0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Roland CUBE Street 5-watt 2x6.5" Battery Powered Combo Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 28 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland CUBE Street 5-watt 2x6.5" Battery Powered Combo Amp?

Questions about the Roland CUBE Street 5-watt 2x6.5" Battery Powered Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from IL February 8, 2017Music Background:
    Nylon string acoustic, classical

    Roland CUBE Street Rocks

    The Roland CUBE Street is an absolute winner.
    The combination of being battery-powered, light, and sounding GREAT is outstanding.
    I have used mine for solo acoustic guitar, as well as for guitar plus vocals or another instrument.
    While it is rated at 5W, it has plenty of loud.
    I used the CUBE playing for an outdoor event with about 75 guests, and the coverage was fine.
    While I have not used this with electric guitar, and have not explored the amp modeling,
    the reverb options work well with my Godin nylon string.
    ABSOLUTELY DO order the carrying case. Just do it.
    Walking into a gig with your guitar on one shoulder and your amp on the other shoulder is too cool.
    If you perform in a variety of situations, you will probably need more power for some of them.
    Now I am thinking about the Cube's big brother...
    Call Forrest Powell at Sweetwater. He will take great care of you.

  • from January 16, 2017

    baby baby

    you can't buy an amp this good at4 times the price. sounds great and extremely versatile. i wish i had found this amp a long time ago, could have saved a lot of money and disapointment

  • from San Antonio, TX March 19, 2016Music Background:
    Praise and Worship, garage jam-band, San Antonio Guitar Wars winner

    An overlooked gem of an amp!

    Let's see, where do I start? Plenty loud, great COSM tones, versatile sounds (metal, Jazz, pristine cleans, bluesy, you name it!) Man a lot of options with the auxiliary input, battery power, and microphone cord input.

    I've used this amplifier for for several years now, and it's never once let me down. I've used it to lead praise and worship at a Church camping trip, I've played it at my father-in-law's funeral with a singer and myself both plugged into it, I've used it for small speaking engagements, and when I go to the gym I use it as an MP3 player amplifier. You get your typical Roland reliability, really super easy to understand interface, and great, great tones for the guitar players. I highly recommend this to anyone that needs a portable, small PA / guitar amp without having to lug around a bunch of different things to get the job done.

    On top of this, my pastor at my church was so impressed with how it got the job done at the aforementioned funeral, that he got one for himself for funerals and small speaking engagements as well. My nephew also got one as his first guitar amplifier.

  • from Chautauqua Lake Area, NY July 30, 2015Music Background:
    Pro ( on and off ) since 1971

    Three gigs a week with this little killer!

    When looking for my portable amp this summer, I needed something that would run battery so I could use in ANYWHERE. I knew many gigs would be in places that had no electric to plug in. But more than that, I needed two channels at the least so I could use a mic and switch off on my 12 string and my 6 string acoustic. This amp also works with my electrics and that's simply s plus.
    It is a true workhorse in the field. The EQ is fantastically sensitive and even on half battery power I've seldom had to turn it up beyond 3 on vocals or guiatars. At home I've cranked it and because of the dual speaker/dual amp setup it not only rocks but easily picks up the nuances of a softly picked 12 string. Full frequency is no problem here. I also love the metal grill and amp modeling. Can't say much more than decide which of the two sizes you need and go for it. I know this amp will be used for live and recording for many years to come!

  • from Woodbridge, VA July 19, 2015Music Background:
    Classic Country Vocals and Guitar

    Excellent Performance

    I have used this great little system for 3 years, primarily out doors in Farmers Markets and indoors at PotBelly's as a contract musician. Plenty of power for this venues, in fact folks indicate they can hear my guitar and vocals 75 yards away. Battery life is good, 7-8 hours, sound quality is good, much better than expected. Will purchase the new EX model later this year only to have additional input capability. I know that I will miss this little buddy as it has provided excellent and reliable service.

  • from June 21, 2015Music Background:
    Acoustic/Electric Gutair, Vocals

    This IS the Busker's Amp!

    I am a single man acoustic/electric guitar busker. I've been busking (...that's "street performing" for we Americans...) for over a year now and this amp is THE amp to have.

    -Portable
    -Light weight
    -GREAT sound

    I carry my entire rig (minus my guitar and mic stand) inside a carry on suitcase w/rollers.

    The batteries lasted an entire day of busking at a local street fair (GO YELLOW SPRINGS!) and still have a little left.

    I was at "10 o'clock" on my levels the entire time and it was PLENTY loud.

    Couple this gem with a Boss RC-3 Loop Station and you have an incredible busking set up.

    I highly recommend this amp.

    Contact Tyler. He'll take care of you.

  • from Long Island, NY USA December 31, 2014

    Roland CUBE Street

    Works great. Exactly what I needed. Sweetwater was excellent!

  • from Bremerton, WA July 9, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur who's been playing guitar and singing for 40 years.

    Amazing, Dependable Little Amp

    I'm a farmers' market busker who's been playing through this amp for about three years now and I love it! It performs exactly as it did the day I bought it and has everything I need...great sound, a mic plug in, effects, MP3 plug in and overall versatility. Plus it's light enough for an old guy like me to haul around. And it runs nearly forever on six AA batteries. I play it for hours and hours before changing them.

  • from Piney Woods of East Texas April 15, 2014Music Background:
    Praising God through music!

    The Roland Street Cube Rocks!

    Great for electrics!
    Great for acoustics!
    Great for vocals!
    EFX for both inputs!
    Use your iPod, MP3, whatever!
    Lightweight & no plug-in needed!
    Batteries last a loooooo ong time!

  • from Cliffside Park, NJ March 16, 2013Music Background:
    Musician 45 years

    Just Relax And Play!

    Don't dwell on the specs. This is not a CyberTwin + a dozen stomp boxes. This is a phenominally clean and flat jazz amp arguably a pleasure to hear. Effects are reasonable and wide fidelity. Roland has always made extremely "musical" prods since the original Sound Canvas. This is friendly tool, ready for an IPod classic (or other .WAV) source for jamming. Concentrate on your guitar playing.

  • from Port Charlotte, FL March 21, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician - over 30 years

    Cube Street by Roland

    This small amp does everything I need and a big PLUS is that it weighs a third of what some others do. If I need a 30 lb. amp I'll bring a regular one. For me,convenience, great sound and portability are essential to this kind of product. Carrying a guitar, banjo, mike stand, etc. means I don't want to add another heavy load and make 1/2 a dozen exhausting trips. Additionally, the great service I received from your rep. John Ptak, made the entire transaction smooth and friendly, with this knowledgeful professional on your staff. - Bob Price

  • from GA, USA September 29, 2011Music Background:
    Touchguitarist.com

    Cube Street is Great for Chapman Stick

    I recently performed in Italy with my Chapman Stick playing outdoors and in small trattorias. I was amazed at how big the sound was from the Street Cube, how it handled a large sound pallet from Bass to high Guitar tones. I play a 12 string Grand Stick and it worked perfectly. The Sound is great, the battery life is long, it's light and easy to carry and it has plenty of volume for most solo gigs, including outdoors! Incredible!

  • from Devon UK December 16, 2009Music Background:
    Semi-pro Live Musician

    Roland Street Amp

    I use this amp for medium sized coffee houses and restaurants. It is perfect so long as the venue is not too loud - with normal chatter the volume is more than adequate. I've used it on the street too and can say that it actually performs better out there.

    With acoustic guitars a decent pickup is required as there are feedback issues at 50% gain (with volume control 100%) I use an L R Baggs Element with my classical guitar and the sound leaves me blown away.

    Great on-board effects and superb value for money.

  • from Baltimore, MD August 6, 2009Music Background:
    Worship Musician with Home Studio - playing for 40 years

    Ultimate Portability

    Well, I read a lot of reviews for this thing before I got it, but I'm a skeptic until I get a hands's-on. I expected it to be a bit thin with 6.5" drivers, but was very pleased with the sound coming out of it. I normally use the onboard effects of a SpiderIII or an RP-1000 through a keyboard amp so I am used to synthesized tone. The Street Cube for its obvious limitation, delivers a good variety of sound in a very small and powerful package.

    I am definitely impressed with the sound this puts out. And even more suprising is the weight. The thing is about the size of a cinder block, but weighs in a just a few pounds. It is truly hard to believe that 6 AAA batteries puts out this volume. I've played it a lot since I got it last week, and have yet to run down the juice. I'm sure the "15 hours" of play time is optomistic, but it easily lasts several hours at loud volume.

    The FX are good. There are three basic flavors - several amp styles, chorus/delays and reverb. These plus the gain control gives you a pretty wide palette to play with. It wasn't too long ago that these FX alone would have cost more than this amp. You can get as clean as you want or crank it to the max. It's just a very versatile box.

    I bought this to play some light blues for an outdoor wedding, where A/C was not available. Jack in an MP3 and you're good to play along with tracks. Truly the most fun piece of gear I've gotten in a long time. I don't expect to get rid of it, and with Roland quality, that means it'll be with my gear for a long time. Street Musician? - Don't bother looking anywhere else.

  • from Baltimore, MD August 6, 2009Music Background:
    Worship Musician with Home Studio - playing for 40 years

    Ultimate Portability

    Well, I read a lot of reviews for this thing before I got it, but I'm a skeptic until I get a hands's-on. I expected it to be a bit thin with 6.5" drivers, but was very pleased with the sound coming out of it. I normally use the onboard effects of a SpiderIII or an RP-1000 through a keyboard amp so I am used to synthesized tone. The Street Cube for its obvious limitation, delivers a good variety of sound in a very small and powerful package.

    I am definitely impressed with the sound this puts out. And even more suprising is the weight. The thing is about the size of a cinder block, but weighs in a just a few pounds. It is truly hard to believe that 6 AAA batteries puts out this volume. I've played it a lot since I got it last week, and have yet to run down the juice. I'm sure the "15 hours" of play time is optomistic, but it easily lasts several hours at loud volume.

    The FX are good. There are three basic flavors - several amp styles, chorus/delays and reverb. These plus the gain control gives you a pretty wide palette to play with. It wasn't too long ago that these FX alone would have cost more than this amp. You can get as clean as you want or crank it to the max. It's just a very versatile box.

    I bought this to play some light blues for an outdoor wedding, where A/C was not available. Jack in an MP3 and you're good to play along with tracks. Truly the most fun piece of gear I've gotten in a long time. I don't expect to get rid of it, and with Roland quality, that means it'll be with my gear for a long time. Street Musician? - Don't bother looking anywhere else.

  • from Orlando, FL January 18, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician - rock

    Little Amp with a big sound

    I found this protable amp to be very loud on the sound. And the sound is great - loud or at low volume!
    The gain is very clean and I have since remove a distortion box from my effect chain when I use this amp.
    Batteries drain in a few hours at loud volume - but I use recharagable - so that is not a problem.

    Highly recommend for practice.

  • from October 7, 2015

    Roland Cube for real life Renaissance

    This battery powered amp and PA was the best thing for our Renaissance band vocals which needed just a moderate boost in volume to match acoustic instrumentation of Irish Bouzouki, viola da gamba, and cajon percussion. I couldn't be more pleased with it. The batteries carried powered it perfectly through all our performances.

  • from OK October 3, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, worship leader

    Roland Cube Street

    I have used the Roland Cube Street for outdor weddings this summer and it performed perfectly. Running a Martin DRS-1 guitar and vocals through a Digitech Vocalist Live 3 into the Cube Street, the volume is more than adequate, everyone (including me) has been very happy with the overall sound, and the portability is unmatched.

  • from Devon, UK April 17, 2010Music Background:
    Semi-pro classical guitarist - 30 years.

    Roland Cube Street

    I doubt you could sit on the Roland Mobile Cube or use it as a foot stool as I do the Roland street, Buleria Chk.

    People are always commenting about the lovely sound of my guitar - the EQ can be adjusted on the JC Clean model for a convincing sound. It may be worth checking out the more powerful Roland AC 33 which is also battery operated but is designed specifically for acoustics. Paying the extra 30% seems worth it.

    Thus far with acoustic amplification I find that there are diminishing returns in being too loud from a single speaker source. The only problem with the Street on acoustic guitars (and I've revised my rating slightly) is the feedback issue at peak volume - about 5% more output would make it the perfect choice for me.

  • from Ann Arbor, MI June 16, 2008Music Background:
    Amateur Musician/Producer

    A Godsend for the Apartment Dweller

    Amp "modeling" and tube "simulators" may never achieve the Holy Grail of tone for guitarists obsessed with it, but Roland shows off their years of expertise in modeling because this little amp is amazingly musical; the amp models and effects just sound very good (I guess the term is "suprisingly good," but I'm not really surprised because it is a Roland, and their stuff really is made for musicians).

    It's a considerable achievement getting such nice sounds out of such a small low-power box. I grew up with solid-state amps that cost far more and sounded far worse, with ugly-sounding hum and harmonics; my playing would have improved far faster if this thing had existed in 1981 when I was in Junior High trying to coax heavy metal out of a Fender Mustang!

    The kick-back design is great for setting on the floor or a table while you practice; you can keep it pointed towards you, allowing you to keep the volume relatively low and still hear what you're doing. The controls are simple and effective, giving you two knobs to control two sets of effects, and I have not tested the battery life at high volumes but at low practice volumes it seems impressive. (It also comes with an adapter which is nicer than the usual wall-wart). I've tried it with numerous electric guitars, a Roland guitar synth, and a couple of acoustics including a Godin nylon-string acoustic; they all sound very lively through it. It sounds good enough that I am planning to use it for recording, since it has a line out.

    It is designed with a second channel for a microphone and a stereo line in for an iPod or similar device; I have not used it with a mic and wouldn't expect it to give a huge amount of headroom before distorting, but this thing was not made to entertain a crowd. Besides working well as a practice amp it is very nice to take outside onto a deck or patio or to a park. It gives you plenty of volume for a small picnic or some such and would even work with a small group, assuming you had a drummer who can exercise restraint (some drummers can actually play quietly!)

    I would recommend this instead of the Micro Cube for more serious players. Get this for yourself and the Micro Cube for your son or daughter because it will enforce even stricter volume limitations but has much of the same excellent tone. I like this so much I am probably also going to buy the micro bass version.

  • from Colorado May 29, 2015Music Background:
    Band Play and One Man Band for over 40 years.

    Roland Cube

    I recently purchased the Cube Street from Sweetwater. I chose the small older model due to size, battery operation time, and the fact that it has DELAY on both Mike and Instrument inputs. I have played this thing for 8 to 10 hours on the initial batteries and they are still going strong. Don't expect a power house if you are use to big stage setups, but this thing works amazingly well for practice or street performing. I like it... I use it for vocal and guitar...

  • from Long Beach Peninsula, Washington State November 29, 2013Music Background:
    Active musician and music educator

    Very handy.

    I purchased this after a couple of combo gigs where the singer used a Cube Street for her PA. I was amazed at the sound it produced and it's portability. I think it will do nicely for small room engagements and look
    forward to making use of it. I have read reviews complaining that it is small and thin sounding, but hey it's not a Marshall full stack, just try carrying the Marshall with one hand and fitting into a small space like a public library or cafe.

  • from Beaverton, OR USA June 19, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist/weekend gigger

    Sweet little amp

    You don't expect the world from a little 5w battery-powered amp.
    But it's not designed to conquer the world. It's designed for the street, or a little party, etc.. And it's great for that.
    I play acoustic guitar and sing. I didn't care that much for most of the models, but the Cub Street has a "clean" instrument setting and that makes the guitar sound great. And my voice sounds good through it too. I could play the other models if I had an electric or wanted a jazz sound, but then I'd have to mess with the e.q.'s. This way I just preset 'em and leave them alone.
    Seems quite durable. Time will tell, but there's a metal speaker cover, and you can get the carrying case, which fits it nicely. I'm glad I bought it.

  • from Brighton,Ont. Canada March 1, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Roland Cube Street Amp.

    Sounds great! Only drawback is the controls are backwards.

  • from Medellín, Colombia (Suramerica) September 13, 2011Music Background:
    Music hobbyist (Electronic engineer)

    An excelent product

    Portability, good sound, stereo, it was the characteristics i was searching and the CUBE Street give me thats. The effects are very good and especially the clean amp with the chorus offers a very warm and sweet sound. The microphone amp reproduce very well the voice, and the effects included offers an excelent extra good feeling. As guitarist, the aux stereo in, give me the chance to reproduce songs with good quality while i am studing (A volume knob or a mute button may have been good because the stereo in has full gain by default, but is ok). The inputs for switching pedals, are a very good option to take advantage of the effects set. Definitely the CUBE Street is a very good tool for studing, sound monitoring and amplification in little spaces.

  • from Victor Valley, CA January 27, 2015Music Background:
    Church Band Guitarist

    The good, the bad and the ugly

    If you've ever played where the power was noisy, this amp total fixes that. It is DC powered even when plugged into AC. The power is rectified to DC and in the process, all the line noise is removed.

    The amp simulations and effects are just plain bad IMHO. I don't use them and just keep it in the clean setting.

    The nylon 1/4" plug strips way too easily. Once it does, the plug jiggles around in a very annoying way. I wish I could replace with a metal plug, but it's a PCB mounted plug and there isn't the space to do that. It may just be me, but I hate nylon plugs and always have this issue with the nut stripping the threads.

  • from Vancouver BC January 10, 2015Music Background:
    (street performer/magical)

    Batteries sweating/leaking

    I like this unit, but have often encountered problems with the batteries.
    Does not matter, new, weather conditions, whether 20 mins into a set or 90 mins. sound breaks then stops. batteries are greasy. unit was over $400.00. my $60.00 getto blaster never ever battery problems , but this unit, repeatedly, I am afraid to use batteries now, try to find power source. disappointed in this

  • from Santa Barbara, CA August 3, 2008Music Background:
    Flamenco Guitarist for 35+ years

    Underwhelming

    The sound from this amp is very disappointing - very thin, and the effects aren't very good. It is not FRFR (so even a CD sounds colored); like all Roland Cubes (except the new Mobile Cube) the preamps/speakers seem voiced for electric guitars, and ignore the necessary response for electro acoustic guitars.

    But check out the new Roland Mobile Cube - IMO, the sound is incredible; FRFR (so you can use modelers with it), and sounds fantastic with acoustic guitars plugged straight in (even my nylon string Flamenco)

Questions about the Roland CUBE Street 5-watt 2x6.5" Battery Powered Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway