0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Fulltone Clyde Deluxe Wah Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Fulltone Clyde Deluxe Wah Pedal?

Questions about the Fulltone Clyde Deluxe Wah Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • R. McCoy
    from Starkville July 20, 2015

    Perfect.

    Way to go Fulltone. This pedal has everything I've ever wanted in a wah. I've modded crybabys to emulate (to no avail) what this pedal does right out of the box.

  • Stratoholic
    from USA April 19, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Re "Average"

    Just a heads up that the problem with the noise only when sound is passing through the pedal is indicative of a low or defective 9V battery. I've had this happen with various wahs and a new battery or switching to a regulated a/c adapter (like the Fulltone) fixed the issue.

  • Richard Price
    from Brunswick GA March 27, 2015Music Background:
    Novice

    Best Wah Ever

    This is the best Wah pedal that I have ever used. The three different tone selections are all unique and provide a wide range of tonal variety. The pedal is solid. It is easy to operate and the On\Off red light on the side is great. It is very easy to turn on and off and with the light you know you have it on. I wish that I had bought one of these years ago. I used a Crybaby for years. This one blows the Cry Baby out of the water. No comparison.

  • Mike Kosoff
    from Kent, WA October 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Finally, a Fuzz friendly Wah!!

    It's everything my Keeley modded wah is and more. This thing has a buffer circuit (that can be bypassed of course) that takes away that annoying squeal when plugged into your vintage style fuzz boxes. Absolute genius!! All three settings sound outstanding and being able to adjust the input level is another bonus. Can't say enough about this one. Dump your Dunlops and you'll see what I mean.

  • Paul
    from N Texas October 3, 2013Music Background:
    retired from live gigs, personal studio, advanced hobbyist

    This is "the wah", stop searching

    Fuller has created a very versatile great sounding wah here. 3 toggle wah voices, Jimi, Whack, Shaft, covering more low end and vocal voicing(Whack), optimized Vox(Jimi) and a brighter whacka-whacka voicing. It has a input level to adjust for unity or to drive the inductor harder, very nice indeed. Biggest sell point for me is the unique output switchable buffer boost which allows this wah to be heard through any use of high gain dist pedal or amp. Much better than a mere boost, Fuller's use of special buffer circuit really lifts the wah out of the mix without overdriving the gains too much. Love this pedal, one of Fulltone's finest efforts along with the MDV3.

  • McStein
    from Florida June 27, 2013

    Fulltone Clyde DEluxe Wah

    Can't go wrong with this.
    Worth the price tag.
    If you are thinking about getting it, it is at least worth a try.

  • Kenny C.
    from Beaverton, OR March 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Former Performing Musician

    The Wah I've Been Searching For!

    For the last 17 years, I've been seeking the wah sound that I've heard in both Hendrix/SRV songs as well as the sounds in '70s funk. The Clyde Deluxe nails those sounds both perfectly. The Jimi setting sounds better than my previous Vox and the Shaft setting is just awesome. The versatility of this wah is worth more than the price and it's built extremely well. Even the inside of the shell is powder-coated. This will be the last wah you'll buy and you'll wonder why you waited so long to buy it.

  • George W
    from Pearl City June 21, 2012Music Background:
    Rock Guitar Player

    Fulltone Clyde Deluxe Wah

    This pedal has useful settings to vary the wah sound. It has a sturdy feel, and built to last. It replaces the Vox v846 wah I've used for 40yrs. No disappointments in performance, features, or sound.

  • Tom Murphy
    from Boone, NC USA February 11, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar/Bass/Recording Engineer/Music Junkie

    Worth the Money...

    I purchased this five months ago after much research and having used a cry baby and the wah model in my vox tonelab se for many years. i have to say this thing is fantastic. The richness and tone from this pedal left me wanting nothing. the wacked mode is my favorite, unexpectedly; and sounds like nothing else i've ever heard. had band members literally with their jaws dropped on playback after i used it in place of the other wah's in a song we've been working on; wonderful effect. the jimi mode sounds like it should and makes the cry baby sound like a toy. the gain switch is brilliant and so so helpful. works like a volume control without having to mess with your overall volume and functions like a gain booster when you turn it up (meaning you don't have to touch your overdrive/distortion for solo boosts!) if i didn't know better i'd swear fulltone put tubes in there; that's how fat, warm, and organic it is. best purchase since i bought my first guitar!

  • Richard "Dickey" J.
    from Tampa Bay area, FL December 30, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Studio and Live performance musician

    The best Wah Pedal I've ever used and worth every penny!

    I bought this pedal after doing 3-6 months of research and I'm glad I did. The LED is a definite plus in dark club type stages; The 2 chicken knobs on the side have great functionality.

    Though I like the Whacked mode best, The soul/fuzz mode gives a very nice "Shaft" type distortion to the sound and the Jimi mode his just pure,clean wah. Whacked gives the wah an almost Rotary -delay type sound, which kind of startled me when I first tried it but has , now , become my favorite.

    The other chicken-knob seems to be, mostly, a gain effect to my ear. I ordered the FullTone PS1 9V power supply, directly, from FullTone, though it would've been more convenient to just buy it thru Sweetwater. It has one more unique feature if you screw off the plates on the metal facing under the pedal: ie:.. and that's another clock dial circuit that I adjusted to a more bass/type sound when you rock back on the pedal. It was simple to do and Mike Fuller's personal fave setting is marked on the dial once you open and view it.

    The owners manual describes all this and I found it very helpful. The thing is built like a tank and I've received more complements about the sound of it, from followers of my band, than any other pedal I've used in the last 2 years, excepting, of course, my Moog 103 and 104Z.

    This is,definitely, the mother of all wah's!! Buy it! It's worth every penny and makes my old Cry-Baby do just that.

  • Steve McCabe
    from November 18, 2015

    Not Great

    Unit started to get unacceptably noisy after about 1 year in a clean studio environment. Never gigged. Currently in a 2 week wait for service. Unless it ships back to Fulltone. Then I'll be buying a different unit.
    Also issues with the fact that it turns on and off too easily. And the sweep is too wide for my taste. If you are used to the feel of a Cry Baby or Vox this is not for you. Other than that it sounded pretty good - for a little while.

  • David
    from Logan, UT May 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Average

    I considered this an average wah pedal. I agree, the sweep and sound of this pedal is good. I mainly enjoyed the Jimi setting. But the other settings were good to. When I got my first one of these, it was defective, and had a horrible scratching sound when rocking the pedal back and forth. I sent it back and got another. While it didn't have the exact same issue, it did have noise when rocking the pedal back and forth, but more annoyingly it was only heard while playing. So every time you went to make this sucker sing (which it does) You'd try real hard to concentrate on the beauty of the sound rather than the background noise it was creating. It was like having your little brother tapping you on the shoulder repeatedly every time you tried to rock out. Unfortunately I just couldn't look past it. Perhaps I got another defective unit. I'm no stranger to Fulltone, and I've owned many of their pedals. This is the only pedal I ever had issues with from them, and to think I had them twice, and just not have it be how the pedal is, would be surprising to me.

    In addition to that issue there is a loud pop when you switch between settings which was annoying. The treadle was to tight out of the box and required adjusting, which was also annoying. Fulltone also included a buffer switch on later models, to work with Fuzz pedals. This also annoyed me :)

  • John Zucco
    from Baldwinsville, NY September 7, 2013

    Not Built well.

    My last rating of 3 stars for a pod hd500x was changed to 5. Lets see of my 1 star rating is held for this one. Not that everyone may be in this situation but if you are anywhere near a strong radio signal this wah is NOT shielded well at all. I tried 2 thanks to Sweetwaters excellent service and my understanding sales engineer. The buffer would not reduce enough. Both Wahs I tried were the same. I use a tripplite to reduce noise and mogami short cables. Never an issue with Budda, Vox, ibanez or Crybaby. Fulltone charges too much for this unit IMO. I think for the money a Crybaby535q can give you a better sweep more flexibility and useful tones. But you be the judge.

Questions about the Fulltone Clyde Deluxe Wah Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway