0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Martin D-28 - Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 34 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin D-28 - Natural?

Questions about the Martin D-28 - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from March 9, 2017

    Wish I'd bought this years ago

    I've had this guitar for about a month, and it is absolutely the best guitar I've ever played. While there are plenty of guitars in this price range that sound different (and which others may prefer), I doubt there's anything that sounds better.

    I used to play my electric guitar all the time because my cheaper acoustic wasn't enjoyable. Now I can hardly put this guitar down. It plays great (not sure why some think Martins are hard to play) and has an incredible tone.

    I looked at cheaper Martins, but eventually decided I'd suffer from G.A.S. if I didn't get a Standard Series model. I'm glad I decided on the D-28.

  • from Cebu City, Philippines June 1, 2016

    Martin D-28

    The best. I bought mine last 2013 and it keeps sounding beter and better.

  • from Kansas City January 16, 2016

    My #1

    I ordered the D-28 Natural about a year ago and it's been my go to #1 guitar ever since. I've been playing since 2002 and this is one of the finest instruments I have ever played. I was looking for a high end instrument that would get better with age and the top has continued to open up more and more each day. This is a lifelong investment and I don't regret it one bit. It's no wonder why so many professional musicians have written and recorded on this instrument. The attention to detail in the little things is what separates this instrument from the others. If you are serious about acoustic playing and want an instrument that consistently give you great tone and feel look no further than the D-28.

  • from Spfld., Ma. November 15, 2015Music Background:
    40 years of playing.

    Martin D-28

    The best sound that I've ever heard from a folk guitar and it makes me wonder why I waited so long to get one. All those wasted years.

  • from August 12, 2015Music Background:
    Blues, Rock

    Martin D-28

    This is an excellent acoustic guitar, nice warm full sound.
    Beautiful craftsmanship, a pleasure to own and play
    I have no regrets buying this beautifully crafted beautiful sounding guitar.

  • from St. Simons Island, GA July 21, 2015Music Background:
    Less than 1 year

    First Martin Guitar, ever. Won't be my last.

    I've been learning on a Breedlove Discovery, and it has been a great guitar, but have been dreaming about a Martin ever since I picked up a guitar. This guitar is a perfect fit for me. I have no problems with hammer-on's, pull-off's, slides, barre chords, and bending strings. The tone of the guitar is excellent. I've been wanting an heirloom guitar to pass on to my kids, and their kids, and this was my one and only choice.

  • from Upper Michigan June 3, 2015Music Background:
    Rock Folk Blues

    Yooper Picker

    Living in Upper Michigan Near Lake Superior Makes it hard to Get your hands on a quality guitar to try out.. is tough. It's a 3 hour drive to Green Bay. To be able to play a Martin, Gibson or a Taylor . I was nervous about rolling the dice and ordering a D28 But after talking to Ken Davis ( he answered all my questions and concerns) Sweetwater was the way to go. It only took 2 days for the d28 to arrive. I was a little intimidated by the beauty of it. Was afraid I might scratch it. Then I started to play it . Awesome is the only word that comes close describing the tone. Love it!

  • from United States April 20, 2015

    wonderful guitar

    This is the best sounding guitar I have every owned,and I have owned a few in my 40 some years of playing. This D-28 fits my style of playing perfectly , strumming , finger picking or flat picking it just has a unique sound that I appreciate a great deal. My only regret is that I didn't buy is Martin guitar sooner.

  • from oakland, ca April 13, 2015

    solid

    this is a really versatile guitar. it sounds perfect to me! sounds like my favorite albums or whatever

  • from Pennsylvania April 6, 2015Music Background:
    Long-time guitar player

    EVERYTHING IT'S CLAIMED TO BE, & MORE!

    This long-time classic and iconic acoustic guitar has an incredibly resonant and well-balanced tone, plus impressive volume, along with terrific playability! As with all Martins, the construction & the high-quality wood and other materials used is THE VERY BEST in the business! Before you place your order, be sure to ask for MIKE SOPER, as he will provide you with the ALL-TIME BEST service, & his knowledge of all the guitars---both acoustic and electric---sold at Sweetwater is UNBEATABLE! I have bought quite a few guitars from Mike, & I have always had a super experience! Such a very friendly guy, as well! THANKS AGAIN, Mike!

  • from United States February 5, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist, music major, opera singer, piano banger, learning guitar

    A fabulous guitar perfect for a serious student

    Wow - a brand new Martin D-28! Martin, with its rich history as the oldest guitar company in the USA should certainly know how to build guitars that sound and perform beautifully, and this guitar is proof of the value of choosing experience and an iconic and classic design. The guitar does not disappoint on sound, setup, beauty, or hand feel - its really got stunning sustain, action, and play-ability. Some may prefer the louder sound of the HD-28, which is a great guitar too with extra volume for live performance, but the D-28 standard is no slouch in tone or volume either, despite the more solid bracing pattern, with a nuanced and balanced tone. This guitar is a concert quality instrument capable in the right hands of making men and women alike weep at the beauty of what they have heard - it makes me want to play better, study harder, and I have about 30 hours of play time (at least) in the 30 days I've owned it. I play sitting down so I've not even installed a strap button yet. The D-28 standard is known as a strummer and flat picker's dream, and this guitar has never let m e down from the first strum and makes learning a joy. Setup - best I've ever played straight out of the case (and I've played Ovations, Taylors, Tacomas, Martins, Breedloves, and plenty of Gibsons). Did I mention how beautiful the wood of the guitar is? The one I got has a back with a beautifully curved book matched figure to the rosewood, and the spruce top is exceptional too. Sweetwater buying experience was excellent.

  • from Outer Banks NC February 4, 2015Music Background:
    Hack guitarist and life-long student of the guitar

    Speechless!!!

    Where do I begin? Everything about this guitar is perfection. Right out of the case. They say acoustics open up and get better with time. I won't be able to stand it because right now this thing sounds like an angel's wings. The balance between the low end and the treble is perfect to my ear. I was nervous about getting a guitar of this price without playing it first but man am I glad I did. My sales rep Jon Krempel as usual provided me with outstanding service. I feel like I can rely on him. I don't buy my gear from anyone but Sweetwater because of this.

  • from Columbus, Ohio December 20, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist various instruments mostly bluegrass 5-string banjo

    What a guitar

    I am a long-time banjo player and a new guitar player. I was looking for something that I would use to play bluegrass and other types of music. All reviews pointed to the Martin d-28. I took the plunge and purchased the d-28. Boy what a nice guitar. The sound is clear with nice resonating base and bright high tones. I started taken lessons last week and my instructor also couldn’t keep his hands off the Martin. He had to take it for a spin. The D-28 is not inexpensive but in my experience with musical instraments and woodworking tools if you go cheap then you get cheap. Eventually you end up spending more money because you end up buying several items until you get to the d-28. This is a life-long purchase. I love it. Now back to my practicing.

  • from Tecumseh, KS November 15, 2014Music Background:
    Performer, Hobbyist

    Amazing Guitar

    I got this guitar for my birthday from my dad and the fast shipping was amazing he said he order it only 2 days ago. This guitar has to be the best acoustic guitar I have played and owned I really like the woody ness if that is a word it would be the best way to describe the sound. I know I will have this guitar for many years from now on. Thank you Sweetwater for have great products.

  • from UK August 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sheer Class

    The Martin D28 is sheer class. From the moment I picked it up it fitted my hand perfectly. For strumming and picking, the D28 retains a mellow rich tone that compliments vocal singing in various genres. It has a build quality and presence that inspires confidence in your playing, making music a joy.

  • from Fairborn, OH February 2, 2014Music Background:
    Beginner

    Awesome Sounds

    I came across one of these when I sold it on ebay for my dad. It was over 10 years old, but the sound was so freakin incredible that I remembered it. I finally saved up and was able to finally get a new one for myself. I can tell it will continue to improve in sound as it gets older -- and that no way implies that it doesn't sound awesome now cause it does. I just love the size of it and the way the sound projects out. You won't regret getting one.

  • from Tennessee January 16, 2014Music Background:
    Reclusive recording artist/ Woodsman

    Sounds like heaven smells like flowers

    To Mark Bruhn and the rest of Sweetwater, you freaking rule.
    My Martin D-28 arrived today. It is flawless. It sounds enormous yet still sweetly nuanced. I never realized rosewood is named such because it actually smells like roses. Incredible. Thanks for the quick, personalized communication and faster than expected shipping. This has been the best by far my best musical instrument purchasing experience. Far out and well done.

  • from Sealy, TX September 6, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist -20 years

    What a Voice

    After reading all the reviews about this guitar I can now see why so many people commented on it's sound.
    "What a voice"
    It really is hard to put her down and I know with time the sound will just keep getting better.
    I just hope my other girls don't feel neglected.
    So.......
    Thinking about leaving work a little early today

  • from Auburndale, FL August 3, 2013Music Background:
    Aspiring guitar player

    The Great D-28

    Brand New guitar. I can still smell the lacquer. I am still learning how to play. The guitar will sound better as it opens up and as I progress. My sales engineer is great. Set-up done as I specified. Great Service from Marshall and Sweetwater.

  • from NC USA April 26, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar player/20 years

    Ear Candy

    I purchased a new Martin DM in 1997. Ever since that DM has traveled with me, and been my favorite go to guitar for playing with friends as well as live. I didn't think I could find a guitar I could be happier with after seventeen years together. I was wrong.
    Since purchasing the d28 a month ago my views have changed. The folks at Sweetwater were very helpful. They guitar arrived in perfect shape ready to play right out of the box. The sound opens up more and more everyday. It has that classic sound of my first Martin, but the tones are richer, the notes ring clearer, and the action is perfect.
    Long story short, I love this guitar. If you have the chance, pick one up. I played the HD28 and D28. I chose the D28 because the HD was to bright. The balanced earthy tones of the D28 were exactly perfect for me. This is a guitar is one i will hold onto and pass down to my son or daughter. I hope this is helpful.

  • from Topeka Kansas December 2, 2012Music Background:
    Part time musician ( have a full time job)

    Martin D-28

    Well I have been wanting a d-28 for a number of years and finally I ordered one from sweetwater. I called my service rep (Brandon) and he took very good care of me! I selected a serial number from the gallery and spoke with Brandon about it.
    I must say I was little worried about not playing that particular instrument and not having it in my hands before such a large purchase.
    Well it arrived and with one strum out of the case my worries evaporated!
    I played it straight through Saturday into the late night and what a fine piece of craftmanship ! Fit and finish perfect. Setup perfect.
    I love the sound and playability of the guitar
    It's a Martin D-28 so I guess it's the bench mark for a very good reason !!

  • from Oakland, California May 21, 2011Music Background:
    One Hour a Day Player

    Photograph

    I just want to provide a bit of historical background here. My favorite photograph of the Beatles is actually a photograph of two Beatles, the main Beatles, McCartney and Lennon, sitting on some steps in India playing guitars and undoubtedly composing some song that within a few months, with release of the White Album, would be on millions of turntables. The guitars are D-28s. My thinking is, well, if a D-28 is good enough for Macca and John in 1968, it's good enough for me now, so I'm diligently saving my dollars and waiting for the sweet day when I can call Sweetwater and say, "Hello, yes, I would like to buy a D-28 from you please."

  • from Portland, Maine USA April 30, 2008Music Background:
    singer/songwriter

    Industry standard for sure

    I have been using my beloved D-28 as my primary since it was new in 1987. I have carried it all over the US, UK and have never once had a sound man struggle with mixing it fast and consistant. This is the one the rest of them are based on. The D-28 is the Mother!

  • from Mexico November 18, 2006Music Background:
    Rock, Folk, Blus, Metal

    Martin D-28 My choice of guitar

    I got my first d-28 in a store in GDL Mexico, the guitar was not very popular on sales at GDL because of the price and type of music, some people in my coutry play very diferent styles and few play rock or folk, like my self. I had to make works on the guitar inmediatly it got home, I had to lower the bridge significally, until i achieve 6 and 5 /64 of an ich in the bass and treb sises respectively and correct the arm, 'cause it had a excesive bow After those changes, it plays absolutly like butter with no bussing at at all!! and I am using extra light sring gauges. The sound is powerful, bassy and has a lot of authority and kik, this is my best guitar.

  • from Niagara Falls August 26, 2006Music Background:
    Live Player

    THE choice? THE Choice!

    It's not a beginners guitar, this is true. The Martin doesn't, on first playing, deliver the shimmering highs taht come so easily from a taylor (or even the more balanced highs of a Gibson acoustic). But with practice, and experience playing this particular guitar, it is capable of much more diversity.
    The tone is perfectly balanced, with a strong, but not overpowering low end. Playability is nice, with a high enough action to allow for "resistance" while bending, and easy enough action for ease of play.

    The finish is simple, but elegant and beautiful. A Word of note, about the guitar, however, is that it will not sound full with ligher guage srtings than twelves, and cannot be strung any heavier than 12's, lest the neck and bridge warp.

  • from Long Valley, NJ April 9, 2007Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Just bought my Martin

    Well I have to tell all. I just got my Martin D-28. It's the guitar Ive always wanted. It plays well on both the low and high ends of the neck. I was playing a Guild D-35 (35YRS OLD) and I loved that guitar but it got old. My Martin has no problem ringing out the blues, rock, folk or praise music. It will only sound better as time goes by.

  • from Albuquerque October 27, 2016

    Rosewood vs. Mahogony

    I had been playing another well known manufacturer's D-35 mahogany dreadnought for over 20 years. A really good guitar. I eventually passed it on and promised myself another great guitar after reaching a milestone. I studied specs, pored over glossy pics, read reviews and played a few during my search.
    I settled on a Martin D-28 that was personally picked out by a Sweetwater sales guy and these are my thoughts after almost 2 years of playing. It's a gorgeous instrument. Not just impeccable detail work, but pedigree wood selection, etc. Absolutely heirloom quality. As for comparison with mahogany, keep in mind that rosewood makes it a heavier instrument and you'll be inclined to treat it like a baby. The word that best describes the overall sound is creamy with perfect intonation in any register.
    One spec I would like to see Martin and the other builders include would be an instruments weight. It's an important factor. So, I really appreciate the personal service by you guys- I was even called a month ago to check in on my level of satisfaction. Sweetwater will find you the best instrument once you make your choice!

  • from Phoenix Arizona June 20, 2016Music Background:
    Life long guitar player.

    Rating my Martin D 28

    Well, I purchased my D 28 almost a month ago, and I'm compelled to rate her. The moment we met we immediately began to "imprint" on each other. There was the usual getting to know each other then the physical connection took hold and we began to play. And I'm happy to say that the honey moon is still in full swing! We are having a great time together and I'm so happy that I met her. We've talked about sharing the rest of our lives together and couldn't be more in love. I want to thank Sweetwater for making it possible for us to meet and you all can believe that she has found a good and loving home with me.

  • from Texas January 18, 2015Music Background:
    Private guitar teacher

    Great guitar but..

    Great guitar! Definitely have to own instrument. Came to me ready out if the box. Did respond to Sweetwater concerning that the changes they need to make on the description. It comes with a bone nut and bone saddle. Contacted Martin and they cleared that up. My only gripe is why an instrument of this magnitude comes with plastic bridge pins?? Not sure.. Replaced with bone anyway..

  • from Lafayette, louisiana May 15, 2012Music Background:
    church choir musical instrument player

    Mr

    this is the 6th guitar that i have owed . sounds great ,easy to play, warm bass tone ,a lot of values for a fair price, i am happy with the new guitar.

  • from September 4, 2016

    less than perfect

    Put the hype/myth aside. I bought the D-28 five years ago and was never satistied with and have subsequetnly traded ikt even-up for a D-16. Why? The D-=28 was the best acoustic sounding guitar ever--resonance was spectacular. But the action is mediocre and it is difficult top play, especially if you care about finger-=pickinmg. I had the neck re-adjusted, had the guitar spend two weeks to a "humidifying" room, and nothing helped. Also, after five years of occasional playing I was told that the frets needed replacing (inferior frets? I know so). Playing this guitar was not sun, so I tried a friends used D-16 and re-discovered the joy of playing a gitar. Beware of the resonance--the guitar is not easy to play--strings too high above the frets. Love the D-16 (Adirondack)_.

  • from Wise, VA July 29, 2006Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Martin D28

    This is a decent guitar, and I'm sure that some absolutely love it. Compared to the Baby Taylor, the only factor that will beat the Taylor is the fact that the Martin is full-size. The Martin tone is darker, and the action is higher, and the volume is not as loud, Making it hard to play if you don't have a lot of guitar experience. I don't recommend this for the begginer, but I'm sure that this guitar would be a great addition for the seasoned player. But I still think it sounds a little to dark.

  • from New York September 9, 2016

    Martin by name alone

    For years I've been looking forward to getting another Martin; I'm 61 y/o and I had a D-18 that I absolutely loved back in my late teen's. Only had it for 4 years and then because of a dried up work market in the area I ended up having to sell.
    I hate to say it but I'm disappointed with the D-28; the frets are too high making in uncomfortable to play and as far as the sound, I've found better quality, fuller, brighter sound from a $300 Epiphone and it does not have any sustain. A lot of this could be as a result of the strings that are on it...I never cared for Martin's.
    So anyway I plan on slapping some D'Addario 11's on it and of course I plan on keeping it knowing that in time it will be as I want

  • from Sao Paulo, Brazil November 1, 2005

    The legendary D-28

    Out of the box it's a good sounding guitar but nothing spectacular. Play it for a few days though and as it starts opening up you'll feel the urge of playing it more and more. After a couple of weeks you'll understand all the hype and mystique behind the D-28. Then you'll find out why it is considered THE standard steel stringed guitar but be prepared: After that aural bliss you'll probably lose some hours of sleep or even get a little sloppy with your day job. It'll be almost impossible to put it down. Those innocent '5 minutes' can become hours if you don't watch yourself. Although it was specially designed for strong rhythmic play - which makes it a strummer's machine - the overall quality is so high that it can handle it all, a fact that can be backed up by the artists with many diverse styles such as: Lennon, McCartney, Dylan, Joni Mitchell, Jimmy Page, Michael Hedges, etc. I think I'll go play now..

Questions about the Martin D-28 - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway