0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Steinberg Cubase 7.5 (boxed) Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
  • from Norman, OK. USA October 18, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer/Songwriter/Turntablist

    The best yet

    I was finally able to upgrade my computer leaving me needing to upgrade to a 64bit platform DAW. After using cubase for a while and not upgrading because of system performance I was at wows as I started going threw all the features. As a hip hop/Electronic producer there are so many features on this that increase productivity. Everything is laid out very similar and the customization is also amazing. Best investment I've made in years aside from the computer.

  • from Ypsilanti, MI August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Chief cook and bottle washer

    World Class DAW

    Cubase is a DAW adept with pumping out very fine, world class audio productions. Cubase is very powerful and has an incredible pallet of options in regard to both workflow and control. It's capabilities in both audio and midi worlds are unsurpassed IMHO. I've been with Cubase over a decade and find that the direction of it's development is right on target with my needs and wants regarding a DAW.

    Considerations for the first time buyer:

    Get your Geek on. It's power is derived from opening up configuration choices to the user. Anticipate getting dirty and a substantial learning curve.

    Cubase is a Primadonna. Cubase wants what it wants, when it wants it. I have a dedicated machine for audio production. Cubase does not play well with other software, especially background, TSR, progs. I don't run antivirus software and stay off the net on this machine. Where Steinberg comes with their min specs baffles me. I have an AMD FX 3.5, 8 core, 8gb mem, 2 7200rpm sata machine and Cubase takes full advantage of it. I do a lot of research prior to buying a 3rd party plug or control accessory. Sweetwater is stellar in regard to assisting with that research. Ensure compatibility prior to buying. Don't limit your research to the compatibility list of the 3rd party product. Be prepared to do some troubleshooting with 3rd party products prior to a studio session. Cubase comes with a HUGE manual. Even so, there's a lot of 'how to" left to trial and error. I have come to find it intuitive after wrapping my heard around Steinberg schema and nomenclature.

    Support. Steinberg support is competent and will get the job done. They have no regard for your timeline. Do not anticipate sending "the guys" for a break and making a quick call to Steinberg. You don't call them. They will call you if they deem it necessary. All requests are via internet request. First response has always been within 24 hours. You will participate in effecting the resolve.

    Recommendation:

    If your interested in going as far as you can with music production this product will work with you every step of the way. If you want record an idea on guitar, Cubase will drive you nuts.

  • from Florida April 15, 2014Music Background:
    Singer songwriter, Engineer Producer since the 70's.

    Cubase is powerful and intuitive...

    Been using Cubase since 1.0. Never had a reason to switch. Its fast and intuitive. I've had clients tell me, "wow you work so quickly". Steinberg invented much of the "standards" now used today and the competitors are still playing catch-up. I'm sure PT is good but honestly I think its popularity comes because PT is a cooler name than Cubase. Think about it. It was a big mistake for PT to move to AAX and further confuse and separate the plugin community. VST is a great standard.

  • from East Coast USA September 26, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, composer

    Superb 7 - Steinberg is on a roll.

    A long-time Cubase user who also owns a studio that runs all the main DAWs on the market, I can simply say this is the most well-rounded DAW for composers on the market. Of course it's not perfect, but when you sit down and really understand what this product does for you, it's amazing. I hope Steinberg can keep this up. The Cubase 7 launch had a few rough spots, but the current version is by far my favorite DAW. I have a Pro Tools 11 rig for those clients that need it, but if I could, I'd do all my work in Cubase now.

    And if you get a chance, pick up their Cubase iC Pro iPad app too, to control Cubase. It's really impressive how solid of a controller it turns your iPad into.

  • from Nashville, TN September 10, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Musician, Home Studio Owner

    Smooth as silk

    I've used Cubase 7 as my DAW for the last two projects I completed. One of the projects was a album excepted & added to Pandora, and the other project included a song that went to #16 on a christian music radio chart. You obviously need high end pre amps, good mics, pro quality musicians/singers, and a healthy dose of Know How, but this DAW will go as far as you are able to take it.

  • from Louisiana August 2, 2013Music Background:
    Procucer, Mixing Engineer

    BEST DAW IN 2013

    I HAVE TRIED JUST ABOUT ALL THE POPULAR DAWS ON THE MARKET WITH EACH ONE HAVING ITS STRONG POINTS BUT THIS ONE IS THE MOST WELL ROUNDED OF THEM ALL BEING STRONG IN BOTH MIDI AND AUDIO AND THE MIXING IS TOP OF THE LINE.
    Also the included vst instruments all incredible.

    Cubase 7 is the new (Industry Standard)!!!!!!!

  • from Chicago, IL USA May 20, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Home Recording Artist

    Just what I needed!

    Cubase really was the program that I was looking for. I had been using logic for about 5 years, but really felt a lack in quality and consistent audio production. With the new mix console in cubase 7, my music comes to life, and jumps off of the computer screen. I have not had this success with ANY other major DAW.

  • from Sacramento, California April 17, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Composer

    Cubase 7

    Was astounded at the speed and memory capability for virtual instruments in Cubase. As a Protools user for some time, I switched my production workflow to Cubase for its ability to handle CPU intensive VIs. I still prefer Protools for mixing the final audio, but I am overall very pleased and impressed with Cubase 7, plus the customer service at Stienberg indicates a desire for, and appreciation of long-term loyal customers.

  • from United States April 9, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great DAW

    I have protools 10. Bought the full version. Tried to love it. Compared to Cubase 7, protools 10 is slow and cumbersome. I have very decent equipment. UAD-2 solo, RME UFX, nice preamps, nice mics, excellent plugins. Cubase 7 runs fantastic. Smooth and usually seamless. There's a few things I would improve upon. Side Chain Compression is one. I would try to make it save and restore more like nuendo. I wouldn't have it auto arm tracks you edit. But all-in-all it's a fantastic product. I use it daily and love it.

  • from South Florida,USA March 10, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer,Pro Musician,Hobbyist

    The heart of my studio.

    A huge upgrade from cubase 6.5 I've been using 7 for a few months now and there's still so much new features I haven't tap'd in to yet and then there are the new feature I couldn't live with out like the new mixing console the A>B switch and the EQ upgrade I've used many different DAW's in my music journey i.e. FL studio,Reasons,Pro tools and I finally feel at home more than ever with cubase 7

  • from Washington,DC February 3, 2013Music Background:
    Producer Studio Owner

    Wow!!

    What can I really say about Cubase7! This is the best software out there .. I've been using Cubase since sx3 & yes I do have Ptotools 10 but this version of Cubase 7 is just mind blowing.. I love the mixer! I don't have to use a lot of plug ins such as dynamics & the eq is absolutely fine with me, it's like working on a real console desk.. I know people use Protools to print their music but if you want an all out with everything that you'll ever need DAW than I must recommend Cubase 7 & it is cross platform for both Mac & PC, I'm using both my IMac & MacBook Pro. To me this is the Industry Standard!

  • from Ellicott City, MD September 27, 2014

    New big fan of Cubase

    I've been using Live and N-Track for the past year and a half, maybe two. I bought Cubase 7.5 because it seemed to be packed full of features I'd normally perform in other tools, even mastering. My past experience with WaveLab and knowledge of people making killer records using Nuendo, plus some endorsements, like one by Steve Morse, sorta put me over the edge and I finally pushed the "but" button. Awesome product. The user interface is very responsive, on par with Live, but has a deeper feature set, especially audio clip editing, both destructive and nondestructive. It seems to have deeper MIDI editing capabilities, too. And it can host all my plugins and virtual instrument suites, e.g. NI Komplete Ultimate. So, I'm happy with Cubase. The iOS version is a plus, too, because I can compose on my A7 iPad Mini with Retina and transfer to the Mac. I haven't done this yet with Cubasis -> Cubase, but I did it regularly with N-Track Studio Pro iOS to Mac, so having Cubasis available for iOS was another factor, not huge but still important for me. Anyway, really looking forward to digging in deep and taking projects from composition to mastering all inside Cubase.

  • from United States June 1, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Pretty good.

    I've tried many other DAWs, and so far Cubase is probably one of the best I've tried. There's a great selection of MIDI instruments and it's really effective and easy to use. Only problem I had is that it can't be downloaded, so I had to buy an external CD drive.

Questions about the Steinberg Cubase 7.5 (boxed)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close