0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Cloud Microphones Cloudlifter CL-Z Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Cloud Microphones Cloudlifter CL-Z?

Questions about the Cloud Microphones Cloudlifter CL-Z?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from San Francisco April 15, 2016Music Background:
    Audio supervisor for MythBusters

    Best in class product & Best in class service!

    I managed to do the impossible...damage this unit. I know this because they are built like a tank and all the studios I know who have it in Bay Area keep it in use permanently and to my knowledge has never happened.

    So I call up and get Scott (GM) who doesn't no me from Adam and I tell him the situation and he sounds surprised (as stated this doesn't happen), but without hesitation he proudly states "this is an American made product with a life time guarantee. We will ship you out a new one immediately". This conversation happened April 13th and today April 15th the new unit arrived in AM FED-EX.


    No making me wait a month for it to get it back from repair.

    No waiting till they get my unit before they ship replacement.

    2 days later new unit here with a prepaid Fed label to ship back my unit in same box.

    If only all companies where of this standard...

    Equally, if not more important is the quality of the product.

    If you have an SM7B or R92 (both I use regularly) you owe it to your recordings to get this unit. In fact, Sure and AEA should just package it together. 25db of extra clean gain that brings out the best sonics from these mics.

    So happy to have my CLZ back plugged in!!!

  • from February 27, 2016

    It's good!

    Really helps dynamic mics shine. Also, built very well.

  • from Chicago June 13, 2013

    The Clouds have been lifted

    If you own a ribbon mic, you need this box. If you own a low output dynamic mic, you need this box. It does exactly what it says it will do, and it does it superbly. I have a cache of vintage RCA ribbons that just got a new lease on life. I'll be ordering at least one more Cloudlifter.

  • from June 7, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Incredible piece of Gear!

    Let me start by saying the Z has vastly improved my guitar recordings. Match this with an SM57 (or any dynamic/ribbon for that matter) and prepare for a whole new pallet of tones. Obviously this has the clean boost of the CL-1, but the ability to vary the impedance and activate a hi-pass filter is where this thing is different. I'd pretty much lost interest in using SM57's until I tried this and now it's like having a brand new mic.

  • from Prescott, AZ May 21, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Mix/Master Engineer/Multi-instrumentalist

    Revolutionizing Home Recording

    This is an amazing and innovative tool. I have been using Cloud Microphones Mic Activators for home recording for a while now, and I've had great success using the CL-1 and CL-2 with my dynamic mics like the SM7B and Shure 58s and my ribbons mic, also a Cloud RCA 44 clone called the JRS34. In fact, this whole line of products has revolutionized and revitalized my whole process. The CL-Z has upped the ante, though, by giving us further control of both impedance and a high pass filter! Thanks, Cloud Microphones, recording has never been so exciting at home!

  • from Portland, OR December 8, 2012

    Make your mic sound like you added a zero to the price tag.

    My busted-up old 58 sounds like a million bucks with this thing - now it sounds better than my lead singer's Neumann. And wait until you see the expression on the engineer's face when you play live with it - they literally can never believe their ears.

  • from Jasper, OR July 24, 2012Music Background:
    Singer, Songwriter, Recording Hobbiest

    Massive tone control! Don't floccinaucinihilipilificate this tool!

    Maybe I've gotten use to the idea that things are overstated in product descriptions, but this was understated. I purchased the CL-Z to bring up my levels when using my Royer R121. I have a mic pre with Impedance adjustments but it maxes out at 2500k. It also didn't have enough gain when recording quieter voices.

    I can't find the words to describe my first impression, it was like going from a great mic to a mic that I should be able to afford! The tonal variation that you can get by adjusting the HPF and the impedance is astounding!

    If you have a ribbon mic and want to get that perfect volume and tone, this might be your tool.

  • from June 10, 2015Music Background:
    9417460545

    Amazing

    Pair this up with any mic in your arsenal and you'll be pleased with the results. I only wish you could get it in a four pack!

Questions about the Cloud Microphones Cloudlifter CL-Z?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close