0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Martin Performing Artist DCPA1 Plus - F1 Aura+ Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
  • from Texas August 4, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter

    My first martin

    A friend of mine in college played his grandfather's Martin and it was the sweetest sounding guitar. Since then I had always wanted one of my own. I believe my Martin is the best sounding guitar that I have played. The on board electronics are great and go way beyond what I would have expected.

  • from Edmonton Alberta Canada December 23, 2010Music Background:
    published song writer, guitar player, vocalist 40 years +

    Can't put it down

    I have been playing guitar for 40 years both pro and as a hobby. During that time have owned and played many guitars.
    This guitar is just simply amazing.
    The Build:
    . I The Intonation is true and tuning is stable (Best I have had in a Flat top).Excellent fit finish and materials, beautiful inlay work.
    It is stunning to look at in an understated sort of way. I would compare it to a beauty queen going camping in jeans and a plaid shirt with no makeup. It is simply a natural beauty shining through.
    Unplugged:
    It sounds like a Martin, very close to a D28HDV with a bit less volume and low end but more discrete string soundings with hard strumming. It has great pick response. It almost anticipates what you want from it and then gives it to you. I found it also works great with finger styles. The overall sound, volume, clarity, and timber blew me away. I sold my HD 35.
    PLUGGED IN:
    I use it direct for recording and I have many great mic choices but I don't use or need them. This guitar has all the sounds I need built in! The 9 different world class mic images are excellent and the bridge pickup is also great .The ability to blend the two sounds leaves one with an unlimited palate of sound choices. The compressor and anti feedback filter are great on stage and the tuner is easy to see and use.
    PLAYABILITY:
    The neck is fast and plays almost like a good electric. Great action with no buzz. Its unique neck shape allows for intricate chords high up the neck with lots of finger room.
    Pros :
    All of the above and more.

    CONS:
    If you buy one of these guitars, plan to keep it because you won't be able tout it down or ever give it up.
    Disclaimer:
    I do not work for or and not affiliated in any way with CF Martin, Sweet Water, or any of their distributers or agents. I have not taken, been offered or received any form of remuneration for this review. I feel I found a master piece and just want everyone to try one out for them and pass on the good news.

  • from Rock N Roll, MI February 9, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Most Amazing Guitar I Own

    OK, I have a Martin HD28V, Gibson J45, Takamine EF341SC, Ovation 6778LX and a few others. All of them have their own voice and until this arrived my Martin H28V was my favorite unplugged and my Takamine was my favorite plugged in.

    Unfortunately, my other guitars are just going to collect dust. Martin has hit a home run with this guitar. The F1 pickup system is simply AMAZING. This still has that Martin tone, not as bassy as my 28, but WOW. I can't wait for this guitar to open up over the months and years ahead.

    The neck feels like it was made for me. It is the most sonically balanced guitar I have ever played . It has an understated beauty that is worthy of the Martin name. Martin has found the perfect balance of sound (most important), features and beauty. The only knock I could give it is really not with the guitar, but the case is very ordinary. Thank you Martin for bringing this guitar to market. If you can find one BUY IT!

  • from October 9, 2015

    Its a Martin!

    I own a number of guitars and have been playing for 40 years recreationally. I own a d28 1941 authentic which is second to none but find this guitar will hold a spot in my collection.Very comfortable and great sound both plugged and unplugged. The electronics sound great but do not adjust as easily as my Takamine cool tube. Overall a great guitar!

  • from GRAFTON , MASS. March 6, 2013Music Background:
    BASS PLAYER GUITAR PLAYER

    GREAT GUITAR

    PLUGGED IN THIS GUITAR IS AMAZING,SWEET ,SWEET SOUND! PLAYS BEAUTIFUL,GREAT NECK. THE ACTION WAS A LITTLE HIGH FROM THE FACTORY,ONCE THAT WAS TAKEN CARE OF NO PROBLEM. UNPLUGGED IT'S AN OK ACOUSTIC ,BUT NOTHING THAT BLOWS YOU AWAY. SO PLUG IN AND ENJOY , I DO EVERY DAY, HARD TO PUT IT DOWN!!

  • from colorado August 10, 2015Music Background:
    60 years Bass Rythum Lead Guitar

    Martin Preforming Artist DCPA1 Plus - F1 Aura+

    I bought my first Martin about 16 years ago and plated about 1 year and loved it was a cutaway as well however don't remember the model but I think I paid over $2000. I gave it to a friend that was less fortunate than my self and never could afford a decent flat top. I have played music for the last 50 plus years and played in several bands over the years but never played nothing like the Martin Preforming Artist DCPA1 Plus - F1 Aura+ can't put down love it; the sound is great!!!! Great Price and great service!!! Thanks Sweetwater.... The Gman

  • from RC CA December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar Player

    really nice

    Best guitar I have ever owned. Play every day now. Sweet.

Questions about the Martin Performing Artist DCPA1 Plus - F1 Aura+?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway