0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Softube Tube-Tech CL 1B Plug-in Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the Softube Tube-Tech CL 1B Plug-in?

Questions about the Softube Tube-Tech CL 1B Plug-in?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Austin Moss

    Love at first instantiation. This may be the smoothest software compressor I've ever used. I've had the pleasure of using this on male and female vocals, synth leads, and even some bass. I've enjoyed using it as a color piece by setting the threshhold high and turning up the gain. Creamy and good. More please!

  • from Boston, MA November 10, 2014Music Background:
    Mix Engineer

    Just get it, smooth as silk

    Don't think about it, just get it!
    Kills on vocals, awesome!

  • from October 11, 2012Music Background:
    Music producer and Professional Singer

    Amazing

    I find that this plugin sounds so much more 3d sounding then the CLA-2a which sounds very flat and 2d to me. Make sure you set the attack and release to manual and thats where you'll get the 3d sound. If you set it to fixed then it sounds more 2d sounding.

  • from United States October 27, 2011Music Background:
    Music Producer, Musician

    Funky compressor!

    The Cl 1B gives me the mojo I need for some funky tracks. It is smooth as butter. With so much character just as with the hardware version can deliver. I am very happy with my purchase. Now I get to play with the big boys.

  • from Santa Paula, CA January 12, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer

    GREAT!

    This piece truly holds it's own in the plugin realm. I've used everything from waves to liquid mixes and find myself always reaching for this plugin. It has a softness that I just have trouble finding in other plugins. So often emulations work but really don't hold true to the actual equiptment, in this case however The CL 1B really could be mistaken for this plugin. If you want a plugin that actually delivers for once across the board, this ones for you.

  • from May 31, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Producer, Composer

    I think it's great!

    I totally disagree with the previous reviewer. I've been demoing this intensively and comparing closely to Waves CLA and all kinds of other compressors. I do love the Wave stuff, but the Softube CL1B is special in my opinion. It does have a similar sound, to my ears, to the CLA2 from Wave's CLA, but the CL1B also has the advantage of much more flexible user controls (Attack, release, various modes, etc.) I find it is very clean and defintiely gives a great analog vibe. Yes it's pricey, but if you want that sort of great sound plus control, I don't know anything like it. I'm going to order it soon. (The demo is good for 20 days--very generous.. My advice, check it out and see if it's worth the money for your own needs.

  • from Marianna, Fl December 9, 2010Music Background:
    Recording engineer,bass player, drummer

    Awesome compressor!!

    I don't know what the guy above me is thinking but This is phenomenal plug in. I own a real CL 1B. There's nothing like tracking bass through my bass chain then throwing this compressor on the bass during mixdown! I'm not a big fan of it on anything except vocals and bass though. But It has a distinct sound.

  • from Kissimmee FL USA May 31, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer Pro Musician

    CLA out performs CL1B

    $400 price tag, not worth $200 ... up against CLA classic compressors this single plug is not messing with Chris' Bluey 1176. When it comes to great plugins WAVES & UNIVERSAL AUDIO DSP, ALL THE WAY !!!

Questions about the Softube Tube-Tech CL 1B Plug-in?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway