rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Dunlop 535Q-B Cry Baby 535Q Multi-wah Pedal - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 27 customer reviews
Questions about the Dunlop 535Q-B Cry Baby 535Q Multi-wah Pedal - Black?

Questions about the Dunlop 535Q-B Cry Baby 535Q Multi-wah Pedal - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Alaska March 7, 2017

    Impressive

    This wah sounds great and it's every bit as versatile as the Sweetwater description boasts.

    I've found my happy place as far as the adjustment settings of the "Q" dial, frequency range sweep, and adjustable boost, and I don't stray to far from the settings that sound the best to me. Of course I do make slight adjustment changes when dealing with variables (e.g. room acoustics, changes in signal path and amp). The point is that the adjustments are useable, and with them you can create a wah pedal that is custom to your own personal preferences.

    I really like this pedal and I'm happy to attest to its value, but what really inspired me to write this review is that I realized today that I've had this pedal for over three years now, and that's longer than I've ever had a wah pedal last. I play nearly every day, and although I take care of my pedals, this pedal is getting stepped on all the time and used aggressively, so that it's lasted over three years is a testimony to it's durability.

    I have another 535Q on my Sweetwater wishlist just in case my current pedal dies, but like the Energizer Bunny, the one I have just keeps going and going.

  • from PA March 24, 2016Music Background:
    Blues- classic rock

    Dunlop Crybaby 535Q

    I couldn't be happier with this wah pedal! It comes with some instructions on how to set the pedal like different artist on different songs, i.e. Jimi Hendrix voodoo chile, so it gives you a starting point and from there it's up to you it almost feels like the skies the limit with this wah, also the boost is a great touch.
    Plan on spending a lot of time exploring all of your tonal options.

  • from United States May 15, 2015

    Great stuff

    Works as advertised. Had problems with it working for about 2 days it just wouldnt come on for some reason, but then it did and its been perfect since.

  • from Indiana March 27, 2015Music Background:
    Been playing Guitar about 41 years, I have played in Hair metal bands, straight up Rock and roll bands, and even a couple country bands. Don't tour anymore but I will love this in my studio...

    Great Wah Pedal

    I've been on the hunt for the perfect Wah pedal, for me that is, for many years, and I think I have found it,,,
    Since I am a old school gear guy I thought the 535Q might have too many bells and whistles that I would not end up using, man was I wrong. This pedal allows you to find your perfect wah tone you have heard in your head, or on slash's recordings, lol...

    Seems to be constructed very well, and should last an old rocker like me for many years to come.

  • from El Segundo, CA August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    Wah greatness... Hendrix would be proud

    My favorite wah pedal ever... greatness

  • from Elizabethtown, KY April 21, 2014

    Very Versitile

    Not only is the pedal great sounding and everything I wanted from a crybaby, the customer service at Sweetwater is excellent. Ordered this on a Friday night. With in an hour of submitting my order request, my sales rep Aaron had called and said that he would get it out that night so I could have it Saturday after noon. Sure enough it was at my house the next day. I recomend this pedal but only from Sweetwater!

  • from Claremont, New Hampshire October 4, 2013Music Background:
    Playing guitar 50 years.

    The only Wah pedal you'll ever need

    No, really. If, it's wah you need, this is all you need.
    Just as it says. Dial in the tone and character you like, hit the boost to bring it up front and play. Easy on/off and when it's off, it's gone. Hard wired bypass. All good, no drama.

  • from Salem, IN United States June 6, 2013Music Background:
    Retired from playing in bands due to illness, but still play regularly.

    The Dunlop Cry Baby 535Q Multi-Wah can make your guitar cry the blues

    I've owned a cry baby for several years, but I never realized there was that much difference in the 535Q model. I was blown away by the unique sound that I could produce with this unit....

  • from Salem, IN May 14, 2013Music Background:
    50 years of playing and enjoyed every minute of it.

    Dunlop Cry Baby 535Q Multi-Wah is the Real Deal

    When I ordered the Dunlop Cry Baby 535Q Multi-Wah I expected a wah wah which was a little better than the standard wah wah. Was I surprized. This unit has more depth to get that deep rich sound like you hear on many major recordings.

  • from Beatrice NE April 21, 2013Music Background:
    bass player for life, 3 years on guitar

    Love it!!!!!

    This is the best wah I have ever used!! I had a high watt with the knobs on the side. High watt is now the 2nd best wah Ive ever used!! Ive used many brands, rare street brands even, and this sounds great, but the controls are what sells it. I love the options on this wah, subtle to long sweeps, paired with some visual sound delay and vox tube tone and BUTTER to my ears!! Just using this wah has made me a better player!! I recommend everyone owning this wah, wear a helmet so when your mind is blown its easy clean up!

  • from MA January 23, 2013Music Background:
    Noodler

    I am not crying

    My wife bought me a tuner I asked for a wah pedal...... I called Sweetwater and spoke with Mark. This guy is no schmoe.... Very articulate. He was able to talk about not just Dunlop pedals but a variety....detailing the pros and cons of each unit...I then had enough information about deciding what was best for me.... He wasn't trying to sell me up.... He wanted me to get the product I wanted....very cool.

  • from Quito, Ecuador August 29, 2012Music Background:
    rock, alternative, metal

    total versatility

    If you are into cover playing.. this is it! the adjustable frequency range is amazingly wide, you can cover very sutil wah movements and very pronounced sweeps with a quick knob movement... Sturdy construction (as a rule of thumb for crybabies) perfect for on the road gigs.. the boost feature though.. for me a little complicated to kick in during shows, bottom line if you're looking for versatility.. the few extra bucks totally worth it!

  • from Sonoran desert May 29, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Won't cry using this pedal.

    This Cry Baby allows you to vary the frequency range and the center of it. It is very smooth to use, built like a rock for those who may play hard. I really like the volume adjustment and extra boost in volume. Thanks to all at Seewtwater and especially Keith.

  • from Tubarão, SC, BRAZIL October 5, 2011Music Background:
    guitarist Joe Satriani and Pink Floyd cover

    great pedal

    This is my favorite wha. The Crybaby fantastic, you can adjust it to their specific needs and change it to make it sound different. Perfect even for large and magnificent solos. wha joe satriani used this for many years.

  • from Cornwall March 4, 2008Music Background:
    Musical as ever....

    Review The Crybaby 535Q Multi-Wah

    The Amp should go on last......
    1 Plugin guitar after you wired up your whole rig...
    2, Turn everything but the amp on.... check it's all running....
    3, Amp on (standby) warming up......
    4, Turn down master volume and switch amp full on (off standby)
    No clicks, no damage....no worries....
    ;-)

  • from Maplewood NJ January 14, 2017Music Background:
    Former Pro - hobbydad - noisemaker

    What's not to love!!??

    I've been at the Wah pedal thing for a while-my first one in junior high was a Vox and it was "new". I own a couple of Bad Horsey II Pedals and previously those have been the benchmark. This year I'm concentrating on simplification. I found the perfect amp set up for me and I'm no longer using very much upfront. (68 deluxe reissue/64 fender concert set dirty/clean with a switcher). I've noticed of late that the more pedals I have upfront, the more degraded my signal is even using smart devices like the Radial Dragster. Anyway, I'm down to four pedals -A tuner, a Keely screamer, and a the mini Deja vibe.....and now the 535Q. The reason for the switch was the Morley is noisy when connected and put anywhere near the power supplies. Engaging it and moving it near the pedal power box creates a large hum. Not so with the Dunlop. It's dead quiet. I'm no longer using a noise gate-I don't need one as the Keeley is quiet and this is too. With regard to features-this does everything you could want. The six settings for range are very useful as is the Q setting. The boost is all right too… However I set it for its lowest point. Many thanks Matt Masek!!!

  • from Niagara Falls, New York March 25, 2015Music Background:
    guitarist 40+ years

    Crybaby 535Q Multi-Wah

    I just purchased this Wad a couple weeks ago. It seems to have everything that someone would want in a Wah. It's well made, ruggedly built and easy to change settings. Most importantly, it's sounds really good.
    Of course, this purchasing experience from Sweetwater was flawless as usual. Thanks Matt McKibble!

  • from Arizona December 29, 2014Music Background:
    guitarist at large

    Well Built

    If you are going to buy a wow peddle, this is a good one to add to your EFX peddle board. I had one, (big Joe) before this that kept breaking, and paid a little more for it than I did this one.

  • from United States March 12, 2014Music Background:
    playing since 1959

    535q-b

    There isn't anything I do not like with this pedal!
    You will love it!
    And no place better then Sweeth20 to buy it!
    Thanks again..Sweetwater!

  • from Marysville, CA. June 4, 2012Music Background:
    12 year guitar player

    What I hoped For

    Thanks to youtube Wah comparisons and reading several website testimonials I chose the 535Q. My band likes the sound and I apreciate the features. I had the old school Dunlop Wah and did not like the signal loss when I switched it on. The 535Q takes care of that issue and provides selectable Wha sounds, very simple to use.

  • from Huntington Beach, CA USA April 13, 2012Music Background:
    Shy closet guitarist for 25 years

    I'm a fan!

    I've owned one for over eight years and it's still going strong. I love the sounds you can make with this thing. I just purchased another one for my roommate who's new to guitar and I'm sure he'll love it when he's ready to spice up his playing. I've also used it with my theremin and that makes for some insanely human-like 'oww' 'wow' & 'waaah' sounds! I highly recommend it if you own a theremin and want to take it to an even farther planet than the instrument already provides. Of course it's also fantastic for guitar. I've never owned a different brand or model of this type of pedal so I have nothing to compare it to but it gives you so many options that you can get whatever you desire from it without being overloaded with adjustments. I play at home about every other day and I don't beat it up too much but I use it almost every session and it's been faithfully functional since it was new. I probably would've rated this 5 stars if I had something to compare it to. Definitely pick one up if you want one that can be dialed in to get what you want!

  • from Salisbury, NC, USA April 1, 2012Music Background:
    Playing guitar for 4 years.

    Great Wah.

    I've messed around with all of the settings to get the tone I want just right. And when I found that tone, I fell in love with this pedal. This pedal can make any "Wah" sound under the sun. From Alice In Chains' "Man In The Box" , all the way to Kirk Hammett's tone of "Wah."

  • from Fort Wayne, In. September 17, 2011Music Background:
    Musician.

    Awesome.

    Like I said awesome. Everything you could want out of a wah, because it can be set to be just about any wah you could want. The only reason I give it less than 5 is that if engaged (Wah ON) it will pop or crack if switching either the boost or the wah range. Though I wish I could change these settings while the wah is on, at least I can change them. I couldn't imagine having a wah I couldn't manipulate to make different sounds like this one. AWESOME!

  • from Fl January 21, 2008Music Background:
    Guitarist/vocalist

    Product works like a charm

    The Crybaby works great you can set it to your specific needs and change it up to make it sound different it missed out on 5 stars because when you turn on your amp and turn it on for the first time (stops after the first time though) it makes a loud click noise and i dont think its good for the amp...

  • from Tucson March 19, 2017

    535Q Review

    I have to agree with the good things other people have said about this pedal. The tone is awesome and the ability to adjust the tone and range is also very awesome. However there's two things that really bug me about this pedal, and those are: number one -there is not an indicator light to tell you if it's on or off which is a real problem and has led to a lot of adjustments in my rig and then I find out that it's on and you know. The other thing is it will not hold a position there is no way to adjust the tension on pedal and it will always fall toe-down.

  • from July 27, 2015

    535Q

    They built this thing like a tank. They put a nice stainless 6 position wah range knob. A nice anodized boost kick switch. And then they leave the 2 tiny volume and variable Q knobs. They're a little tough to see the tick marks on to really pinpoint your settings. Overall....not bad.

  • from Pa January 30, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar for 10 years

    Scratch Scratch Scratch

    Brand new out of the box, hooked up to my mustang iii amp, with a brand new battery. HORRIBLE scratching noise even when the guitar volume was at zero. Tried new cables, different guitar, different amp. I assume its the potentiometer inside the pedal. Called sweetwater and they said they would send me a new pedal and return box for the one i recieved, so hopefully the new one will not have that noise problem.

Questions about the Dunlop 535Q-B Cry Baby 535Q Multi-wah Pedal - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway