0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Boss DA-2 Adaptive Distortion Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from New Hampshire, USA September 27, 2014Music Background:
    Multi-instrumentalist, Recording Eng., Composer

    The Only Distortion Effect Pedal You Need

    I've had many distortion pedals over the years (40, to be exact) and I've found the only one I'll ever need - how I wish it was available 40 years ago! Whether I am playing softly or hammering on the strings with this pedal, I get very clear, crisp, perfectly blended tones, even at very high volume. There simply is no muddiness or "noise" with this pedal. I play both single coil guitars and guitars with humbuckers, and these both sound fantastic - nothing get's lost in over modulation, which is more common with other distortion pedals. The construction is the same super-high quality I expect from Boss effects pedals, and the separate Low and High control knobs permit a very wide swath of low subterranean growling, to warm mid-tones, all the way to teeth-shattering highs. Combine this with a good Overdrive pedal and an Echo/Delay Pedal, and the otherworldly, ambient sounds you can achieve are unlimited.

  • from Northport, AL July 12, 2014Music Background:
    Pro guitarist, 50 yrs

    The Best Distortion Pedal Available

    I was very surprised by the clarity of individual notes (even when playing a full chord). I can actually adjust this pedal to get the same drive sound I get from the "Drive" channel of my Mesa Recto-Verb 25 amp... and get that sound on the "Clean" channel ! This allows different drive settings for use with other effect pedals.

  • from Northport, AL March 19, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, 50 yrs

    A Very Impressive Distortion Pedal

    I decided to try this pedal mainly due to the video reviews. Having never been happy with the sound of most "distortion" pedals, I avoided them. I'm glad I decided to try the Boss DA-2, it has surpassed all expectations. Individual notes are quite distinct, even when playing complex chords. It also sounds great with additional effects, like a chorus, delay, etc. Give it a try, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.

  • from May 31, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician, Bachelor in music.

    Amazing distortion

    Best distortion i have ever tried and i sure have seen them all.
    This MDP technology is going to mark a precedent, is the future in pedals. It's like it anticipates and reads you playing, its clear, responsive and warm.
    And on top of that, that orange color looks beautiful.
    Just buy the thing, you won't regret it.

  • from Orlando FL May 3, 2013Music Background:
    life long musician

    Flexible and Versatile

    I was debating buying a blues driver because I enjoy playing solos with warm low end tone. I was talked into buying the adaptive distortion by a friend at my local music store and it was the best suggestion Ive had in a while.
    The adaptive distortion has dials for low and high end tone giving you more flexibility than any of the other distortion pedals on the market right now. It also has very consistent tone across all volume ranges. It sounds the same at 2 as it does at 10 which is very uncommon for a stomp box.
    I like the fact that the distortion can be super heavy and screaming or it can go down to a mid range blues type distortion to make the notes cry.
    You can certainly tell the difference from the new generation of pedals by boss. Im glad i bought this, you should too.

  • from Eagle River, AK June 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Tight Low End

    I want a fair amount of bass so that my amp sounds huge, but it has to be tight. This pedal delivers that. After about 10 distortion pedals, my search has ended. The Metal Zone is relatively tight on bottom end too and useable at about 50-60% gain, but this thing is tighter and gives a good, solid hard rock crunch and has the capability to approach metal territory. Palm-muting with this thing owns! I'm happy.

  • from El Cajon, CA December 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pro

    Useable!

    I have bought dozens of pedals and effects. Most of them are useless.
    I find this pedal to have good overdrive and heavy distortion tones. It is clear, with low noise. Even at high gain, chords and notes are distinguishable and not muddy. I will be using this pedal in my gear set up.

  • from Rochester, MN, USA November 7, 2013Music Background:
    Professional guitarist.

    Great Overdrive!

    Love this box. One of the most credible overdrives ever. To my ear it sits between a Tube Screamer and a PlexiTone. Very natural and organic sounding, works well with single coils and humbuckers.

Questions about the Boss DA-2 Adaptive Distortion Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway