0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Electro-Harmonix Cathedral Stereo Reverb Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Cathedral Stereo Reverb Pedal?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Cathedral Stereo Reverb Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Brock Andrews

    My electro-harmonix Cathedral Stereo Reverb pedal never ceases to amaze me. Iíve had it for well over two years and love that it still surprises me each time I play it. Whether thatís at a gig, or just writing or jamming at home. I've used it in recording many tracks and I love to see the look on engineersí and producersí faces when they hear what it can do! It fills the sonic space of a room or track in many awesome ways and really makes you feel a part of the music. This pedal is STAYING on my pedalboard.

  • from California December 18, 2015Music Background:
    bassist, vocalist, Harmonicist

    great pedal

    I'm a bassist and the first time I heard this pedal I was jamming with a guitarist friend of mine. I was blown away by how many musicaly useful sounds this pedal can produce. At the time I was using a boss RV-5 digital reverb but quickly upgraded to the cathedral witch works just as well with bass and it did with my friends guitar.
    I highly recommend this reverb to any one who asks me what reverb to purchase. Check out the many videos on line of this pedal and I guarantee that when you plug into one you'll be a believer too.

  • from PA October 25, 2015Music Background:
    Singer-Songwriter/Guitarist

    5 Stars!!

    Considering the price and the terrific, different reverb sounds, wow!!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN March 19, 2014

    Reverb of the Gods!!!

    This pedal superseded all expectations. I have use tons of reverb pedals and this is the first one that left speechless. The tone is outstanding!!!The tone combinations are endless too! You get so many tonal options. The engineers at Electro-Harmonix have outdone themselves. This is the only reverb pedal you will ever need.

  • from Poplar Bluff, MO March 26, 2013Music Background:
    Wanna be Rockstar

    Heavenly Tone

    The Cathedral is considered one of the premier reverb pedals today, and it more than lived up to the hype. The tonal soundscapes that can be created with this thing are unreal, ranging from subtle to insane.

    Like most EHX pedals, its a complex piece of equipment and will require a lot of experimenting and maybe even some videos online for reference.

    It boasts all of the tones and features of the Holy Grail Reverb, but with added tweakability and more settings such as accu spring, plate, the haunting reverse reverb, and a two second digital delay/echo. Perhaps most interesting of all is the infinite sustain feature. When holding down the tap footswitch in any reverb mode, whatever note is played will ring for as long as the switch is held making this more than just a reverb pedal.

  • from Canada August 22, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist Musician

    Excellent !

    I've been using it for about 6 months now, and have enjoyed every minute of it. I love the way you can easily create presets that you can recall and tweak really quickly, in each mode. Extreme audio quality. No compromises on sampling frequency or digital resolution. EHX went all out on specs for this one. For this relatively low price, it's an unbeatable value. Studio quality reverb/delay in a small package.

  • from Birmingham, AL, USA April 6, 2012Music Background:
    Music Enthusiast

    Best verb for the price!

    From thick, fat 50s blues to spacey, and far out, this pedal is incredibly extensive and worth every penny. A must-have, multi faceted reverb that adds an arsenal of awesome to your board. You can't let this one by!

  • from Cadillac, MI April 19, 2010Music Background:
    worship leader, 20 year musician

    Top Notch

    This is really top of the line for Reverb. I am a reverb freak and this pedal does it all.

    For those looking for that ambient Radiohead/Coldplay/Explosions In The Sky sound and have tried all the Sustain pedals look no further.

    This pedal sustains like crazy and its very ambient sounding.

    What I love is this pedal is crazy easy, after 5 minutes of playing around with it knew how to do everything.

    I have gone through maybe 30-35 pedals this last year alone, I feel my experience is warranted to say this is the coolest and most practical reverb out there. I use this alongside my Boss RV-5 to get some long sustained ambient sounds, but this Cathedral can do it all alone if you need too..

  • from Brownsburg, IN October 22, 2014Music Background:
    18 years of guitar, 10+ recording

    Wow. Just wow.

    Only giving this 4.5 stars because my unit is just a little bit noisy when engaged. A little of that could be the amp that I'm using it with, an old '79 Champ that's got enough hum to it by itself; but it adds a little hiss to it, too. Overall, this pedal does just exactly what I hoped it would do. It does subtle well but really shines when you play with the pre-delay and lengthen the reverb time and feedback on a room or hall setting...the drones you can produce are perfect! Going to try it chained with a few delays to clean up the attack a little bit, might throw another reverb in the loop, but it does great standing by itself. Worth every penny!

  • from Philadelphia, PA July 25, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student, Worship Leader

    Great revery

    This pedal is great, and can do it all in terms of reverb, and even echo. This only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars is that it is a bit complicated to use. You have to spend some time figuring out how reverb actually works to use this pedal correctly.

  • from Miami Ochopee FL June 30, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar now a mixing engineer at my own studio greenhatstudio

    One rocking pedel

    If you collect reverb pedels this one you must have!
    I look at this for a very long time before deciding to buy it.
    But it's well worth it the real ness is unbelievable, nest reverb I bought so far!
    Just wish this thing had more presets thats the only reason I gave it 4.5 rating but other then that it's great!

  • from Spring Arbor, MI USA March 21, 2013Music Background:
    Mr. Muckabout

    Just The Right Touch ...

    Capable of doing not only your standard reverbs, but of adding just the right touch of weirdness and over-the-top washes needed! Terrific as an outboard unit with my hardware and software synths.

  • from Richmond, VA December 7, 2011Music Background:
    Performance & Recording

    One to beat!

    Well built with great features. A difficult act to beat!

  • from Salem, OR March 12, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist guitar player of 40 years. In years past I was in bands, but not any longer.

    EHX Cathedral Reverb

    I received the Cathedral yesterday and have been trying it out since.
    I use a vacuum tube buffered effects loop that works wonderful for time based effects.
    I have my EHX Stereo Memory Man w/ Hazarai first in the chain, a Cool Cat Chorus, then the Cathedral.
    The Stereo Memory Man is a very good delay pedal so I am very happy with that.

    I am a bit disappointed in this pedal in regards to the reverb.
    When the notes decay, there is a sort of stair stepping decay to the notes that just sounds too digital. I know this pedal is digital but I don't want it to necessarily sound like it.
    If it was more natural sounding I would give it 5 stars.

    I like a larger venue type reverb such as Hall or Arena for an overall ambience of reverb. I turn down the mix so there is just a bit of reverb audible.
    This pedal acts more like a delay pedal and since I already have the Stereo Memory Man I have that covered.

    The Infinite switch is a very cool feature as it sustains a chord or note you play for a type of drone tone to play on top of.

    In the end I really wanted to like this pedal but I guess what I really want is more of a analog sound in my setup.
    So I am still searching.

  • from May 1, 2013

    Some good things, but overall not super impressed

    I have to say I'm pretty underwhelmed with this pedal, despite the number of rave reviews it's received. There are some things this pedal does well. I was particularly impressed with the sound of the Accu spring reverb setting, which sounded very natural in comparison to most other digital spring emulations. And reverse reverb is a really cool effect that not a lot of stombox units include. It also has some cool controls with the infinite switch and feedback knob, and it's always incredibly helpful to have a pre-delay knob to really sculpt the size and feel of the space.

    I was searching for two things in a reverb pedal. Something that would sound nice as a spring reverb in my amp's effects loop (which it did quite well) and also create some space for my acoustic rig (via the room and/or hall setting). The latter was where this pedal really fell flat for me. In both settings, there was a warble sound in the wash of the reverb that made the decay either seem inauthentic or simply like a room you wouldn't want to play in. To me, it produced a sort of semi-digital illusion of flutter echo, with the sound bouncing repeatedly between two parallel surfaces, like I was playing in a very large, square bathroom. This problem was particularly prevalent in the hall setting, and this emulation also really seemed to lack low-end response. This made the hall setting all but unusable for me. The room setting was less obtrusive and better in low end response, but again, the warble in the decay gave the impression I was playing in a room with really poor diffusion and reverb characteristics.

    Ultimately, I can see the appeal of this pedal, but I'd encourage anyone considering it to first line it up side by side with other high-end, reputable reverb stomboxes. Personally, I've lined the Cathedral up next to a Boss RV5 and a Strymon Bluesky and to me both outshine the EHX. I'd expect to hear more nuance and complexity at the price point of the Strymon (which it most definitely has), but even the RV5 without the ever-so-useful pre-delay knob ultimately produces a more usable effect than the Cathedral, in my opinion. The space of the RV5, while a little less lively than the EXH, sounds diffused as opposed to boxy. At the end of the day, I'd rather play in that space.

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Cathedral Stereo Reverb Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway