0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

PageFlip Cicada Bluetooth Page Turner Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 41 customer reviews
  • from Port Angeles, WA September 14, 2016

    Excellent Customer Service - Page Flip Cicada

    I was given excellent customer service by the person @ Sweetwater who took my order for the PageFlip Cicada.

    This page flip is easy to use and reliable.
    The only drawback is there is a slight delay in the page turn, but not enough to impact performance.

    I originally had tried the AirTurn but sent it back because the set up was too confusing.

  • from Baltimore, MD December 25, 2015Music Background:
    Pianist, Piano Teacher

    Very Good. But not with all PDF Readers.

    Once you've decided to stop lugging around 25 pounds of sheet music books to your gigs, this device is your next step.

    First some background: I'm using as a tablet the RCA Maven Pro with an 11.6-inch screen, running Android Lollipop. It's very affordable and for this type of work (as apposed to taking HD video), it works well. Remember that the "11.6" is a diagonal dimension. I wish the actual width of the viewing area (just a hair under 5 3/4 inch) were more. I'm thinking the Azpen A1320G may give an even better viewing experience to a musician. Now back to the review...

    I paired the tablet with the Cicada. I know it paired correctly and was communicating because when I did not have a PDF open, I could use the cicada and its different functions to move around the folders and files in my android.

    However, when I opened a PDF using the default PDF reader of Android, it would not turn any pages (in any of the 5 settings that the Cicada has). I then downloaded the PDF Reader from Adobe, the company that created the PDF format in the first place, and the Cicada would not turn pages. Again I know it was correctly paired as I could use it for other functions.

    I have downloaded several PDF readers on my device, the only one that has been able to work with the cicada (any my tablet), that is, actually turn pages, is a PDF reader called "WPS Office".

    Generally speaking it works very well and when using WPS Office, the Cicada does what it's supposed to do.

    Now the only issue I'm having is that sometimes it actually overshoots the page so that the top of the page that you're reading (about the top three quarters of an inch) is cut off and not within the viewing area of the top. Just yesterday, I was performing at a retirement community and playing a piece by Chopin. When I used the Cicada to turn to page 2, the right hand (trouble clef) was cut off. So, I invented some Chopin and improvised on it until I got to the 2nd line of music.

    Long story short, this item is a wonderful invention, I imagine that it's even better for violinists and guitarists since they cannot take their hands off of their instrument at any time (as a pianist, I could sneak one of my hands off for just a moment). However, you may have to do some searching, downloading, and testing other PDF Readers (and there are lots out there) if your default PDF reader does not respond.

  • from November 12, 2015

    Review PageFlip Cicada Bluetooth Page Turner Pedal

    I had to buy a wifi doggle to make my computer compatible with the page turner pedal. Once it was plugged into my USB port it worked like a charm. Just a tap on the foot pedal and it changed pages! Hands free!

  • from kearney, ne July 5, 2015Music Background:
    xhurxh worship

    page turner

    I love this foot pedal. It does everything that I expected. Very simple to use and hooked up to my tablet with ease. Battery life is phenomenal! Great product!

  • from Philadelphia Pa May 28, 2015Music Background:
    Vocslist

    Bluetooth page flip Cicada pedal

    Fantastic.

  • from Hampton, Va. April 11, 2015Music Background:
    30 years of stage Rockin'

    PageFlip Pedal

    I was taking a chance by ordering this pedal, but surprisingly, it works very well with my lyrics program. The instructions were plain and simple, and I had no trouble establishing the BlueTooth connection to my Ipad. I selected on the peldal which direction to flip the pages and voila. The pages turned! I'm very happy about the debouce circuit as well. We don't want a double flip now, do we? The only con I have about it, is that there is no AC adapter to plug in to my power strip like my other effect pedals. I can't have it dying on me during a show. Also, as a side note, the batteries should have been a 9 Volt, which is the industry standard for pedals. Still, as a whole, I would still recommend the product over the competition's model. Price and compactness are a must, and this pedal has both.

  • from Norway February 14, 2015Music Background:
    Trombone player in a wind band

    Excellent page turner

    I have used another page turner earlier but the battery was horrible.
    This I can bring with me new AA battery and don't need to worry about going out of power.

  • from Richmond, VA January 24, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Music Minister

    Works great with OnSong on the iPad

    Great just wish the pedals were a bit bigger, but great product.

  • from Atlanta, GA January 7, 2015Music Background:
    engineering degree, but have played piano for many years. presently play for church

    works well

    works well. I paired it with an ASUS 10" Android tablet running MobileSheets. Using my foot to turn pages takes some getting used to.
    Response is quick from the foot pedal to page change. First Bluetooth device for me, so it took me a little bit of exploration and trial and error to sync.

  • from Long Island New York October 14, 2014Music Background:
    Drums, Vocalist, Guitarist. Live performer.

    Unpredictable but fairly Rugged

    I have owned this unit for quite a while and have used it on many gigs.
    It doesn't seem as sturdy as other effects pedals but has stood up mechanically. However the unit can be unpredictable and scary during a live performance, especially for a musician without a free hand to fix the problem. At some point this unit decided that when I get to the bottom of a sheet that it is going to flip to the next sheet horizontally. The first time this happened during a gig it was disconcerting to say the least. I have tried numerous times to figure out the programming but have given up. I am going to invest in something more reliable like an Air Turn.

  • from September 19, 2014

    Works great

    First time using a device like this and I really like it. I have used it on batteries and plugged in and prefer the mobility of the batteries and not having another wire during live performances. Very responsive with no noticeable delay between press and page turn.

  • from Bloomington, IL June 9, 2014Music Background:
    Solo performer singer songwriter

    more rugged than it looks

    Works perfectly to turn or scroll pages on my new Samsung Galaxy Android tablet for lyrics and chords. Bluetooth wireless technology works flawlessly and performs just like I hoped it would. Long battery life is a plus. Lightweight and very portable....much more rugged for stage use during live performances and carrying around to gigs than I dreamed possible. I am 100% pleased with it and so glad that I bought this model instead of the others that are on the market.

  • from Salt Lake City, Utah USA May 21, 2014Music Background:
    Keyboardist for 34 Years. I turned pro about 10 Years ago, playing for all kinds of events as well as being an essential part of the worship team for my church.

    Super Helper

    I've owned a Cicada since I got my first Android tablet, just about the time that Honeycomb OS came out. No more boxes of moth eaten music, pages being blown around in the wind, being unable to see your music in darkened rooms, having to have someone to turn your pages, etc..

  • from Houston TX May 11, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter, guitarist, performer

    Just what I Needed,mm

    This is such an awesome little gadget! I know tons of songs but not the words so now I can glance at my ipad and there they are. The only issue I have with it is that it only shows one paragraph at a time, which is ok I guess because I can turn the pages now.

  • from Phoenix, AZ USA April 25, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    So far so good!

    I use this pedal with my iPad when I lead worship so that I don't have to worry about pages blowing off my stand, dim lights, or other issues. It works reliably and easily. I like that the light letting me know it's on is easily seen while playing so that I don't worry if it's going to work. My only complaint is that my guitar cord has occasionally gotten caught underneath the pedals as I played. That's fixed through adjusting the angle that the cord comes off my guitar, but I could imagine that a pedal without such a large gap being useful.

  • from Lakewood, NJ USA April 15, 2014Music Background:
    Jazz Guitarist with double on Electric Bass

    Works Great

    This connected with no problems and works great - for me really solved a problem using the iPad as a 'fakebook'....

  • from Sun City West Az April 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Great product

    As a musician this makes 30 lbs of music books accessible on a flash drive. . . great product

  • from March 3, 2014

    Cicada works great.

    Works great.

  • from Florence, South Carolina January 15, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Page Flip Cicada

    This particular purchase went straight to missionary friends of mine in Belize. However my Worship Leader used one every Sunday and absolutely loves it.

  • from Lexington, KY January 8, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, teacher

    PageFlip Cicada

    This product really works very well. It is well engineered and easy to use. It performs a function that is really needed by players of live music who need their hands free to play without having to worry about turning pages. The only drawback for me was not being able to see it very well in a dark club atmosphere. It's hard to use when you must only go by feel.

  • from Detroit, MI October 28, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    A product almost ready for prime time

    Wonderful product that makes it practical to replace your paper sheet music with your IPad. There's only one major complaint about the device, but it is a major complaint. It has a power save mode that automatically kicks in and shuts the device down after 10 minutes of inactivity and often will require a full reboot of the ipad to reconnect. This only becomes a major issue during the waiting period before a concert, or if your playing something like a musical play or latergical music which will have breaks of 10 minutes or more. I hope future products will have a switch to configure or turn this feature off.

  • from Globe, AZ May 31, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    PageFlip Cicada

    This is the second Cicada I've bought to run Forscore on an Ipad. The first was a bit tricky to set up the Bluetooth but this one did it pretty much automatically. If it's so good why have I bought two? The first was for me & the second was for my girlfriend after she got an Ipad. I've been running mine for over a year.

  • from Broomfield, CO April 30, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Solid, reliable and compact

    I'm using the Cicada for the DeepDish Gigbook app on my iPad, and it's been an excellent solution for page turning on this app.

    Pros:
    Lightweight and compact
    Good build quality
    Takes standard AA batteries (2) with auto power-off - last a long time
    Clear power status LED
    Good positive "tactile feedback" (I compared this to the PageTurn unit - which does not give the feeling of confidence on soft, carpeted surfaces)
    Simple to set up and operate

    Cons -
    Could use a bit longer "on time" before the unit goes into power saving standby mode. However, "waking" the unit requires only a simple pedal tap.

  • from White Hall, MD April 30, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Worship Leader Is Now Hands Free

    I recently purchased an Ipad to run my song set lists in church instead of constantly hauling around several binders full of paper song sheets. Next on my list was to purchase a foot operated pedal to allow me hands free turning of pages. I looked at the PageFlip Cicada and another more expensive option. I chose the PageFlip and I am very happy with my pedal. It works flawlessly and has made leading worship in church every week much easier. If you are considering the same options don't second guess spending less money on this pedal. It does the job for me quite nicely.

  • from Florida March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Just what I neeeded

    I use this with a Samsung Galaxy IIIS android phone currently using the Songbook app. I needed a way to turn the page when playing live and it works great. Sometimes you have to click it twice before starting the song but I think that is in the Songbook application. I am going to try it with the On Song app that will soon be out for android devices. Seems light weight but I have used it live several times with no issues. Call Carson at Sweetwater and get one today!

  • from Pottstown, PA January 28, 2013Music Background:
    Amateur Cellist

    My most useful addition to my iPad

    I am a classical string musician (non-professional) and over the last few years my electronic music collection has grown immensely. I bought forScore for the iPad and it worked well, but I realized it is unworkable without a way to easily turn pages. Reading a half page at a time is also much more practical visually too. I did my research and decided on the little Cicada. I know this device can do so much more, but for me it is perfect. The iPad recognized the device and asked permission to pair. That was it. Now it simply "works" with my music.

    I brought my iPad and this device to symphony rehearsal and two people took pictures of it and expressed an interest in buying one. The main use for my iPad now is music and this device allows me to play without interruption.

    BTW, the service at Sweetwater is second to none.

  • from Chicago January 1, 2013Music Background:
    Music Director, Performer, Musician, Recording Hobbyist

    too frail, you get what you pay for

    I've been through 2 of these-- the mini-USB hub on both the original & the replacement fell into the the plastic housing.

    They've never been handled roughly & are only used 2 days a week in the same location every week (they stay on our church's stage for our keyboardist to use to flip pages on an iPad running Planning Center Music Stand app.)

    Get the AirTurn BT-105 instead, it costs more but it's definitely durable.

  • from United States November 24, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician

    Must have item for busy blended music church pianists

    This is a must have item for those church pianists who must deal with ten plus pieces of music for each service! This device helps tame those 15 page arrangements that just won't stay on the music stand. Over the past year I have scanned most of the music I use a week at a time. Now I can call it up on the computer, display it on the monitor and flip pages with the cicada. So much nicer than pawing through multiple file cabinets every week looking for so much music. Thank you so much.

  • from Chillicothe, Ohio August 20, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Great!!!

    Works flawlessly...

  • from Oklahoma August 13, 2012Music Background:
    Contemporary Christian

    This is PERFECT!

    I had looked at several different options for a wireless page-turner. The Cicada is the way to go! The foot pedals are a perfect size for pressing... not too small. It is lightweight, so it fits in my guitar case accessories pocket. The skid-pads on the bottom keep it from scooting away. And the instructions to sync it to my ipad device were easy to follow. For the price... I'm glad I went this route!

  • from Palm Bay, FL USA August 13, 2012Music Background:
    Hawaiian Music Guitar/Ukulele Player

    PageFlip Cicada

    It does what it supposed to do. Turn pages on your iPad using a music sheet app. In my case I am using the forScore music reader for iPad. It take a little practice to find and fully depress the pedal to turn the pages without looking down or taking your eyes off of the iPad, but once you get use to it, it does it's job well. The only thing I note is that my keyboard on the iPad will not come up with the Bluetooth Pedal turned on. If in need of the Keyboard to make anotation and stuff you will need to turn the PageFlip Cicada off.
    There are other more expensive products that does the same thing, but this one appears to be well built, and sturdy. It has a rubberized bottom that has not slipped on any of the normal surfaces I have played on. It did get wet when someone spilled a bottle of water on it. I quickly wiped and dried it off and it continues to work fine.

  • from new smyrna beach, fl August 2, 2012Music Background:
    guitar, piano, vocals

    Awesome!!!

    this is a must have if you're a musician. works seamlessly!!! one of those products that after you use it, you wonder how you ever lived without it!

  • from July 30, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician and church musician

    PageFlip Cicada works great!

    Works great with My Ipad and the Onsong app.

  • from Colorado June 17, 2012Music Background:
    serious hobbyist bordering on pro performer

    Love it!

    I only wish it worked on more applications, but for the purpose I bought it for, it works really well.

  • from Dallas, TX USA June 12, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Leader / Semi-pro musician

    Fantastic

    Does exactly what it needs to do! Works with a number of different apps for my iPad! I use it to lead worship, and I am happy to say I never have to take my hands off my guitar to turn the page! Well worth theoney just for that! It feels a little flimsy, but that is no worry for me. If the switches happen to break (I don't suspect they will) I can still attach an external tap to it. Great functionality, good product. I love sweetwater music, they rock!

  • from St. Augustine, FL June 4, 2012Music Background:
    Rock band, Duo Gypsy music

    Wirless pedal for Ipad 3

    I love this thing!
    Setting it up took me a couple o minutes to figure it out. I actually found a better manual online than the one that came in the box, I guess the explanation was clearer, but once it was up, it works like a charm

  • from Tucson, Arizona March 29, 2012Music Background:
    hobby musician

    Just what I wanted!

    A friend told me about the PageFlip Cicada and it's as good as he said! It works with my ASUS Tablet and my Mobile Sheets software app. I jam with five or six groups and don't need to lug sheet music and chord charts around anymore.

  • from February 6, 2012

    PageFlip - it just works

    Works as advertised. Plugged it in, turned it on and it instantly synced with my iPad2. Be sure Bluetooth is enabled on your iPad. I use it with Gigbook.
    My only concern is with the pedal switches...construction seems a bit weak. This is not something you want to stomp on. But with careful use, it should work just fine.
    Bottom line...I like it.

  • from VA December 16, 2011

    Great device!

    Linked up with my iPad quickly and works better than expected. Great hands-free device!

  • from Fallbrook, California August 10, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    It does the job well

    It took several tries to make the Bluetooth link between the pedal and an iPad. However, once that was set up, the pedal does exactly what it's supposed to do--turn pages (in my case, in sheet music). It's a real friend for a musician.

  • from July 29, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good Device

    Works as described. Wish the two button were more programmable so they could start and stop any sequencer or DAW.

Questions about the PageFlip Cicada Bluetooth Page Turner Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway