rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Focusrite Clarett 2Pre 10x4 Thunderbolt Audio Interface Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Focusrite Clarett 2Pre 10x4 Thunderbolt Audio Interface?

Questions about the Focusrite Clarett 2Pre 10x4 Thunderbolt Audio Interface?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from June 12, 2017

    Great Piece of Gear!

    Granted, my previous interface was not all that high quality, but the difference in sound is astounding. As a test run, I recorded an acoustic guitar in the same place with the same mic set up as with a previous recording on my old interface. I'm not sure if it really makes sense, but this interface has less weird frequency resonances, sounds clearer, crisper and just amazing!!! And who can beat 0 latency?!?!

  • from Temple, GA March 17, 2017Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Preamp Heaven

    This is what I was looking for. A portable interface with high quality. The preamps are clear and transparent with no added color. The AIR feature is sick.... This feature brings the beauty of that high end condenser microphone. It depends on the source. I am speaking on tracking vocals. Focusrite always impresses me with their mic pres. I have a Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 that I will never getting rid of because the quality of the mic preamps. I am pretty sure the Clarett 2 pre is going be with me for a very long time also. Thank you Sweetwater and my sales engineer Mike Hammond for your excellent service.

  • from San Jose Ca January 9, 2017

    Clarett 2Pre

    I think its a great little interface, nice and easy to use. The sound is really nice looks like it is built well. I bought this a Mac mini and Studio one 3. Brad from Sweetwater made sure every thing I bought was compatible. Everything shipped fast. set every thing up, was recording right away. never looked back . Love it and love Sweetwater as well. Thanks

  • from Texas December 24, 2016

    Works perfect! Everything I need

    I needed this for low latency audio for my live rig, and it works fantastic! Quality is pristine, durability is perfect for the road, and the latency is perfect for live! I would totally buy this again. Focusrite never fails.

  • from Monterrey December 9, 2016

    Focusrite clarett 2pre. Just awesome.

    Nothing else new to know. Is a perfect upgrade
    From an usb interface. Virtually no latency, clear sound well made. The shipping was on time, to my door and well packaged. Dont hesitate to uñgrade from scarlett or any other usb interface. No regrets. Will buy octopre then when i need to. Thanks for the candy sweetwater!

  • from Rock City Falls, NY December 5, 2016

    Great Interface, but I bought the wrong Mac....

    I will start by saying that this interface has a very specific issue with only one iMac model which happens to be the iMac that I have. It is a known issue and there is a fix for it. However, on my iMac, I was still experiencing some minor issues even after the fix was applied. I was over my 30 day return period by the time I decided I wanted to give up and try something else, but Sweetwater was gracious enough to process my return anyway (the main reason I will continue to shop here).
    All of that being said, I really did like the interface. It is built very solid, and the included Focusrite Control software is very intuitive and easy to use for setting up the device. Sound quality was great other than the clicks and pops I was getting due to the issue with my particular iMac. The device worked great on my 2009 Macbook Pro 13", so I know it was definitely an issue with my iMac which has way more horsepower than my MBP. Unfortunately, I needed it on my iMac, so I returned it. So long story short, I would recommend this interface, but I would not recommend it for the iMac 17,1 model as of Dec. 5th, 2016. If they come out with a new fix after this, then maybe it will work fine. According to Focusrite's article, the issue did not appear until the OS X 10.11.5 update, so it may be entirely an apple issue. I'm not sure. I was running OS X 10.11.6 when testing the unit and still having the issues. Based on the possibility that this might be entirely an apple issue, I'm giving 5 full stars to this unit. I really would have loved to keep it.... especially since I haven't decided what to try to replace it with yet..... It's a very small group of interfaces that have thunderbolt at this price point right now......

  • from December 19, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter, Producer

    Vocalists: Do not hesitate!

    After recently purchasing my first Mac, I decided to double-down on the benefits of Core Audio and upgrade to a thunderbolt interface. The music I make tends to heavily rely on vocals, and I can't tell you how many times latency and other technical hurdles have gotten in the way when recording via Windows over the years.

    I've only had the Clarett 2Pre for a day, but I'm already thoroughly impressed by its low-latency performance. Last night I tracked multiple layers of vocals and audio, eventually adding a number of effects to each track (eq, compression, reverb, filters, delays, plus a multiband compressor & limiter on the master track) and I'm still able to continue tracking more vocals without a hitch.

    The Air effect is excellent for vocals. It sounds clean, but warm. The lower mid tones in my voice that I often have to fight with EQ because they muddy up my mixes are now smooth and buttery, and it also manages to boost the highs in a similar way, which keeps them from sounding harsh.

    I do wish it had one or two more audio inputs, but I understand there are other options in this product line available. The 2Pre works for my budget, and I think it's going to be a game-changer for me.

  • from Florida December 15, 2015Music Background:
    Voiceover & Audio Production

    Clarett 2Pre

    Previously I had a 003R w/Black Lion Audio Mod. This Clarett 2Pre is super clean and it sounded better to me than the modded unit – it just seems the conversion is better. I compared the sound of the Clarett using the internal pre and then with my Avalon M5 (bypassing the internal pre of the Clarett) and boy is it close. I'd say perhaps the Avalon is a tad punchier with my voiceover recordings, but it's real hard to tell. I run a Michael Joly modified NT1A with the Clarett as well and it simply sounds wonderful. I run the 416 with the Avalon because I have mic gain for days that way. The disappointment with the Clarett is the lack of mic gain. Out of 10 notches on the gain dial, I have to run a condenser mic (for spoken word) at 9 and it's still not as hot as it needs to be. Singers and musicians will have no issues whatsoever. The unit is impressive and worth every single penny.

  • from Ohio December 1, 2015

    Excellent!!!

    This thing really blew me away. From simple set up to absolutely no latency - this was well worth the wait. The thunderbolt is by far superior to USB interfaces I've owned in the past. I use this everyday for recording or just listening to my iTunes or getting great audio while watching movies. Crystal clear and sturdy interface and no complication.

  • from Metro Manila March 2, 2017

    Creativity

    Would recommend this to anyone thinking of leaving behind usb 2.0. Did the same. Four analog outs lets you play with a little bit of analog hardware. Preamps are clean but depending on the mic youre using you might need a juice boost. But overall great quality. Using it for over a year now. :)

  • from North Carolina February 25, 2016

    Great value

    Best current value for an entry level t-bolt interface. The mic pres are open, clear and full and the clarity of the conversion is fantastic. Latency is extremely low and virtually undetectable. This really sounds like a small slice of a very nice interface. I wish it were modeled after the Rednet Am2 or Apollo Twin in regards to desktop design, but it's hard to find fault at this price point. The bundled plugins are a nice added bonus and the air function is very usable. I also think the di sounds quite good! Great job Focusrite!

  • from Egypt February 18, 2016Music Background:
    Producer

    Simplicity

    This unit is providing what you need with an amazing low latency, the sound of AIR simulation provide a nice resonance to the tone, i record with it by default.
    Some things i wished they added (but its not a shoestopper by anymean) is a full meter rather than the halo ring and a dim and mute buttons for the monitors
    In my opinion they only interface that is better than this in the category is the UAD Apollo twin, if you cant afford the apollo or need to save some money go for the clarett, nothing else can beat it so far

  • from July 18, 2016

    A great disappointment

    Apparently the company's own required onboard "control" program is defective. Works great as a playback device with excellent sound (OK, I graduated from an MBox 2), but input management is impossible after spending too many hours trying to fix it.

    Sweetwater's normally super help guys who have been so great over the years couldn't help me because they don't sell Logic any more. Focus rite support was surprisingly unresponsive after 5 days. I hear they're in England...

    This unit is highly recommended as a hifi preamp between a music source and a good amp and (stereo) speaker system. I've seen more expensive units that do less. I review classical music and this interface sounds terrific through my 3'x5' Electrostat speakers - the definition and separation of the instruments is phenomenal. You can hear the musicians turning the pages of the music.

  • from Southern NJ May 6, 2016Music Background:
    I play!

    Skip it.

    Think of this review as a toast to the best customer support service ever. Sweetwaters help line was the only reason that this didn't get returned!

    Other than that, BUY ANYTHING ELSE, DO NOT BUY CLARETT DEVICES!

Questions about the Focusrite Clarett 2Pre 10x4 Thunderbolt Audio Interface?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway