0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Martin D-16RGT Dreadnought w/Rosewood Back and Sides - Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin D-16RGT Dreadnought w/Rosewood Back and Sides - Natural?

Questions about the Martin D-16RGT Dreadnought w/Rosewood Back and Sides - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from New Jersey September 25, 2015

    Awesome Guitar

    I have had the guitar for some months now and every time I pick it up it sounds better and better. Build quality is top notch. I really do love it. Just the smell of the wood is awesome. It is loud and clear and really shines when using a pick for single runs or chords. Finder picking is very good but remember it is not really a true finger style guitar. I still have the same strings on it that it came with and they still sound fantastic. Comes with a beautiful hard shell case. I look forward to many years of fun playing with this great guitar. As usual the customer service at Sweetwater is top notch. Martin and Sweetwater rock!!

  • from San Diego, Ca USA August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Wonderful Guitar

    This guitar is just as great as the one I auditioned at GC. I had to wait but it was well worth it. Had a tear in the case but Nate and the customer care people took very good care of me and sent me not just a case to replace it but an upgraded version. Now the Martin has a great home. Many thanks to all at Sweetwater.

  • from topanga,ca March 5, 2014Music Background:
    50 years playing almost everyday hours

    martin d16rgt

    this guitar has all the trimmings. it has solid rosewood back and sides it looks like a hd35 no triple back and plays bueatifuly the
    sound is deep and rewarding it's hard to put down. this is the best deal it has all the same as the high end martins and sounds just as good

  • from Saint Charles Missouri March 2, 2010Music Background:
    Former Professional Musician, Hobbyist

    Try It You'll Love It

    The service and customer care that Mr. Alex Morales provided to me is second to none. Mr. Morales took care of my every need. Answered all my questions, always got back to me withinin 24 hours or less.
    The D-16RGT is stunning in her appearance, a true work of art and love. The sound is like none I have ever experienced from a "Flat Top Box" The tone quality is so rich and deep that it is exciting just to play an open "D" cord with the bass "E" tuned to a "D" and listen to the music. ( "I could her Don Williams or the Late Great Waylon singing Amanda...) I have always wanted to have a Martin "Flat Top Box" and can only tell ya'all go for it. The D-16 RGT is well worth the investment and you will be amazed by the over all quality of this insturment.

  • from San Francisco Bay Area January 29, 2014Music Background:
    former full time pro, now hobbyist and part-time pro

    Very Nice

    First, I'll say how great Sweetwater was to work with. I arranged a 24 month no interest financing without issue. I had to return the 1st guitar I ordered ( different than the D-16RGT ) and Matt made it easy and painless.

    Because I had owned a 1970 D-35 yrs ago, I finally decided that was the type of guitar I wanted, and the D-16RGT hit the mark in many ways. Appearance-wise, the D-16RGT is nicely done with plain white binding on the neck and back and wbwbw on the front. Nice looking herringbone inlay around the soundhole. The quality of workmanship is 1st rate. Not one issue visually. Satin finished sides, back and neck feel great, though you can tell this is where Martin cut costs, as they don't fill the grain like they do on gloss finished guitars. The spruce top is fairly clear, but not nearly as much as their higher priced guitars. The rosewood back and sides are also very nice, and no seams are visible. Appearance of wood varies from one guitar to the next, and it's great that Sweetwater publishes photos of the guitars they carry so the buyer can choose which guitar they prefer.

    But we don't buy Martins because of their understated looks, but for their tone and quality. This guitar has a clear, deep bass and clear strong trebles. A little lacking in the midrange, but that is to be expected of a rosewood dread. It is pretty loud when strummed with a pick, but still finger picks nicely. The neck shape ( modified low oval ) works fine with my smaller hands plagued by arthritis. Set up was very good, but I switched from med. gauge strings to light gauge. Tone might suffer slightly but it made playing much easier for me.

    This is a very good guitar and value, especially when considering it cost about 1K less than a D-35. It has the full, rich Martin tone we all know and love, and the build quality is outstanding. Highly recommended for a D type guitar where one doesn't have thousands to spend.

  • from Marshall, North Carolina, USA September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter, Front Porch Picker, Church

    Simply Fantastic Mid-Range Guitar!

    After not having played a guitar in about 18 years, I decided to start playing again.
    I wanted to purchase a guitar that was a keeper that wouldn't break the bank, so to speak.
    After doing a ton of research and comparisons, I decided on the Martin D-16RGT and decided to purchase from Sweetwater on the advice of my friend Chris, who has ordered a ton of stuff from Sweetwater.
    Randy and the entire staff were courteous, helpful and professional. Nothing gimmicky or pushy about this bunch at all.
    The guitar arrived in absolutely flawless condition in its hard shell case.
    Upon picking it up, it had a nice balance and feel about it.
    It didn't take much playing to be absolutely blown away by the D-16RGT's power and tone.
    This thing is a CANNON! It has great treble without being too bright, a very responsive, resonant, deep bass with incredible sustain.
    I cannot recommend this guitar enough for someone who wants a nice, full sounding Bluegrass/Country/Folk guitar that is heirloom quality and can hold it's own up against many much higher priced guitars.
    There is only one thing I do not like about the guitar, but it isn't a "biggie": The white stripe on the side of the guitar, at the back, where the strap button goes.
    That's it. Other than that, this guitar is flawless in every respect.
    I highly recommend the Martin D-16RGT!

  • from United States March 8, 2012Music Background:
    Been around

    A Good Martin Guitar

    Has the basics of the higher priced boxes (D28) at about a grand le$$.
    If your moving up from lesser guitar, or if this is your first guitar, look no more. If you have the money or saving up, when buying a acoustic,
    6 string - Martin, 12 string - Guild. IMHO

  • from Illinois April 26, 2016Music Background:
    A

    Nice Intro Level Guitar

    This is a really good intro guitar.

    I bought it first then upgraded to a D35 and finally to a D41.

    You do get what you pay for in tone and craftsmanship, but only you can decide how much to pay.

    If this were the only guitar I owned, I'd still be happy with it!

Questions about the Martin D-16RGT Dreadnought w/Rosewood Back and Sides - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway