0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Dunlop GCB95 Cry Baby Wah Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 43 customer reviews
Questions about the Dunlop GCB95 Cry Baby Wah Pedal?

Questions about the Dunlop GCB95 Cry Baby Wah Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Yuval Fuchs

    It's hard to imagine what countless rock tunes would sound like without this pedal. Rock 'n Roll without the Crybaby would be like Harley without the growl. Every guitar player, band, and recording studio should have at least one of these in their arsenal.

  • from Deer Park. New York January 12, 2017Music Background:
    Former lead trumpet, Randy and the Rainbows Showband.

    Crybaby wah

    The pedal is perfect for all brass and harmonicas. Cant get enough of this sound. I've got 6 pedals that I use but this one is my favorite. I got the idea listening to a Brecker Brothers album. So I went out and bought one. It knocked me out the first time I used it. Been with it ever since. If you play trumpet, get yourself one.

  • from January 6, 2017

    Great Wah!!!

    This basic Crybaby is by far the best, no switches, knobs, kick buttons, switchable inductors. Just the original Crybaby. I've owned over a dozen and this is my favorite. Has the Red Fasel, no true bypass.
    Gave it 5 stars because of being so good and simple!

  • from February 28, 2016Music Background:
    Novice guitarist

    American Classic

    Classic wah. Works great and sounds great. Customer service at Sweetwater is unparalleled in the industry. My new go to music supply source. Nuff said.

  • from Anchorage Alaska December 1, 2015Music Background:
    Working musician Danger Money band

    It's a cry baby

    Same as it always was. Great!

  • from November 4, 2015

    crybaby

    It is a have to have tool. Great Buy!

  • from Texas October 7, 2015Music Background:
    Semi pro

    Old school the best

    Tried more expensive cry baby pedals and none lasted or just didn't have the treble I like. Went back to same pedal I had in the 70's, love it use it for tone control and some way wah effects.

  • from August 31, 2015

    An awesome wah-ay to add character to a solo!

    I chose the original crybaby over the classic because I wanted a wah that sounded good with both my clean and dirty channels. In video reviews I've watched, they both sounded amazing with distortion, but the classic sounded a bit too distorted on the clean channel at around the middle of the sweep.
    You can also change the frequency range by opening it up and adjusting the gear position on the internal pot. There are a few video tutorials on youtube showing how to do this.
    A cheap (compared to tricked out wahs with multiple options) great sounding pedal that seems to be solidly built.

  • from Oxford, MS August 4, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Crybaby - It's by Dunlop so it's awesome.

    The Crybaby is just coolness defined. Who can hear it or play with one and deny it? Sounds great, tons of fun to play with; and just try not to make wah wah mouth motions. If you're reading reviews about it, you're wasting time. BUY ONE!

  • from Texas April 24, 2015

    GCB95 Crybaby Wah pedal

    Fantastic Wah pedal. Works great.

  • from Louisville Ky April 11, 2015Music Background:
    Semi- Pro

    Still The Best

    The Dunlop GCB95 Crybaby Wah Pedal does not disappoint. Sturdy metal housing, and heavy duty switch ensure many years of gigging. I had one many years ago and after 30 yrs on Bass I have gone back to playing guitar and wanted one to complete my pedal board. The sound is true crybaby wah. I plan on using it for many years. Great purchase! Still competitively priced. Sweetwater makes it easy. Get yours today!

  • from Missoula mt. January 10, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Cry baby

    This is the second cry baby I've had, the first One I used for 20 years and gave it to newer player, this one is still the same build quality as my first one. I like the sound of the oringinal cry baby.

  • from United States June 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome

    This pedal is awesome. Very durable and we'll built. The sound is just what I was looking for. Bought one for my brother as well. He thinks it is awesome to.

  • from July 10, 2013Music Background:
    New to Guitar

    Cry Baby Wah

    Industry Standard! What can I add to decades of popularity with professional musicians. I am a new player so I am in the learning phase of using the pedal.

  • from Oakley, CA May 6, 2013Music Background:
    Not much but growing!

    Dunlop Cry Baby

    After learning, and practicing scales for awhile, I decided to "Go-For It".
    Putting together the pedal board with electronic devices the professionals use, and after careful study of the numerous reviews, I went with the Cry Baby. In a short while I found that I made the right selection. What a neat Toy! Now I practice more without realizing the time. Like a whole new brain wave going on!

  • from April 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Wah Pedal

    The Cry Baby GCB-95 wah pedal is a great addition to my set of effects and will not be unused.

  • from FL USA February 16, 2013

    Dunlop Cry Baby

    Amazing ! Sounds awesome for a great price.

  • from Fircrest WA USA October 12, 2012Music Background:
    Live performer

    Best pedal ever

    THIS PEDAL IN AWSOME!!! I got this pedal as a gift, probaly would not have bought it on my own But when I played that first note I just fell in love with it. This pedal will never leave my pedalboard. Sure I dosent have all thoughs fancy nobs and bottons but you do't always need all that. The Cry Baby is an awsome pedal, every guitarist regardless of style should have this pedal.

  • from United States June 29, 2012Music Background:
    musician, pedal builder, recordist

    love this thing

    was gonna screw with modifications but the only one I had to make was cutting out half or all of some of the rubber bumpers under the toe and heel of the treadle for a wider sweep. Now it's just perfect. Vox Clyde McCoy does the zeppelin thing to a T, but this one's a little thicker, lower, and meaner sounding. The Clyde is more snarly and pissed off. I love the toe down fixed position on the Crybaby it's perfect Green Milk From The Planet Orange "City Calls Revolution" tone with distortion. this pedal goes so well with solos, and fuzz or distortion. Love it! Hardly any tweaking necessary to be superb.

  • from Iberia, MO. USA March 7, 2012Music Background:
    Playing for 50 years..

    Dunlop Cry Baby

    This thing works great...My grandson loves it..

  • from los angeleez usa September 1, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Artist

    Smooth

    Jes like Jimi n Eric this pedal rocks...it can do the Shaft theme and it can sing with no crackling or squeaking...its got the good innards...if you wanna go deeper go to the next one up, around a C note, with the magic insides, but this one at around 70 smacks does us fine...

  • from PA September 22, 2008Music Background:
    Guitarist, active musician,

    Possibly the coolest pedal you can have in your signal chain

    I had my first one for over 10 years. My second and current one is probably about 15 years old. I've been stepping on it for a looong time. That classic wah sound that everyone knows and loves is just a step away. If you step on it and just pull back on it a little and leave it in that position, it gives you that decibel boost and tone similar to the solo parts of Zep's "Whole Lotta Love" or the "UFO: Strangers in the Night" CD's lead guitar work that Michael Schenker did such a phenomenal job on. Its character is also similar to some Satriani and Vai sounds depending on what amp, tone and distortion settings you use. It really puts the boost on the screaming guitar sound and lets you add the wah effect however you feel it. As these get old, the pedal movement can get a little noisy, but I'm comfortable with the pedal and easily use the pedal without letting any noise become an issue. If it was a real problem, I'd be on my 3rd one instead of my second. I also like that it's battery powered. That's one less cable I need to run!

  • from Hannibal, MO January 25, 2017Music Background:
    Music Enthusiast

    Wah is Excellent

    The Wah does exactly what I need it to do. Now for the learning curve.

  • from December 27, 2016

    Great Purchase

    Got this for my son and hear him playing with it all the time. He likes.

  • from August 24, 2015

    Crybaby

    What can I say other than you have to love that classic sound! This is a great pedal for the money, simple but sound and works great.

  • from San Diego June 19, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Simple, great wah pedal

    This pedal really needs no introduction. The range of the effect is excellent, (especially when paired with my Stratocaster) the pedal moves perfectly smoothly and the tone responds nicely to the sweep of the pedal. It looks to be very solidly made, and is very simple to use. However I did notice that there is a bit of a volume loss when the pedal is engaged, and when used with my single coil guitars there is a slight loss of the brightness, I'm not sure if this is true of all wah pedals though. Still this is a must have in any guitarist's gear collection, overall just a great pedal.

  • from March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, invited musician local bands

    Dunlop GCB95 Crybaby Wah Pedal

    After 20 years of playing (Blues, Jazz and RockīnīRoll) I came back to this pedal. Do not ask why, but it sounds better, reacts faster and feels great while playing. This is THE Wah pedal!

  • from Alabama January 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Solid

    My pedal is fantastic. I had one many years ago, and I would say this new one is a solid improvement in quality. It sounds great, and the price is right. I can't believe I waited so long to buy one.

  • from cedar hill mo USA January 21, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist / amatuer since the sixtys

    dunlop cry baby

    only used it enough to learn how,but excedes my expectations. this thing is built like a tank. looking forward to using it more.

  • from Jacksonville, Fl January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Lead/Rythm Guitar player

    Cry Baby Wah

    The Cry Baby Wah is simple but effective. The predal is suprisingly responsive and easy to control with a broad range of differing tones by position or the ability to chop up your sound on rythm.
    The tone is very true to the 60's and 70's Wahs but works well to fatten up a modern sound or add dimension to leads.

  • from April 4, 2012

    Awesome pedal

    Awesome pedal I think everyone should have one

  • from Valporaiso, IN USA September 21, 2008Music Background:
    Guitarist, Student

    This Rocks

    I bought this about 3 weeks ago with the money from my birthday becuase I was interested in learning Rage Against The Machine songs such as "Killing In The Name" and "Bulls On Parade". Whenever I play Killing In The Name to my friends or family they recognize it and they are blown away by the solo....so am I! Now I've started playing Metallica songs and it saounds just like the actual solo. Even the thing is pretty heavy for a foot pedal...it's a great buy, it's cheap but very cool. I highly recomend this as you get better.

  • from Bronx, NY October 27, 2006Music Background:
    Hobbyist,Student

    Dang!!!

    Very Good pedal. The sound is phenomenal and the tonal variety you can get from the thing is amazing...I mean ive played Gospel rock and sop much else with it. it truly Rocks

  • from Birmingham, UK October 5, 2006Music Background:
    Student

    Great Pedal Great Value

    I first bought the 'Cry Baby pedal' when I was 17 and was learning 'Surfing with the Alien,' by Joe Satriani.
    Obviously I wasnt made of money and when I started playing, it was awesome and opened up a new world of guitar sounds for my soloing and helped me achieve the sound i wanted for the song.
    Just by altering the pedal you can boost your sound in particular frequencies and it really makes blastin out a solo bliss, all for a great price!

  • from bowling green, ohio March 31, 2014Music Background:
    30 yr veteran of playing clubs and recording.

    Awesom wah!!!

    Best wah I've ever had. For the money it cant be beat.
    It goes thru all the eq tonalities and comes up with really great results!
    Even when I'm not using wah I get it to a position that can really give you a trademark sound. Its great for turning your leads into stellar performances! A+++++++++++++++ all the way!

  • from Pacific Northwest April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging musician, bar music.

    Good basic wah

    Does what it's supposed to do. Seems well built and works fine. It is part of my backup rig in case something happens to my gigging gear, so I haven't put a lot of miles on it.

  • from seattle, wa March 21, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Dunlop Cry Baby

    Better than the Hendrix i borrowed, but I'm into 80's and some country anyways.

  • from March 12, 2013

    simple and good

    This is a very simple and classic effect. I like it bcoz it gives a very nice sharp sound. The only thing I don't like is the guitar sound change when you connected through the cry baby even when its nutral

  • from Conway, SC 29526 October 15, 2006Music Background:
    Student / Hobbyist

    Rugged Basic Wah

    I have had this pedal for about 3 years now and it still works perfectly. I have never had a problem with it. This pedal is a basic wah pedal. If you are more tone critical I would look at the Buddah wah or the Vox Clyde Wah. But this pedal has no difficulty getting it done and it is very reliable

  • from Chardon, Ohio October 5, 2006Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Dunlop Rules!

    I owned one of these pedals years ago and lost it! So when I looked to get a replacement wah for my new band, I went right back to the best! The Cry Baby is a fantastic pedal, built like a brick house, and easy to use. It has the classic wah sound, is great for classic rock and modern rock as well. The pedal itself is very smooth, and it has great tone. It doesn't color your sound at all. With it's good sound, durability and reliability, it's a great choice!

  • from Corner Brook, Newfoundland Canada September 29, 2006Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Cry, baby cry

    I bought this pedal a few months ago just because it was a wah-wah, i thought "Well, every guitar player needs a wah pedal!" and i was right this pedal is awsome, and some people say it is overused but hey it's still awsome. the only problem with this pedal that when the battery starts to go the "Wah-e-ness" gets weaker but the simple solution is an adaptor. the other this is recently i've heared a vox wah-wah and personally i prefered it for more of a vintage tone. i think i'm gonna get one of them, but i'll never throw away my Crybaby.

  • from Miami, Fl June 8, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, rock and R & B

    guitar wah pedal

    very smooth switching on and off and noise kept to a minimum

  • from May 8, 2015

    needs a mod

    I'm going to give this 3 stars because even when not engaged, it changes your tone pretty bad. It's a great wah though nonetheless, and keeley has an awesome mod for it. It's about $165 or so, but worth every penny

  • from May 1, 2004

    Classic

    This Wah Pedal will take you back to a very classic 70's sound. It can also give you more creativity in your playing. I love this pedal and would replace it in a heart beat. Every guitarist should have one of these in their effects gear...Joker_B

Questions about the Dunlop GCB95 Cry Baby Wah Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway