rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Roland CM-30 CUBE Monitor Reviews

4.5 stars based on 44 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland CM-30 CUBE Monitor?

Questions about the Roland CM-30 CUBE Monitor?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • AJ Becerra

    I've have my Roland CM-30 CUBE Monitor for several years now, and it has been a staple in my garage for Driveway, jam sessions, you name it. It's one of the most durable, best-sounding little powered speakers out there. It has been in the extreme heat and cold (even had motor oil spilled on it!) and keeps on working day after day. I couldn't ask for a more reliable speaker!

  • from Texas February 4, 2017Music Background:
    Texas

    Can't go wrong with Roland

    I've had experience with this monitor, which is why I bought it. I have a couple of Roland amps and use Boss pedals and they always do what you need them to do, without fail. This CM-30 is no exception.

  • from Memphis, TN June 1, 2016Music Background:
    Studio, church, coffeehouse/party player

    Roland Does It Again

    The Roland CM-30 Cube Monitor sounds great. It's amazing that such a full and rich sound is produced using such a small enclosure, but it does. I bought two, have wired them together, and have been using them as a mini-vocal PA. They're very versatile. In my gigs with acoustic guitar (also amplified by two Roland 40W amps), I can play most medium-sized rooms with no problem. These are solid, appear to be well-built, and are sure to work well for many applications. Thanks to Roland and Sweetwater!

  • from Los Angeles/Chicago July 3, 2015Music Background:
    New Wave, electronic tinkerer.

    KILLER!

    I have a small home studio and this thing is so rediculously versatile that I use it as mixer output for stereo studio monitoring and as amp/speakers for my "home entertainment system" (an old term). Then, along with my mixer, I can EASILY transport the pair for PA use as well.

    The sound is solid: crisp high-ends and beefy low-end with nothing really lost in the middle! The front panel eq adds a nice touch to round out what comes off the mixer for a final contour.

  • from Mo January 2, 2015Music Background:
    Semi pro guitarist, sound engineer

    Great product

    Very cool little amp.it has great sound, it is plenty loud, and for the price cannot be beat. I have used it as a stage monitor. I have also used it as a little karaoke amp. It has never let me down. I love the compact size andI really love how Roland has made it to sound so clean at high volume with such a small speaker

  • from Brandon South Dakota December 15, 2014Music Background:
    Lead Sound and Video Tech Brandon Lutheran Church

    Great little monitor

    we needed a small monitor that would allow the combination of several channels for a custom mix for our keyboardist. This cm-30 cube was perfect, and the sound quality is amazing considering the small size.

  • from Lausanne September 16, 2014

    AWESOME

    I use that one since 5 years it still blows my 20m^2 away everyday !

  • from Tulsa OK March 18, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, recording & live sound engineer

    None better or more versatile.

    I bought one, then immediately bought another! Can't be beat as a small PA. They mount on tripod microphone stands—very convenient. In a full band setting, I use a small mixer w/effects and send the signal to a channel of my Roland KC-500 keyboard amp to act as a sub and to "fill out" the sound. Acoustic guitars sound great through this rig. Great also as a hotspot monitor. Amazing versatility.

  • from Boston, MA March 28, 2013Music Background:
    Musician composer producer

    A classic, great product

    I've had a pair of CM-30s for several years now. I just got motivated to write a review because after all this time I have to say the CM-30s are one of the best musical purchases I've made of any type. They are just incredibly versatile, I've used them at various times as mini PA, acoustic guitar and keyboard amps and stage monitors, personal vocal monitor, extra mixer, and if the setup is simple enough they can be both the speaker and mixer so I can leave my external mixer at home. In every application they sound fabulous - I've used them as PA for small combo even at outdoor gigs and been complimented on the sound quality of the mix. A great bargain and a true classic at this point - I hope Roland makes them forever!

  • from Auburndale, fl January 29, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Entertainer (One-girl band)

    INCREDIBLE SMALL PA...BIG SOUND

    This Cube was so awesome in the restaurant I play at holding 75 people, that I've since bought a 2nd one to use at a larger restaurant I play...Since I get alot of dancers at my retirement golf & country clubs, I've just purchased a Nady 8" powered subwoofer (60 watts), and I can't wait to hear what this added bottom end will add. The Roland is so clean and clear, and the speakers sit on each side of me (in front) not behind me, and I hear them so much better than I do thru my Bose L1 System. If the subwoofer gives me the punch I believe it will, this will become my permanent set-up and the Bose will remain in reserve for venues of over 200 people. ROLAND has made the perfect Scaled Down, lightweight, powerhouse system!
    Thank You!!!!!

  • from Albuquerque May 17, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist and Ham Radio Operator

    Roland CM-30 Cube Monitor

    This unit is exactly what I was looking for!! It may be a little overkill for my use but really does a nice job. Unit is really quality all the way.
    Sales engineer was very informative after asking him a few questions and he recommended this unit for my applications.
    THANKS to all!!!

  • from Louisiana March 24, 2012Music Background:
    Gospel, Jazz, and RB Artist

    Ulimate Monitor

    This little amp is a shocker. I've owned a Roland KC-300 for years and it was a great investment. Playing keys with a band I needed a monitor light weight and portable for gigs and practice. This unit is GREAT! With a Yamaha mixer, I run 2 Korgs, a Roland AX, Akai EWI 4000s, two sound modules and a MP3 player. Truly driving this amp I found it to be great for on stage monitoring enabling me to hear each system through it clearly with great bass response along with superb highs and lows. Great unit for small intimate gigs of 40 people or less. GREAT INVESTMENT.

  • from Thomasville, North Carolina February 23, 2012Music Background:
    local gospel singer

    A great little piece of equipment

    I bought this Roland cube monitor to use at a nursing home. I jack in my mini cd player and it works great. I bought it because of the name because I know Roland is quality for the price. I could believe how the sound was. Even others mentioned how much sound quality came out of that little box.

  • from Martinsville, IN, USA January 5, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Leader; Musician

    Roland CM-30 CUBE Monitor

    Great Product. We purchased 2 for on stage monitors. They were way better than we expected. Very clear sound that didn't have to be loud. Very versatile as well: I used one Cube with my computer and filled a 1000sq' room with quality sound for about 40 people. Nice job, Roland!
    [now, if you could just improve your owners manuals and customer service...]

  • from Pleasantville, PA November 22, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great monitor !

    I bought this monitor for use at jams so that I did not have to bring my full rig. It worked very well. I could easily hear myself and the other band members had no problem hearing me, too, in a moderately loud jam session. I really appreciated the light weight when I packed up at the end of the session!

  • from Nanticoke,Pa USA November 10, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    great product at the right price,delivered in record time

    I'm a Karaoke Host,do most of the singing myself.Always had a tough time hearing the music,especially at a low volume venue.
    I ordered this monitor and received it in 2 days,just in time for my gig that evening.Took it on the job ,connected it,and what a vast difference it made! At last, I could hear myself without cranking the mains up.
    I would recommend this product to anyone who needs a monitor
    I wish I'd had this product when I played in my band 40 years ago!

  • from Los Angeles, CA USA July 30, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Impressive!

    I got this to capture the elusive sound of the Ashbory Bass and nothing I've tried before does the job so well. The tone is cristal clear and the EQ is incredibly flexible. It's also amazingly powerful for such a small package.
    Finally, a note about Sweetwater's outstanding service. Been their client for years and again I'm convinced no other delivers like them.

  • from June 29, 2011Music Background:
    Small church worshp keyboard player

    We love it!

    The guys at Sweetwater recommended this for our keyboard player and it has a great sound with plenty of high and low frequencies for a small hotspot monitor. It also will be versitale with a couple of options for inputs for other applications. Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from Columbia SC August 14, 2010Music Background:
    Professional musician, lead guitar and backup vocals

    Just get it already!

    Looked at the reviews on Sweetwater and took a little risk and bought it. I'm a picky audiophile/professional musician. This thing ROCKS! Great for a mini-substitute for a powered monitor costing 800 dollars. I'll be getting another one soon. Super for vocals monitor in a rock band at practice and gigs. (25 years in the music business)

  • from Downeast Maine July 23, 2009Music Background:
    Music Teacher

    Quality and Versatile Monitor

    I love this monitor! I have bought six for school and one for home. I use them as vocal monitors, both single and parallel; studio monitors; as a PA, as speakers for my show choir, as bass and keyboard amps; and I run my iPod through it for choreography rehearsals. It is super portable and strong and delivers a great quality sound. I like the multiple input types, three channels and the EQ. I highly recommend!

  • from South Central US June 2, 2009Music Background:
    Pro musician, live sound engineer, recording engineer

    Get Two And Do Lots More

    I bought two. I added a 100-watt 12-in. powered sub, plus a small 6-channel mixer with on-board effects and have a GREAT small venue stereo PA system. I also use them as individual "hotspot" stage monitors (on a standard tripod mike stand), as a stereo keyboard amp, as home stereo (w/sub)...endless uses. A great product, and bulletproof.

  • from Champaign, IL USA December 22, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    a versatile alternative to a special-purpose amp/PA/monitor

    I've got three needs: a keyboard amp to make my Roland louder during practice, something to play my AdrenaLinn III through besides headphones, and occasionally a PA for my son's band playing for a small audience.

    I looked at a lot of different products, but nearfield monitors seemed too delicate, PA systems too high-powered, keyboard amps too specialized. And then I found the CM-30, which covers all three needs and sounds great (MUCH better than a low-end keyboard amp I tried). I like the option to add a second cube, for stereo output, if needed. Perfect all around!

  • from near Omaha, NE USA December 3, 2008Music Background:
    Bachelor of Music Education. Former School Band and Orchestra teacher. Primary instrument is trumpet.

    I wanted something that could accompany my trumpet in nursing homes.

    I just wanted something that I could plug my laptop into to accompany my trumpet stuff in nursing homes .

    This is just what I was looking for!

    I was thinking of borrowing a keyboard amp from church, but it was heavy and big with 15 inch speaker. Kind of glad the choir director did not want me to take it out of the church.

    My knees are bad and I did not want to make multiple trips with a bunch of equipment.

    30 watts is PLENTY loud in this venue.

    A 300 W system doesn't push more than 20-30 W most of the time anyway. The extra power is for the peaks.

    Remember, to achieve just a noticeable (3db) difference in sound would take twice the power (60 W). Twice as loud would take 10X the power or 300W. Unless you go digital, more power means more weight. And then you need a speaker with a heavier magnet to handle the load, and a bigger speaker for the bass, perhaps a horn for the mid range.

    I have a friend who sings in nursing homes with pre-recorded background tracks using a Fender Passport, which is really nice, but he still complains about the space in his trunk and the weight.

    This little thing is amazing. Easy to carry. Lots of mix features. Solidly built.

    I can be in and out in a jiffy without needing a truck.

    In my house, I could only stand to turn it up half way.

  • from Ann Arbor, MI January 1, 2008Music Background:
    AV Engineer

    Roland CM-30 Cube Monitor

    Purchased one for our Church keyboardest who is very picky (and we're talking picky - you know the type) about his feedback sound mix in summer 2006. This unit blew him away instantly and continues to do so. Simple to set up (a keyboarest can do it) and now three people us eit for their feedback as well (one on the single CUBE speaker use two sharing the headset plugs. Best stage investment I ever made - made three musician happy at same time on feedback sound (and that ain't easy my friends).

    Oh yeah - don't let the 30 watts fool you either - this baby cranks out nicely for background keyboard sound when mains are down low for a nice stage effect. Sound is decent quality for a small cabinet and travel type speak system. Need a spot feecback speaker for the stage - give this one a serious try. You won't regret it.

  • from san francisco April 25, 2007Music Background:
    musician

    Roland CM-30 Cube Rocks!!

    I use a Roland CM-30 Cube as my personal keyboard monitor within my multiple keyboard rig. The clarity and proximity of the monitor allows me to better hear my keyboard mix, the volume of each keyboard relative to the others, which helps me provide perfectly layered sounds. It's lightweight, compact. and easy to carry around. It's one of the best investments I've made!

  • from Santa Rosa Ca USA September 11, 2006Music Background:
    Semi pro musician

    Great item

    I am using two CM 30 for my electronic accordion. They fit onto a regular mic stand. You can also hook up a mic for announcements. I love the price too.

  • from Near OMAHA, NE October 16, 2016Music Background:
    Music degre, teacher, performer

    After years of service, I finally found something I don"t like about Roland CM-30.

    Everything I said in my initial review remains true. But last week I went to a job and the CM 30 was dead. I tore it apart and found a fuse. And that's the thing I don't like. It is so hard to get to the fuse. I wish they would go back to that little knob that you twist and pull out a fusion replace it.

    That would probably add to the cost though. It's still a great little amp.

  • from AZ November 11, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Very Nice

    For $200.00 this is a good speaker, three channels, can be linked together, pretty loud and clear.
    I play jam tracks and acoustic guitar thru them, ( I have two).

    happy

  • from CT July 5, 2015Music Background:
    Keyboardist with After The Fall

    Mate your Cube with a sub, it's HUGE

    I've used a Cube for a studio amp for keys for 2 years now. It has superb highs and midrange. Being so little, the low end is limited, and given the limitations of the amp power and the 5" woofer, boosting the low EQ to max will just create distortion. I mated it with a studio sub-woofer I bought from Sony (not even for live use - built for home entertainment...) and the combination is huge! You can get plenty of volume because the sub takes up the low end slack. (my sub is only slighty larger than the cube - they stack like one of those toy Marshall stacks!). Great little amp, and great to take to jams...

  • from Amarillo, TX August 13, 2013Music Background:
    jazz piano, session player

    nice monitors

    I have 2 of these as personal monitors with a band using Bose L1 series towers and bass units for overall sound reinforcement. The CM-30 provides excellent sound for my Kawai MP6 piano and plenty of power. I can hear plenty of detail and the monitors provide a surprising amount of low frequency response for their size. They don't quite handle the low A from the B3 sample (of course) but other than that, very good (flat) frequency response lows to highs. The output channel provides a low-noise signal to the board at -10 db, leaving the master volume on the CM-30 to control local monitor level. I also like having multiple input channels as it will be easy to add a 2nd-tier synth to my keyboard. These monitors are ruggedly built, have a very clean sound and are easy to transport and set up, work great with tripod mic stands.

  • from The Sierra Nevada Foothills April 26, 2012Music Background:
    Performing musician

    The Mighty Mini

    I needed a small, highly portable and versatile practice amp for a wide range of uses including informal jams, practice sessions without full equipment and as a second stage monitor. This powerful little beauty also includes three inputs which allows me to keep my keyboard, a guitar and a microphone plugged in simultaneously. While it doesn't have much in the way of sound shaping or altering (the only thing keeping it from a full 5 star rating), it's way more powerful than expected for its size and cost. And it's built to last.

  • from Corning, NY August 5, 2011Music Background:
    Jazzercise Instructor

    Really love my cube monitor

    Just what I was looking for....I use a head-set w/mic to teach jazzercise classses....this little box works great, great sound, small enough to carry around, and if I need, it can play my ipod at the same time....Sweetwater made it easy...delivery was fast & they helped me thorugh the whole purchase....should have found this a year ago!

  • from Austin Texas January 29, 2011Music Background:
    Live soung artist/hobbyist

    It works - well !

    I have only used this as a personal monitor while singing in practice with a rock band - PERFECT ! No more need to stick my damn finger in my ear to hear or ask them to raise PA lvls for me - I have this little bastard set about 3 feet from my left ear, I can raise/lower volume, even mid song, and get the level I need. VERY happy with this thing!

  • from Salt Lake City, UT USA July 4, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very nice stage monitor for acoustic shows

    I mount this on my Atlas MS25E (a super heavy duty mic stand) about shoulder height and a bit off to the side so my cardioid mic doesn't pick it up. Very good sound, nice and clear, plenty loud. Three separate inputs make it flexible, and its engineering/layout/form-factor make it a pleasure to grab and go.

  • from Elgin, IL USA November 3, 2008Music Background:
    Multi-instrumentalist, church musician, songwriter, home recording

    This one is a keeper!

    The first thing that I plugged into the Cube Monitor 30 was my Strat copy through a PODxt. It was lacking some low end that I was used to having from using a larger keyboard amp with a 12" speaker. However, after a little bit of tweaking the bass control it started to sound good to me. It has a clean, neutral response, uncolored tone, and plenty of power for a small to medium-sized room. Note that this unit is not well-suited to be the cornerstone of a rock guitar rig. It was probably not intended or designed to be an electric guitar monitor.

    Then, I plugged in a SM-58 mic and my acoustic-electric guitar. This is where the Cube Monitor 30 shines. It sounds fantastic, even without effects! If you’re at a band rehearsal, the vocal and acoustic guitar should cut through.

    It has plenty of inputs and outputs to route an outboard effects loop. Built-in reverb would have been nice. For what it is, I recommend it!

  • from Chapel Hill, NC June 3, 2008Music Background:
    rock musician, guitar teacher

    very happy!

    I bought it for my home studio, to amp up my sound with my 16 track DAW, and it sounds fantastic. I use it for a PA and recording monitor. Very clear sound, even the bass rings through well for the little 6.5 inch speaker. I am thoroughly satisfied with this potent little speaker.

  • from February 27, 2016

    new to me

    big sound in a little package

  • from Boston, MA July 14, 2014Music Background:
    Keyboardist, Music Student

    Great sound from a little box!

    Bought this so I could have a small amp to gig outdoors with my Nord. It also has a mic input so we plugged my friend in. (Used it with a Duracell Powerpack)

    Gave great sound! Good volume too without any largely noticeable distortion.

  • from Atlanta, Georgia March 9, 2009Music Background:
    Church Musician, Home Recordist, Weekend Rocker

    Rugged, Economical, Musical

    20+ years ago, Roland cubes were small, relatively light-weight, powerful for their size, and flattering to acoustic guitars and electronic keyboards. This model is smaller, more rugged and just as powerful and flattering. The array of input options makes this a versatile tool for all sorts of non-distorted amplification applications. You could use this to monitor vocals, keyboard, and clean acoustic or electric guitar, to provide a small, portable PA, or to re-record dry recorded tracks in a live room. This model performed admirably on DX7 Rhodes sounds, sampled grand piano, and sampled Hammond, with a surprising amount of bottom. In fact, the sound was better balanced than my much more expensive big rig. The sound of Cubes is a bit hyped, but sweet and inoffensive. If you're looking for an inobtrusive keyboard or acoustic guitar amp the size of a lunch box for a great price, give this a try.

  • from Lutz, FL June 18, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    NICE!

    Have had mine for over a year now. Use it as a personal stage monitor for my acoustic gigs...and have also used it as a stand-alone mini-PA for smaller gigs...The CM-30 has plenty of volume, and lots of inputs...at the smaller gigs, I plug in my acoustic, my cd player, and a mic...sounds great, (except could use an internal reverb to sweeten up the mix)...talked a friend of mine in Missouri into 2 of 'em...he uses his for stereo keyboards!
    good deal for the $$, user friendly, plenty of power...NICE!

  • from San Marcos, CA January 11, 2015Music Background:
    Pro gigging guitarist jazz, blues, etc.

    Sounds great...

    I got this to be a monitor for my solo guitar gigs. It mounts fine on a mike stand. It sounds great and having the 3 channels really allows flexibly for me since I use a GR-55 at every gig. The speaker recently started producing a low buzzing sound, so I sent it back in after only having it a few months. Lets see what the verdict is....

  • from Queens, NY October 31, 2013Music Background:
    Music Corporation

    Quality

    Awesome for a small session rehearsal can plug in almost any instrument to have a rehearsal or small performance to get something done.

  • from United Arab Emirates March 23, 2006

    Cool to Deal..!

    This is the correct unit which I was looking to work with my acoustic guitar, Microphone & my KORG PA80 Light weight, portable and identicle Roland output. More than worth for sweet water price.

    Great Job Roland..!

  • from St Clair Shores, MI June 1, 2005

    I'll be getting another one!

    Thanks SW - prompt delivery in good condition.

    This unit versatile, just the right size, and sounds really good. I'll be using it onstage as a hotspot monitor, as a practice amp for the acoustic guitar, and - adding the second one and a small mixer - a mini PA for living rooms and coffee shops. Good Job Roland!

  • from Dublin OH April 1, 2005

    Sounds great, very versatile, excellent value!

    I was surprised that the 6.5" speaker sounded so good - it can really move some air! I plugged in a dynamic mic, a CD player, and a Line 6 PODxt. Everything sounded great and it wasn't difficult to balance the volume of each input (the only way to adjust the level of each AUX in is via the connected device itself). It can be mounted on a mic stand (built in mount on bottom) to raise it off the floor. Nice!

Questions about the Roland CM-30 CUBE Monitor?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway