0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Behringer CONTROL2USB High-end Studio Control with VCA Control and USB Audio Interface Reviews

4.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer CONTROL2USB High-end Studio Control with VCA Control and USB Audio Interface?

Questions about the Behringer CONTROL2USB High-end Studio Control with VCA Control and USB Audio Interface?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Billy
    from Illinois April 19, 2017Music Background:
    Everything.. Live, Studio etc...

    Great !!!

    This thing is great! No doubt about it. Built great! Works great! Pull the trigger on this.

  • Dave
    from South Easton, MA February 12, 2017

    Twice the features at half the price

    Received this as a gift to solve my problem of more than 3 interface connections. The USB was an added bonus as well as a talkback mic. I looked at Mackie and Presonus and neither could compare to the overall features and value. The build quality is solid and Ihave had no noise issues that has been noted in past reviews.

  • Brian Watts
    from Columbus, OH December 24, 2016

    Have the CONTROL1USB - A++

    Have a CONTROL1USB in my setup and love the unit! If the CONTROL2 is anything like the quality of the CONTROL1 you won't be disappointed! This has many great features, clean clear audio, multi interfacing to different sources, monitors, mute and dim options and even two independent headphone outs for extra listening portals in the control room. I even like the talk back mic built in. Very handy tool for any studio!

  • Joey Boswell
    from North Carolina November 26, 2016

    Great for the Studio

    We purchased this several months ago and have used everyday since, in fact it rarely gets switched off. Easy setup, durable and very low noise. We currently use "A" and "B" monitor select, We also source some audio devices through this unit back into the X32 Rack mixer and to the SENDS in ProTools. Talkback function works great, it's nice not having to use a separate mic setup for talkback. Overall very impressed with the build quality and functions.

  • Eric
    from Austin TX November 16, 2016

    Perfect for my needs

    This works great and I don't even use all the features. The sound is very transparent (I do mastering for a living) and no high pitch noise as reported by another reviewer, who in my opinion has received a defective unit.

  • Customer
    from Houston, TX September 14, 2016

    Great tool

    best for price very good product

  • Customer
    from March 30, 2017

    Sounds really good, easy set-up

    The reviews aren't hype. This is a really good piece of gear and it sounds much better than its predecessor.
    The price is really nice too. I've found Behringer gear to always be great.

  • mel
    from NY March 13, 2017

    CONTROL2USB

    just what I needed , work just as it said, easy hookup, easy to use
    giving more control right at your finger tips

  • Joshua
    from South Bend, IN January 25, 2017Music Background:
    Music Technology

    Controller works great!

    This controller is great for not only outputting sound from your computer to the monitors, but it is also a nice sounding audio interface for recording instruments and old phonographs.

  • Tony Chamberlist
    from January 18, 2017Music Background:
    producer, engineer, musician

    This may cause my

    My experience with the unit is nothing but positive. It replaced a Presonus Monitor Station that went south, and it sounds at least as good if not better. I have none of the self noise issues described elsewhere. It is Behringer, so it comes under the YMMV category, but purchasing from Sweetwater means purchasing with confidence.

  • Nathan
    from Dallas, TX February 15, 2017Music Background:
    Professional Musician & Recording Engineer

    You get what you pay for, but a little more too

    This thing is humungous. Seriously. It cannot be overstated how large this item is and how much space it will take up on your desk. I had only seen pictures and assumed it was similar in size to the Big Knob or Central Station but this thing is wider than a 15" Macbook Pro. That may be a good thing or a bad thing depending on your setup, but I already have too many things competing for desk space.

    The main knob is clearly plastic but sufficiently robust-feeling and satisfyingly "clicky" (the volume dial is stepped so you can feel when you move from one position to the next), and the rest of the buttons and knobs feel very solid. Behringer crams a lot of inputs and outputs in this thing *and* an audio interface; haven't tried the interface aspect yet but it seems like this could be an easy way to record on the fly in a pinch. Even though, you know, this thing is huge.


    My main gripe is two-fold:

    One, this thing is far from transparent. I knew going in that this'd likely be the case considering the active circuitry, but hey this thing was cheap and Mackie's [even cheaper] passive Big Knob won't be out until the summer. This won't affect you hardly at all for your typical band project studio/"I make beats" with Rokit monitors and their like, but if you're rocking $1000+ monitors this probably won't work well for you. Same with the headphone outs.

    Two, the "high-pitched whine" that other reviewers have referred to is completely legit. It's real. The ones who can't hear it possibly can't hear that high of a frequency anymore (no joke), but it's there. It's not overly loud, but it's there and annoying. This shouldn't be a deal breaker though, unless you are in a ideally and supremely quiet & treated room, with sufficiently high-end equipment. In which case I'd suggest that you utilize Sweetwater's "3 payments" option and get something worthy of your speakers.

  • Jose
    from March 28, 2017Music Background:
    Music Producer

    It make a lot of noise

    I makes a lot of noise to be in recording studio

  • Arfa G
    from London December 22, 2016Music Background:
    Dj/Producer

    Setup sounded better without

    It seems they still haven't really fixed this problem of the noise, its a really difficult thing to set up and even when it is set up its a real pain in so many ways, i was over the moon when i realised taking this out of my set up meant i didn't need to hear that nasty hissing anymore

  • Jimbo_Rig
    from August 23, 2016Music Background:
    audio engineer, acoustics, drummer, critical listening enthusiast, Quality Assurance Manager for high tech electronics manufacturing.

    A Lost Opportunity

    On the surface this is a great answer to the monitor control problem at a great price. The VCA methodology is fantastic as the tracking is spot on no matter what the volume level. I like to monitor really really quietly sometimes and the unit tracks perfectly. The transparency, depth, and imaging qualities of the unit are also excellent. I did not test the USB as I have no need for it.
    BUT.......the unit has a self noise problem. This noise is the power supply "whining" and "buzzing" a bit like an 8 or 10K sawtooth. This noise is NOT output to the speakers or headphones, it is actually just the units power supply generating ambient noise. It's audible enough that at low listening levels it is quite annoying. This is exacerbated by the fact that the unit is so close to me when I mix, certainly with arms reach if not closer. It is also the nature of this noise to bounce around the room and reflect off hard surfaces, so even though I have an acoustically treated environment in some locations you can hear the whiney buzz even when you're not close to it. Very annoying.
    I had a Big Knob a while back that did not do this. The problem with that guy is the coloration. Yes, this is a real thing with the Knob. So it too was/is unusable for its intended purpose.
    Serves me right for going cheap on a monitor controller but I honestly thought with all the success and quality around the X32 and recent products that Behringer would knock this out of the park. They almost did but I lost the gamble.
    I would not recommend this for anyone who demands a dead quiet monitor set up for low level listening.

Questions about the Behringer CONTROL2USB High-end Studio Control with VCA Control and USB Audio Interface?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close