0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound - 2 days left

Cloud Microphones CL-2 Cloudlifter 2-channel Mic Activator Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Cloud Microphones CL-2 Cloudlifter 2-channel Mic Activator?

Questions about the Cloud Microphones CL-2 Cloudlifter 2-channel Mic Activator?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Arizona January 3, 2016Music Background:
    Total Noob

    Works Wonderfully, great for SM7B and SM58

    I have a small Mackie FXPro 8v2 Mixer. It works very well (recognized in Audacity under Linux right away). But it has limited gain, and with dynamic microphones like the Shure SM58 or the SM7B you have to basically max the gain and even then it's not so great. Buy an extra pair of short XLR cables and put this inline with your mics and boom, instant very clean gain. Really works well.

  • from November 3, 2015Music Background:
    Home studio, vocal, sax, Leslie recording (ribbon mics)

    It really works!

    Wow, I was hoping this would do the job and it sure does. (application was dual ribbon micing of a Hammond/Leslie.) Huge improvement for passive ribbons.

  • from March 17, 2015Music Background:
    Musician and engineer

    Works Great!!

    If you have passive mics this is the solution.

  • from Monroe,CT USA June 4, 2014Music Background:
    voice-over artist

    the cloud microphones cloudlifter CL-2

    Before I connected the cloud lifter to my interface I had to crank up the gain,now with this preamp hooked up the gain on the interface is turned back down to almost half,unbelievable!

  • from Hawaii May 23, 2014Music Background:
    Vocal talent, engineer

    Worth every penny

    I purchased two Electrovoice RE20's for my home studio. I have used them in the past in a professional broadcast studio, and anyone who has knows from experience why there the industry standard. With that said I used them with an m audio c600. The gain had to be just about peaked to get a good signal out of the mic's. Knowing this wasn't good I talked to my sales rep. Bob Furlong who I worked with for years now and he pointed me in the direction of the cloud lifter. I was hesitant because of the cost and wether or not this would be the answer to my problem. As usual Bob hit a home run with this. It's built to last. No plastic. Does exactly what it said. Gives it around 25db of gain. All plug and play. No brains required to use. Now my gains are about 1/4 or half in some cases and I get perfect signal. It's that simple. Build quality and results are amazing. Great buy for anyone. Awesome product. You won't regret this purchase.

  • from Bayside, NY May 20, 2014Music Background:
    Musician & Recording Engineer

    Does what it says!

    It does exactly what it advertises. Adds +25dB of clear uncolored sound. Well built and Made In America! Works wonders on all of my dynamic mics. This needs to be included in any engineer's tool bag.

  • from Chicago, IL USA November 25, 2013Music Background:
    Broadcaster

    Adds gain, but nothing else.

    I run a small broadcasting network, and our studio is a converted spare bedroom. Needless to say, there isn't much space - so the hosts record in cramped quarters. I use the Heil Sound PR-40 mics, which help with sound isolation between hosts, but their output is notoriously low, on par with the SM7B, if not quieter.

    After plugging in the CloudLifter, our mics came alive! For the first time, I was hearing the mic itself and not my low-quality preamp. This thing adds gain, but nothing else. It's my best upgrade to the studio so far. The Machine couldn't run without a CloudLifter in our signal chain.

  • from Crossville, Tennessee USA June 7, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician recording hobbyist

    Gobsagain

    I put up a Bleumlein
    pair of MXL 144 ribbon mics that I had changed the transformers and re-tensioned the ribbons to match
    each other (one ribbon was much too slack when it arrived after shipping, good thing I checked!) I used
    Lundahl 2912 transformers in them and then put them through the two channel cloudlifter you sold me.

    Ed, I kid you not, the effect was nothing short of recorded reality. I would recommend that everyone have
    a recording of a loved one's voice with this setup in case they ever lose that person and want to remember
    every nuance of that person's voice with no trace of recording artifacts or coloration. Natural, relaxed, and
    real. Recorded reality.

    I had to turn the gain down on this microphone setup to lower levels than any of my other condenser or
    tube microphones. Not a TRACE of hiss or distortion.

    People thing that a ribbon will always do that high end roll off. NOT SO!
    I love my high end, I am a flutist and a piccolo player. I love my high end and I know what high end
    really, really sounds like. This Cloudlifter/ribbon setup goes beyond the audible range of hearing. (probably quite a bit beyond)
    In comparison with my condenser mics, I can't hear any roll off and neither can the younger ears around here.

  • from Hampton, VA May 21, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, Recording Engineer, Project Studio Owner

    Really Does The Job!

    I bought a Royer SF-12 Stereo Ribbon Mic and a Presonus ADL-600 dual mic pre a while back, and love them both. I wanted to take my Royer SF-12 out and use if for some recording in my drummers live room. After a few recording sessions it was obvious that moving my very expensive, delicate and rather heavy preamp was not a good idea. I needed a more portable solution for preamping my ribbon microphone. After hearing about the Cloudlifter from my Sweetwater rep, David Hess, and hearing Ronan Chris Murphy from Ronan's Recording Show talk about these handy devices, I decided to give one a try. I setup my Royer SF-12 just like I did before, but now with the cloudlifter as a pre (using the ribbon as a drum overhead). I plugged the output of the cloudlifter direct into two channels of my RME Fireface UFX and activated the phantom power for the two channels of the cloudlifter. I got a very solid, and clean signal out of the Cloudlifter. This is a great tool to have available for ribbon mics, or to overcome signal loss from long cable runs. This preamp works.

  • from Bozeman, MT May 19, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    Perfect Complement to Cheap Mic Pres

    If you have a mic pre with a relatively low input impedance and not a lot of gain, this box is killer for low output mics such as ribbons. Not only do you get 18+ dB of clean gain before your preamp, but this box provides an ideal load for velocity sensitive mics. With a 3 kOhm input impedance, the loading is just right to give a ribbon or a moving coil dynamic mic a fuller frequency response and a smoother top end.

  • from Burlington,NC May 21, 2014Music Background:
    Recording & Live Sound Engineer

    Cloudlifter CL-2

    This thing just works! Brings the Shure SM-7b and SM58 to life.

  • from Mpls March 14, 2013Music Background:
    Singer Songwriter, arranger

    Great!!!

    This thing is great!!!!

    It's doesnt add anything to the signal besides volume

  • from Eastern North Carolina March 24, 2012Music Background:
    Musician , Engineer, Project Studio Owner, Berklee Alumni

    25dB of Vault!

    Get ready to reach for the pads on your pres. I do a good deal of location recording and have been hesitant to break out the R-121's until Mike Picotte recommended the Cloudlifter. Also, I was hesitant to apply 48v phantom power anywhere near these mics, but this thing works, it really does. I wanted to use the mics for drum OVHDS and what a great choice for capturing the kit like it really sounded. I found I had gain to spare and actually applied a pad to each of the mics for reduction and tracking into ProTools. The unit's transformer does get warm, but I tracked for three solid hours without fail or coloring. Hear how your ribbons can really shine. For the price, you can't beat the Cloud!

  • from Oklahoma City, OK August 18, 2011Music Background:
    20 + Musician, Audio Engineer, Studio Musician, etc.

    HOLY CROWLEY BATMAN!

    Wow. I just blew out my headphones. well not really b/c they are really good monitors however i almost went deaf from the feedback. this little device is absolutely cool. I don't know if it just increases the signal 25 dB or adds something else in addition. I am using AEA's R84 mics (2 of em) with my CloudLifter connected to my Great River 2N-DV pre. It's almost too loud but you just have to tweak it a little bit. I had to change some of the plugins in my vocal tracks but this definately gives it more zest or (Sorry I lack the vocabulary of an audio enginner) it just adds more to the mix but its not amazing. Now I can actually see the waveforms in PT and Logic with my Vocal tracks and I'm using a Noise Reduction Plugin b/c this cloudlifter is very sensitive and you just need to activate the phantom power on your pre to get it to work. Don't worry about that with ribbon mics it does not adversely affect the ribbon mics so go ahead and turn that 48K on there. In conclusion I'd say this is quite nice to get such a rise in hertz or is it dB? At any rate don't go running out to buy this right away but if you dig ribbon mics this is a keeper. All in all its pretty cool. I like it.

  • from May 13, 2016

    Works well!

    The Cloudlifter CL-2 really brings life to all my dynamic microphones.

  • from Kennewick, WA, USA September 6, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    The Cloudlifter CL-2 solves power-hungry microphone problems beautifully.

    The Cloudlifter CL-2 solves the problem of power-hungry dynamic or ribbon microphones. Now when I use my Sennheiser 441 for live performances, I only have to use half the gain I once used, opening up the sound with a little more clarity. Even better yet, when I do field recording with my Korg MR-1000 used in connection with my Royer SF12 ribbon microphone, I have more than enough gain for capturing all the nuances of any situation. Wish I'd had this piece of equipment much sooner!

  • from Kennewick, WA, USA September 6, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    The Cloudlifter CL-2 solves power-hungry microphone problems beautifully.

    The Cloudlifter CL-2 solves the problem of power-hungry dynamic or ribbon microphones. Now when I use my Sennheiser 441 for live performances, I only have to use half the gain I once used, opening up the sound with a little more clarity. Even better yet, when I do field recording with my Korg MR-1000 used in connection with my Royer SF12 ribbon microphone, I have more than enough gain for capturing all the nuances of any situation. Wish I'd had this piece of equipment much sooner!

  • from Orland Park, IL (Chicago) September 6, 2016Music Background:
    studio owner / producer / player

    Cloudlifter CL-2

    Not nearly as good as claimed... Putting an oscillator equidistant to each of a pair of 1960 Shure 55S mics - I measured the DB boost with both at maximum level setting on the XLR midi-interface (Tascam). Rather than a 20-25 DB boost as their marketing claims, I got a 10-12db increase for each mic. At lower level setting on the channel input control on the midi-interface, the Cloudlifter did virtually NOTHING at all. Only on the highest volume input settings, (9-10 out of 10), did the CL2 kick in to add gain to the mics, at roughly HALF as much as claimed. I can still benefit from an added 10-12db boost - but am seriously conflicted regarding the $250 paid for adding 10dbs!!! Generally speaking, at least for these mics - it may not be worth the price paid. I'm not pleased with how it turned out... I was looking for the 20-25db gain...

Questions about the Cloud Microphones CL-2 Cloudlifter 2-channel Mic Activator?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway