0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

AKG D 5 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the AKG D 5?

Questions about the AKG D 5?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Puerto Rico May 23, 2017Music Background:
    FOH Souns Tech

    Great

    Much better than sm58 for Voice by far!!!!!!

  • from Metamora July 9, 2014Music Background:
    blues, classic rock, semi-pro, keyboards, bass

    great mic

    This mic is made really great and it it great for vocals. Sweetwater had mic month and I got it for $74.00 and it was a great deal. I should of bought more. It comes with a case. It is worth the $99.00 price that it normally goes for.

    I really like it. It works great for my voice. I have a seinheiser that I paid $170.00 for and it is a fantastic mic, but it is also twice the price. thsi mic for the price is a good deal. It isn't as strong of mic as the more expensive ones but does the job.

  • from Texas June 22, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro; I gig several times a month, but mostly it's a hobby.

    Great Mic and Great Value

    This mic is the best value I've found. I normally use SM57's and 58's, but this blows them away. The D5 performs more on par with the Beta 57 and 58, and for around half the price. It's a bit brighter than the Beta 58, which adds clarity and punch to the vocals without getting muddy in the low frequencies. I'm certain I will be buying more in the future.

  • from New Orleans, LA USA June 3, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Excellent choice for vocals

    After using many different mikes for vocals over the years including Shure, Audio Technica, Audix, etc., we had our suitcase of mikes "borrowed" and were forcrd to replace all of our vocal mikes. I spoke with the friendly advisors at Sweetwater who suggested that for my needs of a general vocal mike, I might like the AKG D 5. All of the singers are really impressed by the quality and flat response of the mike. It is warm without being muddy and bright without being like crystal. It is substantially feedback free and does not require your lips to be up against the windscreen. It maintains its' qualities for bass, tenor, alto and soprano ranges and is an excellent choice for vocals.

    Thanks for the heads-up Sweetwater.

  • from Wentworth , NH May 30, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist , songwriter, small venue performer.

    Outstanding mike

    This Mike has oustanding clarity and response. A great value for the price, especially from Sweetwater during Mike month!.
    I think this Mike outperforms the Shure M58.I bought D5, but you might consider D5S with on-off switch.

  • from United States March 26, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician 40+ years

    Better than a 58 for sound

    Much better sound than the Shure 58 and other mics for live vocals. Can give this to anyone who had their "favorite" mike that they used and they come away wanting a D5. I have 4 of them so far, and will buy more. However, they don't seem to hold up to abuse as well as the 58, but then again, I am looking for a microphone, not a hammer.

  • from Saratoga Springs, New York USA April 17, 2012Music Background:
    Local Band Member, Hobbyist

    Awesome Mic

    Our band uses mostly SM58(s) and they are o.k., but the AKG D5 is everything I wanted in a mic. Diminished feedback, clarity and a great price. It is even better used on y solo PA. The Tech people at Sweetwater are very knowledgeable.

  • from Knoxville, TN August 4, 2015Music Background:
    20 years of live sound.

    great mic

    I have been using AKG mics for over 10 years. We had D880 before the D5 came out. I like them better than SM58s. Nice warm sound with great presence. I have 6 of these and am phasing out the D880 as they've been discontinued a few years back. AKG rocks!

  • from Robertsdale, Al, USA January 18, 2012Music Background:
    Long time musican and sound guy

    Rock solid

    I have been doing sound for over 40 years and have found this mic to be a very solid performer that requires very little eq to make it sound natural. I have recently found it fo be a great mic for banjos, even though it is officially a vocal mic, I currently own 4 of these mics and WILL be adding more to my locker. Price to performance, these are and excellent choice.

  • from titusville pa January 2, 2015Music Background:
    guitar,bass,recording

    awesome mic

    this mic is perfect for wont find much better for the money thanks to my sales rep sean geyer for helping me out with this mic

  • from Maysville, Ky June 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    ADG D 5

    I play in a 5 guy church band, using mostly church owned Shure Beta 58 mic's. They've been around for years and have some dings, so when this mic went on sale, I decided to spend some birthday cash and try it. I have a soft voice and even when I was close enough to lick the shure, it wasn't always heard in the mix, but now, even standing 4" from it, I am getting heard!

  • from Tucson May 1, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Keyboardist, Guitarist, and Bassist

    Not Too Shabby

    Will you get higher gain before feedback? Most likely, but if there are acoustic problems in the practice space/venue, cover your ears--this thing can howl just as loudly as any other mic on the market.

    Sound? I dig it. Has a good pleasant cut that brings softer voices out in the mix. As the reviewer for Mix Magazine said: it excels on female vocals, but it is not bad on male vocals at all.

    Price? I think it's a steal. I'd be willing to pay another $50 on top of this, but we all know what the competition's prices are.

    On top of it all, I used it in a pinch to mic a keyboard amp! I was pleasantly surprised by the results, too.

  • from Seattle, WA November 18, 2014Music Background:
    drummer, live sound engineer, recording engineer

    Boomy mic meant for the thin sounding voices

    This mic seems to have a lot of low-mids in it. For many voices it would sound muddy, but for a male tenor voice that might be a little thin, it is perfect. I haven't heard it on a female voice yet, but I bet it would be really nice.

  • from canton ga July 18, 2014Music Background:
    pro and luthier

    good mic

    Its probably better than I think cause I am a little biased , I have been using Sm 58's for ever

Questions about the AKG D 5?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway