0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Audix CabGrabber - Regular Size Reviews

4.0 stars based on 37 customer reviews
Questions about the Audix CabGrabber - Regular Size?

Questions about the Audix CabGrabber - Regular Size?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • William Payne
    from North Carolina December 20, 2016

    Audix CabGrabber

    This is an excellent tool for recording guitar cabs - I have 3 of these and they are perfect for my application

  • Mark Jarrett
    from July 17, 2016

    CabGrabber = less dufus!

    I live in a small space.The cabgrabber eliminates all the room a traditional mic stand takes in front of your speaker cabinet (tripod legs, round metal base, boom, and cable sprawl). Well crafted, spring feels strong, holds onto the cabinet well, I like the 2x notched cable holders to control where the cable goes. Simple and perfect idea!

  • Lawrence Mahoney
    from Canandaigua, NY May 24, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician, Worship Leader

    Handy Gadget

    Don't have to worry about mic placement, or accidentally kicking the mic stand in front of the amp. The CabGrabber does just what it's intended to do.

  • Customer
    from Concord, MA May 12, 2015

    What a concept!

    Worked just as expected and it was just what I needed. The spring had just the right tension, and the soft end hooks protected the amp cabinet and didn't slip out of place.
    Solved a bunch of problems, and looks good, too. Not much more to say.

  • Phil Hadaway
    from Savannah, GA August 29, 2014Music Background:
    Multi-Platinum engineer and producer. Film sound.

    Found a better use!

    I'm using this in the field as a grip tool to secure mics to walls and ceiling beams. It's great!!!

  • Fernando Esparza
    from San Antonio, Texas March 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Audix Cab Grabber

    Another well thought out piece of equipment by Audix. This cab grabber works very well

  • Mike j
    from Charlotte North Carolina May 10, 2013Music Background:
    working musician

    works as advertised

    It works perfect on my Egnater and boogie cabinets. Use a clip on mic holder and just about any microphone will work. It saves space and aggravation.

  • Fred
    from Renton WA USA March 14, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer

    Great Product

    This reducees stage clutter. For some uses a longer arm would be desireable, however the addition of a short gooseneck fixes that shortcoming.

  • Rick
    from San Francisco, CA June 6, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Keeps it simple

    Works great, simple to use, and saves time & headaches for the sound crew when they're miking up amps.

  • Savage
    from pdx March 13, 2009Music Background:
    Pro guitar/engineer

    This thing does the job!

    It's everything I need. Clamps on my Fender Blues De-Ville, I swing the arm to mid cone on the top speaker and BAM! I am in the mix. LOVE IT!

  • Franklyn Kelecy
    from Lebanon, NH May 27, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar Player

    Audix Cab Grabber

    This is a great piece of gear for the gigging musician! It is very compact yet replaces an entire mic stand if you mic your amplifier for live concerts like I do. It is easy to install and remove, holds securely, and can be positioned quite easily.

  • Robert
    from New Jersey, USA March 3, 2015Music Background:
    Live sound and Musician.

    Audix CabGrabber

    I had gotten 2 of these for miciing a Fender Blues Jr. & a duluxe reverb.
    Works great. There's a guy on U-Tube saying that you'll need a goose neck for fhe smaller amps. Well you don't . These work great without. Using a Sennheiser 609.

  • Michael Anderson
    from Washington, UT January 20, 2015Music Background:
    40 years semi-pro guitarist - church praise team, oldies band, contemporary country and rock band.

    Audix CabGrabber

    Excellent tool for mic'ing an amp. The only small down side is that the locking wheel that fixes the angle of the elbow to the main straight pipe does not stay in place easily. To fix that I wrapped some teflon pipe tape on the threads. Now it works better.

    Other than that it seems very durable. I've had it for about one month and have used it 3 times for performances. No regrets.

  • Customer
    from December 15, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Hobby Guitarist

    Cool alternative to a mic stand

    I really like the Cab Grabber for a few reasons. It's very quick and easy to set up and adjust. Low-Profile design. If the guitarist moves their amp, the mic stays right where you set it. You can use just about any microphone with it.
    Just make sure you get the right sized Cab Grabber. Regular size is great for combo amps and smaller cabs (9-12"). If you use a cabinet that's deeper than 12" I'd go for the XL version.

  • kevin
    from decatur, IL April 2, 2014Music Background:
    songwriter, recording hobbyist

    Audix cab grabber

    Cab grabber is easy to set up and use right out of the box.
    Spring seems to be solid.
    My only issue is that Sm57 weighs it down a little, but if you move grabber around it holds good.

  • Brian
    from Elizabethtown, KY February 13, 2017Music Background:
    Bassist, occasional sound guy

    Simply your setup!!

    Every guitarist and sound guy needs one in their bag. Really simplifies setup. Keeps the stage clean and free of all those boom stands. Spring loaded and clamps right on. Pop on the mic of your choice and you are ready to go. Can't believe I waited as long as I did to get this.

  • Jim M
    from 1st Baptist, Winner, SD March 31, 2015

    Cab Grabber

    Adapted this for use to mic a baby grand. It's going to work great. It's much cheaper than specialized gear and less obtrusive than a floor stand.

  • Pat Costa
    from January 5, 2015

    CabGrabber

    What a novel idea. I wish I had thought of it. I wish it had an adjustable boom for the mic so that you did not have to push the mic so far into the mic holder. It stays in the position you place it, it is away from foot traffic and look cool. It has the "Wow, Whats That thing" factor. I might get a small goose neck for it after i play with it a while.

  • KENNETH HERPIN
    from United States April 23, 2014Music Background:
    PRO MUSICIAN

    WONDERFUL THING

    ANYTHING THAT MAKES MY LIFE EASIER IS A WONDERFUL THING - - THIS DOES EXACTLY THAT. IT KEEPS THE MIC RIGHT WHERE YOU NEED IT

  • Erick
    from Miami January 28, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist and Studio hobyist

    Functional and Easy to Use

    Simple, effective, easy to use. What more can you ask for?

  • Phen
    from Pensacola , Fl January 1, 2014Music Background:
    Professional hobbyist 20 yrs

    Convenient useful tool.

    The cabgrabber works great. My band mics everything at gigs. I was hanging a mic over the front of my amp with a loop from the handle or using a stand that was in the way on a cramped stage. The cabgrabber does exactly what it's advertised to do effectively. Miking my amp now is neat and tidy with no stand and takes up very little space in the gig bag. A very useful tool that's easy and quick. It's worth the money. I would definitely recommend it for Miking situations.

  • Zac C.
    from United States March 15, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Very Handy

    It's nice not having to use a regular mic stand to mic a guitar cab - one less thing to trip over. This CabGrabber holds on snugly and is built well. My only two complaints that keep it from getting 5 stars: 1) It's a little pricey for what it is and 2) you can't adjust the distance from the mic clip to the front of the cab - if you are using SM57's then there's not much problem because you have some flexibility by sliding the mic forward or back in the clip, but if you use say a Sennheiser e609, then you're kinda stuck unless you attach a short gooseneck extension. No biggie - otherwise a great addition to mic gear.

  • Robert Carra
    from Palm Coast, Florida August 17, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Product

    The fact that I don't have to worry about a floor stand, makes this product worth it. It's easy to attach, and small enough to pack in a bag. As a working musician, easy is the way to go.

  • Jim Maidlow
    from Anderson, IN January 9, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Guitarist

    CabGrabber Mic Holder

    This is a great product that can help you save floor space on stage. the idea is very good and the CabGrabber does a good job of clamping to your speaker cabinet or combo amp to hold you mic. It is very effective but could use a little more adjustment because your mic placement is somewhat limited. I found that a flexible gooseneck could solve that issue. All in all, a very good product that is far better than using a mic stand.

  • Russ
    from Arizona May 27, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar player and home studio engineer

    Audio CabGrabber

    It works well at securing the mic in place, but it could use a way to adjust the distance between the speaker and the mic. If you use a Sennheiser e-609 with it's intended clip you get in close. Other than that, it is quick and easy to place and beats hanging the mic over the top down in front.

  • Customer
    from May 18, 2015

    just right

    The unit works wonderfully. The only issue I seen with it is; the locking nut that tightens and loosens the neck, holding the microphone (allowing it to spin off axis) is a little tedious but other than that great buy. They will improve on this I'm sure. Great product great idea and it works !!!!!

  • Customer
    from August 29, 2016

    Great in tight spaces

    The advantage here is that its a space saver as it eliminates mic stands. The down side is that the end where the mic connects does not telescope. Meaning, you're married to a fixed mic placement relative to the speaker cone. Leaving the only alternative to place the mic off axis to one degree or another. I wish they would have made it a tad more flexible since not all cabinets are the same width. I don't hate it... but I do wish someone would have written a review describing its limitations before I bought it.

  • Dave
    from Illinois October 19, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    Good idea, fair execution.

    I like the convenience of having the mic stand attach to the amp. The tightening system is not great though, and you really need to crank the nut tight so the mic doesn't rotate down if you're hooked to the side of the amp.
    Also, for an amp with a thinner frame (the area surrounding the speaker, not the width of the cab itself) the clamps are a bit wide and then there's some play there too.
    Overall I like the grabber though.

  • Gabriel
    from April 26, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Not a great product, but it works.

    Tricky thing if used with a Mesa Express 5:50 plus and a Sennheiser e906. It isn't versatil at all, it is designed for the i5 with some specific combo amps in mind, maybe amps with a smaller "lip" and not a wide cab. Anyway, I managed to attach it under the amp after removiming the two cable clips, that way the Cab Grabber gets the mic closser to the center of the speaker, and I also bought a Ball-Joint Mic Adapter to get the e906 closer to the grill if needed, it seems to work fine that way. Please notice tension in this thing can be really hard and leave some marks on the amp if its not placed carefully.

  • Steven Hirsch
    from Burlington, VT August 5, 2016

    Doesn't fit Fender Mustang

    Audix is missing the boat by not paying more attention to amp models with flat/wide frames in the front. Would seem simple enough to have a two-piece plastic bracket with a section you can snap out to make it wider. I spent some quality time with a Dremel grinder and a set of files and was able to modify the front clamp to work well on my Mustang III. It was not fun, however.

  • Tim Casey
    from Boston USA February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Producer / engineer, musician

    Wonderful idea, poor execution

    See the curved part? If it had extended another two inches from the main body before curving, there'd be enough room to mount a mic at 90 to the speaker without the mic head pushing into the speaker grill. You really need to buy a 6" gooseneck extension, which I found on amazon. Now I love the thing. But it's useless without the gooseneck.

  • Andy Eckenrode
    from Montpelier, ohio September 10, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist/Vocalist/Budding live sound tech

    cab grabber

    This piece works really well and eliminates a stand on stage making more room and less clutter. I think it should have had a mini boom on the end as it's difficult to get the mic close to the speaker cover - I used a mini snake adapter to do this but it makes it heavy and it wants to dip. With a little adjusting it does the job.

  • Rey
    from Texas November 27, 2012Music Background:
    professional

    not universal

    Doesn't fit alot of cabs, actually the only cabs it fit well were the cheap cabs, won't work on anything boutique (morgan, fulton-webb, matchless, bad cat) it needs lips to fit around, so fenders, line 6, stuff like that have a lip around the edge, and this works well for that stuff, but like i said doesn't work well for anything without a lip aka morgans, or anything that has a large lip aka matchless, bad cat ect...

  • Dustin
    from Colorado September 21, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-Pro/Weekend Warrior

    Meh... Good concept, poor execution

    Gigging with it for quite a while now, it clasps very well to my Bogner combo, I think because of the 3/4 open back. When using it on a 4x12 closed-back cabinet it slips and slides and generally is a total pain in the neck until you tweak it jus right for it to stay in place, and even then you have to watch it. If you've got a smaller combo with some edges for it to grab on to, it will probably be fine. If you don't, count on headaches. Rather than an internal bungee cord for tension, they should really look at a twist clamp mechanism - it would be much more stable and hang on to your rig better.

  • David Purdy
    from Minnesota March 16, 2015Music Background:
    Played guitar 37 years, have a band for fun to play on weekends.

    Not recommended

    I bought this CabGrabber and the Audix Mic and cable. The mic and cable are tough and I love them. However, my band plays a different venue every time we play--so I am always setting up and tearing down. The metal used in this product is a cheap (I will call pig metal) so the threads strip really easy. If I try to tighten, I just keep turning the tightner and it keeps slipping. Audix, please use better quality metal in this product. Audix has a great name, but if you gig in different places, don't get this!!!!!! Now, I am a major customer of Sweetwater and this is the first time I have been unimpressed with something I purchased from them. The reason I am writing this review is because recently I had a gig and I was bummed that the threads were all stripped and wanted to let other musicians know.

  • Jim
    from AZ February 8, 2015Music Background:
    Engineering

    CabGrabber lacks gripping power and tilts

    Great product idea; however, weak implementation.

    CabGrabber does not properly stay in place with combos/cabinets that have thicker sidewalls. The two-depth pads simply do not grab properly nor provide enough tension.

    Gripping tension is worse for right-side mounting, as the unit rotates out of position. Weak gripping power is even more problematic yet for applications using goosenecks (e.g., 1x12 combo amps with laterally centered speakers) to center mics at longer distances from edge.

    I do not recommend this product, as holding the mic in exact position is the main requirement , and, this product does not hold for either studio or stage applications. Movement due to vibration is also a problem.

  • Dave
    from United States December 30, 2014

    not strong

    I bought this thinking this would be the perfect set up after watching the attached video demonstration. But...look how small the microphone in the video is. That is the catch, use a standard size anything with any weight and you might as well call this useless. It does not support a standard sized microphone. it just falls as it cannot be tightened enough to support it.
    So unless you are using an ultra lite mic, i would avoid this.

Questions about the Audix CabGrabber - Regular Size?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway