0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Yamaha CP33 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
  • from United States April 13, 2014Music Background:
    producer, songwriter, technician

    killer piano

    The keys on this feel like butter, and the grand piano sound is just gorgeous. I took off half a star because you can't save your sound tweaks, it resets to defaults every time it's turned off. And also a few of the stock sounds are laughable. But the basics are there: piano, and a serviceable electric piano or two, strings and bass if you need them all sound fine and gig-worthy. The choir, synth, and organ seem silly to me. The vibraphone and marimba are nice. I'll be supplementing with synth modules and samples for my additional sounds. But as a piano/keyboard this is among the best. Half-pedal action, 64 note polyphony, mod and pitch wheels, easy MIDI control by USB or standard DIN midi cable. My other favorite thing is it's built "like a tank" it really seems road worthy, in fact mine was banged up in the mail, and took it. The insides are beautiful Japanese looking work as well. Yamaha sells parts for these, too, if you need them, so it's nice to know they back it up. In my estimation this is about as good as it gets in the crowded low-mid price digital piano market, especially in regards to the feel, build quality, and basic sound quality, it's really a magical instrument. It even looks nice. It doesn't have dozens of sounds, but, crucially, the key sounds here are of high quality. Even the reverb is decent. Much nicer overall than my other Yamaha, a YDP-223. I only dream of the CP-1!! Or a full workstation.

  • from November 14, 2013Music Background:
    Film/TV Composer

    After much searching, exactly what I needed.

    After owning a classic Yamaha KX-88, I was looking for a newer Yamaha keyboard with good keybed action.

    I wasn't happy at all with any of the current keyboards on the market (hated the Yamaha P-105/P-155, Akai MPK88 felt cheap and rattled, Roland keys felt nice but were overpriced and had too many additional controls that I felt were superfluous for my needs)

    I also didn't have enough space to use a big boat anchor like the CP-300 but LOVED the key action on it. When lo and behold I found this beauty, the CP33, I found out it has the same keybed as the CP-300. This also has the perfect blend of USB/MIDI out, onboard sampler, transpose function, pitch & modwheel, and a flat top where you can put a computer keyboard and trackball, etc. All for $1k!

    A stroke of brilliance, this is my first recommendation to anyone who is looking for a studio keyboard to use for computer DAWs.

  • from Caribbean October 3, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Desert island piano

    If you play the piano and need a road worthy trusted friend to carry you through night after night of banging, tickling, caressing, thumping, chopping and even foot clobbering, this stage piano is the one to have in front of you. The sound and responsiveness is everything you need for any genre. The grand piano is just wonderful and so is the rhodes patch. Simple , reliable and built like a tank, Yamaha CP-33 - the ultimate road warrior.

  • from Grapeland TX August 26, 2013

    Exactly What We Needed

    Purchased this to replace the keyboard at church. Looking for something with good piano sound, 88 keys, and that had the feel of a piano while staying on a budget. Receives high score from all the keyboard players.

  • from California April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Gospel Vocalist

    The Yamaha CP33

    Really great Keyboard;has that Grand piano keyboard feel.

  • from Minnesota January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer / Pro Musician

    Review of the Yamaha CP33

    There were two things I flat out did not like about this item. The bottom panel of the piano is a type of particle board. I would have preferred to have at least made it a more durable plastic or metal.
    The other thing is the sample phasing. Sometimes I can hear the sample wobbling with the sustain which can be very distracting in a live intimate setting.

    Don't get me wrong though. I love the realistic feel and weight of the keys as well as the MIDI capability. The sounds are nice. I was looking for a realistic feeling stage piano and that is exactly what I got. It does sound amazing with the exception above and has a good variety of sounds for a basic piano/ keyboard.

    I have always been a Yamaha fan and these issues will not detour me in the future. I suppose I will have to look at a higher price point if I am looking for better samples and a better built item.

    I bought this as an addition to my studio for artists to use for preproduction and performance. So far so good.

  • from Ontario Canada November 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobby

    Don't waste any time looking... This is the one for you

    I have owned many of the current piano kb,s and without doubt, this one is the best bang for your buck bar none. Beats Roland and Korg for the same type of kb for almost half the price. get one before they are all gone.. Or Yamaha increases the price by adding a couple of buttons.

  • from Provo, UT USA October 30, 2012Music Background:
    Film Composer for 30 years

    My Yamaha CP33-Works as Advertised-Love it

    I reciently purchaced the Yamaha CP33 from Sweetwater to replace my older Kurzweil PC 88. I use the CP33 as a controller. My system consists of workstation computer and two slave computers playing my sample library(s). My main requirement with this controller is for it to feel like a grand piano when I perform/sequence my midi based compositions. I am mainly a film composer and have to work fast. The CP33 does not let me down. It feels even better than the Kurzweil. It comes with a sustain pedal. I added a expression pedal from Sweetwater for greater expression in the performances of the library sounds. When I received the Yamaha CP33 I opened the box, pulled out the keyboard plugged it in and went to work. In the month I've had it I've composed some new works and the CP33 hasn't let me down. I love it! Get one for yourself.

  • from Bainbridge, GA September 28, 2012Music Background:
    Band Director, Choral Director and String Instructor

    Better than expected

    The Yamaha CP33 is a great and simple keyboard. I used two Behringer
    studio monitors and the piano sound was outstanding. I used this with a
    chorus class and needed a weighted key feel with a full 88 keys and every
    piano player that I've let try it out liked it.

  • from Gastonia March 27, 2012Music Background:
    Minister of Music/Keyboard Player

    Great Stage Piano

    I've been using the CP300 for a few years now and love everything about the keyboard except the weight(72lbs). The CP33 is a great light weight keyboard with good piano, rhodes and strings. It's not the CP300 but sounds and feels really good. I believe I have found a good light weight keyboard for the stage.

  • from Burlington, Ontario, Canada November 30, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist and ex semi pro.

    Yamaha CP33

    I have owned several Yamaha and Roland stage pianos. Got the CP33 a few eeks back to try out and kept it. Same as other reviews, the keyboard is excellent. Just right and very easy to play for a full hammer action. The two volume sliders are excellent for blending two tones either split or layered and this really leads to some interesting possibility combining accoustic with EP tones. The piano tones IMHO are amongst the very best I have played. Strings are also very good and combine nicely with layered piano. The layout is so simple and intuitive. I did not need to read the manual until I wanted to change some midi settings. BTW it was easy to sync up with my midi modules and arranger module which I use for solo gigs.
    This is a piano for discerning players. It is not an organ or synth. It does a great job for what it is designed to do and at this price you won't go broke paying for it. I should add, it is not too heavy and is built with good materials. Feels like it will take some abuse if you are a road warrior. If you want a fairly simple KB with top quaility tones, get it! If you want thousands of synthy sounds or organ like sounds, get something else. I have the CP33 as a foundation and my Hammond SK1 on top as my lead instrument. The combination just about covers it all. BTW, I can play this KB for hours without getting tired hands. I just wanna keep playing it!!!

  • from Folsom, CA October 9, 2011Music Background:
    Pro, author

    The Best

    I have been playing piano and producing for 30 years. This is bar none the best electronic keyboard I have ever owned for two simple reasons:

    1. The key action is unparalleled. If you love to play you are never going to want to stop playing these keys.They are to die for. I wish every manufacturer CARED about piano this much to provide such a beautiful set of keys. The first time I played them out of the box was like playing a grand for the first time

    2. More importantly:THIS is THE piano sound you have always wanted in your studio.The piano is downright GORGEOUS. Crystal clear. Brilliant tone. Nuanced hammer sound effects. AMAZING dynamics from whisper quiet Chopin to banging , raucous rock and roll. I can just see the best of the best players demanding this and only this keyboard on the stage. It is a PLAYER'S dream. The electronic keys, organs, etc are also off the hook.

    Oh, and it has a metronome. Are you kidding me? Simple but a major feature for students and pros alike.

    TRUE piano players will appreciate this board like no other. I cannot get enough of it. I play it constantly.My wife says it sounds "gorgeous". The CP is addictive. Once you start playing you won't be able to stop

    Best Yamaha product I have ever owned bar none. THANK YOU YAMAHA

  • from Denver, CO July 6, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Yamaha CP33

    I was looking for a stage piano light weight for transporting to and from shows 4-5 times a week. It need to compliment my style of playing and have Yamaha graded hammer action and had to be simple to used. I got it with the CP33. It has outstanding feel and sound on the acoustic piano side and fantastic electric piano patch with just enough variations on all patches to get what I need, I let my full blown synths do the seq and other work when needed. If you are looking for a piano with great sound and the famous Yamaha graded hammer action, look no further.

  • from Beirut, Lebanon March 5, 2011Music Background:
    Pianist

    Best choice for its price

    After almost a year using the cp-33 i can easily say that it's one of the greatest stage piano for the most affordable price.
    The feeling of the keys is unique. I would say the closest feeling to a grand acoustic. I play classical music, and i'm able to practise many hours daily without disturbing the house. I only use the main piano tone which is absolutely beautiful.
    I found only one negative aspect with the sustain pedal. You can notice that a the end of a song, the fade out is either to slow or even never ends, so i have to cut the sound always at the end and not wait for the natural cut of the sustained notes. And i didn't understand why there wasn't a factory music stand in the box.
    If your budget is that average, don't even think of another stage piano. CP33 will grant you great piano feelings.

  • from Milan Tennessee October 28, 2010Music Background:
    Professional recording and touring musician

    A great keyboard buy

    I have been a professional keyboard player for many years and have to say this is one of the best feeling keyboards I have ever played. The samples have a little after ring to them on the brighter settings but not bad enough to be annoying. The grand piano sound alone is worth the price of the keyboard. I also own a S90es and prefer playing the CP33 as far as feel of the keys is concerned. As a bonus it is a great controller. I highly recommend it.

  • from Knoxville, TN USA September 26, 2008Music Background:
    Student, Teacher

    A pianist's piano

    I use the CP-33 for classical music and a little jazz and blues as well. Grand Piano 1 is quite balanced (not too bright or dull) and reacts expressively to my playing. Keyboard action is very subjective, but I personally like Yamaha’s firm and solid feel (as compared to Roland’s lighter feel).

    The tiny screen is hard to decipher, so better keep your manual close by! The pitch bend wheel, while a nice addition, doesn’t seem to be calibrated well, as there seems to be a lot of “dead space” at the top and bottom of the range. So as a MIDI controller it may be less than perfect.

    If all you want to do is pound or caress the keys, than this instrument is worth checking out.

Questions about the Yamaha CP33?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway