0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Roland CUBE-40XL 1x10" 40 Watt Combo Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 21 customer reviews
  • from November 28, 2013Music Background:
    Semi pro guitar player

    Great versatile cheap amp

    I bought one of these for practice, and started using it on gigs. I was playing in a reggae band and it was great-small light, lots of oommph.
    I had an old Scorpion speaker laying around so I swapped it out for the stock one, sounds very nice.
    Now I'm playing in a blues/RnR band and it's perfect for the places we play.

  • from November 26, 2013Music Background:
    Experienced player

    What an amp!

    This is a fantastic little amp. I can be used for just about everything, including gigs. It is not just a practice amp folks. You may want to mic it in arenas though. I also have the cube 60 and they sound practically identical. All the features are already listed. I suggest you stop into a Roland dealer and try one out. They are very user friendly and I don't think you'll be disappointed. For the money there is nothing like this out there.

  • from Georgia February 4, 2013Music Background:
    beginner

    great

    This 40 watt amp is just great I play in a small church and it is just amazing how much power it has. I hardly have the volume turned up.

  • from Ca December 8, 2012Music Background:
    Musician 35 yrs

    ON THE ROAD GEM

    i love this little amp. I have a trucking business and spend a lot of time in the truck. Bought a Power Inverter and pack this amp along with me. It is small enough to fit in my little closet but puts out a killer sound. The effects are good, especially the delay and reverb. The chorus and phaser are also nice but can tend to muddy up the tone. Most all the amp sounds are usable tones. This amp is worth the money for sure. I would gig with this amp. All you would need is a pedal switcher and throw a mike on it and you could rock with the best of them. Thanks Derek and Sweetwater

  • from Sykesville, MD December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Great little amp with a very tight sound.

    BEFORE YOU READ MY REVIEW, READ THIS! If you are considering buying this amp and have already made your decision, PLEASE buy the footswitch that comes with this amp first. The Looper feature is a button and is really hard to press without a footswitch. As you can imagine, this is a pain in the neck to try to push while you're playing. It will remove many issues to go the extra mile and get the footswitch with the Cube!

    This amp is fantastic for what it is. I first tried this amp out in a music store and was very impressed. You definitely get more than you pay for with the Roland Cube. If you're looking for an affordable yet versatile (and loud) practice/small gig amp, then this is for you. The onboard effects are pretty impressive, they are made by Boss and are very crisp and clear. The effects include an octave function, a tremolo, chorus, flanger, and a phaser. You can adjust the speeds on all of these as well. This amp also comes with a plate and spring reverb functon, you can also adjust the depth of these effects. Roland put an 80 second phrase looper in the Cube as well, it is pretty handy. This amp comes with modeled amps that sound really killer. The acoustic mode goes really well with all the onboard effects for a tight sounding clean tone. My personal favorite was the Rectifier setting, it has lots of mid-range tone and is definitely not lacking any distortion. This amp can most definitely do metal. The Extreme setting has less mids and has a much sharper edge, you can scoop the mids on this setting if that's your thing. There is also a Power Squeezer feature that will turn the gain all the way up, but will make the amp at a reasonable volume. This will eliminate the need to crank the amp up to get a high distortion sound, great for if you're in a small apartment or if you have cranky parents/neighbors. I actually found it hard to get a muddy/bad tone from this little amp. It can be brutally heavy or as quiet as soft as you want it to be. I would have gave it a 5 if it came with the footswitch.

  • from Virginia October 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing amp for price!

    If your looking for great sound and effect options without breaking your bank then this amp is for you! Works like a dream without any problems.

  • from CONN October 20, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    nice amp

    you get a big sound from a small amp the clean cannel is better than a tube amp I am amaze on the modeling amps on the overdrive channels for cost it a great buy .the only thing wong is the controling of the effect is limited but the sound is good i wish i got 80XL for more power.but i am still happy

  • from Fort Wayne, IN June 21, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist and Wannabe Rock Star

    Love this amp!

    I love this amp! I'm a new player, so the ease of selecting different effects was attractive to me. I'm also concerned about playing too loudly in my house to avoid the wrath of my family, so the power compressor is also nice. I bought a couple switch pedals and controlling the effects with pedals is easy (once you figure out the correct cables you need). it also has a "Solo" switch, so overall you can have four total sounds ready to go - clean, clean + solo, effects, effects + solo. With pedals controlling which sound you want, it's easy to switch back and forth. And programming the solo switch is a breeze, literally requiring you to press and hold a button.

    But the real treat is the built in Looper. Without having to pay tons of money for a separate pedal based looping system, the looper on this allows me to record my own back-tracks and then play along with it! It lasts about 90 seconds, which is a little short for my tastes, but I think it's the real gem on this.

    The only reasons I'm not giving it a 5.0 is for two reasons:
    1) The length of the looper - it would be nice if it were a little longer - AND - would remember my loops from one session to the next.
    2) The range on the effects knobs seems limited, specifically for the delay. From the longest to shortest, it doesn't seem to be a big difference.

    Overall, this is an awesome amp, and I would recommend it to anyone. Oh, and when the family is gone, the power compressor comes off, the back door opens, and the neighborhood rocks!!

  • from Mount Holly New Jersey May 22, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, recording,

    I LIke It

    It really is an all in one amp. I love almost everything about it. The clean tone is just beautiful. The modeling is right on. So many features in such a small package. If there was one thing I would change it would be to allow for a line out and still hear sound through the amp. I don't get that design component from Roland. Other than that, it is a fanatastic all around workhorse.

  • from Jacksonvile, FL. April 26, 2012Music Background:
    To long and to much trouble to get into.

    My heart is full

    A really cool machine. This drummer has never had to buy electronic's before until I started using a HandSonic and needed a small amp. Totally pleased. The walls are still standing, the wife hasn't left and the dog had stopped barking. Raw, need I say moore.
    akaKnightDog
    Jacksonville, FL.

  • from United States March 23, 2012Music Background:
    Playing guitar for 45 years for my own enjoyment

    40 watt box of tone

    Used exclusively at home. Plenty of headroom from this little tone machine. The amp tones are great so far. Very pedal friendly. Power squeezer really helps in a situation where you neighbors house is about 8 feet away. The reverb settings are very good.

  • from Folsom, CA USA March 7, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    An Awsome Amp

    I am very impressed with this amp, at just over $200, it packs alot of features, effects, amp model tones, and 40 watts of power into it's small 22lb (16" sq.) cabinet. I like the JC clean sound, on the lead side love the R-Fier and classic settings. Looping works great and also the ability to plug in an ipod to practice against. I also bought the Boss FS-6 foot switch, makes switching channels and using the looper easy.

    Overall very pleased with this amp, if your looking for an amp, don't let the small size or price tag deter you, this thing rocks.

    Also very pleased with Sweetwater's fast shipping, customer communication and support!

  • from September 26, 2011Music Background:
    Amateur Guitarist

    Great deal!

    The Cube 40XL at 40 watts is just perfect for my needs.

    There is a slight buzz that occurs only on "E" when using heavy octave and at high volume. It's the logo vibrating against the grille. It's easily solved and it is a minor quality issue.

    Too bad that if you want to take advantage of all the footswitch possibilities you'l need three FS-6 foostswitches. That will cost you nearly the price of this little wonder. But I have plans to make a pedal that will handle them all. I don't need a lighted, powered switch to do it.

    This little anp has a lot going for it. Mike it up and let it rip.

  • from LA, CA September 21, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Recording Engineer

    Great Amp

    I own 2 of this great amps 1 for touring and 1 for studio and practice. In my opinion the best thing about this amp is the weight it is really light and that is a plus specially when you have to carry from gig to gig every night. The sound that comes out of this amp is amazingly good. It has enough power to play anywhere from Clubs to Arenas since now a days technology is in our side you just mic it and put it through you in-ear or floor monitors ant you are gold! The COSM feature is incredible. I really like the JC CLEAN channel for clean guitar sounds and from the lead channel I love the R-FIER for a really nice Distortion and Lead sounds. I also bought the FS-6 pedal to control the 80 sec looper (amazing feature) and the EFX with it. Overall it is an amazing amp!

  • from September 16, 2011

    Love It

    I am not a professional muscian but I play alot of Blues and Rock. JC Clean to Extreme gives me all the variability for the sound I want to hear

  • from Atlanta, GA September 13, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging hobbyist

    Roland CUBE-40XL

    I think the XL must stand for eXtra Large, as in the sound and number of options this amp gives you. I downsized from a nice 2X12 Carvin Vintage amp that was just getting too heavy for an old guy like me to carry around anymore. At 22 lb, this baby is 34 lb less than the old one and packs tons of options into its compact size. Love the various amp models (particularly the Classic and Rectifier settings), and the looper is fantastic for creating rhythm backing for screaming lead accompaniments. At this price, along with the included additional 2 year warranty Sweetwater provides, it can't be beat.

  • from Viera, FL September 12, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Amp. Simple Yet ... Sophisticated

    First the tone out of the Roland CUBE is great despite its smaller size by like 40% of the size of Peavy Vypyr 30.

    Next is the simple and easy configuration. The config panel is greatly simplified by comparison.

    Lastly, its integration with the BOSS GT-10 is simple and easy. The JC Clean mode provides the perfect JC-120 tone. This makes it easy to make sure the GT-10 tones are not being stepped upon by the modeling amp.

    If your looking for a simple yet reasonably priced amp for practice. This is the way to go.

  • from Mahwah,NJ usa May 27, 2011Music Background:
    Recording and live sound engineer

    Roland cube-40xl

    Awesome small guitar amp very easy to setup and use.

  • from Oklahoma February 5, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist mostly

    A good practice amp

    This is a very good practice amplifier, and it does offer a lot for the money. I considered purchasing other practice amplifiers that produced a better tone, but I'm glad that I went with the Roland; this is for several reasons: To start, the Roland has a phrase looper. The looping feature makes this amp an incredible value, as pedals with looping features are rather expensive. I couldn't find one for under 150 dollars. Second, the Roland is very solid. I had considered some of Roland's competitors, and I really thought that the Vox in particular had a better tone. However, I believe this improvement in tone was from the use of a tube--not something I really want in a "practice" amp. The Roland is a simple, solid-state practice amp, so I feel confident that it won't require any maintenance over the years--unlike a tube amplifier. Third, it is uber-portable. I'm very happy with the weight and size of the amp; it's takes well to travel, and I feel like you don't have to baby the thing. Fourth, the sounds are fair, and it has some fun effects. I've read some reviews bashing the clean tone of this amp. I'm happy with both the clean and distorted sounds. It even has an interesting tube simulating mode, although I think the distortions are where the amp shines. You can also connect an external music device through the amp, so it is fun to practice with a mp3 player.

    Now, would I do a gig with this? Probably not. This is a practice amp, and I don't expect it to do more than that. Would I practice on it for hours? Yes! This is a good value, and I'm pleased with the purchase so far.

    The negatives: the sound isn't the best in this class, and the foot pedals are a bit of a scam. You can spend a lot of money to get access all the foot pedal options, so be careful of this. I bought a single Boss switch, and it does the trick....just not all the tricks!
    The positives: the looper is a fantastic practice tool and value; the amp is indestructible and portable; the tone is perfect for practice, and the power squeezer doesn't hurt!
    Conclusion: The cube 40xl is good practice amp and value. Good job Roland!

  • from Rapid City, SD January 30, 2011Music Background:
    musician

    This thing rocks

    I bought this amp after shopping around for a few months. After I heard many people playing this on you tube, I could not deny this thing was making the average player sound good. I bought two of these so I could teach my daughter to play. We were floored when we dialed in the effects of these beasts. It was so easy to recreate a sound we heard from a cd! My daughter now practices every day and gets very excited when she nails a chord progression. Her Hellraiser Deluxe screams thru this bad boy. GET THIS AMP AND YOU WON'T BE SORRY! Thanks Sweetwater for the fast shipping and customer support.

  • from US November 1, 2010Music Background:
    Active guitar player. Mainly country and jazz

    Roland cube 40XL is nice overall

    Just received this new amp and I like it. I like the new spring reverb which actually sounds good at the low level. Most reverbs at this price point are crap on $200 amps. I compared to Kustom and Crate and the Vox30. The Vox30 was better but does not have the low end or the volume of the roland 40xl. The modeling effects are not that great except for the fender blackface and the JC clean. I like the JC clean the very best. The added 80 sec. digital record feature is a fun toy also. Very good overall full sound at a great price point. Sure there are better amps out there but you will pay much more. The 22 lb weight was also a plus for me since I don't have to lug my 45lb and 60lb fender amps around as much.

Questions about the Roland CUBE-40XL 1x10" 40 Watt Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway