0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Martin D-15M - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 24 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin D-15M - Natural?

Questions about the Martin D-15M - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from New Jersey March 29, 2017Music Background:
    Cover band in local bars.

    Better than I thought. It's a real Martin.

    This is my first all solid wood guitar, and my first Martin. This makes my Alvarez sound like a toy. I am not kidding. I knew my Alvarez was an affordable guitar with a plastic nut and saddle, and it served its purpose. The Martin D-15 just makes incomparable sounds. It resonates, and sings in a way that makes me feel like I never understood acoustics until I owned my own.

    I have played high end acoustics in stores, but I have never brought one home. Playing this guitar in the place I play every day has totally changed my appreciation for this instruments. The D-15 sounds wonderful, it has a great blend of bass and mids. It doesn't ring like a Taylor and it doesn't quite have that Sitka Spruce sound, it is definitely more mellow. It works great for singing along with and offers great bass accompaniment.

    I cannot recommend this guitar and Martin guitars enough. It's my first real acoustic, I've been playing for 13 years and this makes me feel happy every time I play it.

  • from Barnsley December 12, 2016Music Background:
    Hobby

    Martin

    Awsome i. Bought the d15m burst and truly love it i played gibsons taylors but didnt come close to this

  • from Duncannon pa November 14, 2016Music Background:
    Started with guitar about 1967

    Happy Martin Owner

    Hi Folks just about a month into my new D-15M from Martin Guitar and Sweetwater had bought another guitar from Sweetwater, the D-35 Seth Avette custom shop also own A 74 D-35 .Just got back tonight from A jam of Bluegrass. Good highs nice lows, great flat picking guitar and I have to say it was very comfortable to play , I am very pleased . its a keeper .

  • from North East September 22, 2016Music Background:
    Played guitar for 50 years

    Hard to beat a a D15M

    For the price the D 15M is hard to beat in the Martin line up. I have a D28 and a D18 Standard series Martin's costing nearly $1000 more than a D15M and the D15M holds its own against these Standard series gems. The sound is incredible dry and woody with a powerful base and strong trebles. Both my D18 and D28 took some work to get them where I wanted by that I mean a set up for my personal playing style. Not the D15M I took it out of the case and tuned it and everything I like was there. It has the bass for bluegrass I like the trebles and high end I like for 1960's folk It plays fast and easy it's nice and light maybe not as loud as the D18 or D28 but the sound is the best. At one time I thought I had to spend more to get a real Martin but that's not true not with the D15M if I could only keep one guitar it would be the D15M.

  • from Virginia June 17, 2016

    unbelievable

    I've played many of guitars, but the sound of this one is amazing. I played a Washburn d31s for years but it can't touch this Martin. My friends have Martin d35s, d28s and hd28s. And my d15m blows them away. It's just a great sounding guitar. I don't understand why someone would spend thousands of dollars on a guitar when you can have the best sounding Martin for less than fifteen hundred. Well worth the money. Wouldn't trade it for anything.

  • from Providence, RI March 4, 2016

    My Martin D-15M

    Of all the factors I took into consideration when searching for my first all-solid-wood guitar, tone was always king.
    Finding just the right acoustic tone is a very personal thing. It’s different for everybody and often hard to describe, but we know it - and feel it - when we hear it.

    I played a lot of guitars in my long search but always gravitated back toward the Martin D-15M. Its lush full sound, long sustain and perfectly balanced tone really resonated with me (literally). It’s the sound that my brain wants to hear when I strum an open chord or pick a note. Warm and balanced, focused and darkly sweet with that beautiful deep Martin base, clear highs and just a touch of growl. This guitar called my name from the beginning and while I kept an open mind and played many, many others, nothing connected with me quite like this Martin hog top.

    I love the look and feel of this guitar too. A comfortable playable neck profile, and a flawless lightweight build and bracing that lets you feel the musical vibrations in your chest which only adds to the one-on-one connection this guitar makes. There’s also something Zen-like in the D-15M’s stripped down simplicity, satin smoothness and rich solid mahogany that really pulls you in. I can’t say enough about the vibe this guitar throws off. It’s got major mojo especially when playing in what seems to be its native tongue - the blues, and that suits me just fine.

    Needless to say, I’m very satisfied with my choice. It’s a lifelong keeper.

    Kudos to Sweetwater Sound too. I felt confident in ordering the D-15M online because every single one I ever played at various music stores felt and sounded consistently great – I never found a dud. The only variables would have been looks - things like grain pattern, book matching and shading, etc. Sweetwater puts those worries to rest by displaying multiple angled pictures of its guitars by serial number. You order the exact guitar you see in the pictures. I wouldn’t have ordered a guitar online if it were not for Sweetwater.

  • from Colorado January 3, 2016Music Background:
    Singer songwriter, rhythm guitars, vocals, bands, campfires, parties

    Wow

    This guitar is amazing. Most likely one to go up in value over the years but I'll never sell... I own a taylor 410ce as well and I love my taylor but the d15m has completely blown me away.. My fingers hurt because I can't put it down.... Sweetwater was great as always. If you're on the fence about this guitar don't be..... Excellent sound and tone.... I would say speechless but I just wrote this.

  • from Wlliamsport, MD December 21, 2015Music Background:
    I play guitar in a Continuing Care Retirement Community and I also play in a band.

    Chaplain/Pastor

    I have favored Taylor guitars for many years. During the past two years I have been exploring the purchase of a Martin guitar. I played the "high end" Martins and I seriously considered the D 28. I had heard favorable comments about the D 15M. I played one and I really liked the sound of this guitar.
    We all have different preferences/tastes in guitars. I feel that the D 15 M is the best acoustic guitar for me. I am very satisfied with this guitar.

  • from Utah November 16, 2015Music Background:
    Been in many bands. Currently singer/songwriter/hobbyist

    So Perfect I Could Cry

    I've tried out many guitars in my life. I travel once a month for work and always hit up an available Guitar Center wherever I go. I've played a Gibson J-45 and Hummingbird as well as countless Taylors and several highest-end Martins.

    The D-15m wins.

    This acoustic's tonal balance is spotless. With every strum, I bear rich trebles, ocean-deep basses, and more-than-perfect resonance and projection. It will be my go-to guitar til I die or my hands fall off, and even then, I'd pound the strings with my nubs just to get that sound again. It changed my songwriting, opening it up so many more creative avenues because of its versatility. It added on immensely to the joy that guitar playing was already bringing me. This guitar is a gem from a group of geniuses. There is a reason Martin has the reputation it has.

    I did not buy this from Sweetwater (I bougjt it a year ago before becoming too familiar with Sweetwater)but I did recently buy an Epiphone Dove Pro from them (for which my review has also been written), and if I had the time, I would write positive reviews for every piece of gear they sell solely to thank them for how amazing they are as a company. They do everything perfectly.

  • from October 1, 2015

    Martin D-15

    Great guitar. Great tone and plays wonderfully.
    It's a Martin. Nuff said. Buy it. You'll love it.
    Sweetwaters excellent service as always makes
    any purchase a great experience.

  • from South Carolina August 22, 2015

    Martin D-15M

    I have the lefty version of this guitar. I originally found this guitar in a shop that has guitars for leftys in Texas. I spent a couple of hours there and compared many Taylors, Gibsons and other Martins. I had always thought the Gibson J-200 would be the holly grail for me. I was wrong. It turned out to be the D-15. Good thing too cause the J-200 was about $4000. The D-15 is almost a1/4 of that. I happened to find one again and was able to compare it to a D-28. To me the D-15 had it beat. I didn't pass up the opportunity this time. I also own a Takamine EF341, a Seagull 12 string and a Guild GAD50 (my beater). I love my Takamine but this Martin is incredible.

  • from USA February 4, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter, Musician, Recording Artist

    Amazing Tone How Sweet The Sound!

    I have always wanted this model but somehow I ended up buying something else. When I finally pulled the trigger, I could hardly wait for this beauty to arrive!!! It was shipped lightening fast! Sweetwater's customer service is excellent and their instruments are top shelf, bar none. Thank you so much Brandon Eden.

    I have had sitka/rosewood, and sitka/mohagany guitars, but never a solid mahogany. Honestly, this guitar has by far surpassed my expectations!!!! The tone is sweet, warm, and articulate. It has beautiful resonant bass and, the sound is better than many guitars twice the price. Martin guitars are some of the finest. They have maintained their high standards and they are still made in America. Every player should have one of these. The simple elegance and playability is captivating. This one is a keeper and easily one of my favorites.

  • from December 4, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Engineer, Pro Musician, Professional Slacker

    Fan-Freaking Tastic

    This guitar is exactly what I wanted. Not to mellow, not to harsh, not too much treble, a good amount of Bass. The tone is perfect for what I want. I wanted a guitar with some character, it has a great solid sound across the strings, very even but yet with a sense of raw tone and mellowness all combined that make this guitar very diverse. I have been playing music for 20 years, I've owned many guitars from Les Pauls, Paul Reed Smith, various Acoustics, so I consider my opinion to be pretty solid. I played various Taylors before buying this guitar, and for me it fit quite well. It may not be for everyone, I personally loved the Martin D18, it sounded so perfect, so if this one isn't for you the D18 most likely will be.

  • from Lancaster, CA December 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, everyday player

    Outstanding Guitar

    This guitar is absolutely unbelievable! I love the punchy lows with the pronounced mid range, all around warm tone. This guitar has lots of volume, I love it! If your thinking of buying this, do it! you wont be disappointed. For the past year I have been shuffling around my guitar stock, this one is terrific addition, and a keeper.
    Also want to thank Sweetwater, and my Sales Engineer Ryan Wiltermood.
    Ryan provides me with the best service I have EVER seen in this industry, all others for that matter!! Ryan has cemented my loyalty to Sweetwater, its the only company I will ever do business with again, and has been for a few years.
    Ryan is extremely patient, knowledgeable, friendly and bends over backwards. Thank you so much Ryan and Sweetwater, you all are the best.
    Dont worry for a second about buying a guitar online from Sweetwater, just do it!

  • from Clinton, ME May 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, aspiring musician

    Best guitar I own, period

    I bought this almost a month ago, wanting to upgrade from my first acoustic, a very nice Yamaha.
    After doing research and speaking with my sales rep Ryan Holquist, I decided to purchase this one and he even gave me a great deal.
    I have to tell you, it is far more guitar than I expected, WOW.
    It looks great, smells great, feels VERY light and comfortable and plays like no other guitar I own. I was playing mostly electrics, that has changed. I can't keep my hands off this.
    I have a friend who is mentoring me, he's played for 30 years and he was so impressed with this. He owns a very expensive Gibson and this is at least an equal to his.
    I will never say this about my electrics as I own many but this is my last acoustic guitar. I will not and see no reason to ever need an upgrade. As far as I am concerned this is as good as it gets.
    I have already played my first gig with this and it's all I've played since.
    I can not imagine a sweeter sound coming from a guitar. It is very mellow. The highs ring nicely and lows resonate nicely, tone is perfect. The action is nice as well. The only change I've made was to put lighter strings on it, just a personal preference as mediums were stock on this.
    If you have any doubt about this guitar because of it's price, DON'T. You will be making a mistake by not considering this. It's simple yet perfect. I have been told it will only improve with age but can't imagine. I love it just the way it is.
    Thank you Ryan for your great customer service, as always. I will Never purchase a guitar or equipment elsewhere.

  • from topang .ca March 5, 2014Music Background:
    50 years on the guitar

    martin d15m

    this guitar has a belly it can compete with the best of them better than the gibson j200 that was $4000.00 this guitar reaches the soul and fun to play
    i have 50 years on the guitar playing every day nothing beats martin

  • from Madison, AL February 27, 2014Music Background:
    Vocalist and guitar hobbyist

    Great sound, all natural wood and Americam made in Nazareth PA

    I bought my D-15M last year after looking at a lot of different guitars for some time. This guitar sounds amazing, action and neck are great, and it's 100% mahogany. Bone nut & saddle are standard. Although not ornately appointed, this guitar looks good and smells wonderfull! I would highly suggest this for someone wanting American made Martin quality at an affordable price. Sure to become a Martin classic.

  • from WI February 24, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician / Hobbyist

    Amazing Guitar

    Just an amazing guitar. A joy to play.
    Sweetwater was also fantastic to work with.

  • from Toms RIver, NJ September 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sweet Guitar

    A exceptional sweet and warm guitar. High are not abrasive but a little muted. Warm bass and midrange. Action out of the box was low and delight to play. Incredible happy I decided on the D-15M

  • from Spokane, WA April 5, 2013Music Background:
    Player

    What can I say...It's a Martin

    Great Martin sound. All Mahogany construction. Easy playing and sounds excellent. Love it!!!

  • from Wisconsin March 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best Guitar .

    I purchased a Martin D-15 in 2002,after 45 years of guitar playing this is the best sounding guitar I have owned. Mellow and bright, excellent sound. Love it,and gets better every year. Thanks Martin!

  • from Spokane, WA February 11, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best Guitar I've Ever Played

    It sounds amazing right out of the box! I've been playing it for about a month now and it's been great. The sound and playability are exactly what I was looking for in a guitar. Highly Recommended!

  • from Lehi, UT USA July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Student,

    Great Guitar

    I had been looking for a guitar that wasn't super bright, but all the ones I tried just weren't cutting it. I really love the artist City and Colour and the guitar he plays is all mahogany, so I thought I'd look at some similar models. I ended up debating between the Taylor 320 (with a mahogany top) and the Martin D-15M. I tested both and fell in love with the Martin. To me the tone was richer, and it had way more character to it. This guitar is distinct. It has a very raw, warm sound. I love the vintage, minimalistic look too. If you're looking for a pristine guitar sound with sparkly top end, this isn't your guitar. This guitar is more raw, earthy (if that makes sense) and rich sounding.
    Overall I'm super happy with the purchase. Sweetwater did a great job getting it too me fast and in perfect condition.

  • from July 26, 2015

    D-15m

    I originally ordered a 00-15m and wasn't happy with it. So with sweet waters great return policy it went back and I chose the d-15m and that was the correct choice for me. It has a softer, but we'll balanced sound vs my hd28v or 16gt. It has a beautiful ring and sustain with a nice proportional bass note. It has a nicer richer finish than my 000-15m burst which seems slightly less glossy. So to finish, this is a beautiful looking and sounding guitar very pleased!

Questions about the Martin D-15M - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway