0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Eminence Cannabis Rex Patriot Series 12" 50-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm Reviews

5.0 stars based on 37 customer reviews
Questions about the Eminence Cannabis Rex Patriot Series 12" 50-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Questions about the Eminence Cannabis Rex Patriot Series 12" 50-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from VA February 20, 2017

    Cannabis Rex Replacement Speaker

    I bought this speaker to fill a lightweight pine cabinet I built for small coffee house gigs.I have 2 Mesa Boogie cabinets I use for larger venues.
    I paired the cabinet with a Mesa Boogie Rectoverb 25 and was completely blown away by the tone and note definition.
    Great speaker and great service by Danielle ( as always)!
    I highly recommend Sweetwater and Cannabis Rex as a great 12" replacement speaker!!

  • from Montague, MI February 8, 2017Music Background:
    An experienced and critically discerning hobbyists with live performance experience for 35 years.

    Definitely a great bargain for an upgrade.

    First off, my main amp is a Marshall DSL40C with a Creamback speaker. By using an A/B foot switch, I prefer to separate my signal between my Gains (Marshall) from my Cleans (Peavey Studio Pro 112). The Peavey definitely needed an upgrade from the stock "Blue Marvel" speaker. I chose the Cannabis purely on it's popularity among Sweetwater customers. In blind faith, I ordered it and popped it in. It was a huge improvement and for $ a crazy cheap one! It has a nice, full tone and handles the 65 watt load very well. THANKS, Sweetwater!!

  • from January 18, 2017

    Gear in general

    I have bought a iSpot CS 12 power supply, Reunion Blues gig bag and Eminence Cannabis Rex speaker in the last year and I have nothing but great things to say about both the gear, prices and service. Sweetwater answered all questions I emailed them within 24 hours and I received the gear in 3 days. I like supporting my local small music store and buy from them whenever I can, but Sweetwater has left me feeling guilty because of the incredible service they give.
    I will be back,

  • from December 27, 2016

    Cannabis Rex 12" speaker

    Great replacement speaker for a Fender Blues Jr!

  • from Michigan October 26, 2016

    Cannabis Rex Patriot Series 50-Watt 8 Ohm

    After reading comments from a forum talking about speaker mods for the Blues Deluxe RI, I purchased a C Rex for my BDRI and 12AY7 for the V1 spot in the amp. I can't believe the difference in this amp. These changes have taken this amp from what it was(very average) to a tone monster. I have been able to increase the volume settings without being blown out of the room and the way it handles my pedal board is nothing short of extraordinary. I wish i could have discovered this simple fix years ago. The swaps were simple and quick.

  • from Austin, TX September 12, 2016

    Oustanding - Great Fender Tone

    Loaded it up in a blues junior and got more headroom and very sweet tone. Nice and warm. Plenty of treble but not biting, plenty of mids and bass. Excellent value!

  • from Chantilly, VA August 29, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    Perfect match for my Carr Slant 6V!

    Love this speaker. Perfect match for my Carr Slant 6V. Replaced the original Kingpin speaker (which I believe is made by Eminence for Steve Carr) when it died with a Red White and Blues. These are standard now in many Carr models (I also believe) and for good reason! I have paired that with a Cannabis Rex in an extension cabinet and it is a match made in heaven for me. Love the way they tames spiky highs and deliver a nuanced, mellow tone with subtle overtones. They will rock and bite when you need it without harshness which I love. Neither required any long break in period to sound wonderful. Tone is subjective as we all know, but for a great all around rock and blues (even jazz) sound I don't think you can go wrong. I USED to be a Celestion guy, but I think I am 100% sold on Eminence! Also great customer service from Lindsey - thanks!

  • from Indiana August 7, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar teacher, live musician

    Wonderful speaker!

    I have used this speaker a few times, and every time it put s smile on my face! In a 1x12 setting it shines in an open back cab. I build custom guitar cabinets and each time I tried it closed back it just lost all of its life. All the sweet blooming quality just disappeared when it was in a closed back. It sounded ok, but was just severely neutered. Now in an OPEN back, oh man its a different story! It sounds fantastic. Sweet, warm, articulate. Everything you would want in a good guitar tone. It pairs well with other speakers too. My most recent cab build was an oversized 2x12 with an open back. I first paired the Eminence Man o War with a Celestion Vintage 30, and it was emmediatly clear that the V-30 had to go. The V30 just had a piercing high end spike that I couldn't dial out. So I popped a trusty Cannabis Rex in next to the Man o War. Night and day improvement. The C-Rex can be a little too heavy on the mids sometimes. So the more scooped sound of the MoW ended up giving an extremely well balanced tone. Again I cant say enough good about this speaker! But keep it out of a closed back cab! This baby likes to breathe!

  • from Charlevoix Mi. March 18, 2016

    Cannabis Rex Upgrade

    Awesome speaker... A wonderful upgrade for my Super Champ extension. Much better sound than the original speaker. No more icepick highs. The delivery and personal service was top shelf. Clint really delivered on this one. Highly recommended.

  • from Wyoming October 28, 2015Music Background:
    I'm in a regularly gigging band, playing classic rock and country

    Great Speaker

    I did my homework before buying this speaker. I am upgrading my Fender Blues Junior with electronics and a new speaker. Research told me that this is the right speaker for the right money. I was expecting a lot and I was still impressed! I put in the speaker before upgrading the electronics. The Cannabis Rex sounded fantastic from the start, much more bottom end and no harsh mids and highs like the stock speaker. The upgrades were well worth it and this speaker was a big part of it!

  • from Washington Pennsylvania September 15, 2015

    Smooth, Rich, and Very Powerful Tone

    I purchased this speaker around 4 months before I wrote this review to give it some time to break in. It still could be breaking in, I play a decent bit but hemp cones take time. It is in a single 1x12 cab for now, maybe I will have a 2x12 sometime in the future, paired with either another CRex, or other Eminence.

    I use this speaker with an 18 watt EL84 style amp that I built. Like a Marshall, but with a cascaded preamp for more gain, and various other circuit changes. These amps can be bright, so I figured this speaker would fit my needs well, and it did. It is a very loud and efficient speaker, that's the first thing you will notice. As it breaks in, it becomes quite a warm and bassy speaker. I play tuned down often, and it handles this well and sounds beautiful clean, and completely fuzzed out with a Big Muff Russian. If you like jazz tones or just mellow cleans, it can do this perfectly with the tone set down a bit. The Cannabis Rex is clear though and always maintains nice highs, perfect for clean tones with single coils. I love this speaker and couldn't have made a better choice!

  • from Shreveport, LA May 18, 2015

    Got it for my Blues Deluxe Reissue

    I got this speaker to replace the stock speaker in my Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue. After reading several online forums and reviews on Sweetwater, I decided to pull the trigger and get one. It made a huge difference in tone. The ice pick highs are gone and it has a meatier, bassy tone now. The customer service at Sweetwater was awesome as always. If you have a Blues Deluxe Reissue, do yourself a favor and get one of these. You won't regret it.

  • from Los Angeles, CA May 11, 2015Music Background:
    Pleasure playing since 13 yr old for 40 yrs.

    Jazz Speaker

    The Eminence Cannabis Rex is a very clean sounding speaker in playing Jazz. Favored by my Jazz Axe, Peerless Cremona and Godin 5th Ave Kingpin II. Combination to a Fender Blues Jr Amp (Fully Modified Fromel Eng'ng / Billm Audio, TO20B output Xformer) as a separate Head Amp on a wood case so I can switch from Eminence Cannabis Rex in Jazz to a JBL Vintage Fender OEM when I play Rock or Blues on my Gibson Les Paul Studio.

  • from findlay, oh January 14, 2015Music Background:
    35 years of bad notes

    C-Rex replaces Celestion Vintage 30

    Great replacement for my Vintage 30 at a better price.

    The Sweetwater Difference is as advertised.

    Special thanks to Clint for all his help and great customer service.

    Sweetwater earned my business. From here on out my 1st choice for musical gear.

  • from Dallas TX November 15, 2014Music Background:
    Play in a cover band, gig maybe 8-12 times in a year

    Go to modern Fender speaker

    This is the second one of these I've tried, first was in a NOS Blues Jr, totally got rid of the ice pick highs. This one I got from Sweetwater went into a new 68 Custom Deluxe Reverb, I can not recommend this speaker enough. The stock speaker wasn't fully broke in but neither was this when installed, the ice pick highs removed, can now turn the treble up to 7 without making my head hemorrhage. The lows are nice and full, mids are there but not dominant, and the highs are just right, just enough top end to cut and shape the tone but not going to cut heads off when pointed at a crowd. These do take a while to break in so I'm sure it'll just get better like the last one.
    Now Sweetwater couldn't of been better to buy from, this was my first purchase and I was blown away, packed well, sent a huge catalog for me, and packed bags of candy for the little one, very very impressed, will be buying from them again!

  • from Washington D.C. suburb December 16, 2013Music Background:
    Former Pro musician/engineer/ producer 50+

    Who Said Cannabis Wasn't Good For You?

    I have a Blues Jr. NOS with the Jensen speaker. I had it modded at BillMAudio, which really made a difference in sound but it lacked a little more spice. I later wrote Bill and asked him about replacing the Jensen. He said to try the Eminence Cannabis Rex. I did and everything that is said in these reviews are absolutely true. I'm a 50 yr plus guitar player and remember the great Bandmasters, Showman and Tremolux piggy backs (owned them). This speaker took all the harsh bite out of the high end and rounded it out beautifully. I cannot tell you the difference it made, sounds like a much bigger amp; you have to hear it for yourself. Cannabis is good for you; Cannabis Rex that is. Love that vintage tone.

  • from Dickson, TN September 8, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter, Cover Band Flunky, Tone Enthusiast

    Great Speaker!!!

    I just installed this speaker in my Fender Blues Jr. WOW! The amp is much warmer now! No more flub on the low end. This speaker really sings! If you are looking to mod your Blues Jr., then I strongly suggest this speaker!! Also, I just want to say how great the customer service is at Sweetwater! You guys have become my number one go to place for my musical needs!

  • from Boise Id. U.S.A March 14, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, of many

    Great

    Speaker choice is totally subjective. Eminence is a great value.I built a monster of a cabinet with a Cannabis Rex and a Wizard with the jacks in the front 3 in total. It was 83.00$ for everything, black carpet 6.00$ a yard 2x4, 3/4 mdx, screws, Gorilla Glue, wire, amp jacks, jack plate (tolex is way spendy). Weight was not an issue for the finished product. I didn' t dovetail the corners since this is not a drawer. I am a master wood craftsman and say what you will, for this application 2x4 was the ticket. The Porter Cable dovetailing jigg only holds 12 inch board anyway and is held with glue only. It is funny how a 2x12 cabinet could run over 700.00$ Wow ? Why ? Ok, I forgot to mention 10,000.00 in tools, and a work shop..Great even if you just put it on a piece of plywood.

  • from Athens, OH March 8, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar Instructor, Pro Musician

    An excellent choice.

    I recently replaced the stock speaker in my Fender Blues Jr. with the Cannabis Rex. I also had the amp completely re-tubed and biased and had a couple of tonestack mods done. The effect is like having a completely new amp with more warmth, clarity, volume, and headroom.

  • from Boyce, Virginia February 2, 2013Music Background:
    Blues Hobbyist

    Smooth As Glass!

    I just got this speaker from SWEETWATER. A DEMO. Installed it in my Fender Blues Jr III and retubed it with JJ's. WOW, what a TONE machine! Once it breaks in it will even better. Super Crystaline cleans and loud..With Overdrive has some serious grit in a good way. Most likely the best Eminence has to offer IMO. Great price and customer service with two thumbs up. You guys at SWEETWATER never cease to amaze me! Thanks ... Buy This Speaker NOW!!!

  • from Colorado December 18, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist/worship leader

    Smokey smooth tone

    Wow what a speaker!! This thing is exactly as advertised by Eminence and Sweetwater. Smooth tone but will still growl with the best of them.

  • from New Holland Ohio September 25, 2012Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter Country recording artist

    Eminence Cannabis Rex

    What a great sound, great choice, good call, great order!

  • from Scranton, Pa USA July 24, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, live sound engineer, recording engineer

    Smooth and detailed

    I used to run a swamp thang (scooped fenderish tone) in my modded blues junior, and it sounded great. I wanted to try the C Rex because I felt it would add more meat and smoky flavor to the low mids. I play a John Mayer strat, and the C Rex delivers with my blues junior every time. A It will take awhile to break in, but the dark and rich jazz tones and smooth blues tones are there from day one!

  • from Sequim, WA USA July 10, 2012Music Background:
    Playing @ various levels/styles 50+ years

    One regret: hesitating as long as I did!

    What I was hearing from the little Fender Princeton 65 didn't pair with the sound I wanted with either the Epi Joe Pass (Samick) or the custom acoustic steel string with K&K's.
    Speaker cab weight is crucial at my age, so the Fender suited my needs otherwise.
    So, after confirming a few details with a Sweetwater contact, I finally plumped for this Eminence CR (which popped right into place) and it changed all the possibilities for both guitars.
    And the wider, richer sounds now justify getting the SM57 for jams.

  • from St. Louis, Mo December 31, 2016

    Speaker replacement can revive your Weak Amp

    I have a Blues Deluxe Reissue that I picked up in a gear trade. Nice amp in good physical and electrical condition. The previous owner had re-tubed it with quality tubes but was still unhappy with it. When we agreed on a swap we both felt good about I brought it home and gave it a work out with multiple guitars. It was just weak and very "Soft" toned even at near full volume. It had no "Authority" when driven either with its overdrive channel or with pedals. After going through it and examining all the usual suspects it came down to the most likely issue being the Original equipment speaker. It had done its time since the day it left the factory. So after researching all the possible replacements I settled on the Eminence Cannabis Rex for two reasons, the price was very reasonable and if I was incorrect in may analysis I wouldn't be out a lot of cash. Also even at a low price I knew I could trust Eminence quality control to give me a good base line incase I found another issue. Once ordered the usual Sweetwater service had it to my door in 48 hours. Installation was simple while observing all the necessary safety practices. Well, I was very satisfied with the results when the amp powered up. For a new unused speaker it was clear and clean. Good response throughout the range. No flab in the low registers and clear highs without that awful Ice Pick even at full treble response. The best part is knowing that after a sufficient amount of usage it will only get better. I've used this trick on old amplifiers in the past and it usually pays off very well. You really can get great tone and revive your old classic amps with the right replacement speakers.
    Now I can get a kit and recone and test the original and use it for something else later on. I hope this will help someone else with a amplifier problem. Good luck and Play On.

  • from August 14, 2016

    The value of a speaker replacement

    I love the warmth and tone of the cannabis rex speaker. great for jazz archtops, blues and any acoustic orientation application.Rock players take notice! Get over it. It is downright stupid to try to discredit it.It is not a rock and roll speaker. You got the speakers you like. Leave it at that.

  • from Jacksonville, Florida December 1, 2015Music Background:
    intermediate guitarist

    Replacement in Fender '68 Custom Deluxe Reverb

    The 68 CDR comes with a 70 watt rated Celestion vintage style speaker that was just too thin, ice-picky, for my taste. While I know this is subjective, I am very pleased with the smoothing out of tone, reduction of piercing highs, punchier lows, and "throatiness" of the Cannabis Rex.

    I've tried everything form Celestion Alnico Golds, to Webers, Celestion 70/80, Vintage 30, Classic Lead ... to others in my amps, but I now have a Cannabis Rex in both the 68 CDR and a Fender Blues Jr., ... I don't know if it is the speaker for you ... but it is the speaker for me!

  • from Central NYS August 5, 2014Music Background:
    Playing guitar since 1962.

    Eminence Cannibis Rex

    I've been using Eminence speakers for a few years now because I like their sound and their price. When I bought a couple of 68 Bandmaster cabs recently, that had been converted to 1X12 and 1X15, I wasn't in love with the 12" speakers that were in there. The 15" speakers sounded fine. One of the cabs had a very weak 12 so I decided to try a Cannabis Rex. That cab really came alive, rich mids and highs with tight articulate lows. It was an amazing difference from the other cab. Later on I will put a CR in there also. This is an EXCELLENT speaker.

  • from New Market, AL June 29, 2014Music Background:
    many and various over the decades

    Did what I wanted it to do

    I was looking for a speaker to be more rich, warm, and full than the Celestion Vintage 30 that I had in the closed-back extension cabinet that goes with a Traynor YCV40WR, and this definitely gave me what I wanted. It sounds quite full, produces the additional low and lower-midrange body that I wanted and got rid of some of that high-mid peak that the Vintage 30 had, making the speaker much better for the sort of heavy blues and rock that I enjoy playing. I wouldn't necessarily call it "dark", as it still has plenty of top end, but it definitely moves a step in that direction from what I had, which is where I wanted to go. I would have paid twice its price for a speaker of its quality to get that sound. The hemp cone gives the thing a sort of, well, "thick" is the wrong word, but perhaps "solid" sound that the Vintage 30 didn't have. Perhaps "substantial" is better. Anyway, I really like it and am quite happy.

  • from Kalamazoo, MI June 5, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist/ small gigs

    Very nice improvement

    Have a Traynor YCV40 that I picked up cheap to use for small gigs. It's a solid amp but had spiky upper mids and I had to use it with the treble at 1 and the bass EQ dimed. The overdrive channel was fuzzy and lacked body. Installing the CR took all of five minutes on this amp and the change was drastic. Very full and vibrant cleans and the full range of the amps EQ is useable. The overdrive channel is a complete change and sounds great. Lots of bass and harmonics. Overall the speaker is musical and powerful and made my amp sound great. I'd recommend it for anyone who has an overbright amp or one the doesn't sound very balanced. It's a very economical way to make a big improvement over a stock speaker

  • from New Orleans La February 24, 2014Music Background:
    50 year veteran player. Engineer, writer, producer, guitar, violin, synths.

    Louder with high end roll off.

    I replaced the Blues Junior Nos speaker with CANNIBUS REX. It took care of the inherent high end bump of the stock speaker. Also louder and added character. Very pleased with the difference.

  • from Seguin, TX January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, writer, singer, music theater

    Perfect Jazz Tone!

    I love my Cannabis Rex! Got it to replace a blown Celestion 70/80 in a Power Engine 60. I play a Tech 21 Blonde preamp pedal through the PE60, and I've been searching for that warm but clear Benson tone; and I've found it at last! Thank you, Eminence! And thanks to Nathan and Sweetwater for being there every time I need advice with great customer service!

  • from Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA May 27, 2012Music Background:
    Professional 35+ years

    Cannabis Rex in Blues Junior NOS

    Needed to tame the spikey highs and shrillness in my sound with a Blues Junior NOS. Did not want to spend the money for the MODS that are flying around out there quite yet.
    This speaker was just what I was looking for. Shipping was quick...got a courtesy call to let me know it was on it's way, and I was very pleased with what it did to my sound on this stock amp. Great bass and low end response (which was lacking before) , and a nice smooth overall spectrum....took out the shrill highs but is very clear, and this is all without being broken in. It sounds great. I play an original Telecaster Deluxe with the humbucker pickups, and it now is a great combination. I am very pleased with this speaker and my service from Sweetwater. Highly reccommended ...it worked great for me.

  • from Duluth, MN February 13, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur

    Yes it's worth it!

    I spent a lot of time looking at speakers, you tubes, those speaker wave form things, etc. and with some trepidation, I pulled the pin and bought this guy to put in a new cabinet for my superchamp xd. It was an immediate improvement in overall tone. The speaker is clear, each note in a chord can be heard clearly. The bass response is great for a blues jazz rhythm, and the mids aren't overwhelming. Nice clean fender tones now for leads. I am very happy. It's a speaker I'd recommend easily. The hemp cone has a lovely mellow tone. Check out Billm's review of this speaker, it's dead on and was the tipping point that made me choose this speaker.

  • from Portland, OR September 15, 2015

    Very efficient and well-balanced sounding speaker

    I picked up the Cannabis Rex as a replacement in my 1959 Rickenbacker M-11 amp -- it's basically a 5e3 (tweed Fender Deluxe) circuit, and had a very good sounding original Jensen P12Q speaker in it previously.

    The amp needed more volume to keep up with the band at club gigs, and the more-efficient Cannabis Rex definitely did the trick. It gained a bit more headroom as this speaker doesn't distort as early as the stock Jensen, and the tone is still in the "America" vein, without the pronounced mid-dip of British-type speakers.

    More on the tone: most reviews I've read call it "balanced" and "full-range" and I would tend to agree. It's not overly colored in any one range of the frequency spectrum, and not lacking either. People describe the highs as 'smokey', and that's a good assessment. The highs aren't rolled off, but they sure are smooth and easy to listen to, with no ice pick. The mids are solid and present (which I feel was the biggest help in allowing the amp to cut through on stage) and the bass is solid, not mushy, but with plenty of heft.

    I think this speaker has slowly been improving as it's broken in over the last few weeks. I probably have 20-25 hours of playing time on it, and it definitely sounds a bit sweeter in the high mids and treble.

    If you need a good "all arounder" with a pretty true "American" (Fender) type response, I recommend it highly. I feel like this speaker would also suit other amps quite well too. Very happy with this purchase.

  • from Roger, Ar USA July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby - just play for personal pleasure !

    Warmer Tone

    I have a Fender Blues Jr. that has a little "brighter" sound than I like - took about 10 minutes to put the Cannabis Rex in and I can tell a significant difference ! Much more "mellow/warm " tone than the factory speaker !

  • from COLUMBUS OHIO February 25, 2013Music Background:
    PRO MUSICIAN

    JUST WHAT THE DOCTOR ORDERED

    I HAVE A BLACKSTAR 20 WATT TUBE HEAD THAT SEEMED A LITTLE TOO BRIGHT THROUGH ANY SPEAKER I TRIED. THIS ONE TAMED THAT WITHOUT SOUNDING DULL AND GAVE ME THAT BOOMING LOW END I NEEDED. IT ALSO SEEMS MORE EFFICIENT THAN THE CELESTION I WAS USING SO IT'S A WINNER ALL THE WAY AROUND ESPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE.

Questions about the Eminence Cannabis Rex Patriot Series 12" 50-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway