0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Dunlop JB95 Joe Bonamassa Signature Cry Baby Wah Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Dunlop JB95 Joe Bonamassa Signature Cry Baby Wah Pedal?

Questions about the Dunlop JB95 Joe Bonamassa Signature Cry Baby Wah Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Florida March 15, 2017Music Background:
    Songwriter

    JB95 Cry Baby

    True bypass and no noticeable signal drop off when in use. Very expressive, unique to the other models available. Well done.

  • from WV October 26, 2016

    JB95 wah

    It's wonderful large sweep is great yet not too shrill on top like some wahs can be,very smooth and useful ! Thank u to Kieth for this recommendation !

  • from July 27, 2015Music Background:
    Student of the Blues

    Very Cool!

    I've been playing almost 20 years so without sounding cliche- I've played quite a few Wah pedals. The JB Crybaby takes the cake. To me the sweep is perfect- very vocal and musical. It does Cream and Hendrix flawlessly! Another fine addition is the fact that you don't have to literally stomp the thing to activate it, a nice toe tap and you're off. As for looks? The copper finish is very mellow and very cool looking to me. It's definitely staying on my board for a long time. Cheers

  • from Henderson, NV February 25, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Bonamassa Wah!

    pre~ordered and waited 2 months for Dunlop to make more. Totally worth the wait. Never need another wah, ever!!!

  • from Seattle March 6, 2014Music Background:
    Recording, guitarist

    Great!

    What I was hoping for! Actually has great sweep and perfect tone. I really like it. Very detailed sound. I have not opened up the back and switched the bypass. Pretty awesome, another great wha pedal

  • from Brunswick, GA December 9, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Sounds good. A little noisy though.

    I love the range on this pedal. However, it is a little noisy. The high end was really noticeable. Sweetwater sent me a replacement, but it too was the same. I've decided to keep searching for a "quite" wah. I've heard the Budda bud-wah might be my answer.

  • from Michigan April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Crybaby!

    I like the standard Crybaby, but this one is a bit more solidly built and has a bit more of a refined sound. Good bang for the buck!

  • from Southern California February 1, 2013Music Background:
    Player

    Great Tones from this Wah

    I took some time to write this review so I could get to know the wah more.
    Its grown on me a lot over the past month. Very vocal, great sweep range,organic, musical and never sounds harsh. More on the vintage side tone wise . I've had a heap of wah's and this is the best I've owned and played. I did my research, listened to all the dunlop wah's and it came down to this and the buddy guy model ( which I will be purchasing in the future). Works great with humbuckers, single coils and all the effects I've used with it. If you have heard it and like it you will not be disappointed, sounds better in person.
    Really happy with it and sweet water was very very helpful.

  • from kennewick washington January 15, 2013Music Background:
    weekend warrior

    dunlop joe bonamassa signature cry baaby wah

    plugged in to my marshal with my les paul with some other effect pedals. there is a big differance between the regular cry baby and this one you get quicker response in tone and action all together a better wah . well worth the price, kicks butt

  • from Dayton, OH USA October 25, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Semi-Pro

    Joe Bonamassa Crybaby

    A week or so ago, I ordered and received a brand new Joe Bonamassa Crybaby. I had tried one out at a local Sam Ash a few months ago, but him-hawed about getting it until now. (Mainly because of the steep price.) Up until I got the JB95, I used a Crybaby 535Q. While there was nothing wrong with the 535Q, I liked the JB95 because of the deeper, throatier growl it had.

    First off, you MUST try this wah before you buy it. It's very unique and I can see where a lot of guitar players will not like it. It is voiced more for humbuckers and is more on the dark side tone wise. It will not give you a quacky sound like most wah pedals will. If you are looking for a wah to play funk with, this is not it. As a matter of fact, if you engage the wah on a clean setting on an amp, it is quite lackluster. It doesn't have any snap or quack to it and really seems like a dud. If you are looking for a wah to play clean on, this again is not the wah for you.

    Now, overdrive on the other hand, is another story entirely. This little puppy absolutely screams when ran through the dirty channel or an amp or with a dirt pedal. The more drive you add, the more depth and tone this thing cranks out. It's quite strange, because there are all kinds of harmonics and tones that just aren't there when this wah is ran through a clean setting. Dunlop claims that this added harmonic content is due to the Halo inductor exclusive to the JB95. (Exclusive at least in Dunlop's current Crybaby range. I know vintage wahs had them.) I'm sure this is mainly a marketing ploy, but I really do think the Halo inductor adds richness to this wah. The JB95 just has a throaty, mid-range growl that neither of my Fasel inductor Crybabies had.

    The JB95 also has a pretty wide sweep. It goes from a deep bass-y tone in the heel down position to a very nasally slightly sharp tone in the toe down position. What I do love about this wah is while it is very distinct and in your face, it is not shrill or over powering.

    This wah does not have many features in the tweaker category. The only switch it offers is a small slider inside that switches it from non-true bypass to true bypass. I switched it to true bypass pretty much as soon as I got it, but apparently Joe likes it without it. I didn't hear much of a difference as far as the tone of the pedal goes, but to each his own. There's no "Q" control or volume boost like what's on the 535Q. I didn't use the volume boost on my 535Q, and the "Q" intensity was always maxed with the dial always in the 3rd position, so I don't miss these features at all. If you are used to a wah with these kind of features that you change constantly, this will very much be a one trick pony that you will probably get frustrated with.

    I absolutely love this wah and it has replaced my 535Q on my pedal board. It is not at all for everyone, but do yourself a favor and try one out to see if you like it.

  • from Dyer, Indiana October 17, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Unique Wah

    Best sounding Wah pedal I've tried yet. All ranges sound sweet to my ears. Looks like I'll be using my Wah pedal a whole lot more often.
    Very sturdy. Copper color is exceptional.

Questions about the Dunlop JB95 Joe Bonamassa Signature Cry Baby Wah Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway