0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

JBL Control 2P 5.25" Powered Monitor System Reviews

4.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the JBL Control 2P 5.25" Powered Monitor System?

Questions about the JBL Control 2P 5.25" Powered Monitor System?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Mike Conyers

    For an introductory set of studio monitors, you can't go wrong with the Control 2Ps! Their small size belies their quality and clarity, and you'll wonder how you ever lived without them. These are ideal for the "laptop musician" and perfect for anyone who would like an easily transportable set of monitors.

  • frank ross
    from bridgeville, PA February 24, 2016Music Background:
    Musician and audio tech.

    Control 2P

    Way more than I expected.

  • Clay
    from Minneapolis MN January 8, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    JBL Control 2P

    I have been using the 2P pair for a few weeks now and I like them. Setup and installation was straightforward. I appreciate the variety of input connectors.My 2P master is fed from a Behringer Xenyx 802 mixer which allows a nice flexibility in selecting and controlling which audio source(s) I want to listen to at any given time. I use the mixer/monitor combination in my amateur radio station and I have experienced no interference from my 100 watt HF transmitter to date without having to add external ferrite chokes. Solid, well built, simple, clean appearance: a nice addition to my station.

  • Jack Wvans
    from Chelsea, Alabama February 11, 2013Music Background:
    On the low side

    Speakers Work

    After I figured out the system with the TV and made connection everything is working just fine. I and my wife are very pleased with the results....

  • Customer
    from October 13, 2015

    Small Speaker but Great

    Perfect for a small room

  • Del P
    from Columbus, Ohio USA April 2, 2012Music Background:
    Label Owner, Recording Engineer, Song writer, Performer, Manager, Booking Agent,

    I love these JBL Control 2P Speakers

    Sounds great plus the size is a nice fit in my studio.

  • Matt Thompson
    from Ridgefield, WA June 10, 2011Music Background:
    I am an audio enthusiast who has had a critical interest in AV hardware for over two decades.

    Great value and low-cost option

    These JBL Control 2P powered monitors fill a unique niche in the market, offering a great value as an extremely low-cost option. I use them as computer speakers just for listening to music (not recording), and have recommended them to several friends for that application. With a decent audio interface, such as the M-Audio Audiophile 2496 PCI card I use, these JBL's far outperform anything generally considered to be a computer speaker. Unlike most other powered monitors, these include a single volume control for the pair; a significant convenience when they are used as computer speakers.

    The single-star rating for this product by one user on this site is absurd. It is more indicative of an unrealistic expectation than of this product's performance-per-dollar. The only cautionary comment I can make is in reference to the grilles - I think they are made of steel, but they are also necessarily a mesh that will be damaged if abused. All other aspects of their design and construction are impressively robust.

    If your budget tops-out around cost of this product, then I recommend you buy this set now, fully confident that these JBL Control 2Ps will outperform all of your other options.

    If you can afford to spend more (particularly if you need more of a reference monitor to support recording) then I would recommend you consider a higher-end product like those from KRK Systems. Sweetwater has a terrific selection that is sure to satisfy any need and budget.

    ~M. Thompson (Audio Enthusiast)

  • Linda Nachtrieb
    from Joliet, IL October 17, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist recording engineer

    Monitors: B+ so far. Sweetwater: A+

    We just received these speakers, and may want to rate them more highly after we have run them for a while. The first set we received was defective, but Sweetwater's Jim Watson, Dirk Walker and Aaron Regenold sprang into action and got us a new set immediately. We have nothing but kudos for the Sweetwater guys, and we're willing to forgive JBL if the replacement set keeps working as well as it does now: the sound is clear and crisp, and the speakers deliver everything that is on the recording, good and bad, which is exactly what they are supposed to do. And this set doesn't hiss like the first set did.

  • Dan
    from Clearlake, Ca April 14, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound FOH Engineer / Install Consultant

    Have performed very well

    Yes the are lacking in low end, but I knew that when I bought them having 'read' the specs conveniently listed under the picture. Having said that, I've installed 4 pairs at 4 different locations. Two outdoors (in a covered patio) one in a workout room, another in a crying room at a church.
    Each and every install are almost 2yrs old, and I have personally inspected the speakers. None show any weathering, or problems, also every client has been very pleased with the products reliability, and sound quality.
    So this actually counts as 5, four star ratings!

  • Dan
    from N.California March 10, 2011Music Background:
    30+yrs FOH Engineer/Audio Consultant

    Work Great

    Bought a pair for a client who wanted remote speakers in an open workshop facing his 1/2 acre. Once installed, hooked directly from a Digital Satellite audio outs, no eq. They sound very full for their size, and project the same quality sound out at least 100'.
    Bottom end is a bit on the light side, take a look at the specs and it's obvious these are not "full" range boomers, but for casual listening the work great.

  • josh
    from acton, ma January 24, 2014Music Background:
    obsessive hobbyist

    bass, how low can you go?

    great on so many levels except bass - good grill to keep from prying children's fingers, side volume control, loud enough for their size, but the bass is lacking - low end theory not found here

  • Jeremy Persinger
    from Union, Ky February 27, 2011Music Background:
    Chief Engineer

    Worst ever

    Low mid (100-140HZ) is extremely deceptive. They spool up way to early and there is less there than appears...worst moniters ever.

Questions about the JBL Control 2P 5.25" Powered Monitor System?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway