0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Crown CM-311A Headworn Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Crown CM-311A Headworn Microphone?

Questions about the Crown CM-311A Headworn Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Las Vegas, Nevada August 22, 2016Music Background:
    Still gig just using backing tracks, my guitar, and my Crown mic.

    Fantastic Mic

    Absolutely a great microphone. If you need hands free this is your solution. Once adjusted (and just for you) it works perfectly. And I have to add that once again the performance of Sweetwater staff is great. I received excellent support and help from Dylan, thanks, Dylan, and from Jessie in tech support. Thanks, Jessie. You just can't beat Sweetwater.

  • from April 14, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, acoustic projects and band.. guitars and keyboards

    The best!!!

    I was expecting a good headset, but this Crown CM-311A blew my mind!! Easy to fit, no feedback at all, no drummers interfere with my singing even if we're side by side... Amazing silent on and off button, sturdy and comfortable. Highly recommended!!!

  • from Belmont, MI July 1, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician - 40 years

    Working Musician

    I have used this headset for the last 7 - 8 years. Absolutely love it.. By far the best mic I have ever owned. It is true the mic is delicate and should be handled with care.. I've gone through a few windscreens and have replaced the tightening screw once. I am happy to perform a little maintenance on it from time to time.. The thought of using another mic is not an option.
    This mic IS that good.

  • from Wesley Chapel, Fl. April 24, 2013Music Background:
    Bass Guitar Vocalist in a Classic Rock Band

    A GREAT Mic for soft voice

    This mic is great and just what I have been looking for. I have a soft voice and tried using hand held mics but couldn't get the volume up without worrying about feedback. With this mic I was able to turn it up so loud with no feedback at all that my band said that it may be too loud. My Drummer bought a wireless head mic that he had to return because it would feedback before we could get the volume up as needed. I sat behind his drums with his drums miked and NO feedback at all. I'm sure he will be buying one of these also.
    The on/off mute button on the belt pack comes from the factory as a temporary off, like for a cough but it can be changed to a temporary on or as an on/off switch which I prefer. It was VERY simple to change.
    The headset could not be any more sturdy or it would be too heavy to wear. I give it a Five Stars because it works for me and my soft voice. No more worrying about feedback or getting it loud enough to hear me.
    It is GREAT for a Rock Drummer who needs to be loud without feedback from his other mics or monitors and for anyone with a soft voice that needs a lot of volume from a mic. Someone did it right with this one and now they need a handheld mic with the same Cardioid Condenser mic. Thank You for a Great Product. I also recommend this headset with a Shure wireless System for anyone who needs to move around such as a singing lead Guitarist.

  • from January 15, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer in various groups for years...

    Crown CM-311A Wired Headset Microphone

    I purchased this headset after reading many reviews off the internet. I am more than satisfied with this headset.I have been a drummer for years and started singing with the group and was using a Shure SM-58 with a boom stand. As a drummer ,this setup was nothing short of torture because of always having inconsistant sound levels coming out of the speakers while singing and the stand in close proximity to my arm limited my freedom of playing . I found the quality of this set is very good and the voice coming out of the speakers sounds as good or better than the SM-58 due to the fact that the microphone is always at the same distance and there is no boomstand to carry around or get in your way. I have played 4 gigs and 4 three to four hour practice sessions with this headset so far and am very impressed with the 9V battery life with a good alkaline battery. I am still using the same battery that I originally put in to the pack.The only problem I had was shutting the headset off by the toggle switch on the battery pack..It would thump the speakers every time I turned it off. Fortunately, there is a fix for that . There is a switch inside the box that allows for the use of an on/off button which is on the power pack. Once you change it to the on/off button, the turn off speaker thumping problem disappears and it is a silent turn off .
    Headset is adjustable to most all head sizes and is light enough to not be a burden while playing . To make a long story short, I love this headset and would recommend to all drummers who have problems with boomstands and drummer freedom while playing .

  • from Monroe, WA November 21, 2013Music Background:
    Singer, Songwriter, Guitarist, Recording Engineer, Producer

    Crown CM-311A

    Excellent Headset Mic!
    The clarity is absolutely brilliant. Fits snug and does not shift.

    Only 1 complaint (will not affect the cast majority of users) - The headset apparatus uses a square pad that fits just behind the ear. The placement of this pad prevents headphones from fitting properly over the ear.

    I do not like in ear monitoring so I've always used a old school (studio) headphones. I s'pose I need to enter the 21st century (kicking and screaming) and try a high quality in-ear system.

  • from WA State March 15, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    mike sounds great

    PROS: This mike will totally enhance your vocals. As a singer/songwriter my lyrics are particularly intricate and it's essential that people understand them. I used a Sure for a while till I discovered this mike, big difference. CONS: I worry about breaking the small wire from the mike to the box, but so far so good. Also, the headgear doesn't match the high quality of the mike. I had to experiment and now have a counterweight taped to the back to keep it in place and placement of this mike makes a lot of difference. CONCLUSION: It's a great mike but you will probably need to customize the headgear.

  • from Midwest October 1, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Good mic for a singing drummer, albeit very pricey

    Whilst having problems finding a suitable head worn mic suitable for a singing drummer, Joe Millne dug this up for me. While this mic does not completely reject bleed from the drums, this does an admirable job in a hard-wired format. It is EXPENSIVE, yes!!! But if you want the convenience of a good head worn microphone, this is the best of the bunch.

    The one negative (besides the price) is the pop screen. It pops off of the mic with too much ease. While the instructions tell you to put it straight to your lips for optimal noise rejection, it also serves as the distance reference from the lips to the capsule. When you get one of these, there's a good chance you may have one of the old windscreens. Call Frank (of AKG, who handles parts for this microphone) at 818-920-3279 to order replacements. You will need extra pop screens, anyway (as per the instructions).

    Some may not like the battery/control pack. It's fine for me. I do like the programmable switch. Default setting is for a "cough button", but I have mine set up as an on/off switch. This is handy for the songs I do not sing any backing vocals on, minimising the potential of bleed over.

    This microphone has great gain and needs no EQ'ing. It is heads and shoulders above the Audio Technica Hex80 head worn microphone it replaced, but this Crown costs nearly 4x as much. Forget the AT model I've mentioned- it bleeds way too much and sounds nasally. No wired head worn mic even comes close to this one. If you want to save money, then get used to a mic stand and use a Heil PR20 rather than messing about with any of the other head worns out there. Yes, it takes spending THIS much to get a quality head worn microphone.

    The price and the pop screen are what prevents this from getting 5 stars.

  • from San Diego CA February 27, 2016Music Background:
    Piano/vocal

    Great microphone, fragile headset

    I am a singer/keyboard player, and use this headset microphone for very small venue live solo sessions. The microphone is excellent in terms of clarity and live application (five stars). The headset is poorly made (2 stars) and broke almost immediately upon purchase.

  • from Charleston WV May 15, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Mic! but VERY cheaply made

    Man ! Glad Im 53, and approach with caution now, and not 23 or 33 or I woulda tore this thing up in the first 5 min..LOL..SHEESH! Its a great mic and sounds killer but I see what everyone is talkin about in the many other POOR reviews regarding its construction and design. Its like puttin a 20K diamond on a cracker jack ring..LOL..Handle this thing like your handling NG in the 1860s.LOL Its taking a while to get the fit right. Be VERY careful bending the head and ear wire. The set screw for the boom has to be very tight in order to totally stay in place. Hope it lasts... IDK Gang?Im gonna look at like just the mic is worth 400$

Questions about the Crown CM-311A Headworn Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close