0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

PreSonus Central Station Plus Reviews

4.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the PreSonus Central Station Plus?

Questions about the PreSonus Central Station Plus?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Hat city music productions
    from March 13, 2015

    Awesome unit

    This unit is awesome, great piece of gear, awesome price, I love the easy switching between monitors.... Talk back is works exptional well..... Buy this unit you won't be disapointed

  • Amy Hughes
    from Michigan, USA June 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Makes a great preamp for home studio/entertainment

    I use the Central Station to connect a DVD player (via phono plugs), a PS3 (via toslink), and a Mac (via coax digital through a Focusrite interface) to my Yamaha studio monitors. I use it essentially as a preamp and headphone monitor. That way I can have my music studio and my entertainment system share a sound system in my small den.

    It'd be even better if it had a couple guitar/mic inputs and a USB interface, but I realize that's not what it was built for, and I get along fine with a Focusrite 6i6 interface connected to the Central Station via coax digital, and a Line 6 POD XT Pro connected via TRS.

    It's got a clean sound, lots of connection options, and I've been using it this way since the Central Station was first available, without a lick of trouble.

  • Charles Frommer
    from Upstate NY May 21, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    It DOES have a mono switch!!

    My bad!! Somehow I missed that it does indeed have a mono switch - in the speaker select section. (I guess I found the single select button/dual trim pots arrangement a bit disorienting... I don't blame the designers - they're trying to give us the most functions in one rack space.) Anyway, happy to be able to test mono at the push of a button! 5 stars and my apologies.

  • Lentrell McEachern
    from Atlanta, Ga November 2, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Engineer

    Very versatile, incredible transparency

    Well built piece of machinery... Very versatile, incredible transparency, would I highly recommend this over any thing in its class!

  • Nazar Savko
    from Lviv,Ukraine August 26, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer,Pro Musician,Composer,Singer

    ˛ndispensable thing in the studio

    take more than 3 years.
    works flawlessly.
    true sound.
    indispensable thing in the studio

  • Clif Johnson
    from Melbourne, FL August 18, 2014Music Background:
    Audio Slave/Mix Engineer

    Nice!

    Worth every penny spent! Embedding the Central Station Plus into my system was a piece of cake! I really wasn't sure if it was going to be worth the cost but I have to say, I am extremely happy with the way this thing operates. Quiet, transparent, easy-peasy. All controls feel extremely solid to me. Love the remote! A great quality piece of gear for any studio with more than one set of monitors. Makes the monitor A/B thing easy and I love the control I have over the sub now. I don't have use for the cue features so can't comment there.

  • Charles Frommer
    from Upstate NY December 18, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Very Clean Sound

    Nice unit! I've used it for months now and it's been holding up well. I'm very happy that Presonus prioritized transparency and keeping the sound as uncolored as possible. (Can't comment on the remote control, as I bought the rack unit when it came separately.) Flexible and convenient routing enables quick speaker comparisons, with and then without subwoofer. (My one regret is that I wish it had a mono switch!) Two words of advice to buyers: The push buttons feel a bit delicate, so be reasonably gentle with them and they ought to be fine. Also: the speaker select button configuration selects stereo pairs with one button each, but the trim pots next to them are Left and Right, one per speaker, so be sure to adjust both pots for your sub or else you'll get some wack phase issues.

  • Jay Ambrose
    from North Carolina July 12, 2016Music Background:
    Studio owner and pro musician.

    Solved my monitoring issues.

    Works very well. Allows me to focus more on the session and lesson on patching.

  • Meccanizm
    from Manhattan, Ny February 19, 2014Music Background:
    Producer , Music Engineer

    For Budget Recording Studio Don't Settle for Less

    I had it for 5 years and i must say i would not know how to go without it, it helps your workflow ,creativity and makes your life a whole lot easier i never had a problem with it meaning no technical issues with any components going bad its a true workhorse , this is for the recording studio setup its just perfect i repeat if your gonna have a recording setup and on a budget this is what you need , but not for mixing or mastering it kind of changes the sound of whats translating to your speakers a little and it sounds great really am not ever getting rid of mine lol.

  • Eric
    from Columbus, OH June 25, 2012Music Background:
    Recording & Live Engineer, Educator

    Best in it's class, but...

    In this price range you can't beat the features. The 2 digital ins and the inclusion of an RCA input are great. However, if your primary concern is transparency, look elsewhere. I did a shoot out with a Dangerous DBox and it was like taking a blanket off my speakers. The image widened as well. Then again, that box costs twice as much...

    Still, I will say it's the best in it's class - but don't let the marketing fool you. "Transparent" is relative....

  • Customer
    from United States November 12, 2013Music Background:
    recording engineer,pro musician

    central station is worth the money

    Sounds great for the price ,

  • Chris
    from Western Mass May 24, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer, Producer, Engineer

    It's mostly good...

    The Central Station is a full featured monitoring station that costs very little considering the options you get. The headphone amps sound considerably cleaner than the Behringer HP60 I own. I'll never buy another Behringer product, but that's a different story... I love the flexibility the cue channel offers as far as routing possibilities. The remote control and talkback are a huge bonus too. And this thing has a Mono switch! When I got my first Central Station installed and was trying it out, I plugged my ipod into the aux RCA inputs and turned up the aux volume knob. Everything sounded great for about 30 seconds and then the right channel dropped out completely. I tried several other cables and it wasn't those or the ipod. I notified my sales guy Dennis Konicki of my troubles and he promptly got me in contact with Evan Larr from Tech Support. After some troubleshooting, he decided to arrange for a new unit to be sent to me and when I received the new one, a return label would be in the box to return the malfunctioning unit. That means my workflow at my studio didn't get disrupted by not having my Central Station for days! Now THIS is why I continue to buy my gear from Sweetwater. If I had bought a used one somewhere and had issues, or even bought one from a less reputable store I would have a big repair bill on my hands. Thanks Sweetwater! You guys are the best.

  • Jake Antelis
    from July 17, 2015Music Background:
    Producer | Mixer | Engineer | Teacher

    Great Price, Ok Build Quality , Good Sound

    I've had this for a few years, built quality is just ok, sound is good, meters went out after two years , the talkbalk is very cheaply made and pretty noisey after 2 years as well ( i've had it for almost 5) , if your budget is 600 this is the best thing at that price range but you are better off getting something in the range of the DBOX or Satori.

  • Brian
    from Oakland November 6, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Composer

    Decent, but not quite perfection

    I've used this unit and remote every day for over 7 years paired with several different monitoring set ups. It is very reliable (my unit must have 10K+ hours on it, still works great), has plenty of connection options and is a solid choice for a decent sized project studio. However, if you've spent many thousands of dollars on your monitoring set-up and just as much on your converters, this just isn't going to yield the same level of transparency as the more expensive hi-end units (Dangerous, Crane Song, Grace, Etc...). Don't get me wrong, if you've spent $5-10K on your entire set-up (monitors, A/D, etc), this is a solid workhorse and will serve you extremely well for years to come, but if you're $20-30K+ deep into your signal chain, do yourself a favor and don't cheap out on the one piece of gear that you hear everything through and spend the money on something better, or at the very least, try out a couple options to hear the differences for yourself.

  • Flo B.
    from Santa Monica January 6, 2015Music Background:
    composer

    Fits well with Behringer junk

    I returned this product and Sweet Water exchanged it without problem with a Dangerous Music Source. They even paid all shipping :)

    You don't even have to turn this thing on, you already realize this is Behringer quality... just cheap Chinese cr*p.
    Vu Meters are messed up, all buttons feel dangerously unreliable, rear connectors aren't better...
    If your studio is full of Behringer products, that might be fine... but if your brands are more like RME, Avalon, etc. forget this immediately.

    So my advice to you:
    Make yourself a favor and spend $350 more to get a Dangerous Music Source $900 + Rack Kit $50 and you'll get a extremely high quality product, 1000% times better for 50% more.

Questions about the PreSonus Central Station Plus?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway