rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Yamaha CP300 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha CP300?

Questions about the Yamaha CP300?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Wheaton, IL USA February 20, 2013Music Background:
    Classical Musician and Teacher

    Practicing has never been so rewarding.

    I have owned the Yamaha CP300 for several years now, and it has transformed my practicing. The "feel" of the keys is so realistic, yet the volume of sound can be set to levels my ears can handle.

    Everything about this keyboard is first rate - the piano sounds, the action, pedal inputs, and overall durability. If you take your practicing seriously, do yourself a favor and buy one of these. It is worth every penny.

  • from Bend, OR USA December 11, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The Perfect Performing / Touring Piano

    I'll start by saying the one little negative I have about this piano: the sheer weight: to some that's good, to me, it's acceptable, but it is cumbersome: NOW besides that, the feel, sound, usage, voice editing, everything is spot on. I've been waiting for mine for a long time, and I finally got to order one and have one all of my very own, well worth the wait!

    As a pianist, I wanted to feel like I was playing a piano, the onboard speakers gives me that in your face piano sound, so the feel of the piano is really GREATLY affected, even with stage monitors, you get a little fill above the piano, to feel very realistic.

    Great sounds, 128 voices. . so the polyphony won't ever die off, plenty of room to play. I cant' say enough about this rig.

  • from N Z December 10, 2008Music Background:
    Long time keyboard player

    Not Disappointed

    Had the CP300 for a while at home and have been very happy. Finally used it for a gig (despite the weight!) and wow - the best keyboard for live work I have used. People came up and said things like - "you make it sound so like a piano" - weird I thought it was!
    Great to cut through the band (in stereo) and great in solo spots.
    That said I tend to like a bright (and sometimes gritty) piano and this does not disappoint. Particularly good for rock and blues. I love it!

  • from Lakeland, FL USA July 31, 2008Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Simply The Best

    I have played piano with country legends and gospel greats since 1979 and have owned nearly every make and model avaiable. This piano is simply the best I have ever played. I came up through the ranks; from the YAMAHA CP series of the seventies, to the digital pianos of the eighties; even the YAMAHA P200, P250, and now this one! I love this piano. Everywhere I perform people approach me and say, "What is that keyboard you are playing?" If you want your songs to be full of the sweetest acoustic piano sounds ever heard, get this piano! You won't be dissapointed!

  • from Mount Horeb WI June 6, 2008Music Background:
    Keyboard performer.

    This Is The Best Keyboard for Real Piano Players

    Yamaha got it right on this one if you want something that actually feels like a real grand piano and sounds like one too. Their keyboard action and piano sound is far superior to the Roland RD series. I have both of them.

  • from Wallingford, CT March 28, 2008Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer

    The Perfect Piano

    Absolutely thrilled with this purchase ! I always wanted to have a piano in the house, but without the bulk, expense, and hassle of owning an acoustic piano. I also wanted a good quality sounding piano / controler for recording in my home studio. The CP300 is without question the perfect answer. The Grand Piano sound on the CP300 is as good as any I've heard on any workstation, keyboard, or even acoustic piano for under $10,000. Yamaha has also included several other quite useable pianos, as well as a really nice variety of digital pianos, organs, and strings to round out the presets. (You certainly won't get that with an acoustic piano) They've also included high quality stereo XLR outs, which makes it perfect for recording. You'd need a $10,000 piano, $2000 in mics, and a million dollar room to get better results on your own. It never needs tuning, I can play with headphones when the baby is asleep, it costs a LOT less than most acoustic pianos and takes up a LOT less space. It's a little too heavy and bulky for me to think of using it as a "STAGE PIANO" (unless you have a tour bus and your own roadie), but overall an exceptional product.

  • from Brooklyn, NY June 15, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Great Feel, Good Sound

    I fell in love with the CP250 a few years ago when I got the chance to play it at one of my Church posts. The feel of this keyboard is amazing. As a classically trained pianist, I was always frustrated playing keyboards because they never felt right. Now I own a CP300 and I play a Steinway Grand at my current church post and as hard is it is to believe, the CP300 is still my preferred key bed. Obviously nothing beats a Steinway but for this price, its amazing to think of the amazing feel you`re getting.

    My only "complaint" about the CP300 is the menu window which is tiny in relationship to the amount of available space. You`ll need to scroll through pages to tweak a sound. When you consider the amount of available space, Yamaha could have made the window much larger and minimized scrolling. A window size like the one on a Korg Kronos for example would have been nice.

    All in all, the CP300 is a heavy beast that can take a beating. Not sure how much I would enjoy carrying this around if I gigged with it but its a road warrior.

  • from Long Island, New York July 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Prof of Music

    Fantastic (Heavy) Piano

    I was a little nervous buying a stage piano on-line, so asked my favorite Sweetwater Rep how this worked, and he said: You buy it; I send it; you love it.

    He was so right. I love this instrument! My main gig is as keyboardist for a singer-songwriter, and I have always played a real (acoustic) piano when I can. So that was the first priority, a really good piano sound, with realistic feel, and touch -- we use a lot of sudden dynamic shifts, and most electric pianos just couldn't produce the range required with just changes in finger pressure. But I also play some left-hand bass, so needed good bass sounds, etc. Wanted layers, too.

    I have to say, everything about this piano (except one, which I'll get to) is superb. Great internal speakers (we rehearse with just the onboard system, which even does a good job with the bass). I love the on-board slider EQ; who needs to be looking through sub-pages when you suddenly realize at a gig that you need just a *bit* more highs? Both 1/4 inch and XLR outputs, so I can go to the board AND have output to my stage monitors. (I use a pair of Mackie 350s for this, which have both sets of input, so I am set for whatever the sound guy needs.) Oh, yes, and audio input: I run organ emulation software and a separate keyboard, and put that into the Yamaha: so everything comes out the built-in DI, and into my stage monitors. VERY nice setup.

    And, again, I love the sound and the feel. An audio engineer friend of mine, who has a LOT of experience, says it is the best stage piano he has ever heard. And I now sometimes find myself foregoing the "real" piano at some venues now: the Yamaha often sounds better and has a better touch.

    One thing, though, the darned things is HEAVY. The specs say 71 lbs; it feels like a lot more. My band-mates and I call it "Frankie" -- after Frankenstein (and yes, I know it was actually Frankenstein's Monster*, but you get the drift). Get a wheeled case! I can get the case out of the house and into the van with some effort, but I cannot get it into the case, nor out of the case and on the keyboard stand by myself. I'm in reasonably good shape, but it is not a casual move. Make sure you have friends! If I were playing 3 gigs a week, I might think twice. For me, however, this IS the keyboard. I cuss every time I have to move it - but then when I start to play, I'm in love again!

  • from Houston September 8, 2007Music Background:
    gigging musician

    This is the closest it gets

    This is one awesome stage piano! The moment I sat down and played it I got instant inspiration and just wanted to play it more. It makes you want to play it! The action is fantastic, some say its heavy but I grew up playing a Schimmel Upright and it feels just right to me. I can see if you maybe have never had a real piano how it could feel strange. The piano sample is the best out there. The electric pianos are pretty good, the clavs are awesome, the organs are OK , and every other sound is very good. I really wanted to talk myself into buying the nord electro but it just doesn't have a great piano patch and the action is waterfall, good for organ but not for piano and I don't feel like carting around an extra weighted midi controller. The organs and eps on the electro are great though, so if that is your main thing get that. If you are a piano player at heart though, this is the real deal and you will not be disappointed. The 30w built in moniters are great for practicing and live, they have good all around response and are loud and clear. The really cool thing about them is that they create a vibration throughout the keyboard when cranked, creating a realistic piano vibration (i doubt this was on purpose but its awesome!). The only downside is the 70 lb weight, but I just got this to replace my fender rhodes 73 which was 140 lbs, so its a lot easier to cart. plus you don't have to bring extra moniters to the gig. Get this piano!

  • from November 2, 2014

    Yamaha CP-300

    I`ve played the Yamaha CP-300 in a music store called Sam Ash Music. You can mix two instrumental sounds by pressing both buttons at the same time. it has a transpose button, you push that button, then the two buttons on the lower right screen on the Yamaha CP-300 if you`re not use to playing in a different key. it can transpose to minus 12 making it 13.25 cycles per second, that`s the lowest A aspecially if you use the Pipe organ Sound along with another instrument, or plus 12 as well. making it sound 8,000 cycles per second. You can look up www.manulslib.com/ then Yamaha CP-300 to operate it. I have a Technics PR-305 Digital Piano in which I love too. Id put the Yamaha CP-300 on top of the Technics PR-305 Digital Piano with the midi cords hooked to both of them, and play the Technics PR-305 with the Yamaha CP-300 and get four sounds at the same time, by pressing the two buttons at the same time on my Technics PR-305 Digital piano with the Yamaha CP-300 on top connected with midi cables.

  • from Central New York August 23, 2009Music Background:
    Working Amateur Musician

    Very Good. Not Perfect.

    I am very happy with this digital keyboard, but wanted to mention where I feel it could be improved. First of all, I play keyboard in my own trio (jazz, fusion, funk, blues, etc) and have two KC-550 amps for stereo sound. The 128 note polyphony is good, but when you use 2 patches combined, things change. Notes DO drop off, first of all, especially if you like to play with some sustain to make up for the short duration of the actual patch's sustain. If you listen to a single note, the sound is excellent for about 3 seconds, then it loses most of its beauty and it becomes obvious that you are listening to a "patch" rather than a true string vibrating in a wooden piano body. To overcome this, I use slow strings under my keys, much like what Brian Auger is doing these days. It fattens the sound and fills in. If you play staccato or don't hold your chords down too long, you won't notice this, but I play with drums and bass, as well as sing, so the piano is the "orchestra" and I would like to have true sustain and natural decay. This is a fault, in my opinion. I'm looking at the new, very expensive, Yamaha grand and the new Roland V-Piano as a possible replacement because of this reason. As far as the keyboard "feel," it is also very good, but not as good as I would like. I play hard and, while it's better than anything else I have played, I still beat the crap out of my hands on 4-hour gigs. It seems to me they could engineer some kind of pressure-reducing strip, like what you might stand on if you have to work on concrete floors all day long, to prevent the hard "bottoming-out" that I get. It would work normally for those who don't play quite so hard, but save me from stress-fracturing my fingers when I'm pounding it.

    One other thing...if you don't like the original sounds as much as you thought you might, you can make HUGE improvements by going through all the parameters of the individual voicings to improve them. I've done changes to most all of the patches I use and they are FAR better than the factory pre-sets. Just be careful not to overdo it, and keep the original settings somewhere, so you can fix things if you get crazy. And by all means, make sure you are using two amps. Stereo sound is a WORLD apart from a single amp. I use Monster cables and they are good. There's a new cable I want to try...very expensive, but I think it will improve the sound. All in all, the best stage piano out there at the moment. Heavy, yes. Expensive case, no doubt. But it's the sound that counts. I move the piano, two amps, seat, heavy stand, microphone, cases of electronics and music all in a Honda Pilot with room to spare.

  • from Elverson, PA USA October 19, 2016

    A little limited

    If you're looking for a straight piano, this is great. It feels great, sounds great and is pretty rugged for traveling too. My complaint is that editing sounds, building patches and adding effects is incredibly cumbersome. If none of that matters to you, get this keyboard. If it does, keep looking:)

  • from May 8, 2017

    Use in modern service

    If you're looking for just a good piano sound that is user friendly...this works

Questions about the Yamaha CP300?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway