0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Guild D-55 - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Guild D-55 - Natural?

Questions about the Guild D-55 - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Melbourne Australia August 5, 2016

    The Guitar I Never Dreamed About Until It Was Time to Get Real

    After waiting out the destructive years with the kids at home, when having a really quality guitar was a crazy idea, I walked into the Acoustic Centre in Melbourne with cash in my pocket ready to buy the Martin or Taylor of my dreams. I played those for a while and I was a bit underwhelmed. And then one of the guys said- "Try this". The Guild D-55 was just like another gear. Playable and Versatile. Good for picking, strumming, blues, bluegrass. Huge booming natural sound. Every string, every note honestly sounds like a chord. Love it.

  • from February 22, 2016

    Excellent Instrument!!

    This is a superb guitar and the build quality is perfect. The setup right out of the box combined with a great fast neck profile makes this the easiest playing acoustic guitar I have owned. The tone is above and beyond what I expected, it has a BIG deep tone with excellent balance, amazing amount of sustain and volume and is very sensitive to the lightest touch. This guitar is great for strumming but also equally great at finger picking. This will be a lifetime guitar for me!!

  • from Mountain View, CA March 7, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist

    Extraordinary Guitar

    I could say so many things about this guitar but that would make this a very long review. So, I'll try to keep it as short as I can. I was looking for my dream acoustic guitar. I tried several Martin's, Collings, Taylor's, Huss & Dalton's, Bourgeois, Larrivee's, Santa Cruz, Gibson's, and others... all top of the line makers and guitars. Many sounded incredible, but then... I picked up the Guild D-55. I literally couldn't believe how well-balanced, articulate, clear, sweet, powerful... and so many more positive adjectives I can come up with to describe the sound of this instrument. The build quality and look of this guitar are also second-to-none. Let me finish up by summing the D-55 in one sentence: Playing, seeing, and hearing this guitar goes way beyond simply listening to it, it's more of a transcendental experience. Yes, I realize that this description sounds over-the-top, but these are my honest feelings - and that's how good this guitar is. And no, Guild did not pay me to say any of this : )

  • from Pgh, PA March 30, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Great Guitar!!!!!!!

    I owned other acoustics, top name ones, no need to mention the brands, all were very nice. this guitar is by far the best. there is not one flaw, plays fantastic, sound is over the top, even ,rich, balanced sound. the craftsmanship is just great, detail at its finest. just a beautiful instrument to look at. I sold my other acoustics, this one stays. I think there will be a lot more Guilds seen at performances, with this kind of quality. this guitar is well worth the money, DONT hesitate. combine with the great service from Sweetwater sales engineer Daniell Cummings, you just cant go wrong!!!!

  • from Salt Lake City , UT August 27, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician

    Guild D-55

    Wow, I finally got what I was looking for. Yes my Guild D-55 finally arrived and I am very happy camper. For those who newer played this guitar I honestly feel sorry,but the good news is, it's newer to late for good things to happen.Save your self from researching and losing time around. I was ready to buy even more expensive guitars (Martin, Taylor, etc) but still decided to put my hands on one of the Guild's D-55's and there is a good reason behind that (beautiful and reach sound,excellent craftsmanship,extremely comfortable and playable neck, etc). I was very skeptical to order guitar on-line but that's where Sweetwater's sales engineer Derek Senestraro and his associate Morgan R. took place and helped me understand confidence of buying on Sweetwater's online site.Also they took a care of me on the price to. I don't want to sound like a repetition of previous reviews and to tell newer ending stories about my musical history.Anyway I've been playing since elementary school days and I turned 46 this summer.I hope this review will help others to make a good decision in buying acoustic guitar.My problem has been solved thanks to Sweetwater and Derek Senestraro. Peace!

  • from Brooklyn NY December 18, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist of 30 years.

    Best acoustic I've ever heard - period.

    I've owned my D-55 for man years now (before Fender bought Guild). I mainly bought it because after playing every major brand on the upscale market, I never heard anything that came close to the D55. Many years later, I was thinking of treating myself to a high end Martin. I've played several D41's, D28s and a few other models - and I actually walked away unimpressed with them - I don't think they have the richness and texture of the D-55. The D-55 also just feels more significant - it's a bit heavier, a bit more solid - which to me, is also desirable. I would like to think this extra mass contributes to its' sound - it just sounds so full, so big - I've never heard another acoustic that comes close. Needless to say, I've decided to not purchase the Martin D41. I

  • from N.W. corner on CT June 25, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    So you want to buy a what????

    Don't waste you money or your time. You could spend a Grand or more trying to match the tone and complex harmonics of the D-55. Don't bother. Save the cash and aggrevation..this is THE one. The action is on the money. Intonation...on the money. Harmonics...yep, on the money. You'd be a damn fool to waste your hard earned cash on a .....fill in the blank...Taylor, etc.. Looks, Sound, Craftmenship, return on investment...(like you'd ever sell it)...Guild D-55...say no more. 5 Stars..all day and night long. Period!!

  • from Greater Manchester.UK. April 9, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Guild D55 WITH D Tar.

    Bought mine last year {a 2008 tacoma one} I have played diff acoustic guitars for the last 45 yrs. Although mainly as a hobby, I have played most of the top end guitars and I must say the Guild D55 is up there with the very best.What a fantastic looking, well crafted, sounding,,acoustic guitar. Wanted one in 1976 but because of funds bought a 1976 Westerly Guild D35{A brill vintage guitar that I still play to this day} However my D55 has got to be my top fav guitar I have ever owned,what a brill sound.Must be the dark horse of all US acoustics.Well done "Fender"!!!My friend,who owns several top end guitars,after hearing and playing my Guild D55,wasted no time in going and buying himself one. Take note all you top end players before spending the bucks!!! you have just got to try out the *Guild D55*

  • from Northern Maine February 19, 2009Music Background:
    Starting playing a $100 Washburn back in 1975 now 15 guitars later.

    Nothing will compare to this guitar in this price range!

    I sold my Gibson Songwriter Deluxe and my old D-35 Martin to buy this guitar after I played one! This is the finest sounding guitar I have ever played bar nun. I have a close friend with a D-45 Martin he bought new in 1971 and both of us feel it still isnt in bussiness with this guitar sound wise........ The fit and finish is as good as the Martin the sound is amazing . The sunburst finish is spectacular [but no better than a Gibson SJ from the custom ship]buy this guitar if you have a couple of grand and want to stop buying guitars all the time trying to find that "Holy Grail" acoustic, this is IT!

  • from Wheaton,Il. December 26, 2008Music Background:
    Pro musician, recording & singing artist

    Guild d-55 electra

    I bought my Guild D-55 Electra in 1976. This guitar has the most beautiful sounding of any guitar I've played. I tried many guitars over the years and none come close to the D-55 Electra.

  • from Cordova Tn. April 4, 2016

    Guild makes great guitars

    I bought a Guild D-50 new back in 78 and I still pick it up and play it daily. You can't go wrong buying a Guild because they are well made, tough, durable, great sounding guitars. I bought a 710 Taylor about 15 years ago and it I has a great sound also but I think the Guild sounds every bit as good as the Taylor just in a different way. My Guild has been a constant companion to me through the years. To me you can't go wrong buying one and I hope you enjoy yours as much as I have enjoyed mine

Questions about the Guild D-55 - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway