0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Cloud Microphones CL-1 Cloudlifter 1-channel Mic Activator Reviews

5.0 stars based on 93 customer reviews
Questions about the Cloud Microphones CL-1 Cloudlifter 1-channel Mic Activator?

Questions about the Cloud Microphones CL-1 Cloudlifter 1-channel Mic Activator?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Charlie Davis

    Do you own an SM7b, or a ribbon microphone? Then you need a Cloudlifter.

  • from Ashland Kentucky May 10, 2017Music Background:
    Preforming recording

    YES

    If you're thinking about needing one then you do,,works great you can't go wrong!

  • from April 14, 2017

    Dope

    I like it. Helps with SM7B I am using.

  • from Seattle April 12, 2017Music Background:
    Professional

    Where has this been my whole life?

    I can only equate it to the sonic version of going from black and white to technicolor - an amazing piece of equipment and a must-have for dynamic microphones.

  • from Indianapolis March 24, 2017Music Background:
    Vocalist/Guitarist in the band OLAM. Music & Performance Coach.

    A+

    Ya know when you go to a restaurant and the food and experience is rad that you just wanna share the news with people? That's how this feels to me. I've already recommend this to numerous friends personally, and they were stoked on it as well. I use it in my studio on my SM7b, 58, and 58beta - and it makes a world of difference.

    The live application is fantastic as well. I've use it during rehearsals and shows on my vocal mics with very very noticeable and positive results.

  • from March 6, 2017

    Powerful Unit

    this works awesome on all dynamic mics, especially on the sm7b. Love the way the cloud lifter boosts the signal.

    Thanks Sweetaater and jimmy hart my sales rep

  • from Hastings, Michigan, USA January 28, 2017

    New Mics for Old

    If you are not getting enough level out of your mic, you need this. You do need a phantom power switch on your audio device or it will make your mic dead instead of boosting it's gain. Flip that phantom power switch and you effectively have more headroom on your trim/gain knob for the mic. Cloudlifter adds no unwanted noise, it just boosts the signal so you can use your mic as it was intended. You can speak or sing at a comfortable quiet level without cranking things all the way up. This is magic in a box and does exactly what it claims to do.

  • from Pennsylvania December 20, 2016Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/studio owner

    Indispensable tool for ribbon and dynamic mics

    This box can turn a Royer 121 into a 122, if you record vocals on an SM7/b this box is essential. Even on some louder sources - using a Royer 121 on bass amp, the CL still sounds better. It's like dialing down the impedance on the pre without losing depth.

  • from December 6, 2016Music Background:
    Home studio owner, songwriter

    This is a keeper

    I've purchased lots of gear for my home studio. As far as I can remember, this is the first review I have ever written. I am that impressed. The CL-1 is a no-nonsense gadget that does exactly what it promises to do.

    After I got it, I did an A/B test with my Focusrite Forte audio interface and Shure SM58 dynamic mic. I intentionally set the gain on the Forte to low, to the point that if I look at the waveform on my DAW, the sound's shape can barely be seen. Playback volume was low of course, so I had to max out the volume on my speaker to hear.

    Next, I plugged in the CL-1 to the chain. It uses phantom power (which my interface supplies) so no extra hassle. I didn't change the gain on the Forte. Yet, just by looking at the waveform, I already knew there was a massive increase on the volume of the recorded sound. When I played it, I HAD to turn down the speakers. On top of that, I didn't hear any preamp noise.

    Just like that, my old SM58 (as well as my other dynamic mics) became much more fun to use.

  • from Chicago, IL October 24, 2016Music Background:
    Studio owner and musician

    CLEAR & PRISTINE

    After much debate, I decided to purchase the Cloudlifter CL-1 in hopes of getting the most (really, a lot more) from my MXL144 ribbon mic; which was having difficulty producing enough clean signal when mic'ing my acoustic. The CL-1 added 25dB of clear gain which didn't color or change the frequency response or tonal qualities of the microphone. I would recommend this product to anyone looking to give their dynamic mics a crystal clear boost. It's in a small rugged housing and is powered by your preamp's phantom power.

  • from Chicago, IL October 18, 2016Music Background:
    Recording/Mixing/Mastering

    Clean Gain!

    Picked this up for the SM7B. It does its job. Adds plenty of clean gain. Buy It. Simple product, simple choice!

  • from Fort Worth, TX September 15, 2016

    Clean

    I'm using with an SM7b and Focusrite ISA one with digital out. Before the Cloudlifter there was grit from turning the input up and I had less flexibility with the gain staging. With the Cloudlifer vocals sound clean and beefy.

  • from New York, NY September 5, 2016

    Love this piece.

    We were having trouble between the MBox 3 and our MD421 mics. Not enough gain. When the gain was pushed high enough to make the sound present, there was no overhead left, and a danger of clipping. This unit solved all that. An absolute must for using a dynamic mic with an MBox 3. Thanks, Robbie.

  • from August 29, 2016

    Clean Gain no noise

    Like it said, It works great with my Shure SM7B, but also with my older dynamics.

  • from MacLeod June 15, 2016

    CloudLifter Heaven

    Amazing little piece of gear, This thing pairs great with an SM7B! I went from 55db on a UAD Apollo to 40 and had MORE gain and a notably lower noise floor.

  • from Mokena, IL June 2, 2016

    Cloudlifter CL-1

    What a great piece of equipment! It is made in the USA, well built with a great finish. But what makes the Cloudlifter truly great is that it opened up the sound of my SM7B with utter transparency and increased the output by the claimed 20 to 25 db! If you own an SM7B or an RE 20 or an MD 421, this is a must have.

  • from CA May 13, 2016Music Background:
    Now, a radio producer/host. Was in many bands.

    So Simple, and Simply Great

    The CL - 1 not needing a power source may be considered "passive," but when it comes to doing what it's meant to do it's "aggressive." This simple to use and simple to facilitate (a little bigger than a blues harp box) will take away the "blues" of unwanted, and annoying hums that other tube devices three times the size and needing power; at least it did for me. And it sounds just as warm as the tube. Just plug in your mic and connect to your mixer with phantom power with another XLR cord and Bam! weak-signal mics are full or power. It's like a mic on steroids. I like seeing, too, that Made-In-America flag logo on the box.

  • from Corona, CA May 9, 2016

    Great product

    I bought this, hoping it would help me using my Groove Tubes GT57 condenser. Imagine my disappointment when I realized the mic was fried.

    So before returning it, I thought I'd try it with my AKG handheld mic and Digi002 running Pro Tools 12.4. The sound difference was amazing. I originally used it to record some spoken vocals for a training video, then on some vocals. I have no idea how it works, but it boosts the signal with no buzz or hum.

    I was using an old Bellari pre-amp, but it's aging and buzzing. This is a nice fix for future projects.

  • from Florida April 10, 2016Music Background:
    Record audio for voice

    The answer to my prayers!

    I'm a voice over artist and I had purchased the Shure SM7B mic about 4 years ago. I hooked it up to my Fast Track Pro M-Audio box and started to record...however, it barely picked up sound. So back in the box it went...until I watched a Youtube video about a month ago. A guy show me that he had hooked up the 7B to the Cloudlifter CL-1. The light bulb went on in my head, I went to sweetwater.com, ordered it, got it, hooked it up and BAM, AWESOME RECORDINGS!!!

  • from March 26, 2016Music Background:
    Live sound, audio-for-video, and recording

    "Cloudlifting" an RE320

    My RE320 came to life after being "lifted" by the Cloudlifter CL-1. The gain is now at a level that doesn't overtax my preamp and gives me headroom to work with the signal without introducing noise. It is absolutely clean and just transforms the RE320 for voiceover use.

  • from March 4, 2016Music Background:
    Professional keyboards player and producer.

    Not only for microphones

    Did you really think this gem is good only with microphones?
    well...think again!
    I've been admiring this little box for quite some time now, but recently I started using one (got three in my home studio) to boost the output of my Wurlitzer 200A piano, hooking it right after a passive DI box.
    Helps me get a cleaner and hotter signal.
    Sounds amazing!

  • from Memphis February 4, 2016Music Background:
    Years of professional playing and performing. Recording player and session engineer.

    Cloud Lifter

    This little blue box came highly recommended and after receiving and using mine I do understand why. I too recommend this unit for increasing ribbon mic gain with clean noiseless power. It can be using with dynamic Mocs as well. It gives the SM57 a lot of new character ( increases the dynamics of this mic).
    Thanks Sweetwater for the courteous service and expeditious shipping time.

  • from December 16, 2015

    Cloudlifter CL-1

    This little device is really nice. I've always had trouble getting good recording levels with my Shure SM57. This totally solved the problem. I'm going to get another so i can record my guitar cabinet in stereo.

  • from Bloomington, IN November 14, 2015

    Another good review

    I've been modifying my MXL R-40 for a while now. Had it sounding real good with a replacement transformer, new ribbon, removing the inner headbasket screen and damping the body. Finally bought a Cloudlifter and all I can say is WOW. I'm hearing things from that mic I never heard before. Not only does it provide the promised clean gain, but also provides an ideal impedance match. If you like ribbons as much as I do, you owe it to yourself to get one - or more.

  • from Virginia Beach, VA October 31, 2015Music Background:
    Musican. Recording Enthusiast.

    Crystal Clear Gain for a passive ribbon mic

    I bought this when i purchased the AEA R84 during mic month. What a good choice that was. Even my high end Manley preamp couldn't provide quite enough clean gain that those Ribbons need. Ribbons have plenty of character and IMHO, you don't need much added color from driving a preamp to the edge in order to get a decent signal level. The Cloud Lifter is so perfect. It's a permanent attachment to the R84 XLR output. Perfect.

  • from South Louisiana October 6, 2015Music Background:
    Producer

    What Everyone is Saying!

    I own a trifecta of dynamic mics- SM7b, RE20, and MD421. Those three get used in every studio in the world. Because they require a lot of gain those aren't the best choices sometimes (for quieter sources)- even though we'd like them to be. Well bring in this little device! I've been reading the reviews on it and decided to try one out. I won't get into how it works because it's well documented. I will say that opening up the box I was impressed with the build quality! It feels like it's built to last!

    In Use:
    I hooked up one of my new MD421 mics to this and ran it into an A-Designs Pacifica mic preamp. Before the Cloudlifter I usually had the gain at 2 or 3 o'clock (pad out) to mic an acoustic guitar (one of my favorite applications for this mic). Now, I have the gain set at 10 o'clock for the exact same application! The Pacifica is a very high-end preamp and isn't noisy even at the highest gain settings but the Cloudlifter made noise sonically invisible! It's acting like a condenser mic now! I'm totally impressed! My only regret is I didn't by the CL-2 first. If you own any good dynamic mics, do yourself a favor and get this bad boy!

  • from Philly May 22, 2015Music Background:
    Hip Hop & Rap Artist, Producer, and Lil bit Mix Engineer

    Cloudlifter is the best

    Love the cloud lifter is a good product to have if u have Shure Sm7b, Electro Voice RE20 or any Ribbon Mics

  • from May 21, 2015

    Awesome!

    Not sure what I would do without it!

  • from New Orleans April 17, 2015

    Should be bundled with all passive mics

    I doubt that anyone is comfortable with maxing out mic gain settings with dynamic or ribbon mics. This phantom powered accessory gives you the additional gain to level the playing field.

  • from Clearwater, FL March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Live Sound Engineer

    Must have..

    Wasn't totally convinced this would be the magic it was said to be and boy was i wrong. I use a high end ribbon mic in the studio and even with a 500 series pre-amp with the 10db ribbon mic boost.. the signal from the microphone is just weak. Put this in the chain and BOOM.. it was indeed Magic. Worth every penny

  • from Muncie, IN January 18, 2015

    Don't be like me!

    If you have an SM7B (or any other mic that this can be used on) don't do what I did. I thought a preamp that gave "more" than 25 db boost was fine. I was wrong. I put this in between my SM7B and my 003 Rack+ and got way more pristine gain than I ever got with my other cheap pre's. So, allow me to add to all the other 5 star reviews that this thing gets and tell you...do not record with a dynamic mic without it! Maybe the only negative consequence of buying this thing is suddenly I find myself shopping for ribbon mic's. HA!

  • from Hawaii November 28, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Cloud Microphones Cloudlifter CL-1

    A most excellent device. All and any microphones, not requiring Phantom power to function, receive and excellent increase sonic quality level output. True sound without coloration, bringing increase sensitivity to microphones in the studio for acoustic instruments recording, it is a really great tool to use.

    Highly recommended.

  • from Austin November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    Stunning

    This is an amazing piece of gear. Needed something to juice up my Shure SM7b and read a vast amount of reviews. Could not find one used so I took that as a good sign. 25db of ultra clean, and I mean ultra clean gain. If you have a low output mic this is the magical blue box you crave. It truly brings out the actual quality of the mic you are using. I have applied it to a 57 and a 58 as well and the difference is remarkable. It will make you much cooler than you already are.

  • from St. Louis November 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hip Hop/R&B

    Just What I Needed

    When purchasing the Shure sm7b several months ago I knew from research that it would require much more gain (amplification) then my Audio Technica AT2050 and AT4033CL condenser mics. Although my Audient iD22 had enough gain to support the sm7b, I had to cranked it almost full tilt to get my desirable level. Then I found out about this little gem...Now I can set my interface's preamps down to about 40db and I have the desirable level without the noise...Great buy and well worth the price.

  • from Boyertown, PA October 9, 2014Music Background:
    Radio Announcer/DJ, AV Technician

    Small piece makes a big difference

    This little piece of gear made the difference between hearing the mic and not having enough gain to be heard.

  • from Kansas City, MO August 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Improvement beyond expectations

    I recently purchased an SM7B knowing full well that my old Focusrite Saffire 6 would not be able to offer it enough clean gain, but really wanted to give the SM7B a try. Minus all the preamp self-noise the vocal sound I got with the SM7B was in a completely different league than what I have been using the previous 20 years. So knowing I was on the right path I took the next step and ordered a Cloudlifter. I was expecting to maybe be able to dial the gain down from 7 to 5, but was thrilled to find I could dial it all the way back to 2. My preamp self-noise is at -64dB which is completely workable for my amateur endeavors. To improve from here (perhaps someday) would cost many times what the Cloudlifter did. I am very happy with my purchase.

  • from El Segundo, CA August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    WOW!!!!!

    I got this little beauty with the recommendation of my Sweetwater Rep., Tony Dayton! Tony just said, "Get it, man... trust me." So I got it, but wow, was I blown away. This is a must for the Shure SM7B and might I add for the Sure SM57 as well. This gives a nice, clean decibel boost, so you don't have to tax your mic-pre. Perfect. Thanks again, Tony!

  • from hawaii June 30, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    wow incredible.

    This thing is awesome. condenser mic make way for this miracle worker.
    Can't believe what am i hearing through this.....just as good as a studio condenser mic when i plug in my Audix OM7 dynamic vocal microphone into this. Wow! its liken to my blue baby bottle condenser mic. this thing will save you serious $$$$$ just try it and see for yourself.

  • from Wheeling, WV June 27, 2014Music Background:
    Professional composer/ producer

    It does exactly what it say it will do!

    It took my SM7 B to new heights! Everyone with low level microphones should have one.

  • from June 14, 2014Music Background:
    Professional musician, home recordist

    Amazing!

    Actually i was kinda skeptic about it. After I received it, I decided to try it with a vocal guide track using Sure SM57, just to see how it behaves without risking a real track.
    Well...to cut a long story short, that guide track is going to be used in the final mix :)
    I think that tells the whole story, doesn't it....

  • from Hawaii,USA June 12, 2014Music Background:
    Audio and Video Preofessional

    Cloud Microphones Cloudlifter CL-1

    The Cloud Microphones Cloudlifter CL-1 does exactly what it's sold for: a quiet quality gain from the unit which I tried with a number of different mics such as my EV RE-20 which does not have much gain to start with however, the CL-1 has given it 'new life' so to speak. I tried it with a signer who has a notoriously soft voice output and was able to capture much more depth with a SM58 in a live application no less. I recommend this preamp for any and all voice applications with any microphones which does not require phantom power to operate.

  • from Monclova, OH May 30, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur Musician

    A Booster Rocket

    I've always had low audio level bar readings with my gear using my condenser SM58 mike. Adding the Cloudlifter CL-1 solves that problem. Finally I can really hear myself!

  • from Phoenix, AZ May 21, 2014Music Background:
    Broadcast programmer, VO and narration artist

    Where has this gadget been hiding all of my professional life?

    I spent 40 years in radio, and now a year doing narration in my spare bedroom. Never had the pleasure of plugging an RE20 into a Cloudlifter before today. It is simply delicious. It keeps all the signal processing on the output side in its sweet spot. Now my noise gate behaves properly. The S/N ratio of my chain is much better thanks to not having to drive the input stage of my mic preamp to unhealthy levels. If you have a dynamic or ribbon mic in a studio setting, insert one of these in between your mic and existing preamp. You want to sound impressive, right? You will be impressed. Promise.

  • from Amherst, OH USA March 9, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Player, Home Recording Guru, Bla Bla Bla...

    Money well spent!

    100% satisfied! The Cloudlifter is one of those products that really does what it is supposed to do extremely well. Love it! Heavy duty design .Seems like it should last forever.

  • from Boston February 27, 2014Music Background:
    Video journalist

    Just what I needed!

    Was having problems with my Rode NTG-2 and the low record levels I was getting. After much research I came across the Cloudlifter CL-1. This is just what I needed to make a good directional mike great.
    Awesome customer service as well at Cloud Microphones.

  • from New York, NY February 11, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Mixer

    Essentail

    I'm buying my second one of these, because they have had a huge influence on my mic cabinet. Microphones that I barely used because of low output have been put back into action. Its been nice to have so many more sound choices for my recordings

  • from Seattle, WA January 30, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, DIY Recording Engineer, Musician

    Exactly what I needed

    This product is exactly what I was looking for. At my home studio, I don't have any top shelf mic pre-amps. I recently acquired a Shure SM7b, which requires a considerable amount of gain to produce an acceptable record level. My prosumer grade pre-amps could not provide enough gain without adding significant noise to the signal. I resigned myself to the idea that I needed to save up at least $1000 for a high quality pre-amp.
    When I first heard about this product, I thought that it was a great idea, but I was skeptical about the sound quality. I took the risk and bought this unit. It was worth it. This device adds CLEAN gain to the signal. It is relatively transparent, and most importantly, it solved my problem. You won't get the same kind of tone characteristics from this unit as you would from high end pre-amps (Avalon, Universal Audio, Manley, etc...) but for the price, I don't think you'll find better quality. I have worked in real studios with pristine quality pre-amps, so I do have a benchmark for comparison. This product is very good quality for the price, and is perfect for all of my small DIY home studio voice-overs and band demos.

  • from December 20, 2013

    Perfect for SM-8B

    Was going to return an SM8 due to low gain. Sweetwater rep suggested this, and it solved the problem. Thanks.

  • from December 3, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    25dB of clean, no-fuss gain

    I was skeptical. 25dB of gain for my ribbon and all I had to do was put it inline and give it phantom power. I'm flabbergasted. It's true. The higher you set the input impedance on your channel strip or preamp, the more gain you get, too. Still clean. Still uncolored. It's built like a brick outhouse, too.

  • from Brooklyn, NY November 21, 2013Music Background:
    Broadcast journalist (and life-long folk singer but that's besides the point here).

    Cloudlifter lets the sun shine in

    This is exactly what I was looking for. I'm using an ElectroVoice RE320 plugged into a Mackie ProFX8 board. I had the gain almost maxed out and was still taking the fader up beyond +5db to get decent levels. Adding the Cloudlifter allows me to keep the fader exactly where it should be with barely a touch above dead center on the gain.

  • from November 18, 2013

    Works perfectly

    It's built like a little tank, doesn't add any noise, and adds a lot of clean gain just like they said it would.
    Important note: it needs phantom power,

  • from October 28, 2013

    Great Product!

    The Cloudlifter CL-1 is just what I needed. It works perfectly with the sm7b with the Apogee Duet 2.

  • from Harlem NYC October 16, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Ribbon Saviour

    Can't really expand on the "wows" above however, I purchased this with an AEA R84 and it is a beautiful sounding combo. It is absolutely necessary if you do not have a preamp with significant amounts of clean gain.

  • from Columbia, SC USA August 19, 2013Music Background:
    Project studio engineer

    The Cloudlifter CL-1 is amazing.

    I don't know if there is a Santa Claus factory inside the CL-1 or what, but I do know this preamplifier is equipped to produce a very strong, clean, quiet audio signal even when used with a fairly ordinary microphone. Its highlight I believe is to make a $60 to $100 mic behave like a far more expensive one.

  • from Hawaii June 12, 2013Music Background:
    Musician - Home Studio

    Clouderlifter CL-1

    It's Just what my SM7 always wanted..but hadn't asked for.
    Wish I new about this product sooner. Even using Apogge duet, this little guy improved sound quality. Vocals are Cleaner and quieter.

  • from Miami FL May 31, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Producer, Sound Design

    Perfect companion to the RE20

    This product is so elegant and such a perfect fit with my RE20. I love that it works 100% by the phantom power, and all I have to do is put it between my pre and my mic. I also used it on some other Dynamics with gain issues, and it brought new life into them by making them louder without introducing any self-noise.

    Dynamic mics are often pretty tricky like that. A lot of people will even say their dynamic mic is BROKEN, simply because they have to crank up the gain so high that their preamp is hissing with self-noise. They just haven't discovered the Cloudlifter. This is what you call a GOOD TOOL.

  • from Chicago, IL, USA April 16, 2013Music Background:
    Talk Radio

    Great with Shure SM7B

    I bought the Cloudlifter after reading online in several places that it was a cost effective way to boost the signal going to the board from my SM7B. I could not be more pleased! It worked exactly as advertised, and my microphone sounds fantastic, with no added noise I can hear. I recommend this to anyone wrestling with whether or not to buy a costly preamp for their mic - try this instead!

  • from Saugus, MA April 1, 2013Music Background:
    Home recording studio

    Excellent

    What more could I ask for. It works perfectly and is built like a tank. I am using it with a SM7B Shure microphone and an Avid C600 interface. No need for a pre-amp in-line. Great Product!

  • from United States March 5, 2013Music Background:
    amateur recording, pro musician

    Big things come in small packages!

    I have an SM7B and an SM57 and always knew I needed a boost, especially with the SM7B. I had a BOSS VE-20 (vocal processor) which gave me the ability to add gain to mics. It wasn't specifically made to be a mic pre so I sold it to buy the Cloudlifter.

    This thing is great!!! I opened the package and said "this is it?" but I plugged it in and was immediately impressed. If you have a mic with a low output, the cloudlifter is the first thing you should turn to.

  • from Princeton NJ January 23, 2013Music Background:
    Recording/Pro Musician

    The Cloud Lifts

    I love this thing "Cloudlifter CL-1" I have used it on a Ribbon mic and on my Shure SM 57. On the Shure SM 57 its like having a great mic that really works well with live and recoding. With the CL-1 and my Fishman Solo 220 Amp I can use the SM 57 live with my Flamenco guitars and have great tone tone tone with no feedback. I was able to turn my pickup volume down and just have the tone of the mic. Thanks Mark Magdich x1265 for always helping me out. Buy this is you use Ribbon mics or mic's like the Shure SM 57 Dynamic Microphones. Its my secret weapon.

  • from Roseville, CA November 24, 2012Music Background:
    Broadcasting, voiceover

    Silence speaks volumes

    Like a lot of previous reviewers, I bought the Cloudlifter CL-1 to pair with an SM7B, and it's been a miracle. Before, I had to max out the gain on my preamp to get a decent level from the mic - now I get a better level and MUCH cleaner sound with half the preamp gain I used to use. The CL-1 is a great solution for small-timers on a budget like me...or anyone else who wants better sound!

  • from PA November 3, 2012

    Do you own a dynamic mic? Buy this. Especially if it's a ribbon.

    The Cloudlifter will breathe new life into your dynamic mics that lacked enough output for things like vocals or acoustic guitar. It is like taking these mics to another level, since few dynamic miccs have hot output on the not-so-loud sources. Very helpful !

  • from IL October 9, 2012Music Background:
    Freelance Musician/Producer

    Money Well Spent!!!

    This thing is dead quiet yet it really wakes up my low-out Cascade Fathead ribbon mics and brings out the details in the recordings. It doesn't color the sound in any way but it definitely does what it says it will do. I own two of these now and will buy more if needed down the road. Money well spent!

  • from United States July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Student

    Makes recording vocals possible on SM7B and Mbox 3 Mini

    Before I bought the cloudlifter it was impossible to record anything with the Mbox mini 3 preamps and SM7B. Now I can record with plenty of gain...simple as that!

  • from Slidell, La. May 16, 2012Music Background:
    Studio

    Lift & Seperate

    Lifts my ribbon past the clouds. Seperates my Microphones into something new! Love it, what took me so long to get it.

  • from Hattiesburg, ME March 20, 2012Music Background:
    radio station

    a necessity

    I use these at my radio station on RE20s and Sure SM7s - notoriously low-output mics. I was blown away and now won't live without them. They also rocked on a couple of ribbon mics I have around, which I may start using in a production room.

  • from Oregon March 6, 2012Music Background:
    Location Recording Engineer

    Gain for Days

    Unlike most gear today, the Cloudlifter does only one job. But oh, it does it so well. Powering any low-output microphone that does not require phantom power, it provides a stunning amount of transparent gain, adding no noise. It gives my RE-20 so much power that, out of every other mic in my arsenal, it requires the least amount of gain at the preamps. Will buy another soon.

  • from NYC November 26, 2011

    SM7B solution

    This product is absolutely amazing. I was running my SM7B through one of the original M Audio DMP3 preamps, and I couldn't get a clean enough signal for my voice and podcasting work. The cloudlifter does exactly what it says it will and boosts the signal with 25db of ultra clean gain before it even hits your preamp. This is a fantastic solution for anyone using a dynamic or ribbon mic with less than adequate mic pres. Buy it and you will love it.

  • from Southern Indiana November 14, 2011Music Background:
    Home Voiceover Studio

    A saviour for my SM7b

    The Cloudlifter CL-1 is an incredible tool that is built like a tank and does exactly as advertised. This thing allows me to find the needed extra gain for my Shure SM7B. Without the CL-1 I had to run my pre wide open with the result being additional unwanted background noise. If you are having problems with your dynamic power-hungry mic then dont hesitate to pick up one of these! VERY quiet and a pro-level piece of equipment!

  • from Charlotte, NC May 4, 2011Music Background:
    Broadcaster, voice actor

    WOW

    The Couldifter was designed to compliment Cloud's line of ribbon mics, but does an amazing job with garden-variety dynamics too. It really brings out the best in low-gain problem children like the Shure SM7B and EV RE20 and RE27, which need pretty beefy gain . When it comes to ribbons and dynamics, mo lounder = mo better, and the Cloudlifter really delivers.

  • from Sunnyvale May 16, 2016Music Background:
    None (video audio man)

    Great product

    I was a little confused on what mics that would work with this, and was initially disappointed. I called Cloud and they were great on their advice and support. I tried it again with the correct mic and it produced very nice increase in gain with very low noise. Build is incredible - military grade - made completely in the USA! I personally wish the unit would provide phantom to the mic, but I like this unit - hard to find fault.

  • from PA April 27, 2016

    Worked as advertised!

    I picked this up to use to boost a ribbon mic for M/S acoustic guitar recording. Does exactly what it says it does without coloring the signal. Chunky solid piece of gear. Great!

  • from November 23, 2015Music Background:
    pro musician/engineer/producer

    Works as advertised

    Bought this to boost signal from a Shure SM7B. Does exactly what it's supposed to do--gives me plenty of quiet gain.

  • from Orange Park, FL February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, songwriter, music producer, artist

    Works great!

    Great little device to lift the input signal from my SM7b.

  • from Northern VA September 6, 2013

    Indeed a Cloudlifter

    Does exactly what is is supposed to do. Used with a ribbon mic. Lifted output to something I can work with while at the same time protecting the ribbon from phantom power. Excellent product.

  • from AL June 4, 2013Music Background:
    DJ

    A must for the EV RE-20 and other dynamic mics

    Needed to boost the gain on EV RE20 dynamic, works great.

  • from Crescent City, CA May 21, 2013Music Background:
    Operating Engineer.

    At last!

    Somebody finally invented "wire with gain".

  • from Astoria, NY April 9, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer & Occasional Recordist

    Perfect match for a large diaphragm dynamic

    It does exactly what is claims to do, turn phantom power into +25dB of clean uncolored gain. If you have a low output large diaphragm dynamic mic and you find yourself pushing the preamps on your console or interface too hard then this is what you need. Great product.

  • from Nashville, TN March 5, 2013Music Background:
    Broadcast Audio Engineer

    CL-1 solves long-line issues

    I purchased several CL-1s to help with overcoming building electrical noise for several announcer drops for a local NBA team. It worked as advertised, easily giving me gain when needed to rise above the noise level and no PSU or batteries required. It is sturdy and will handle years of abuse in and out of my gear bag.

  • from Maine January 22, 2013Music Background:
    40 years doing a bit of everything including producing a major symphony orchestra for TV

    Best ever!

    The Cloudlifter raises my 1960 B&O ribbon mic into the clouds to record heavenly music... and I do mean that literally. I'm recording a collection of Tibetan Singing Bowls, Crystal Singing Bowls, and a crystal harp. Nothing else really works and the sound is indeed heavenly thanks to the CL-1. The best part is that purchase of a Cloudlifter supports Native American industries right here in the USA. That in itself is reason to buy a Cloudlifter.

  • from United States November 15, 2012Music Background:
    Semi Pro-Musician and Voice Over Talent

    Does What It Says

    Yup, the Cloudlifter does what it says. Put it in-line, add phantom power, and boom: +25db! Nice and quiet, too. Voiceovers into a SM7B? All good now. This box makes me happy!

  • from Central Florida June 19, 2012Music Background:
    Working Musician for ages, Project Studio Owner

    Does What It Says

    This device was bundled with an SM-7 and works well . It bumps up the signal nicely and the combination is quiet to boot. The body is a heavy gauge steel and it's solid all around. There's a very cool slot on the box bottom that makes it easy to mount.

  • from Cleveland, Ohio March 10, 2012

    Quiet unit; works well with SD 702

    I needed a bit more gain with some dynamic mics I was using with my SD 702 digital recorder. My sales rep Ryan Sloan recommended this Cloudlifter.

    Great item! It does the job ... giving me the clean extra gain I needed. The small footprint makes it portable. I can throw it in my audio bag with my 702 and it doesn't take up that much more room.

    The only caution is that you have to have phantom power to operate this unit. (It didn't work on an old mixer I have that doesn't have phantom power.) But that's a pretty small issue as most devices have phantom power.

    I recently got the chance to use it with an AEA R84 ribbon mic. (A fantastic mic, BTW.) The Cloudlifter worked wonders.

    If you need a bit more gain ... highly recommended.

    Thanks again, Ryan!

  • from United States October 11, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Working with pros

    I always enjoy my purchasing experiences with Sweetwater. The staff is knowledgeable and very helpful. Several guitars that I have purchased have arrived completely set up, ready to go with no further adjustment. Keep up the good work!

  • from Waldo,Oh July 26, 2011Music Background:
    pro guitar/vocal

    Outstanding!

    Really brings my Sank RCA dx modded Beyer m500 to life.Much easier to get a good level live.No more worries about overdriving the input!

  • from California October 7, 2015

    Does what it says it will do.

    I am using this item on both my Shure SM-7B and my EV RE-20.If you are recording vocals or instruments with a dynamic mic this is the go to unit for that.It really gives the extra boost that you need for a super clean signal with no noise.I highly recommend this product.

  • from June 4, 2015

    Need more gain?

    Got a passive ribbon/dynamic? Can your preamp provide 48v phantom? Well, have some more gain. It's good, it's clean. It does have a tendency to add a bit more 'air' to the sound. Love mine to death, both of them. I may not always use them, but I never regret having them. For me these are options for flavor as well as problem solvers.

  • from Cary North Carolina May 21, 2015

    Love it with an SM7B!

    Even if you have great preamps, this little piece of genius deserves a permanent spot in your mic arsenal. Love it with an SM7B!

  • from UK April 20, 2015Music Background:
    Music producer and songwriter

    Really helpful

    I've bought the Cloudlifter CL-1 to increase the output gain of my GAP R1 MkII passive ribbon mic before hitting the pre amp (in my case, a GAP Pre 73 MkII). This pre amp has enough gain to drive the mic, but I was looking for a way to avoid having to turn the gain knob all the way up to 70dB whilst recording finger picking acoustic guitars.

    Well, the CL-1 did exactly that for me. Absolutely clean signal, and now I am able use the pre amp at around 50dB. The tone hasn't changed at all, which is also proof of the good circuitry.

    I've also got an SM57 which benefits from it now (unless I am micking a guitar cabinet!). I definitely recommend it for passive ribbon mics or low output dynamics, such as the 57 or the SM7B.

  • from New Ipswich,NH February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Bass Player and beginner recording engineer

    Must have for certain mikes

    I didn`t know certain mikes had low output as I had not encountered this problem before. It could be old mixers had more gain in the preamps. I got a Shure SM7 and noticed it had very low gain. I talked to my salesperson at SW and he knew just what I needed. I ordered the cloudlifter and voila, problem solved. It seems a little pricey but it does exactly what it`s supposed to. Highly recommended easy fix!

  • from Spring Arbor, MI USA March 20, 2013Music Background:
    Mr. Muckabout

    Just What's Needed ...

    Gives the Shure SM7 the oomph it needs to drive lower gain mixers without adding unwanted tonal changes. Hard to beat that! A must-have for your toolbox.

  • from Austin, TX February 9, 2012Music Background:
    Voice talent and producer

    Does what it is suposed to do

    It simply and efficiently boosts ribbon levels. No hum. No anything. Just performance. I detect zero influence on audio quality. This unit simply performs as advertised.

  • from Grove City, Ohio September 12, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Guitar player.

    Problem solver

    Great product, I have a Fat Head Ribbon mic and like the way it sounds but it didn't knock me out on anything except a loud guitar amp (not enough gain). My board has nice pre's with transformers on the inputs, was considering buying $700- $800 pre for this mic until I saw this.
    Problem solved, that mic will pick up a mouse in the room now !!!.

  • from June 25, 2015

    Cloudlifter CL1

    The product is performing as advertised. However the cost of having to buy another Mic to make it work was not told to me until I'd already made the purchase. So, product good. Info, not so much.

Questions about the Cloud Microphones CL-1 Cloudlifter 1-channel Mic Activator?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway