0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

AKG D 112 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 23 customer reviews
  • Guy
    from Israel June 15, 2015

    Very versatile

    I find that this mic sounds very good not only on bass drum. It has some nice top end, and you can use it on the tom and floor drums as well. Actually I found it sound even better than the MD421 II that I'm usually using. I love it!

  • Lloyd
    from England June 3, 2015

    Deal of the Century

    Been after just one of these 20 years ago and out of my price range but Am now getting back into Sound Reinforcement in the United Kingdom and needed a kick drum mic and spotted these so I ordered 2 of them and sent them to my older brother and repost them to me in the UK ,Wanted 10 at this price.
    Awesome cant wait til the rigs ready to rock and roll again
    Now own a Soundtrack K3 32ch desk and Martin Audio speaker system

    Definitely will keep watching Thanks also Ebay.

  • Justin Green
    from Austin, TX December 26, 2014Music Background:
    10 years Recording Engineer/Producer/Guitar Player/Studio owner

    If you want a really punchy kick this is your mic! Strongly recommend this guy. it's a great mic to pair with the B52.

  • glenn mayer
    from new jersey February 18, 2010Music Background:
    recording engineer ,drummer

    bass drum punch and thunder ..look no more!

    The AKG D 112 is an industry standard for people who are on a budget but don,t want to sacrifice the quality of there sound.
    This microphone is medium priced compared to some of the others that are out there and does the job very very nicely, you will be suprised at the sound you get not only live but also in recording , This is the sound we all look for without going broke on some of the big names out there that come close to it,s sound , I did my research for a while before purchasing this mike and came finnally to the conclusion that i found what i was looking for in the d112 , this is a mike that give your bass or bass drum that sound that your looking for and as a d112 owner you,ll agree that i was,nt kidding ! buy it!

  • Sam
    from New England July 25, 2015Music Background:
    Sampling, Mobile Recording

    Great Mic, Great Price!

    Surprisingly light and quite sturdy. Its ability to clip into AKG mic clips makes it easy to set up and deploy in whatever way you need it.

    Believe it or not, the first thing I used this on was recording the bass strings on a piano. It might sound a little bit of an odd use, but combined with a ribbon on the upper strings, a tube pre, and a little EQ, it turned a somewhat sharp mid-grand into a warm, docile concert grand, to get a gorgeous lullaby tone for a gentle piece. I have yet to actually try this out on a bass drum, but I had a chance to use it on a bass trombone with quite good results. I really enjoy AKG's products (I've had a pair of their headphones for five years now that I've done almost everything imaginable to and they're still going strong), so I have really high hopes for this mic, price and all! I enjoy versatile mics, and I think this one, despite its specific labeling, might just fill that part as a low-end heavy-weight.

  • Neil Davis at bossdog studio and live sound production
    from Olympia Washington June 18, 2015

    D 112

    it was at a price that you do not pass up for such a good low and capturing microphone for recording and live sound reinforcement. My go to Mic,

  • Ed aka Dr MoW
    from Whidbey June 16, 2015Music Background:
    Not much

    The sound of one string slapping

    Hey this mic is working great for my washtub bass

  • AEG
    from June 12, 2015

    Kicks Bootie on kick....can still do other stuff.

    Best sounding kick drum microphone you can get that's not just a one-trick pony. Besides the usual recommendations for tuba or Marshal, try close-miking this thing on the low register on a piano. It's also deadly on a floor tom. You won't find anything better. I'm sorry I didn't pick up more than one during mic month.

  • C.C. Ryder
    from Chicago May 29, 2015Music Background:
    Bass & Vocals for Rod Tuffcurls and the Bench Press

    Lovin It

    I've been playing bass with in-ear monitors for 5 years now, and even with quality bass drivers and an awesome DI in my Aguilar DB751, I was never quite satisfied with my tone - it was always so different in my ears than what I had coming from my cabinet. So I finally decided to mic the cab and blend both signals in my ears. The difference is so awesome. All the thickness and punch from the mic blends perfectly with the crisp mids and highs of the direct signal. I haven't compared this mic to any others, but it's giving me exactly what I was looking for!

  • Christopher Paglia
    from Byfield, MA October 2, 2008Music Background:
    Musician, Live and Recorded Sound

    "THE" Low End (signal) Mic

    As a prior reviewer said already this is THE kick drum mic - indeed it is. This has also been my main mic for bass cabs as well. I am principally a bass player and therefore very picky about my tone. For electric bass I often mic a 4x10 with a D112 and blend in a direct signal. This gives me a very flexible tone when it comes to mix down. Indeed there are other low-end (signal that is) mics, but this is one of those work-horse mics that follows me from the studio to live gigs.

  • Josh
    from Southern New Jersey July 12, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, drummer, recording engineer

    A staple in your mic bag.

    I would give these a 5 but like any mic they work well in the right situation. I've tried several kick mics and at my place on my pearl export these rule. Great punchy sound with the right amount of slap.
    Great price great mic. My kicks have a 4" sound hole. My only complaint would be the orientation of the mic on he stand makes it tricky to get inside the drum. To be fair that's true of most kick mics.
    Get them. Try them. I love them you will too.

  • Buddy Hendrickson
    from Denver, CO June 22, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer, Singer, Composer, Producer, Songwriter

    great Mic

    This mic worked so well on my studio kick drum out of the box! Set a sweet close to the head placement (~ 5 in from the head a little off-angle) and it sounded great w/ no EQ. Great mic! (especially at the sale price ($99).

  • Customer
    from N. Carolina June 18, 2015Music Background:
    Professional for many years. Got out of itfor a while but now re-enjoying playing in the studio

    AKG d 112

    Well Guys and Dolls this is a mic for yas. Quite simple no bs. A very clear signal. Easy to direct. In my case I use it in my home studio on my bass drums and floor toms mostly with a 'flat' setting on my board- nice , nice. I've used the EV Re20 mic for years as well as 421 Sennheissers and they also work very well, but for the money you cannot go wrong with this AKG. Yeah, there are more expensive dynamic mics out there but if you are not a big production studio or on a ' budget' - why go broke! This works better than good. So check it out. Contact my Sweetwater tech ED Nystrom- just ask him !! RM

  • Bassman
    from June 18, 2015Music Background:
    Long time pro, producer.

    Can't go wrong

    Best deal in the planet for the money! Mic anything bass, drop it off a truck. Lose it, no pain!

  • Alan Handley
    from Charleston,WVA July 27, 2014Music Background:
    Started playing in 1964, have not stoped, you do the math.

    Fine tool for the job!

    I use this mic on my 20" DW kick just inside the kick port I installed and it works great!

  • Dave
    from United States August 5, 2013

    Good but not as great as I was expecting

    This is supposed to be the standard for kick drum mics. It is good but I didn't notice as much difference between this and a shure PG52 mic I had. I thought this would blow it out of the water but it didn't. It's better but not like amazingly better. Who knows maybe I'm doing something wrong.

  • Graham
    from Lakeville, CT March 3, 2011Music Background:
    audio engineering producer, producer

    Great! But needs EQ treatment

    The AKG D112 is my go to kick drum microphone. It has the low end you need for most recordings when used as the sole microphone on kick drum. For extra low-end goodness, pair with a subkick mic (homemade ones can work great!). I've found this mic gets nice and agressive when you boost the highs a 3k and cut some mud, don't be shy about boosting the highs, it will help it sit in the mix. Don't think twice, use the D 112!

  • Nate
    from Miami, FL September 21, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Drummer

    The "go-to" mic for low frequency instruments.

    I've had great results with this microphone for both kick drums and bass cabinets - it's a very practical item for any musician or engineer to have in their tool kit!

  • Dean Drake
    from Bellingham, WA July 15, 2006Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician/recording engineer

    This is THE kick drum mic

    Before I bought my D 112, I tried different types of mics, but none of them could deliver the punchy low frequency that I needed - but none of them were designed for kick drum either. Once I put this mic up to the sound port on my kick drum, I knew I had the right mic. It gave me the low end I was looking for, but also transferred all the energy that went with it.

    To me this mic is rather finicky though. You have to position it just right to get the sound you want. I haven't tried other mics that claim that you don't need to find the "sweet spot" though. After the experiences I have had with microphones, I am still skeptical about those claims. So, with what I know about this mic, I like it and will continue using it.

    This mic is great for bass cabs as well. Once again, you need to position the mic properly. Then again, it all depends on what sound you want too. Maybe you WANT a different sound for a change.

  • J
    from Nashville May 29, 2015Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Songwriter

    Specific Sound for a Specific Job

    This mic is pretty heavily scooped in terms of EQ right out of the box. On the one hand, that makes it easy to know exactly what you're getting - lots of beater attack, low end thump, and little in between. In fact, I'd liken it to a sample. The extreme scooped nature of the sound makes basically every kick sound the same. The high end attack definitely holds up no matter what size or model kick drum. The low end gets lower and lower as you move up in kick drum size. But the basic sound is the same. For heavy rock, punk, metal, etc. this is an excellent tool to get that punchy kick sound. However, for anything where you want a little body or tone from the kick drum, you either have to pair this with something else, (I use a LDC outside the kick for this, usually) or go with a different mic. I also have a Beta 52, and I find that it has a lot more body to it, naturally. I can also get a scooped sound out of it if I need it with some simple EQ. Since I don't record a lot of punk, metal, hardcore, etc., I find myself reaching for the Beta 52, one of my LDC, or some combo of other mics more often than my 112.

    That being said, knowing the 112 is there to accomplish a specific task and accomplish it extremely well, I can't complain. If I need lightening fast attack and I want the kick to cut through in the upper midrange (2k-4K), the D-112 probably has no equal.

  • @AudioFilesProd
    from Atlanta June 4, 2015Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician

    Used for vocal tracking (Don't tell anyone)

    Great mic when complimented with a sub kick. Used for vocals once for a project, and definitely plan to track more vocals for it again. Do Not Recommend vocal tracking for serious client as of yet. But does keep mid range and boost low end on vocals and provided great results.

  • Drum Man
    from Tennessee June 11, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/ Producer

    TO MUDDY!!

    The mic sounds better on a Bass Cab rather than the Kick Drum. You really have to cut back about 6db around 200Hz.. The mic is EQed around 3 or 4 db starting at 150Hz to 300Hz., which makes it to muddy for my liking. I'll stick with the Beta 52A. Alot less eqing


  • Ernest Buckley
    from Brooklyn, NY February 22, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    An ugly and not very good sounding mic

    I used the AKG D112 for a projects on kick drum, dealing with its lack of attack, and its awful thud. I normally don`t write negative reviews like this but there are better sounding kick mics out there… Audix D6 comes to mind.. .anyway, I would stay away from the D112 and look elsewhere… and it doesn`t mean much but what an ugly mic… argh...

Questions about the AKG D 112?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway