0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Avantone Pro CV-12 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 49 customer reviews
Questions about the Avantone Pro CV-12?

Questions about the Avantone Pro CV-12?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 17, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer/Producer.

    Great mic, ESPECIALLY for the price

    Amazing product, especially for the price point. Great if your looking to get a cheap tube condenser. Haven't had a chance/need to change the polar patterns, but really cool feature. For the short time I've had it I've been absolutely impressed with the richness and clarity of the mic. Highly recommend it. Especially sounds great in conjunction with the LA-610 channel strip I just purchased. 10/10 would mic again.

  • from New York October 24, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Studio Vocalist/Producer/Entertainer

    On the right source this mic sings!

    Not quite a C12 or 251 Style mic, the sound falls kind of in between and not as three dimensional. That said, the price point is amazing. There is no real low end to this mic, so it's more about the style of music you're going for. On pop style tracks I used this mic on many different types of vocals. On more that one instance it beat out my U87. I found it favored female voices and tended to thin out male voices, but in a polished way. This is an amazing starter mic, but I would try it before you pick it up. Make sure it works with your voice.

  • from October 19, 2016

    Awesome Mic

    I used this mic to record vocals in my home studio a and the tone was super warm and it gave me EXACTLY what I was looking for in a mic!!!

  • from maryland October 15, 2016

    nice

    great mic.works great on vocal.even better on guitar. recommend this mic.

  • from Orlando October 12, 2016Music Background:
    engineer/producer

    A VINTAGE VIBE AT A VERY REASONABLE PRICE

    This mic is quite an incredible value--tube, multi-pattern, incredibly nice-looking. I've used it for a string section, female vocals, solo flute, solo cello, solo violin, and trumpet. It has a very open sound with excellent very smooth top end--no harshness.

  • from Michigan August 18, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter/Musician/Recording Enthusiast

    Just What I Needed

    I have a dark sounding voice and I purchase this mic specifically for my vocals because it is bright (did lots of listening to sound samples). I just received this and have had one session with it, but my vocal now sits very nicely in the mix. I rolled the lows off using the Hi-pass filter, sang about 10" from the mic, and spent some extra care with mic placement to avoid sibilance issues, but now I hardly have to use EQ. This mic definitely has a character to it, and it is the brightest mic I own, but that is exactly what I needed and why I purchased it (I have several good all-purpose mics already). Because it has the character it has, it is probably important to understand what purpose you indent this mic to serve for you before buying. That said, this is awesome for what I need it for.

  • from Louisiana June 2, 2016Music Background:
    Studio/DJ/Live

    A anyone CV- 12

    At first I was skeptical about the CV-12 but I had heard good things about it from friends in the business.
    And after all Taylor Swift uses this mic so there must be something special about it.
    Right out of the box and straight into a session on Male vocals. AMAZING, UNBELIEVABLE !
    With the low cut on, the sound was flat, clean, clear with every accent of every word.
    This has to be the best value for the dollar I have ever purchased. Complete with pre-amp, mic cable to pre-amp, shock mount and protective case in a protective case. Sweetwater has many great mic possibilities and the CV-12 is one I'd recommend too all.

  • from Thurmont MD April 30, 2016

    A lesser-seen issue with this mic

    I share the sonic sentiments of most of the other reviewers; my one concern is RF interference. My studio is a few blocks away from an AM radio station, and I had to carefully shield all my in-house wiring to compensate. Unfortunately, the CV12 picks up the station loud and clear. There is a shielding issue somewhere in its signal path. It could be in the mic itself, in the 30-foot proprietary 9 pin cable, or in the power supply. It works great in other locations, and it's the only one of my 60+ mics with this problem. Just a heads-up for anyone who may have "broadcast proximity" issues like me.

  • from Puerto Rico April 11, 2016

    Sounds incredible

    I record mostly vocals and first time i heard this mic i was blown away great warmth with cristal clear pristine clarity

  • from Reading PA November 28, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur singer/songwriter

    Warm & Wonderful!

    I shied away from condenser mics because the cheaper ones I've used in the past didn't sound any better than my dynamic. Then I decided to try investing in this beauty and I wasn't disappointed in the least. This mic is warm & wonderful. Love the polar pattern settings on the power supply. The appearance of the mic itself is beautiful. Pretty red color makes a stunning addition to my small studio, but the sound out of it is just as pretty. They say that this is the only vocal mic that Taylor Swift uses. I can see why. Professional performance for a more than reasonable price.

  • from Columbus IN November 27, 2015Music Background:
    Singer songwriter ,home recordings

    Great mic so far! Still learning how to use it :)

    A tube mic for this price!! Really impressed so far. Recording artist Tim Ash recommended this to me. I would recommend it others with a limited budget.

  • from Atlanta November 24, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer, Percussionist, Vocalist, guitar, bass and keyboard player/Engineer/Producer

    Excellent mic that super upped my recording ability

    So far I've tracked vocals, drums, and percussion. Everything sounds superb. The various patterns have been extremely useful. Awesome mic! Does everything I need it to and holds its own against mics against quadruple the price. Highly recommended!

  • from Connecticut October 29, 2015Music Background:
    Rap artist, Engineer, studio owner

    Greatness

    This Mic is everything!! I run it through a Focusrite ISA one into an Apogee Symphony. I must say this is one of the cleanest Mic I've ever heard. I have a rebuilt U47 and it keeps up with that Mic!! If you're looking for a great Mic at a great price look no further that the CV-12

  • from LA August 18, 2015Music Background:
    Musician:producer:taco fan

    Amazing

    This is your new mic. I've used everything and I'm not saying there's not a better nice, but I am saying there's not a better mic that doesn't cost at least a 2000 Honda Civic. Buy it, own music and the world. The end

  • from Los Angeles July 3, 2015Music Background:
    Music Student/Composer/Guitarist

    Amazing, best tube mic for the $$.

    Truly a great microphone that I know will last me many years. It's beautiful, it's extremely versatile with 9 polar patterns, and it simply sounds great. The noise floor is very low on this thing, and with the right recording space I have heard it sound just as good as a Bock 251 ($6,000). It comes in a beautiful wood box, including a long 7-pin cable and a hard metal case that's not too heavy and perfect for travel.

    Basically, I love it, and I think you will too! Shoutout to Norb Berninger for being a great Sweetwater representative and a huge help in general. Sweetwater rules!!

  • from Seattle June 3, 2015Music Background:
    serious amateur

    Far better than it has any right to be

    This mic works really well for recording all kinds of acoustic instruments. One singer wasn't too happy with it because she finally heard her voice like the rest of us do. I hate to tell her, but the mic flatters everything it records. That's the truth, though. I suppose you can get better mics that sound better, but you can't get them for the price of this one. I'm completely satisfied with the mic, cable and power supply. The isolator works, but it is fiddly and seems like it could be short lived. I say seems, because I have had the mic and used it on a fairly regular basis for a year or so now, and everything still works fine. Buy it for the sound quality and never mind anything else. The other stuff doesn't matter anyway.

  • from Texas May 1, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter/Engineer

    Killer mic!

    Thanks to the other reviews on this mic I was sold on it. And right they were. I wanted a great sounding tube mic that didn't sound too tubey or colored. So far I've only used it on vocal and acoustic guitar at home which is what I bought it for. This mic does not sound like a mic in this price range. Thanks to Avantone for offering a great mic for those of us who can't or don't want to spend thousands yet need great quality.
    It's flat without having a high proximity effect. I know it depends on the vocal but if you're looking for a real warm vocal mic I'm not sure this is the one. It doesn't seem to color or warm up thin sources very much. I think it sounds great. As far as a break in period I did notice it sounding like I was pushing it at first and then it started sounding better after a few uses, but it could have been that I was just getting used to working it. It has some power and I aways have to use the 20db pad on my pre plus the -10db pad on the mic. I bought a high quality wind screen and haven't had any problem with plosives. I wish the power switch was on the front where I could see it. That's the only complaint.

  • from United States March 18, 2015

    I'm blown away!

    I Own many microphones including the shure ksm-32 ksm-44 and a few rode mics as well and I'll have to say that I like the Avantone cv - 12 better.this microphone is absolutely amazing! give it a shot I guarantee you'll love it!

  • from Trinidad & Tobago December 21, 2014Music Background:
    Musician/Producer/Recording Engineer.

    Versatile

    Got this mic a Few weeks back. Did a little comparison between it and my current Rode NT-2000. To My Surprise, It sounded less colored than the Rode mic. Which wasn't a bad thing for me at all. It sort of gave me a better opportunity to "shape" the vocal sound to want i wanted it to alot easier . The rode mic is a Good mic as well, but alot more colored. So having this mic works well for me.... So far so good. Have alot more testing to do but these are my initial impressions..... Thanks to Jon Gillespie for the hookup. You The Man Jon!!!!!!!!!

  • from Kansas City, Mo. December 8, 2014Music Background:
    semi-retired professional musician, and home recording enthusiast.

    Great mic for the price

    Can't beat this mic for the price. I read about this mic in a top producer gear blog. They said the mic was excellent, and if you change out the tube with a GE 6072A it'll rival 3-4,000.00 mics. So I bought it sounded great before I changed the tube, after I changed the tube it reminds me of a U87. Supper nice top end, very detailed and a warm fullness. Does a great job on male vocals, acoustic guitars, clean, and distorted guitar amps.

  • from Mt. Carmel, Il January 13, 2014

    Avantone CV-12 lives up to the hype

    After a lot of research, i settled on the Avantone CV-12 and it definitely lives up to the hype. Running it through a Golden Age Pre 73 Mk II, and the combo is amazing. It gives me a lot of confidence when recording my own vocals, and others that i've recorded love it too.

  • from Atlanta, GA October 23, 2013Music Background:
    Long-time musician with home project studio

    Awesome Tube Mic for an affordable price!

    Many thanks to my sales engineer, Brian Loney, for recommending this microphone to me. I'm still only 4 years into my home project studio and realized the budget-minded condenser microphone I had sounded... ... well cheap, thin, and harsh... especially on female vocals.

    So, I began my search for a more expensive (but still budget-minded) microphone to get better results. I had narrowed the list down to just a couple of contenders and figured I'd reach out to Brian for his advice. After discussing my needs, he mentioned this microphone first. I got off the phone and then began to do some additional research. I didn't find any negative reviews, in fact, they were all very positive. So, I called him back and made the purchase.

    A few days later, the package arrives, I open up the box and begin to unpack... the thing looks great, feels solid, and certainly looks like it should cost more than it does. I plug in and record a couple of test tracks. I noticed the difference immediately. It really opens up the sound of vocals and the tube tames the harsh tones, especially on female vocals, without losing the air and crispness.

    Make sure you have a better-than-average pop filter because this mic is sensitive. I did some web searches on "tube burn in" and decided to leave it plugged in and powered on for 24 hours berfore doing anymore tracking. I don't know if it helped or not, but seemed like a good thing to do based on informed opinions of others.

    I've now tracked my 3rd song using this mic and it just keeps getting better. I' m now experimenting with the different polar patterns and mic placement to get great tracks from this mic.

    I can't give you a comparison between this mic and the more expensive tube mic's, but I can tell you it blows away my budget condenser. Absolutelyl a regret-free purchse for certain!

  • from Brooklyn, NY October 4, 2013Music Background:
    Small Studio Engineer, Producer, Musician...

    Three dimensional, natural, and warm...

    Would be 5 stars, but the accessories are a gamble. But, I bought 2 on a whim and I'm glad I did. If it's good enough for Taylor Swift and the Jonas Bros; personally I'm more into more adventurous music, but I figured it's probably good enough for me since they have their pick of gear and talented producers/engineers. I had to send back one of the two mics I received because the pickup pattern selection pot on the power supply was glued (yes glued) in the wrong position, which Sweetwater quickly replaced, then a handle fell off one of the cases while in transport across NYC, so you would think I hate them right? Wrong. These mics are incredibly warm, three dimensional, lush, airy, and expensive sounding (not hyped or harsh). Added a whole new color to my palette of microphones which previously consisted of high-end ribbons, dynamics, small diaphragm condensers, and a large diaphragm KSM44 (which is much brighter/more along the lines of what you would expect from a typical good large-diaphragm condenser).

  • from Seaside, CA September 6, 2013Music Background:
    Rocketeer

    Excellent value. Amazing sound!!

    So I was looking for a good tube mic for under a grand that didn't sound like a budget mic. The CV-12 has exceeded every expectation. It is warm and natural. A fine addition to my collection.

  • from Salt Lake City, Utah August 18, 2013Music Background:
    Long time musician, composer, studio engineer

    Oh MY.......!!!

    I was looking for a solid condenser that was versatile, affordable, and high quality. This is totally a pro mic that every engineer/musician should experience. You won't believe your ears, or the price. I've used it mostly on vocals, but track the grand piano exclusively with this and nothing else. Currently, i run all analog inputs into a 003 Digidesign interface using the existing pre's. It sounds AMAZING as is. I can only imagine what it would sound like with an outboard Pre amp. All the musicians I record with LOVE this mic. And..... its sexy. This is truly a gift.

  • from Nashville, TN August 6, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Mastering.

    Compared to an AKG c12

    Compared the Avantone cv12 to a real AKG c12. It was a ferocious battle. The cv12 was slightly warmer, but still had much of that silky upper-midrange response of the c12 when used on a dynamic female vocal!

    If you're not convinced, try one out.

    The only two things I would change: 1) Beef up the connection pins between the mic and the power supply, and 2) use a clamp-style shock-mount vs. the thumb-screws used here.

  • from Tuscaloosa, AL USA August 5, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Lighting Engineer, Muscician

    Great Mic!

    This mic sounds great so far. The only complaint I have is that it's difficult to pack everything back in the flight case.

  • from July 22, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and Producer.

    Awesome Mic

    This kind kind of sound, only in mics over $1000.00, excelent, the highs silky!

  • from April 10, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Musician

    Great all rounder, no shortcomings

    I received my Avantone CV-12 yesterday. I've already used it on ukulele, vocals, and percussion. It's gorgeous. The highs are shiny without any harshness, and there are no inherent midrange issues that need EQ. The proximity effect on this mic is quite pronounced, with dramatic tone shifts available by moving the microphone only a few inches closer to or farther from the sound source.

    I now feel like I have that one great mic my studio has been missing.

  • from PA March 20, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Writer, Recording Engineer

    Excellent Mic

    I was skeptical at first, but after using it, I was extremely impressed. The warm tones and bright highs were perfect. no distortion or that harshness like I get with the TM103 or AKG214... the thing is nice. I got the 2 other tubes for it too but didn't test them out yet

  • from Sedona, Az United States January 20, 2013Music Background:
    Music Producer/ Sound engineer - Star Tracks Recording

    Yessssss!

    having an assortment of mics from a rode NT1 to a Neumann U87 I was amazed of the sound that this beautiful mic puts out.. warm , clear, quiet
    think I read a review for past years and had been wanting it for female vocals mainly and did it ever pay off.. LOVE IT.. just get it .. you will not be disappointed..

  • from Washington, DC January 15, 2013Music Background:
    Studio Owner Producer/Engineer

    WOW!!

    I can not even describe in words how awesome this mic is/sound.. I was using my Rode NT1-A to record my daughter vocals & then decided to just switch & use the Avantone, oh boy was I in for a real rude awakening..! I was shock & surprise at the sound, the sweet warm sound that was coming from this mic.. This is an amazing mic & wih the right pre-amps 7 converters you will really hear how sweet the sound is coming from it...

    This Mic should cost more than what they are selling it for, I mean this is an all around winner. If you dont have the $1,000 & above for a big name brand mic than you'll be crazy not to get this for just $500 & it siunds better than some of the top $1,000 mics.. trust me you'll be very happy in making this choice.

    Thanks Tom, once again bro you hooked me up...

  • from Aguadilla, PR November 8, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    Warning... SUPER WARM!

    Be careful, this thing is WARM!
    very nice and easy on vocals, extremely rich on acoustics and used it once in omni to capture some drums... again, very nice results...
    the more I use it...the more I like it and understand it
    simple as that!

  • from LA, CA November 4, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer

    Surpassed my expectations

    I got to use this for a few weeks on a female singer for a very Paramour-like band. I'll admit, I thought this mic was a lot of hype and just a prettier Apex 460 like many other gear heads. But this is a wonderful sounding mic for $500. I don't know exactly what Avantone does behind the scenes to make this mic magical, but it's working. I know they use very intense quality control measures to make sure all the components meet their expectations. I've used actual C12's and several other clones from Peluso, Miktek, and Telefunken. This one held up well with them all, although the Miktek is my favorite, but less clone-ish than the rest of them. But this mic has every positive character you want from a C12 design. Very smooth high end (much more so than a u47 design), presence/forwardness that's impossible to eq into a vocal, and what I believe is its biggest attribute, that sibilance comes out smooth, unhyped, and fits in really well in a mix without a lot of de-essing. I think the build quality could be better, but maybe not for the money. Long story short, there's a reason there's a lot of buzz around this mic. An affordable C12 that actually sounds like a C12? Sign me up.

  • from United States October 27, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Yes Please

    Amazing product for the price. I am using it with a Universal Audio LA-610 and it sounds great on everything. The multi pattern function gives me a lot of room for experimenting. a must have

  • from Cincinnati, OH August 29, 2012Music Background:
    Commercial studio owner, Audio engineer, Pro musician

    A Beautiful Microphone (a C12VR killer)

    I own an AKG C12VR that I paid around $3K for new over 10 years ago. I had heard a lot of positive comments about this Avantone CV-12 and it's similarities to the AKG, so I tried one out. Side by side in blind listening tests I had a hard time determining which mic was which. I'd like to say the AKG is the better mic but that's probably because I paid considerably more for it. For what the AKG C12VR goes for "street" or "auction" price, you could get 3 of these NEW with a few bucks left over. If you want a C12VR, but are on a budget, or are trying to stretch your microphone dollar here you go! There are some very good lower cost mics out there these days and this mic is definately one of them!

  • from Indianapolis August 20, 2012Music Background:
    Pro

    Blown Away...

    I was skeptical of the reviews with a mic of this price. I had read the reviews and frankly can afford any mic I want. However I am thrifty by nature so I wanted to see this mic. I REALLY like this mic. My acoustic guitar sounds like I wanted it to since 1989 when we threw a Schoeps on it. This mic sounds expensive but isn't.

  • from Saratoga Springs, NY June 25, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Solid mic at a ridiculous price!

    I had my eye on this microphone for quite some time. After recording some acoustic tracks and not being happy with the sound I decided to give this a try. I needed a solid vocal mic and from the reviews I read this one seemed to fit what I was looking for.
    Well, I can say that vocals sound great through this mic and I can finally say that I have my acoustic guitar mic. The CV-12 picked up the room and the sound of the acoustic nicely. Having multiple polar patterns between the standard 3 patterns is also nice for sound shaping, it really helps you get the sound you want going in.
    I am very pleased with this mic. I have the Avantone CK-40 that I use as a stereo drum overhead mic, if I didn't have that I would consider picking up another one of these for drum overheads or possibly even just using them as room mics.

  • from Dallas,Texas February 3, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Awesome Microphone

    After reading many reviews for this mic I purchased it and gave it a spin. The nine polar patterns really make this mic shine. The frequency response changes slightly with the different patterns and you can tune in on a tailored made sound for the application. This mic is very sensitive and should be used in a quiet room, but can be used in a homestudio with a little preparation: (Turn off all appliances that produce noise,TV, Air Conditioner etc.) and make sure the neighbors dog isn't barking and the traffic flow is slow on your street when you try to record. A noise gate set around -60db can help knock down many background noises. The sound of this mic is fantastic, but if you sing off key you will know it as it tracks what you put into it. A lot of pro studios use this mic for female vocals, but it works equally well on male vocals with the right singer. It makes an acoustic guitar shimmer with pristine sound. As with all tube devices I would recommend a little tube burn in time. Mics are subjective and not one mic is right for everyone but this is a quality sounding mic for very little cash to speak of and hey it has recorded some Grammy winning records....

  • from Columbus Ohio December 30, 2011Music Background:
    Musician / Engineer

    WOW

    I was using an Octiva MK-319 and my recordings were OK but then I started using this mic and my recordings went to almost pro quality. I could not believe my ears. I also wanted to say that the sales staff was so helpful I must have called about 5 or 6 times getting information about different mics.

  • from Tampa. Fl November 5, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist in recording (on a budget)!! Play simi-pro around town.

    Avantone CV-12

    Jeffery recommended the Avantone to me as an upgrade from my AKG Perception. I told Jeffery that I mainly do 60ish recreations as a hobby and am starting to write some simple songs for fun. I give the Avantone a 4 only because I really have not worked with it enough to fully appreciate it. What I will say is that it has a warmer, full and natural sound compared to the Perception on my vocals and acoustic guitar. I can see where I will grow to love this mic with more usage; and the pricepoint was workable for me!

  • from Maryland September 23, 2011Music Background:
    Professional musician, recording and live sound engineer, and gear enthusiast (regardless of price range)

    Buy it!

    I bought this mike about a year ago and liked it so much, I bought another one. I have used it on accoustic guitarts, male rock and metal vocals, drums, and as a room mic. In all applications, it won hands down against all my other mics regardless of which pre-amp I chose. But for me, the real magic happened when I used it on a male rock vocal running into my 6176 pre. WOW!!! You can't go wrong with this mic.

  • from Atlanta, GA July 5, 2011Music Background:
    Recording / Live Sound Engineer

    Amazing Bang for Your BUCK!!!

    This microphone is an incredible buy at this price range and has been my go to microphone in my 25+ microphone arsenal (until I bought the Avantone BV-1, but still put them both in front of the artist). The quality of this mic is outstanding. Smooth vocals, brings out that intimate acoustic guitar sound that i love, and basically sweetens up anything you put in front of it. I recorded half of Sho Baraka's Lions and Liars Album with this mic and the other half was through a U87 into an Avalon. Both sound amazing. I now own my second CV-12 and will probably continue to buy a few more. You cannot go wrong with this mic regardless if you have a project studio or a multi-million dollar recording facility. You will always find a use for your Avant CV-12 in any and every session!!!

  • from Boston, MA January 15, 2010Music Background:
    R&B/Pop Singer/Songwriter, Recording Engineer

    The Truth of Music

    I am newly a gear junkie...I define that as a person who reads everything on a piece of equipment before buying. I ask friends, and go to all kinds of web-sites to find objective points of view on equipment.

    I had my eye on the Neumann TLM-103, TLM 102, Blue Baby Bottle, and BlueBird, Rode NT-2000, and AKG C214. What was I looking for? I want a professional sounding microphone. One that will sound crisp and clean on vocals before I even hit a processor. I never heard of the CV-12 before researching different companies. I assumed everyone already knows what the Neumann's, Blue's, and others offer. Let me look at these other companies and see what they have to offer.

    Within two hours of reading up on the CV-12, I bought it! There was no way I couldn't buy it. Everywhere I read (including here at Sweetwater), there was not a bad thing people could say about it. I'm still a person that likes hearing equipment before I buy, and I only found one youtube video of someone singing into this mic. They were German or something, but I could tell they loved it.

    I was sold when I saw Taylor Swift used this microphone to record her last album "Fearless", probably the biggest selling album of 2009. I don't sing country, but that is saying something when on of the world's biggest artist chooses a mic that sells for $500!! Just goes to show, it's about the sound, not the price.

    With all that said, the mic arrived in two days, and I am estatic over the results! I'm going directly into my Mbox2Mini onboard preamp, so I don't have an outboard pre (which is my next purchase), but it still sounds amazing! It sounds real! It represents who I am as a singer. Some mics have a certain tone that doesn't capture real. For instance, my other mic was the AKG Perception 420. The AKG sounds muffled compared to the CV-12. The CV-12 opened up my sound.

    The best thing I can say is for $500, you would be crazy not to get this tube microphone. One of my producers says my voice sounds great on a Blue mic, and there will come a time when I do get one of those too (remember, it's about preference and the sound that you want to hear and put out). But the CV-12 is like a gift to music. It's the truth. I can't wait to hear what it sounds like when I actually run it through a pre!!

  • from Los Angeles, CA October 10, 2009Music Background:
    Freelance Recording Engineer

    A worthy investment

    I've been recording for quite a while now, and I've had the opportunity to use some wonderful equipment (your standard gamut of Neumanns, fantastic Neve preamps, etc.)

    Unfortunately, none of that equipment is actually mine, it is the property of various studios. After hearing so many good things about this mic, I finally sucked it up and bought one (I don't like to spend a lot of money on gear, because I'm mostly using a rented studios gear and not my own). All I can say is...wow. I took it in to my next session at a fantastic studio east of Los Angeles, and we put it up against a Neumann U87 and a TLM49. Holy cow, this thing is gorgeous. The top end is a bit smoother than the U87; the TLM 49 was just too heavy in the mids and felt like it lost those smooth, dreamy highs (something I hadn't really noticed until it was compared to this mic). As stated in previous reviews, this mic excels when put in front of female vocalists.

    I take this one with me to all my sessions now, and it's my vocal mic of choice. In addition, it's got nine different polar patterns (Omni thru cardioid thru Figure-8, 3 "mixed" patterns between each one) to play with for applications other than vocals. I'm really considering grabbing another one and tossing them up in front of acoustic guitar or as drum overheads to see how they fare there.

    My only gripe about this mic is the fragility of changing tubes if you decide to try a NOS tube mod. I did it once with a NOS Russian tube and was scared I was going to break some wires on the tube socket, which is lightly held in place by a rubber disc in between the frame. But for sound quality, I don't think you could beat this mic for at least twice or even three times the price. It outshined two of my previous favorite vocal mics.

  • from South Louisiana May 19, 2009Music Background:
    Producer/Arranger

    All I Read is True

    I did a lot of research on this mic before buying it. The results say it's worth the money- by far. I gave it only four stars because of the switches (pad and roll-off) are pretty cheap looking- and acting. That aside, ...this thing is awesome sounding. My first two sessions confirmed that it's 'higher-end' sounding than the Neumann TLM-103 and AKG 414 that I've been using for vocals and acoustic guitar (and I aint slighting those great mics!). It's new and I can't say anything about the build quality regarding how long it will perform like it does now. But ya just can't go wrong with this thing.

  • from Denver, CO May 4, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician / Producer

    Fantastic

    I was recommended this by a guy I knew and pretty much just purchased it blind on his referral since the price point was so good. This mic definitely has that 'wow' factor. Got a really warm sound but with tons of air in the highs. Super detailed sound. I've used this on lead vox, background vox, electric guitars, acoustic guitars, percussion and everything sounds great through it. If you're on a budget and need one mic you can use on everything I think this is your best choice.

    I also have a Neumann TLM 49 I record with, but this wins in most applications unless you're going for lots of mid-presence. If I had to choose one to have it would be the CV-12 hands-down.

    This is not me hyping a product...I've tracked records through some of the best mic's in the world and this one hangs next to them.

  • from Nashville, TN March 4, 2009Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Wow

    I had heard some great things about this mic so I pick up one a few weeks ago and tested it on just about everything. It sounds really good especially with the price that it is at. It has a very warm sound but still keeps the presence that lot of tube mics lack. For a thin female vocal it is amazing when u put them right up on it and get the proximity effect into play it really thickens it up nicely. All in all for the features and sound quality it is a great mic for the price.

  • from January 3, 2009Music Background:
    Producer - Recording Engineer

    The Blind Test Winner

    This mic won me over in a blind test. It has an "open presence" that is missing in other mics in our cabinet. The top end on this mic is very smooth making it a go to for vocals. The nine patters make it versatile. It also shines on stringed instruments.
    We're not surprised to see that it was used for the vocals on the most recent Taylor Swift CD.
    The Avant CV-12 has been a great addition to our studio and a wise purchase. This is the mic that goes up first and is used in many applications.
    It also responds well to NOS tube mods.

Questions about the Avantone Pro CV-12?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close