0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Peavey Classic 30 II 30-watt 1x12" Tube Combo - Tweed Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Peavey Classic 30 II 30-watt 1x12" Tube Combo - Tweed?

Questions about the Peavey Classic 30 II 30-watt 1x12" Tube Combo - Tweed?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Philadelphia, MS October 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    What a sound

    This is my first all tube amp and boy did it just blow me away. I play mostly blues and the tone on this thing was exactly what I was looking for. Its also got the mojo to get down and dirty. Even at just 30 watts this amp can crank out some sound. It has an awesome clean channel as well as a more than acceptable lead channel. Hit the boost button and you are all set for some serious rock and roll. And as always, Mike Arango was a very patient and great help in making my purchase decision.

  • from Indiana February 14, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Teacher, Studio Guitarist

    Took me by surprise!

    I had purchased a 100watt 2x12 tube amp that was Chinese made recently, and the darn thing kept blowing the power tubes, at simple practice levels! So after 2 trips back to Sweetwater for repair I asked if I could just get something else that was the same price. To my surprise, they said "Absolutely! Your satisfaction is our main concern, try out something else in the price range and we will see what we can do!" I didnt want another over-seas made amp. Ive gone down that road and its filled with hit and miss quality, and let downs. This was the only USA made tube amp I could find in the same price range as the one I had got. So I pulled the trigger and said I wanted this one. They swapped me outright with NO problems! Best customer service in the music gear industry today! Now on to the amp. The clean channel is sweet as honey, with plenty of chime and depth. And the drive channel is smooth and classic. But it does get a very heavy saturation. The only downfall of this amp is also one of its strengths. Its simplicity. Without a presence, and other major tone shaping controls, the usual LOW/MID/HI controls kind of dont let this amp get past a bluesy classic rock amp. Which is fine! is does those tones with absolute flying colors. But as a studio Guitarist, I was hoping to have something that could even get into the heavy rock genre as well. My solution: I threw an MXR 10-Band EQ pedal into the effects loop. It tightened the lows, cut out the heavy mids, and sculpted the highs. The result was that it turned that heavy saturated gain onto a fine tuned heavy distortion that was PERFECT for the heavier rock styles I play. (i.e. 3 Doors Down, Creed, ect.) And the Blue Marvel speaker gets a lot of bad reviews. But I think most people dont understand it. Its the kind of speaker that needs to be seriously PUSHED to sounds its best. And I am talking at least halfway up on the volume. The muddy/mooshy sound leaves and its like the speaker opens up and comes alive! So in short, its an amp that when worked with properly it can deliver just about any style of sound you can want. Its super portable, and RIDICULOUSLY loud! The sound is on par with other high end amps I have owned or used. So if you are a blues, classic rock, and country player this amp will fill all of your needs and sound beautiful doing it. It you play those styles, but also like it on the mean and heavy side too, pair this up with an MXR 10-Band EQ in the effects loop and sculpt your tone, then sit back and be amazed! And best of all, you have the assured quality of an American made amplifier!

  • from Charlotte, NC December 7, 2013Music Background:
    I'm all over the map!

    GREAT AMP!

    You can't go wrong with this amp. It can be used as a daily amp for anyone and beginners all the way to experts will recognize the clean, blues tones from the Peavey Classic. It seems like EVERYONE has a story about owning a Peavey Classic, and honestly most people talk about selling theirs and regretting it. Do yourself a favor, buy it and hold on to it, because it truly is a classic! It has a rich warmth and would make for a GREAT daily home amp, as well as a small/med gig performer. I would recommend to anyone!

  • from Jasper GA July 11, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist Houseband

    Very happy with amp

    There are just some many tones you can get with this amp. It has a great clean channel an dirty channel which is hard to find on just one amp. It's a good amp for rock and blues, get a good pedal an play some metal also. I love the sound of humbuckers with this amp more so than single coils, but every one has there own taste. The Peavey footswitch works the reverb switch an from normal to lead channels but not the boost. EL 84s tubes are great to. Play one give Sweetwater a call an be happy for getting an amp this good for under a grand.

  • from June 16, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    Amazing, Affordable Tone

    This amp is as good sounding as it is sturdy. It has a basic spring reverb and two awesome sounding channels. By far the best value for a tube amp.

  • from Ga, USA April 27, 2013Music Background:
    Professional guitar hobbyist. In a band, proliferative songwriter.

    The Mississippi Monster

    I have had my Classic 30 since 1996. It was played multiple times a week until Christmas 2012. There is something wrong with one of the tube capacitors ( I think) and I just haven't gotten around to the repair. Up until then, it was my favorite go to amp. For the math impaired, that's 16 YEARS of playing without a sonic issue (get a tutor).
    It has a perfect clean that is smooth but not dull. And the overdrive; make you wanna lick your wife...mean, nasty, sweet, aggressive, soulful, responsive...the perfect date? I love taking this into play with those use to 4x12 cabs w amp heads. I got a few jeers over the years...until I hit a chord. "How's that crow tasting, Spanky?" I love it, probably as much as my Rivera Suprema 55, and that is one bad amp. You should hear them do the tango (amp splitter). The EL 84's have their own sound, and cranking them in a lower wattage amp gets those glass lightning holders to sing- cry- wail. Hs a crunch that is distinctive, angry and beautiful.
    Anyone who looks down on Peavey products...well, try to actually LISTEN and do not get caught up in marketing bullocks. Buy it ...

  • from Baton Rouge, La March 17, 2013Music Background:
    Geezer who has been playing a long time

    The workhorse amp

    I started playing guitar in the late 60's. Back then you had two choices - Fender or Marshall. Now you have all kinds of stuff in the middle and you can spend a boat load of money on a Boutique amp.
    Enter Peavey Classic Series. The C30 II is a working musicians amp, a gigging, jamming hard playing musician's amp. I owned the old C30 and worked it hard. When I sold it, I was sorry before the guy left the parking lot.
    The new C30 is built for the road.
    1. Build quality is great. Tight, strong, sturdy, everything perfect.
    2. The tube guard is a Huge improvement, the standby switch, the boost switch, etc. all add improvements.
    3. The clean channel is really musical and clean. It is not bell clean like fender but instead has character and multiple tones.
    4. The drive channel sounds like my old C30 with the Blue Guitar mods. It is easily managed with the pre/post controls and the 3 band EQ.
    5. Reverb competes with my Deluxe Reverb (the standard for all reverb) It is good. the old bag thing is gone and the long spring tank is substantial and the heavy duty wiring is made to last.
    6. LOUD enough to keep up with a loud drummer.

    This little dog is perfect for small to mid sized club. Put a 112 cab under it and mic - voila' a amp for any sized venue. And perfect for jamming with friends. You can control the volume and not loose the tone. Work the EQ and your guitar controls for best result.

    I did not mention which guitar I used for the test because I play the Tele, strat, LP and ES 359 and Fat Strat thru it with the same results. The amp allows the guitar tone to shine thru. Use the guitar controls for maximum effect. GREAT amp. Call Nick and order one..

  • from April 4, 2015

    Not at twice the price

    Ok I have played and owned every major brand of amp literally from a to z. Just sold the z and a few other expensive amps. Truth is the tones are not proportionately better. The C30 is a tone that works for a lot less than you would expect to pay. Hear it and let your ears tell you if the amp goes home with you. I have owned and sold the C30 ...the new version is improved and I will not make the mistake of selling it. Peavey is a great company that makes reliable good sounding amps. You can cover a lot of territory with this and it won't break your back to move it around. Straight ahead features and controls. Easy to dial in the sound you want. Super good clean, very usable crunch, real spring reverb, and the mojo of a tweed tube amp!

  • from Cary, NC February 14, 2015Music Background:
    Experienced musician

    Great tone

    I had my friend's Classic 50 212 in my house for many years. I purchased a Tech 21 Power engine with Blonde pedal for myself thinking it would be a good trade. When I A/B compared with The Classic 50, I realized the nothing could cut like real tubes. So I went and got myself a 20 years old Classic 30 which I re-tubed right away and I'm very happy. The clarity of tube is unbeatable at all volume and this amp delivers. Seems like old fashion design, with passive EQ and all. EQ is limited, but the basic tone is great, the controls are simple and the power tubes will last for a long time on this amp since those tubes are rated for higher wattage. I use it with Strat and Les Paul.
    Not as much bottom as the 212, but it's a great practice/studio and small gig amp. Quite loud actually, my ears give up before I reach the end of this amp. I use it mostly for home studio project for blues, reggae, rock steady (reggae ancestor) and classic rock.

  • from April 25, 2013Music Background:
    STUDENT

    Peavey Classic 30 has really great sound!

    I REALLY LIKE THE PEAVEY CLASSIC 30 , THE SOUND IS GREAT!

  • from Ahoha, Ca December 6, 2016Music Background:
    Rookie!

    Fun Fun Fun!

    I'm a 60's garage guy band... Loved the Beach Boys and the Surf Sound. This amp is an inexpensive Twin Reverb, beautiful spring reverb, twangy sound. For the price it's a winner.

  • from Concord, Nc March 2, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Amp

    Really satisfied with this amp

  • from Chicago, IL July 30, 2014Music Background:
    Studio Owner, Composer

    Great sounding amp, but runs HOT!

    A lot of power in an easy to carry around package. Love the clean, punchy and versatile sound with my Strat and LP. Though you could fry bacon on the top knob plate! I have one of the original, black 30s ('07 I think) and I started having what sounded like tube issues. I took it in and the tech told me that it appeared that heat had melted and cracked one of the tube sockets. He replaced it and all is well again, though I now run a small fan in the back while playing just in case, which keeps the heat down. Wish I had that standby switch!

  • from Sioux Falls, SD June 13, 2014Music Background:
    Find me at reverbnation

    Nice Amp

    After 40 years of playing live I have owned many, many amps. I was looking for an easy to transport, well built, and good sounding duel channel tube amp when I bought the Peavey Classic 30.
    After unpacking, the first thing I noticed was how solid this amp looked and felt. The build quality was impressive. I then plugged it in and used a 1958 RI Strat with a David Gilmour loaded pickguard and played through the clean channel. With the tone controls set at 50% and the volume at 30% I found a very clear, articulate, round tone. It didn't sound like a Fender but was very pleasing. I then tried a bit of its spring reverb. I didn't and don't like it and have since bought a TC Electronic Hall of Fame. The reverb intensity and decay time made it unpractical and just made things unfocussed. For me, the only real let down of this amplifier.
    Next, I switched to the drive channel and was impressed with the variety of overdrive sounds it could muster. From a light break-up to a solid classic rock distortion the tones were very usable and easy to find. I wouldn't say the Classic 30 makes a practical metal amp but was intended to.
    My only other concern (and this is person preference) is the Blue Marvel Speaker. There is a certain "presence" missing to my ears but I have grown-up on Celestion speakers and gotten very used to a certain sound.
    All-in-all, a very fine amp that you would be hard pressed to find an equal at this price.

  • from Va Beach May 22, 2016Music Background:
    Performing for over 25yrs

    Nice amp but no AC30

    Nice warm tones but can't brighten it up even with the bass off and the treble maxed.Have to use pedals to add EQ.Bought it for the weight tired of lugging the AC30 w/ 1 "12 but I'll still bring it ( the Vox) to the bigger venues as it has the best tone of any tube amp I've used. It's too bad Peavey didn't incorporate a better EQ section this amp could have been a contender

Questions about the Peavey Classic 30 II 30-watt 1x12" Tube Combo - Tweed?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway