0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Audix D6 Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 35 customer reviews
Questions about the Audix D6 Microphone?

Questions about the Audix D6 Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Dan VanAmerongen

    The Audix D6 is one of my "go to" mics, both on stage and in the studio. It has a great presence that really brings the kick forward in the mix.

  • Matt Emick

    The D6 rocks. It lets you spend less time on EQ and gives you a great rock kick tone right out of the box. I often pair it with a TLM 103 at the end of a packing blanket tunnel to get some true rock 'n' roll thump.

  • David Stewart

    Great for getting that hard rock kick sound where the mids are scooped out. Excellent at articulating the click from the beater.

  • AJ Becerra

    I have been playing drums for almost 20 years and the D6 is hands down the best sounding kick mic I have ever heard. It capures the perfect amount of beater click and low end thump and it takes virtually no EQ to get a great sound. If you're looking for a no-nonsense kick mic that can stand up to daily abuse on the road or in the studio, you need to get a D6!

  • from Raleigh, NC January 11, 2016Music Background:
    12+ years of exp with drums, guitars, and recording

    Excellent Kick Mic!

    Let me first say that everyone has a different view, and each microphone is unique. If you are like me, and like a serious punch with your kick drum, then this is your best bet. This microphone is fantastic. It is tailored to low frequency sources as I am sure you have read. I tested this microphone side-by-side the Beta52 and the D112, and while each of those are great mics, the D6 really stood out as the punchiest/beefiest of the three. I will never use another microphone to mic the inside of my kick.

    Additionally, this mic excels with 16+" floor toms, as well as bass cabinets. I do not frequently mic bass cabs, but when I do I know that this will give me the most consistent sound, and one that will fit very well into the mix with little editing. Overall I suggest this mic to anyone tracking low frequency sources like Kick, floor tom, and bass cabinets. It will give you a great sound live or in the studio.

    Thanks, and keep rockin!

  • from Central Valley, California September 29, 2015Music Background:
    Sound engineer, recording engineer, musician

    Phenomenal microphone

    This is an amazing kick mic. I have used it hem for about 10 years now and I don't like any other kick mic. Audix makes the best mics.

  • from Lawrence Ks May 12, 2015Music Background:
    Always trying to be better...

    Love It!!

    This mic is perfect for kick in mic. It captures the snap of the beater better than anything i have ever used. The nasty muddy stuff is scooped out already and in my experience needs very little eq most of the time. I'm using it for recording in a home studio environment. It has become my go to for two miking kick drum - it being the kick in mic.

  • from Chicagoland Area April 28, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer, sound engineer, recording engineer, DJ, chief cook and bottle washer

    Move along to channel two!

    I've been a D12E user for years and years, in fact, I still have one and use it regularly. However, after reading so many great review about the D6 I decided to give it a try. What a great, modern sounding mic! One look at the frequency response of this mic will tell you all you need to know about it. It has the frequency scoop built in, so not much eq needs to be added or subtracted at the channel strip. The sound is modern and crisp, perfect for rock, metal and other heaver/punchier styles...and great for recording! The construction is compact and solid and the fit and finish are perfect. Between you and me, the secret for the ultimate kick sound is to throw the D6 inside (closer to the batter for more click) and stick a speaker mic or SubKick out in front and blend to taste. That's our little secret...please don't tell anyone ;)

  • from Doylestown, PA February 26, 2015Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Musician. FT Studio owner.

    Incredible mic! I have 3!

    I love this mic so much I can't stand it. I own a D112, 421s, worked with RE-20s and Beta52s - this mic is both the punchiest and most neutral of all bass freq dynamics and it's cheap and built like a tank. It's the best on kick and bass amps but also by FAR the best floor tom mic I've used. Way better than a 421

  • from Grover Beach, CA USA June 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great sound from a compact mic.

    I used this mic for the first time at an outdoor winery gig. I have a 24" bass drum that already has a big sound, the D6 makes it sound huge! Nice tight sound ..the other guys in band loved it. Place it where you want and it sounds good , inside close to batter for more attack or partially inside for more bottom, its all good. I highly recommend this mic!

  • from Portland, OR January 28, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, recording enthusiast

    A perfect idea

    My kick drums always end up with a predictable eq curve no matter what song I'm doing. It's one of the most consistent practices. Cutting the low mids eliminates the cardboard box sound. This carves out the necessary curve without adding phase altering eq. If you need something less hyped, you can always eq a little. The directionality, durability and overall design leaves nothing to be desired. Sounds great on floor toms too. What can Is say? This mic is good to go for the applications it was intended for.

  • from July 15, 2013

    One (best) trick pony

    This is a great microphone. I don't find the mic to be too clicky as some mentioned. It makes all sorts of bassdrums sound more similar to each other then other mics.. and that tone is big (but not slow!), punchy, never muddy, can be turned up quite loud in the mix, and requires minimal processing if at all (with a good drummer not even compression is required).. there's no other mic I can say the same for - Be it EV 868, Beta52, D112.. In all these I always go to the 250-350Hz area to clean, push some highs to make it sound more alive, add some 50-55Hz..

    I can now start my sound checks from channel 2 :-)

  • from W. Sayville, NY July 31, 2012Music Background:
    Home Studio Recording Engineer and Musician

    Excellent Sounding Mic

    I have used the AKG D 112 for recording my kick drum the past 3 years and liked it until it stopped working. I read a lot of reviews on the Audix D6 and wanted to give it a try. I must say that the D6 has more punch and a tighter tone that the D 112. I would buy the D6 over the AKG any day and hope that it lasts longer than it did.

  • from Columbus, OH July 21, 2012Music Background:
    Location Recording, Education

    Live? No contest.

    This mic has a tight low end and a definitive snap. Cuts through the mix the second you pull up the fader!

    For jazz it's a little aggressive (if you are even bothering to mic the kick, I prefer a Beta 52 - more "round") - but if it's rock, pop, or R&B this is the mic.

    Also does a good job giving upright bass some bite too.

  • from Spartanburg, SC June 27, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur Recording Engineer, Producer, Guitarist, Cellist

    The Kick Mic I Was Looking For

    I did not know much about Audix when I gave the D6 a shot in the studio for kick drum. Until that time, I had only used Beta 52s and settled for the fact that they were pretty standard in the industry. The first few kicks with the D6 blew me away--and with no EQ. The punch and the thump, perfectly balanced, so clean. We used it for live worship at my church as soon as we could after that session, and it made just as big of a difference live. If you are more fond of a round/mid sound for your kick drums, you may not like the D6. However, if you want clean punch, get it!

  • from Boulder, CO May 21, 2012Music Background:
    ITB A Cappella

    Great for Vocal Percussion

    Speaking for the a cappella nerds out there, I'd like to add that this mic is probably the best live vocal percussion (beatbox) mic on the market (it's only other major competition is the Shure Beta 58). It's frequency response is very well-suited for bringing out the bass of the lower frequencies, while still giving you plenty of attack. Plus, the scooped mids make things like snare noises sound really warm and unobtrusive. And it's tough to beat the price tag.

  • from Buffalo NY April 4, 2012

    Excellent Value

    There is something to be said for picking the right tool for the job. We finally decided on the Audix D6 after looking around a a few others. When it came to mixing we were blown away. Our kick tracks which had always needed a few plugins worth of post processing was solid right off the bat.

    I can't speak to its competitors but I can say that if you are looking to rock, punk or metal this is a solid choice. I am looking forward to seeing how it handles some of our other clients.

    You won't go wrong with this one.

  • from Norway March 18, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound engineer

    A kick in the head

    Switched from akg tom mics to Audix D2 and D4. Bought the D6 to work with my Shure b91. It is a killer combo!

  • from Abuja Nigeria December 24, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Awesome Mic

    I've recently started mixing for TV and I was looking for a kick mic with a lot of attack but still warm/gentle.

    It sounded great right out of the box with the same drum kit and same drummer. Exactly what I hoped for

    Maybe I also got tired of listening to the Beta 52a.

    Looking foward to trying it on a big PA.

  • from Ohio July 5, 2011Music Background:
    Recording engineer, church sound, Drummer

    Perfection

    Amazing microphone, great attack and punch, captures a nice warm tone with great attack, a must have for any studio! And i tend to be picky with my drum sound since i am a drummer!

  • from Miami, FL December 25, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    A Sick Kick!

    This mic will give you that earth-shaking, rumbling kick drum sound. It can take huge amounts of SPL and still not distort. I put it about 4 inches away from the beater head of the kick drum and even closer to give it more "click." Perfect for any style of music and amazing for metal drums. try it on a bass guitar too! The mic even feels like it can take a nuclear bomb and still work, its a solid block of aluminum! worth every penny, you will not be disappointed when you try it out!

  • from Murfreesboro, TN October 14, 2010Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer - Triton Studios

    Effortlessly great sound!

    I just opened the box, threw mic by the kick without any concern for placement, recorded a short drum beat, and was blown away when I cam back into the control room to hear it. With pretty much zero effort, I had this huge, thunderously bassy kick sound. Easily the best kick mic I've ever heard.

  • from Portland OR May 13, 2010Music Background:
    FOH 36Crazyfists, Hawthorne Theatre. Recording Engineer. Drummer.

    The best kick mic EVER!

    If I had one mic, that would be it. Combine with a sub-kick or internal 602 or 91. OMG!

  • from San Antonio, Tx May 30, 2009Music Background:
    Bass Player, Drummer, Engineer

    Love this mic

    I play bass in a metal band and most guys now are using triggers, but the D6 gives you the sound metal bands are looking for, yea it's a bit clicky for other types of music but can get the job done.

  • from Montana July 26, 2016

    Great Kick Mic

    Sounds great with little EQ very quickly when placed well!

  • from United States December 21, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Kick kick mic!

    Very nice for a classic punchy big round kick drum sound. Sits well in my mix with minimum adjustments.

  • from November 8, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer Graduate

    Better Than A Beta 52

    This microphone sounds really great without any EQ. Without taking the time to find a "sweet spot" on my kick drum, the result has always come out punchy and crisp. This is my new go to mic for the kick drum. Good job Audix!

  • from Canada November 16, 2011Music Background:
    Producer/Recording Engineer

    Wow!

    Recently got this kick and I'm loving it. Did a shootout with the a Shure Beta 52A and an AKG D112 and the Audix D6 outperformed them all.

    Great with a Yamaha Subkick!

  • from Knoxville, TN, USA July 19, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist, amateur musician

    Sounds good on upright bass

    Tried this mic on upright bass on a string band (live sound) for an outdoor wedding reception. We wrapped the mic in some padding and put it under the tailpiece, aimed up toward the bridge. This mic has boosted high end, so I rolled off the highs, as we only wanted the big low end.

    Bass sounded big and full, with resonance and sustain, but not boomy or thumpy. Worked great for this application.

  • from Raleigh NC August 29, 2016

    Nice bass amp mic

    First I have to say that I'm not in a band and I only do hip hop and r&b neo soul type music using Ablton, Reason and Akai MPC. In the past I only use different DI boxes or DI into an Apollo duo or a Clarett Pre. The reason I got this mic was because I love the why my Hartke HD75 amp sound and I want to try and get that sound into my recordings. So I followed the tutorial on the focusrite web site for recording bass. The sound I got by blending the DI with the D6 sound really good to my ears. It opens up more options. It also doesn't sound bad by itself. My amp has a great eq and is kinda bright or hifi sounding so something like a fender rumble that is more boomy my sound a lot different with this mic. I guess I could buy a different more expensive mic to get an even better sound but DI works well and the D6 cured my curiosity I had with micking bass amps.

  • from United States March 20, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician for this review

    Did the right thing...

    For the last 25+ years I have been using an EVRE 20 on my kick to great satisfaction. Well the RE's capsule finally had an issue and yes I will get it repaired. But at the same time I began to consider increasing my kick mic selection. Listened to a lot of research and talked with Brian my Sweetwater rep. He pointed me towards Audix which of course tested well in the research too. We both agreed that with those two mics I would have one-extreme-to-the-other. Did the right thing!

  • from Pa February 8, 2012Music Background:
    Drum Corps, Live jazz, funk and rock bands, studio drummer, drum instructor for marching band

    Excellent kick mic

    Position is important on any mic but this one is a little more forgiving than some. Found great sound right away just inside the resonant head pointing right at the beaters....no eq, effects or compression....the kick came alive. Closer micing of the batter head however did not produce great sound no matter how I adjusted it....no worries though...it's picking up that little punch from the beater at a distance as well as a nice round BOOM.

  • from Daleville, IN October 27, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Recording Studio, Pro Musician

    Good Overall Mic

    We have many mics in our arsenal. For kick we also have a Shure Beta52. I like the Audix much better. It is punchier and placement, while it still can be tricky, is easier. Combine this with a good condensor room mic placed correctly and you have a great setup!

  • from New York City, New York September 4, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Nice, But not an end all

    Did some live recordings with the DP5a kit. I will say that the low end on this mic is fantastic but i wouldnt use this as a primary if you have a dynamic kick performance. The Low end is huge but not tight enough for a live situation. sounds best on the inside of a kick with a rock drummer; put it on the outside and youlll need to pair it with something else on the in. bottom line, it needs mids unless you like kicks with no tone.

  • from Brooklyn, NY February 19, 2008Music Background:
    musician, recording and mixing

    good if you want a more heavy metal sound

    i've tried using the d-6 with not much success. it just sounds too much like heavy metal--hard on the beater sound. instead, i've been using the d-4 which sounds more natural.

  • March 25, 2006

    Audix D6

    I"ve been a gigging drummer for many years, mainly in a 3 piece rock n roll band. To mic my 20 inch -kick I have tried a few kick mics - from cheap Sound Kings through AKG D112s and Shure B52s to the Beyer M88. The Audix D6 is the most hassle-free (in terms of positioning, EQing, gain width and overall sound)I have used - period.

  • from Charlottesville, VA November 1, 2005

    the clip on this thing!!!

    Well, I have to say that I am pretty happy to own the D-6. Audix has slowly been winning me over, but I was still pretty apprehesive to just buy a mic without testing it first. A close friend had used them quite a bit, and recommended them over other similar mics. It's everything I had hoped sonically, but the most impresive thing to me is the clip! I love the locking wheel, instead of the typical friction style clips. Go Audix, and I hope other manufacturers take a cue from this.

  • February 1, 2005

    add a kick!

    This audix d6 mic is great on a kickdrum, but it also adds a exhilaratingly pulsating punch to a floor tom.

  • February 1, 2005

    add a kick!

    This audix d6 mic is great on a kickdrum, but it also adds a exhilaratingly pulsating punch to a floor tom.

Questions about the Audix D6 Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway