.

  • from Cayman Islands September 30, 2011Music Background:
    Gigged as a lad, strummed as an older lad. Love home recording/jammin

    Martin DCPA4 is fantastic

    OK, I have splashed out here - from playing a second hand Applause(Ovation affordable) for 10 years!! It suited the lifestyle that included living on a boat with the occasional salty spray ruining strings, etc.
    After many days and months of reading reviews (just like this) and sampling a few Martins when anywhere near a music store, it was clear that it would be a Martin...but which one?
    I had some reservations(possibly unfounded) regarding the HPL series, like the DCX1E, using laminated composite wood stuff at a seriously good price by the way, but did not want to blow 2 or 3 grand ...well, couldn't do it anyway! Out the hard case this beauty is brilliant.
    Even smells like freshly cut wood sap. Booms with sound, action is great, sustain rings for as long as your raw fingers can hold it down.

    I relied on reviews and thought it fair to assist others in the hard decision stage.......if this is your budget - get it. Astounded by the clarity of each string. Haven't even plugged in yet!

  • from Schaghticoke, NY March 10, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    The Harley Of The Workingman Acoustics

    If your looking for a real workhorse acoustic guitar look no farther. The NEW Martin DCPA4 Deadnought has it all over anything out there in the $1200 price range. I tried out 9 guitars before settling on this one. Taylor 314CE, Breedloves,Tak's Guilds, Baden,Other Martins even Larrivee's. All great guitar but the DCPA4 with it's Deep Martin Tone and Brilliant Treble plugged in or not won me over. The action can be set extremely low and handles extra light string very well for you Electric Guitar Player out there. The Aura F1 Analog Pickup is second to none. Perfect for live performances. Very simple, two very useable controls knob. One for volume/engaging tuner by holding down the volume button. The other is a Mid/Bass Shift/Tone/Notch Filter engaded again by pushing down the tone button and a highly visiable Tuner window. Martin quality all the way except for the fretboard. They use what they call Black Richlight (Composite). Don't get hung up on it though, remember the notes change on the frets not the board itself. I struggled with that a first too but then again I play a Maple Neck Strat so I got over it quick. This guitar will inspire you to play more and more and get's better each day. All wood NO Laminate sides or back. Martin really got this one right for the money.

  • from Central New Hampshire November 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Sound, Build and Value

    I have waited almost a year to write a review on my Martin DCPA4 acoustic / electric. Iíve been playing guitars since 1968 and having grown up spending much time in music stores as my father was a trained classical musician and music teacher, I have tried many different types of guitars. The sound out of this Martin is outstanding. Its mid-range and highs are dead on. The low E string is not as strong as on other acoustic guitars I have tried but is made up for when used in the electric mode. Sound is obviously the first criteria any instrument should be judged by but next is its construction. The build of my Martin is solid and its quality is evident each time I pick it up to play. One measure I use to judge the quality of the build of a guitar is how often you must tune it. Granted I rarely take it in the car or subject it to extreme heat or cold but in a relatively stable environment, I only have to adjust the tuning occasionally each time I get ready to play. Does it sound like a custom built Martin, Gibson or Taylor? No. But for work or play the DCPA4 is a worthy addition to any guitar playerís ensemble of instruments.

  • from Cherrly Plain, NY April 16, 2012Music Background:
    former bandmember, now just a picker

    SAVE YOUR DOUGH AND GET THIS ONE

    DON'T get sucked in by the DCX models; they play and sound like what they are, plywood and laminate. The DCPA4 is the guitar to get if you're on a limited budget AND want true Martin sound. The only drawback is that it comes with no instructions for the electric controls, which are confusing; other than that, it projects big, deep yet bright sound, and is a sweet way to go. So save up, get this one, and avoid disappointment.

  • from United States July 20, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Martin Performing Artist DCPA4

    This is one beautiful instrument. I love the built-in tuner. It's well made and holds a tune very well. It is taking me a while to get used to the feel of the neck. I have had to adjust my fingering, especially when playing barre chords. I don't know if it's because of the shape of the neck or if I need to have it set up differently. For a large bodied guitar, I was surprised that it doesn't have the darker sound I'm used to hearing in the bass.

    Still, I know, once I get more familiar with the feel and the tone quality, this will be the acoustic guitar I'll spend the rest of my life with.

Questions about the Martin Performing Artist DCPA4?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway