rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Studio Projects CS5 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Studio Projects CS5?

Questions about the Studio Projects CS5?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from June 29, 2016Music Background:
    I play Bass-guitar

    Microphone

    Very good microphone for studio, I am very happy

  • from Ormond Beach June 13, 2015Music Background:
    18 Years as a Sound Engineer

    Great Little Mic

    What you put in you get out! Great for Acoustic Guitar and Vox. Please don't expect a coloured sound, it's just well balanced.

  • from Kenya July 27, 2014Music Background:
    Audio engineer

    A better mic than the price would lead you to believe

    Having lived with My Studio Projects CS5 for nearly two years now, I can say it belongs in the realm of great studio mics. It's sound is not hyped in any frequency; instead it's smooth and open and this makes it sound very focused. I use mine primarily for vocals, and occasionally on hand percussion and have found its transient response is very fast while still capturing plenty of tone in the trails. While its sound is truthful and uncolored, it also offers some very interesting possibilities for tone shaping with its low pass filter, which I use when layering vocals. Finally, 5 polar patterns is something I'd expect on an expensive dedicated tube mic power supply, but it's right here and all these things make my recording results that much better. This mic's tone is akin to much pricier microphones.

  • from May 1, 2014

    workhorse!

    This mic is amazingly versatile. I bought it because I needed a selectable polar pattern mic. The isolation is great with the figure 8 pattern when i do vocals and guitar together. I really really love the high and low pass filters. I can dial in exactly the tone I want, its amazing. For example with the 3k or 5k filter engaged the frequency curve is like a mellow ribbon mic, and I use this setting for getting natural, not overly bright sounding vocals (works good with my voice). The cs5 is like having a bunch of mics in one. Definitely a workhorse! Maybe ill get another one day.

  • from Pleasant Grove, UT USA February 19, 2013Music Background:
    Film Composer, Gigging Musician, Recording Engineer

    Fantastic Mic!

    Incredible microphone. Sounds fantastic on a huge variety of sources. It is, however (like many expensive mics) very, very heavy. I little tricky to position for that reason, but so worth the little extra hassle. Stellar, absolutely, stellar on alto range vox, no eq required.

  • from United States January 31, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Wow

    I've used a lot of microphones; but this one is the real deal! I would put this in the same class with mic's costing 5 times as much. Buy this and you will not be disappointed!

  • from waikoloa, Hi April 26, 2012Music Background:
    recording artist,producer,engineer..Musicians Institute!

    AMAZING WORK

    Again Studio Projects puts a Mic out that not only hits a homerun but also is a lot friendly to your wallet.. I here ppl say it ain't no neumann and theyre right for the most part. Because it doesn't cost your arm,leg and your first born. I've own this mic and the C1 and their VTB1 preamp and I am never not satisfied with the performance I'm getting. The CS5 has a bunch of low pass and hi pass filters. So if any of you say "hey the mics are too brittle on the high end or to rumbly on the low" then roll it off.. It either that or your just sticking your face way too much into the capsule! "Just saying".. I've used U87's in my studio as well as RODES and all that Jazz but I found a home with Studio Projects "No Doubt"..

  • from Staten Island, NY October 22, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Hip-Hop Producer, MC

    Unheard of shock value

    I dont own this mic, but at the AES 2009 convention in NYC, I had time not only to play around with this gem, but $5K and up Neumann's, AKG's, you name it. I've owned a C1 before and I found it to be ok. Good sound, nothing impressive (don't stone me C1 owners!). The highs were too brittle for my voice with the C1.

    I was NOT looking for this mic with intentions on testing it out. I was just in heaven, like everyone else with all that endless high-end gear around them, playing with everything I could get my hands on! I finally got to hear the C12, some Geffels, and a lot of goodies that I drool over in the magazines.

    Then came the Studio Projects booth. I remembered the C1 I used to have and decided to hear what these other budget mics sounded like. WOW! I'm telling you right now, honest opinion, not ONE mic in the WHOLE show gave me such a shock value as the CS family (CS1 and CS5). Listen, totally being unbaised, this is the only mic at the show that gave me a wow factor (ok, there was one other, the Milab DC196 - a rectangle diaphragm! @$1400).

    I was so blown away that I immediatly knew this was my next piece of gear. The high end was something I've never heard before. It sounded like there was an aural exciter on it and NO harshness. I kept telling the guy that this cant be. My jaw dropped.

    I've been recording hip-hop since 1997 and have messed with a bunch of gear. I'm a home studio owner, so those of you with a tight budget will appreciate this mic like it was your life-raft. Unbelievable. The second I get $350 up I'm purchasing this mic. I recommend this as a MUST LISTEN to any engineer out there. Worth putting against those high end beauties we all drool about.

  • from Los Angeles December 14, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The CS5 is a winner!

    I research Chinese mics for a long while b4 I purchased the CS5. Mic selection on a budget is all about finding the balance between cost and quality. I can confirm that the CS5 delivers the goods on both fronts. First off; it's a traditional large diaphragm condenser, unlike some other low cost Multi-pats that are advertised as such. The CS5 has a relatively low noise floor, good sensitivity, high SPL handling, and is VERY versatile. Besides sounding great, the CS5 is very well built and user friendly. It comes with a solid mount, wind screen, and rugged case. Kudos to SP! They've found the perfect balance between cost and quality.

  • from Washington, DC July 19, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Choral Application

    Many have used this mic for vocal recordings, acoustic guitar recordings, etc... I can tell you that a pair of these microphones perform surprisingly well when micing a choir. The trick is this: use them in an overhead spaced omni configuration. Engage the HPF at 75 and LPF at 15k. For an adult choir (standing in the usual "half moon" formation), space the mics about 8 ~ 9 feet apart, approximately 8 feet high, with the capsules about 8 inches in front of the first row of singers. When used like this, you'll get a very balanced, intimate, unified, and predictable sound. When it comes time to mix down, this direct sound blends extremely well with other accent and room mics, bringing added warmth and stability to the final product.

    If you're like me, you'll record ANYONE if they're paying customers (including choirs). At the price point of the CS5, getting a pair of them doesn't come close to destroying the bank account, and the results will testify to themselves on the first playback. Your clients will be happy, and happy clientele are your best friends.

    Overall, the CS5 a great investment to add to the microphone stash.

  • from Collegeville, PA April 9, 2009Music Background:
    Recording engineer, studio owner, pro musician

    Great Mic, super value!!

    Can't believe no one has rated this yet. As I have come to expect with SP, this is a great sounding mic. Unlike the C1 and T3 (both fabulous mics)which have their strong suits, this one does a great job on just about everything you point it at and is a particular favorite of mine on acoustic guitar (very accurate). Pair this with a nice pre and you will not be disappointed. This has to be one of the best values going right now in large diaphragm condensers. At $349, you can't go wrong.

Questions about the Studio Projects CS5?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway