rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Telefunken CU-29 Copperhead Reviews

5.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Telefunken CU-29 Copperhead?

Questions about the Telefunken CU-29 Copperhead?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Wyoming June 12, 2017Music Background:
    Musician, engineer and educator

    Copperhead is smooth as silk

    Used it on upright bass for a recent jazz session and fell in love its warmth and clarity

  • from April 12, 2017

    Amazing Microphone

    Amazing microphone. It sounds wonderful. High ends are so smooth, lows are there and the mids are powerful and present. Great for vocals and acoustic instruments. Worth every prnny.

  • from Chicago, IL January 26, 2017Music Background:
    Preacher musician and producer

    Great Mic

    I love it and use to preach online and to sing. This microphone gave me a user friendly way to get my message out to the world. I like telefunken's products and the next mic will be telefunken at the higher level.

  • from July 10, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer/Studio owner

    Female Vox

    I bought this mic just because I wanted the Telefunken Brand in my cabinet, I actually wanted the E LAM 251 but couldn't afford it at that point.

    But MAN !! this mic exceeded my expectations as an entry level mic, I recorded a soul/jazz female singer with it and was blown away with the clarity and depth of the Copperhead!

    It's my to-go mic for female vocals now.

  • from California July 4, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer and obsessive gearhead.

    Different tube, still a stellar mic!

    I purchased the Copperhead a few months back and was slightly disappointed to find that it came with the GE JAN tube instead of the diamond base 6AK5W as advertised. I inquired about this through my Sweetwater sales rep, Mark Chapman. Mark went the extra mile and contacted Telefunken. Their response is that they can no longer source the 6AK5W's and have chosen the GE tube as a suitable replacement.

    I can say that my initial impression of this mic is that it delivers on all claims. It is warm, smooth and needs little to no processing to sit perfectly within a very dense mix. The natural sounding mid bump is perfectly matched to an aggressive male vocal. The top end is clear and detailed but not abrasive like some LDC's tend to be.

    Though I am bummed that I did not receive the diamond base tube (which to me was one of stronger selling points), I do not regret my purchase and still find this to be one of the best mics I have ever heard.

    Thanks Mark! Sweetwater is the best for a reason!

  • from Indian Harbour Beach, FL June 18, 2016Music Background:
    Broadcast/Podcasts/VO

    Awesome for Voice Overs

    I previewed dozens of Mics at the June 2016 Gear Fest. The Telefunken CU-29 was best overall for my Bari voice. I own about a dozen different Mics. This one makes my voice come close to my desired sound of the Bari sax in Tower of Power. Ordering from my Sweeteater Sales Engineer.

  • from Chicago, Il June 5, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, song writer, producer.

    The Good Snake!!!

    This is a good purchase as my first microphone was the trusty old Rode K2. This mic is out of the rode mics league (not to trash rode in anyway) but it honestly sounds pure. I am honestly wondering what the higher level mics from telefunken sounds like. I am happy that I made the purchase. Please consider this mic with its competitors. My engineer, Joe, said it was a close race between this mic and the Mojave 300. I never heard the mic personally but I am happy to say that I got this microphone. Completely satisfied.

  • from Berkeley, CA April 4, 2016Music Background:
    Everything

    Best Rap Mic

    This mic is the best on rap vocals. Pair it with a 1073 style preamp and your there without overspending. I have a sibilant voice, but have 0 issues with sibilance on this mic. The neutral sound of this mic works great on rap vocals. It's has some of the flavor of a u47, but still sounds modern. For 1300 you can't find a better mic on rap vocals I guarantee you. Perfect for a project studio. They won't be able to tell you weren't in the big studio.

  • from Unknown January 29, 2016

    Subtle Killer

    As a previous review said, this mic naturally calms sibilance.. It doesn't hype any frequencies either.. Very natural tone with depth and raw (real) detail that grows on you as you realize it's versatility. The differences in sound I get from a Manley Core vs. LA-610 MkII vs. UFX pres are drastic, yet all very good.

    If you're looking for a spartan workhorse with a rare combination of sophistication and balls, this mic cannot be beaten for the price.

  • from San Diego, CA May 16, 2015

    Warm Silky Vocals!

    The Copperhead has a beautiful warm creamy sound for Vocals. Exactly what you would expect from a Telefunken Tube Microphone. But it also has a sweet top end as well. Very defined a and detailed. Not harsh sounding at all. In the past I always had sibilance issues with all of my other LDC's, but this mic took care of all that for me. I no longer need to use a De-esser on my vocal tracks. Tonally I'd say the Copperhead falls somewhere between a 47 and a 251. It's a warm mic, but it has a full range modern sound to it. The mids are awesome on this mic. Very little EQ is necessary for male vocals. I have not had a chance to use it on anything other than vocals yet, but I can tell that it will be great with acoustic and electric guitars. Don't be fooled by the inexpensive price tag, the Copperhead is every bit a Telefunken Microphone. There is none of that Fender/Squire stuff going on here! My sales rep. Jeff Bohan did an amazing job helping me select this microphone and his customer service is second to none. I highly recommend him and Sweetwater! Also, Telefunken's Customer Service is incredible! I had a situation where I accidently broke the included shock mount (my fault), and Telefunken replaced it ($100 value) for free immediately. Stop researching microphones and buy the Copperhead today! You won't regret it.

  • from April 10, 2015

    This Mic Is A Keeper

    The copperhead has a clear, realistic, flattering sound. Perfect for mordern vocals and it beats out the other nice in this price range in my opinion. This mic will truly last a lifetime.

  • from Chicago March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer

    Watch out, it's gonna "Bite"!

    I heard some mic shoot out videos on YouTube and the Copperhead was one of the mic's in it. I really liked what I heard from the Copperhead and, after some thought, I recently purchased it. This is easily one of the best additions to my studio. I've found this mic is exceptional on hip-hop/rock vocals because it gives vocals a great tone and adds some "bite" to it. It has a really nice mid-forward sound and smooths round highs. The bottom is full. The other thing I love about the Copperhead is that it also "de-esses" sibilance. I don't know how it does it but it 'naturally' just suppresses sibilance without damaging the vocals (hope that makes sense). So when it comes time to mix the vocals, I'll still use a De-Esser but the settings are way more subtle than what I'd normally have to use. For me, this has translated into a truly natural sounding vocal. It's an excellent mic if you're looking for "Bite" some tone and character! If that's NOT what you're looking for, then pass on this mic.

  • from miami, fl April 18, 2014Music Background:
    recording engineer

    beautiful and warm...

    having had friends a telefunken who actually designed this mic, i bought solely on their recommendation…and was simply blown away. it has that silky thermionic warmth, without the peculiar 3k bump that the AK47 has. works perfectly for lead vocals and for stacking background vocals…wonderfully quiet too! a great tube mic for not so much $$$

  • from February 23, 2016

    hIP HOP MIC

    This is a great mic, sits into the mix really well when doing hip hop. I have this mic ran into Avalon 737sp, UA1176, DBX 166XL into a avid quartet and I really cant hear the difference between a u87, u89, nor a manley ref mic. This is a good mic for home studio like mine.

Questions about the Telefunken CU-29 Copperhead?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway