0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

Martin D-35 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 29 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin D-35?

Questions about the Martin D-35?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 1, 2016Music Background:
    Started playing the guitar in 1969.

    Martin-D35

    I have been very fortunate to purchase (as new) a Martin D-35 (in late November 2016).

    I have, tried out, played and travelled with a number of guitars over the years. So it gives me great pleasure to say (and I want to tell the world) the Martin D-35 is by far and away the best guitar I have played - the fret board and sound is amazing! I know it costs a lot, but its worth the bucks.

  • from May 5, 2016Music Background:
    Played guitar for 40 years

    50th anniversary Martin D35

    What a superb instrument. The sound it emits will nearly bring tears to your eyes. The quality, craftsmanship and care that goes into building one of these instruments is nothing short of exceptional. Mine sounds wonderful already and I expect that through the years it will only sound better.

  • from Long Island, NY April 28, 2016Music Background:
    Now a hobby player but years ago was a union musician.

    Outstanding instrument

    I have wanted a Martin D-35 for about 2 years. Now I have one and it does not disappoint. The craftsmanship is in a class by itself and its tone is rich and powerful. I have a classic Guild T-100 (50 year old friend) and a Martin DC-16RGTE which are rich in tone and smooth in action. None of these guitars can compare with the beauty and sound of my D 35. I would recommend it and Sweetwater's Chris Sanders to anyone who feels it is time to move up to a classic Martin. It is well worth the move.

  • from September 17, 2015

    Best Martin I Own

    I own six Martin guitars (HD-28, 1980 D-41, 000-15M, SWOMGT, GPCPA5K) and have played many more Martins. The D-35 is by far the best Martin I have ever played/heard. I love the way this guitar sings! I can hear the difference that the non-scalloped 1/4" bracing makes. I think this guitar sounds better than a D-28, HD-28, D-41 or an HD-35. Do yourself a favor and go play one of these. I promise you won't be disappointed.

  • from Worthington, Ohio August 11, 2015Music Background:
    Player

    GREAT

    Over the years I have had numerous guitars. I have had several Martins and the D-35 is the best I've ever played or owned! If you want a guitar for a lifetime this is the one.

  • from Knoxville, Tn August 6, 2015

    Great experience buying a Martin.

    I have wanted a D-35 for a long time. I was concerned about buying a Martin without playing it first, but Jason was very helpful with selection and Sweetwater setup was great. Played perfectly right out of the box and keeps performing better with each session. Thanks to Jason and all at Sweetwater!

  • from Kentucky June 11, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Superb Instrument

    I have played guitar for over 45 years. Many years ago, I was a semi-professional musician, and today I am serious hobbyist. Over the years, I have put together a collection of professional electric guitars (Fender, Gibson, Guild), but until now I have never owned a really superb acoustic guitar.

    Recently I had the chance to play several new Gibson and Martin acoustic guitars and fell in love with a Martin D-35 because of its rich, three-dimensional tone and its strong bass. While in some ways I wanted this particular guitar, I knew from experience that this shop could not offer the same kind of service as Sweetwater, so I called Tyler Moore.

    Tyler was very helpful in answering some questions and helping me make my choice. He even played two different D-35s in stock and recommended which one to purchase based on my criteria. I ordered the guitar on a Friday and had it in my hands the next afternoon. It arrived, by the way, in perfect tune.

    I know that the guitar will "open up" over years of playing and will continue to sound better and better, but I'm very happy with all aspects of my D-35. It has plenty of volume, but it is balanced in its sound rather than "boomy." Fit and finish are perfect--as I knew they would be. The action is neither super-high nor super-low, allowing me to play barre chords well up the neck. The neck, with its satin finish, is comfortable and fast, and the guitar balances nicely on my lap. It is the kind of guitar that makes me want to play--and that makes me a better player.

    In some ways, I really didn't expect to buy a Martin. But when I played one, there was simply no question. There is a reason why Martin guitars have been so popular for decades. They simply sound the best. And for me, the best sound comes from a D-35.

  • from Baton Rouge, LA Yankee from Illinois originally May 11, 2015Music Background:
    I played professionally off and on until 1990.

    Best Sound and Action is on a D-35

    I bought my first D35 in 1976. It has turned into a beautiful instrument that simply drips tone. The action is so fast and the tone is unmatched by anything I have ever played. Gibson cannot hold a candle to a Martin D35.
    I have another I bought used a couple of months ago. It is a 2001 D35. Great sound and action. It is like having the baby and the grandpa together when I play them back to back.
    I promised my now adult children that one day one of them would get my D35 from 76. I bought the second so they both could have one. Now I cannot wait for them to be too old to play theirs, so I am giving them theirs this year and buying me another as soon as a 70's version fits the bill. Martin forever! I even bought my 8 year old grandson a baby Martin. Also great tone and action.

  • from Hoopeston,Il March 3, 2015Music Background:
    semi-musician

    D 35

    Great sound. It's louder than my HD 28. Thanks to Bart. He hasn't steered me wrong in 5 yrs.

  • from Summerfield 7 USA January 27, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Martin D35

    I bought my Martin D35 July 2, 2011 I tried D18, D28, HD28, D35
    I am not a pro. but new I had to have the D35 it had the best sound
    after q going from one q to the other. I have never been sorry.
    if I had to make the choice over it would be a Martin D35.

  • from Indiana, USA January 20, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    D-35

    I bought my D-35 in 1991 (built in 1989) brand new. It was my first Martin guitar. This guitar has been my main acoustic ever since I bought it new, and I still have it. It's only getting better. Martin quality cannot be beat, period. They only get better with age. Now with seven Martin's later, it's still one of my favorite Martin's to play. The Martin guitar is still one of the best investment guitars to purchase. Highly recommend this guitar, you won't be sorry.

  • from Albemarle, NC USA November 8, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist, collector, occasional performer

    My Favorite Acoustic!

    This guitar is perfect right out of the box. Beautiful and Quality built . Tone is opening up to a balanced ringing sustain that makes the ears smile. I have played electric and acoustic guitar since 1974 and own other acoustics by Ovation, Martin, Alvarez, Breedlove (6 string) Ibanez and Cole Clark (12 string) and this Marty is the best. Strumming, picking, or fingerpicking neck and action feel great. nice case also. Bart is my go to guy at sweet water music and i have always been happy with the whole process of purchase ,delivery, and price. Tone is a wonderful thing and this D35 has mountains of it! Get yourself one !

  • from Rockwell, NC October 14, 2014Music Background:
    Playing since 1977, worship leader and professional solo acoustic guitarist/vocalist for the last 5 years.

    WHAT A GUITAR!!!!!!!!!

    Hats off to Marting and Devin for putting this amazing instrument in my hands. Not only does it play effortlessly but sounds too good. Can't wait for it to get a few years on it and open up even more. I had my local Martin guitar tech install an Anthem pickup in it, (note: only a Martin certified shop can install a pickup or preamp and not void the warranty). It was a good decision to go with Sweetwater, and Devin really impressed me with the personal touch and checking this guitar out from top to bottom. About 2 weeks after I got mine, a good friend bought one just like it because of how they helped me and the price could not be beat!!!!! Thanks again Martin for building a wonderful guitar and Devin, You both ROCK!!! Bob Trice

  • from Rockwell, NC September 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro guitarist and solo acoustic performer.

    Best Guitar I Own!!!!

    I have been a guitarist since 1977. My first acoustic was a Martin D-18. I sold it shortly after buying it because I found that the neck was to small for my big hands. I recently got the Martin bug and found a great one thru Devin. He personally played it and checked it out. It is amazing. The action and tone are better than my Gibson J-100 cutaway, an Eastman 800 series 6 string and a Eastman 630 Maple 12 string, a Guild GF-30, a Boucher Wild Goose and a Cole Clark Fat Lady 3. I am very impressed with how it came set up from Martin. All my guitars have very low action and when I had my tech install an Anthem system from L.R. Baggs we actually raised it a tick until it sets in. Could not be happier and it will be my go-to when I don't need a cutaway!

  • from Star City, AR July 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist of 40 years

    Matrin D-35

    It is a great guitar for sure. Easy to play, projects, balance, everything you want. also, a beauty. But one complaint, the strings buzz around the 10-12 fret range, also they buzz with a capo. i have not taken it to anybody for a pro setup and i might need to do that, although I feel like that should be done at the factory.

  • from May 19, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist for 50 years now playing with a disability to my left hand following 4 strokes

    New Martin D35

    I had a 60's D35 in Brazilian but do you know this new 2011 manufactured D35 is in my opinion superior. In fact I would go as far as to say Martin guitars are in a purple patch and have never been better. I know everyone talks about vintage, pre war and Brazilian Rosewood but I think that the standard and quality of manufacture are keys to a great sounding guitar.

    The D35 is an all round guitar making it suitable for a variety of playing styles and genres from flat-picking to finger-style. You only have to look at the variety of musicians that choose this guitar as their favoured instrument

    Regards- Kenneth

  • from Baton Rouge, LA August 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sweet

    I am not a professional musician. I just like to play in the comfort of my home. I have 3 other guitars. But , this one has given me inspiration to begin playing again. The sound is awesome. Workmanship is outstanding. Great to see there are companies in the USA like Martin where the employees take pride in their work.

  • from Texas June 22, 2012Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    You can't beat the quality

    I purchased a Martin D35 in 1977. I have played the guitar in clubs and other venues since then and the wonderful tone is even better today. Iím writing this review now because I recently took the guitar to the local Martin warranty tech for some maintenance. He found that over 35 years the neck had shifted slightly causing the action to be uneven and unacceptably high on the treble side. After a quick email exchange with CF Martins warranty department, I was able to verify that the guitar had been registered to me in 1977 and the required neck reset would be covered under the lifetime warranty.

    How many things do you own that are over 30 years old, perform better than when you first bought them, and whose manufacturer still stands firmly behind their warranty? In this world of cheaply produced, throw away products, its nice to know that there is still a company like CF Martin that produces high quality instruments and stands behind them. Based on this experience, my next guitar will certainly be a Martin.

  • from Phoenix June 2, 2012Music Background:
    Player and luthier

    LOVIN' IT FOR 3 YEARS

    Played every Martin at GC. Thought I had to spend more $ to find the right guitar. I kept coming back to this one until it came home with me. I put on some Waverly's and bone bridgepins for a little mojo, and I like it more today than when I first bought it. I couldn't understand why this one sounded so much better than the 3 and 4k models, but it did. So I brought it home and it's still with me today. The bass is pleasant and the tone is nicely balanced compared to the other Martins/Taylors I played.

  • from Utica NY November 17, 2010Music Background:
    pro

    Great Martin

    Martins have always had great tone,but the last couple I owned had terrible intonation problems.That was quite a few years back.I swore I would never buy another Martin,until I checked out a couple a few months back.I tried a D18 and D28 I put money down on the D18 ,then a few weeks later they got a D35 in it was the best sounding of the 3 guitars so I ended up getting it.I`ve had it for about 2 months now,and I play it every day ,the action is great I have medium gauge strings on it .I also have a Gibson J45 Koa/Spruce that I like a lot , the J45 and the D35 both sound great but totally different.The D35 is probably my favorite guitar Ive owned so far .

  • from California April 5, 2009Music Background:
    A very serious musician

    Martin D-35 is one of the finest Acoustic Guitars around

    I have been playing guitar for over 35 years and I have played a lot of different solid body electrics and acoustic guitars and I can honestly say that nothing I have every played or owned has ever come close to a Martin D-35. A lot of acoustical guitars are "bright and tinny" sounding with a very shallow and weak "depth of sound" and the "tinny sound" is due to many of them having a very poor "bass side" but that's not the case with a Martin D-35. With a Martin D-35 you will get an excellent "bass side" with a "full and balanced tone" that has "depth of sound" that is quite awesome. I also really love the playability of the D-35 as well. It's a very well designed and built guitar and I find the Martin D-35 sound to be quite spectacular. You won't go wrong buying a Martin D-35.

  • from Austin, Tx March 4, 2009Music Background:
    41 year veteran, all aspects except for the making big money part!

    the big sound

    Don't bother reading reviews of this instrument, just get one! This is THE dreadnaught sound you have heard all along but didn't know it. The depth, definition, clarity, 'ring' etc simply have to be experienced. I have read where one reviewer stated that the instrument was conducive to 'creative accidents' and the the sound 'draws you in'. So true. I have owned several copies of this instrument and while they were good if not great guitars, they pale in comparison to the real thing. Stop reading now and go play one, or better yet, have your sales engineer send one out!

  • from oklahoma October 8, 2008Music Background:
    musican

    killer guitar

    i went to a local music store i pick up a gibson hummingbird,then a martin d-28,i played every high end guitar they had to offer, then i picked up the martin d-35 , and it blew away every guitar in the store. im telling you if you can afford to buy this guitar i say buy it, you wont be sorry.

  • from St. Helen, Michigan February 17, 2010Music Background:
    Church Praise team & hobby player.

    NONE BETTER !!

    This D-35 is get-down loud, but can be soft and sweet.....just depends how you stroke her. The staff at Sweetwater are tops!!

  • from Illinois April 26, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur

    Great Guuitar

    This was my first real guitar and it is great.

    It plays well and sounds like that big Martin booming sound.

    Then I heard the Martin D41 played against the D35 and it sounded even better so I now have it.

    You get what you pay for, but only you can decide how much is enough and too much. With the D41 being $1800 more, the D35 is a great value.

  • from November 9, 2015

    I am in love with my D35, flaws and all

    I have had my D35, which I bought from Sweetwater for many weeks now. This has been my first Martin. The only other high-end guitar I have had to compare it to is a Larrivee DO3R. This guitar has a very strong smell that will fill a room; I love this smell! The neck is the best feeling acoustic neck I have played. The sound is AMAZING! I rated this a 4 because there are small chips on the nut at the G-string slot, and the rosewood could be prettier. This guitar is by far the best feeling and highest quality guitar I have owned. The Do3R was nice but this is better. My rosewood side wedges have a lot of character: weird graining and areas of darker mineral spots. At first these flaws bugged me but I have growing so attached to this guitar I couldn't imagine sending it back.

  • from Columbus, GA January 17, 2015Music Background:
    30 + years as a professional hobbyist.

    Traditional Martin Sound

    This is a very full sounding guitar. The EIR gives it a nice scoop in the middle like so many Martin dreads do. The D-35 also projects that traditional low end but it is not overwhelming. My Taylor 718e actually has a deeper tone but the D-35 is very balanced and louder. The spruce top and the EIR back and sides are absolutely gorgeous. I had Sweetwater install an LR BAGGS Lyric and it truly compliments the natural sound of the guitar. I don't know how Martin is able to put such a big sound in such a light guitar. The only negative I have is that the stunning 3 piece back is not visible while playing.....oh well.

  • from June 14, 2012

    Beautiful Sound

    My new Martin D-35 sounds great. Full chords explode powerfully, midrange tones seem to float & the highs just shine right through. Fit & finish should be a little better on a guitar in this price range, but it still looks nice & glossy. The set-up required significant lowering of saddle & a small amount on the nut. If you can live with a few quibbles & can have a proper set-up done, you will enjoy your new D-35.

  • from PA. January 1, 2017Music Background:
    Worship Pastor

    Nice guitar, Great service

    Very nice guitar, has a nice woody tone. My only complaint is the fret wires are fairly small and I play heavier strings. I also tend to player a little heavy compared to most players making it hard to get a good action on this guitar for my playing style. I am considering have the guitar refreted with bigger wires.
    I would recommend this guitar to everyone. Very good looking guitar.

    I had some bridge problems on the guitar and can't say enough about the service I recieved from Sweetwater. They replaced the bridge and had it back to me in a timely manner. Very good quality workmanship. I would give them a solid 5 star rating.
    Thanks Sweetwater.

Questions about the Martin D-35?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway