0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Orange Crush CR120H 120-watt Head Reviews

5.0 stars based on 30 customer reviews
Questions about the Orange Crush CR120H 120-watt Head?

Questions about the Orange Crush CR120H 120-watt Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 25, 2017Music Background:
    Former gigging musician now hoarder

    Amazing

    Let me start by stating that I'm a gear hoarder. Yes I know it's an OCD disease. But i have a good job, and when I see a guitar or amp I must possess I just buy it. So now I have over 50 guitars and 30 amps in the house.....hey at least it ain't empty pizza boxes. Amp wise, i got several Marshalls, Boogie, Fender, Vox, Reeves, Soldano, EVH, and on and on. All tube. For the price of this i had to try it. Believe me, folks, when I tell you, Orange has nailed this. The reviews are correct.....this comes so close to the sound and response of a tube head you will be shocked. And for the price of two pedals, it's one of the biggest bargains here. Of course if cash is no object, I'd get the real McCoy.....or get this and with leftover get a Clapton Strat!!

  • from Downer April 5, 2017Music Background:
    Pro

    Best Money I have spent

    The amp is amazing, it takes pedals like a dream, and low end, my 7 string in dropped c sounds so evil...

  • from March 11, 2017

    The epitome of tone.

    I've been longing to have an orange half stack ever since I was fifteen. I decided on this head after watching numerous videos on YouTube. The wait of all those years (8) was definitely worth it to leave Marshall behind. This head is incredible! The head's clean channel has just blown me away not only by its impeccable tone, but also its responsiveness. I run the head through an Orange Crush Pro 4x12 cab and I get just as excited every time I play it just as I did the first time. I've never used an amp's dirty channel but rather rely on distortion pedals for grit, therefore I can't really comment on its dirty channel. However, I can say it handles effects pedals perfectly and I love when I turn on my distortion, though I'm sure the neighbors don't. The search for that perfect tone can be daunting but if you're looking for a clean tone that can't be described other than the epitome of tone, pick this head up! Any gear head will love the analog circuitry so that's also a plus. I know for sure that I will be sticking with this head, and Orange in general, for the rest of my musical career. I would replace it in a heartbeat if something ever happened to it. Plus, the fact that it has a perfect rating on here can't be a coincidence.

  • from December 17, 2016Music Background:
    Audio engineer

    A great amp

    I was very skeptical in the beginning so I bought this only as a back up for my tube amps and for using as a practice amp to save tube life. Cr120 sounds great and it is all analogue! The dirty channel is amazingly as great as many good tube amps' high gain channel and it reaches to a point where even trained ears wouldn't distinguish if this is a solid state amp when listening in a song. The difference between a top notch tube amp and this is however obvious when compared directly in single track. I tried many SS amps that emulate something or that claim to have a tube sound and all came and went. This just stays!!! The weakest point of this amp is the clean channel like many other orange amps with no surprise. I wouldn't recommend it for the clean channel though. Pointless to compare to a great tube amp if you can afford it and maintain it because the comparison would be between apples and grapes but it is a great amp on its own. You appreciate it even more if you buy a 3k tube amp and spend $ to change the power tubes every year or get frustrated with blowing fuses and end up searching a maintenance facility close by:)))) So it's a no brainer!

  • from August 16, 2016

    The Future of SS amps

    I am writing this review after a year of frequently gigging and practicing with this amp.

    So right off the bat, a few recommendations:

    If you're not a metal player, use a strat-type guitar. Anything with single coils. It allows to you explore past the dark clean channel Orange is known for. Dirty channel with a strat will restrict you to vintage tones, but it absolutely nails them. Sounds better than any of the Marshall JCM series heads.
    With a LP,I had to dime the treble. the clean channel is just so dark and sounds like your guitar tone knob is dimed. With a strat you've got a much more dynamic clean channel.

    Now, if you're a metal person... This amp will get so heavy if you know what you're doing. The cr120 is not far from the Rockerverb at all. In fact, in recordings you can't tell the difference. Put a Fulltone OCD pedal in front of this thing just as a little boost and it screams. Check out Ryan Fluff's review of the amp on youtube.

    A Cabinet:
    At home I play this amp through a ppc112 cab. Yes I know it's risky, but I never turn it up at home. When I'm with the band, I'll play it through a Mesa 412 and the master volume never goes past 4. This thing pushes some SERIOUS AIR. Really, it sounds like a different animal through a 412.

    I absolutely love this amp. You really can't tell that its not a tube. It sounds better the more you turn it up.

    If you want to see more videos of it in action, go to Dave Simpson's channel on youtube. Fantastic vids (50+ of them) that showcase the amp.

  • from Paducah June 2, 2016

    TONE

    Awesome amp! Tone is great. Closest sound I've ever had to a tube head. Really great cleans really nice dirty channel. Lots of room to get it dialed it to exactly what you want. A great amp with lots of power.

  • from Cincinnati, OH April 18, 2016Music Background:
    Former Professional, Hobbiest

    Really Good

    I've always been a fan of the Orange amps. They have a unique bite to their tone. I was really surprised to hear it in this solid state amp as well. For the last 6 years I have been playing a Peavey XXX through a Marshall 1960a cab. My biggest question with this amp was could it satisfy me going from tube to solid state. It does... From most reviews I have read it seems it gets great reviews on everything except metal. I believe it does this best. It's not as saturated as a Triple rectifier or a Peavey XXX. It has more pronounced defining tone. It does sound very similar to the Rockverb. This will be my main amp and the first time it has not been tube in decades.

  • from Blono illinois March 1, 2016Music Background:
    Music degree, illinois state

    Orange cr120h

    This head just screams! My main head, so impressive I have both my guitarists buying one...well done Orange, well done!

  • from texas February 14, 2016Music Background:
    metal guitar 23 years

    best amp I've played in years

    I've been a tube guy pretty much my whole musical career. This amp sounds just like it has tubes in it. Best solid state amp ever made. Hands down.

  • from February 4, 2016

    Luscious Tone!

    This amp is all about producing warm, accurate, and detailed tone. I've played a lot of amps in my day. Solid state, tube, digital, etc., but this amp sticks out. It easily competes with some amps that cost much, much more. If you're a blues, jazz, or classic rock player, then look no further! $450 for this is an absolute steal, and I'm amazed by the fact that there aren't any tubes in it.

  • from Marietta, GA September 24, 2015

    It sounds amazing!!!

    This is definitely the best Solid State Amp in the market, nobody can't beat the price. Very well made high quality construction and the most important thing, you don't have to worry about tubes and expensive maintenance any more!

  • from Fort Worth, Texas September 23, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby

    It's just sick!

    I'm currently running this head through an Mesa 4x12 angled cabinet. The cabinet has celestion vintage 30's in it. It sounds fantastic. I have also ran it through my carvin, closed back, 2x12 cabinet with celestion vintage 30's. It sounds just as good, but with a little less bass.

    In addition, I have it hooked it up "4 cable method" with the boss GT-100 effects unit. No issues with the effects loop, works just as good as my Carvin V3m tube head.

    I am very pleased with the tone of the Orange Crush 120H and will be using this to save tube hours on the Carvin V3m head. A matched "JJ" set of pre-amp and power-amp tubes is about $100, which could easily pay for the Orange Crush 120 head in a year of heavy use.

    The only thing that Orange could do better, would be two offer a 3 channel setup, like my Carvin V3m. If they did, I would pay more to have that feature.

    Cheers!

  • from September 21, 2015

    Orange CR-120

    Running it through Marshall 4x12 at the moment. Orange got it right with this head; sounds like a tube, but it's a solid state, so great tones with reliability. It's a win win at a great price, buy this head!

  • from July 11, 2015

    Outstanding

    Been using a Marshall JCM 2000 for years. Picked this up for gigging to save wear and tear on that and now....I have a Marshall for sale.

  • from Texas June 9, 2015Music Background:
    Studio hound, tone seeker

    Orange Goodness

    I've read a lot of reviews, watched a ton of videos and studied this amp head extensively before making the decision to try it for myself. I have to say I'm thoroughly impressed with the work and effort that the minds at Orange put into this amp. 100% analog Solid State from Orange Amplification puts a smile on my face a mile wide.
    Based on the Rockerverb series, you can definitely identify RV tones and vibe. Certainly the tones you derive from the CR120 will be based on the cab you run through it. I'm using a closed back solid birch Emperor 212 8ohm with Celestion V30s, and it sounds other worldly.
    I'm in love with the clean tones dialed up around 10:00ish - 12:00ish. There is an ever present dirt factor from 12 up that will take your cleans from pristine to killer breakup.

    Completely analog, save for the digital reverb circuit, this amp would fool many tone snobs and tube aficionados. The reverb is brilliant, and you can select between spring, hall or plate. On the dirty channel, beginning around 1:00 - 3:00 you'll be treading into Tony Iommi land. It just gets super squishy from there (in a very good Orangey squishy way). The more master volume you heap the thicker and more tube-like the response. However- it is not a tube amp- but really once we start talking Rokerverb vibe this thing comes really close to achieving just that.
    Side by side with a RV you will hear the difference... However it is tube maintenance free and will serve well in my studio or as a backup. I will be using this for more than just a back up, trust me.

    Jon at Sweetwater was awesome in my customer service experience, calling me to let me know when it would be in and then following up to let me know it was on it's way. Nothing but love for the guys at Sweetwater!

  • from Fla April 3, 2015Music Background:
    50 year pro

    CR12 H

    After playing tube amps for 50 years I've finally found a good solid state to take there place. You can use the dirty channel and just roll back the guitar's volume to clean it up. The best was when a guitar player from the crowed said it sounded like 2 AC 30's. I paired it with a 2x12 ob from Orange.. I highly recommend.

  • from NEW SALISBURY, IN March 24, 2015Music Background:
    Old Rocker

    Orange CR120-H

    Being a Guy who grew up in the late 60' and 70' their were tons of Solid State Amps. I used Sunn Concert Lead' Acoustic Control' Kustom' solid state amps. They all were loud but had just horrible gain or crunch' In the day they were decent we thought. But this new Orange has to be heard to be beleived. I have many Tube Heads' Marshall' Univox' Fender' Engl' ect but this new CR120 just sounds great. A real thick crunchy sound. I think I like it better than my Marshall. The reverb is excellent also. I am using it with 2 Avatar cabs with Vintage Celestron 12in speakers. The sound is just killer. And the price is hard to beat. Thanks Sweetwater for your fast shipping and support from Ty. Thanks Bob

  • from February 6, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Outstanding Amplifier

    I have always been interested in solid state amps for all of the usual reasons: low maintenance, cost, reliability, etc. But I've never found one that sounded good enough to be my main amp. This amp is the exception. The hype is real. This amp could be double the price and still be worth the purchase. Now-- one thing to keep in mind: it is still a solid state amp and the response is still very solid-state-- but this amp in particular has a very refined response. Additionally, the tonal characteristics on the gain channel rival many all-tube amps that have four digits in their price tag. The only criticism I have for this particular amp is that the clean channel does not have that pristine quality that many other big-name solid states do-- but let's be honest: you don't buy an Orange for the cleans, you buy them for the gain channel-- and in that respect this amp delivers... Orange set the bar pretty high here and other manufacturers would do well to sit up and pay attention.

  • from September 7, 2014

    Sounds Awesome.

    The tones you can dial in with this thing! I play Versatile styles from Jazz, Rock, and a little bit of metal. It has very nice cleans, turn up the bass knob to get that nice jazz tone.

    The stages of gain on the dirty channel are pretty tasty. The reverb is just right. This thing can get so loud! You won't be disappointed if you want good value.

  • from nc March 28, 2014Music Background:
    experinced musician 10+ years of band gigging

    an orange monster

    Blows all other solid states away. Best bang for the buck.

  • from malden,ma March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    AWESOME

    I was totally blown away by this amp. The best thing; cr120 has the warmth of a tube amp but its a solid state. Probably the best solid state amp out there. The clean channel is bright and chimey and you can overdrive it using its master volume. The dirty channel has 4 stages of gain and responds very nicely to pick and to fingers. I was running it through a 2x12 marshall cab and cr120 sounds incredible. The digital reverb is very nice and adds a nice feature to the amp. the reverb is the only digital part of this amp.No hiding behind his amp,its you and your playing and your guitar. Thanks Cliff Cooper and Adrian Emsley for adding an affordable "rockerverb" to the line.

  • from Phoenix February 19, 2014Music Background:
    Singer, Guitarist, plays in a band professionally.

    One hell of an Amp

    When I got this amp I had decent expectations for it, considering its a Orange Amp, but what I got exceeded my expectations. Don't underestimate this amp even thought it does not have tubes. BEST SOLID STATE AMP I HAVE EVER PLAYED BY FAR. It is light years ahead of any solid state I've played. I just used it in a large outdoor show with my band and it easily kept up with my lead guitarist's Crate Blue Voodoo. The tone is amazing, and it handles pedals like a champ. Clean is great, and the dirty channel has amazing range in the gain. You can do anything from Jazz to Metal with this amp. The reverbs are also very good. If you are looking for a great sounding amp that wont break the bank, or a solid backup that you can rely on, this is it. I would suggest this amp to anyone, it is well worth the price.

  • from IL January 9, 2014Music Background:
    experienced in guitar and singing

    Way To Go Orange

    I have known about the Orange company now for a while but was never that crazy about the orange tolex covering. Then one day I stopped in at a local music store and the owner had the little OR15 tube amp head. He asked me if I had ever played thtrough an Orange amp and I shook my head no. I plugged in a Fender Squier Tele and BAM! This thing ROCKED! It is a great little beast but it had the orange covering and I was looking for something with 2 channels and in a different colored covering and he said that he had the CR120H in a black covered cab. This thing is sweeeet! NO tubes and built like a tank. The chassis is thick gauge steel with well thought out build quality and components with NO knob looseness or jack looseness and no headphone jack to short out and cause speaker to cut in and out like the Fender Mustang III V.1 that I had. Impressive clean channel and tubelike dirty channel. I bought it based on the sound and build quality of the OR15. I think Orange has got me hooked and I will most likely buy more Orange products in the future. Thank You ORANGE!

  • from June 16, 2017

    Versatile Powerhouse

    I was looking for a high power amp head to use as a solid clean platform into a Fender Bassbreaker 2x12" cabinet I own, and the CR120H did not disappoint. It has tons of headroom and pairs nicely with my small gigging pedal board (Keeley Super Phat Mod overdrive, Keeley 4-knob compressor, TC Spark Mini Boost, EHX Holy Grail Nano, Boss TU-3) to make a variety of clean to moderate overdrive tones. Despite expecting not to use it, the on-board dirty channel is very usable with a wide range of sounds available. The build quality is solid; the pots rotate smoothly without crackles, the 1/4" jacks hold cables securely, and the chassis is very thick steel.

    Criticisms? Mine has a strong glue odor, most likely a result of being wrapped up for shipping shortly after production, but it is slowly dissipating from sitting out. The reverb selector switch feels a little flimsy, but it is tucked between knobs taller than itself for protection so I am not too worried. Also, the included IEC power cable didn't really feel that secure in the amp's socket, so I am using a better one from my cable collection. Nothing major to report.

    Overall, it's a great amp at a great price and I look forward to performing with it every week!

  • from Arkansas December 20, 2016

    Get one!

    I love this head! It is versatile and simple. Great tone that is, as you've heard before, full of warmth. The only reason I don't give 5 stars is because my taste wishes it was just a wee bit brighter, but I've been able to reach my goal with additional EQ. I play in stereo with my Marshall and the result is just phenomenal.

  • from Chicago September 27, 2016

    Amazing

    Sounds amazing and super easy to use and nice to use with pedals.

  • from Hampton, TN August 19, 2015

    Orance Chrush

    Great product! Exceeded my expectations.
    Thanks for a great product.

  • from Moon, PA July 13, 2015Music Background:
    15+ years guitar/bass

    Orange CR120H

    Great amp with plenty of power. The clean channel works very much like one on a tube head in the sense that the more you crank it, the more it breaks up and gives a bit of grit to the clean tone. The dirty channel is great for the vintage dirty tones. I prefer a more modern distortion sound so I had to do a bit of research prior to buying this to make sure I could get the sound that I preferred. With little effort I was able to get what tone/distortion that I like. I paired this with the Orange PPC212-OB cabinet and they couldn't be more perfect for each other.
    Like I said earlier, I did have to put some effort into getting a more modern distortion tone so if you like that as well, definitely try it out before you buy it.
    I love solid state heads and am very happy that Orange finally made one. It sounds killer and is built like a take.

  • from Bradford, PA USA March 9, 2014Music Background:
    20 year musician

    Great Amp

    This thing is awesome. I had been looking for a solid state amp for awhile, didnt want the expence of tubes and care. Ran across the Orange 120 and just was blown away. If you are looking for an inexpensive alternative to tubes you will not be dissapointed. I would recomend this amp to everyone!

  • from Arroyo Grande, Ca January 20, 2014Music Background:
    primary keyboards, piano, secondary guitar--classical & progressive rock

    Built like a tank, all their gear is.

    This is subjective as always. It has plenty of power for pretty much a large show if need be. The overdrive is like a pallet of colors. Their all different but no rules. Its very powerful and different from other amps. Compare it to my present arsenal of bogner, blackstar,vox marshall, fender. That is why I have a variety and most do. It has warm cleans but not sterile. It sounds like two different amps in a theil mesa 1x12 and then marshall 4x12. Bottom line is it occupies a unique avenue of needed sound for the guitar. Great deal here.

Questions about the Orange Crush CR120H 120-watt Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway