0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Ovation Celebrity Elite Plus - Figured Koa Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Ovation Celebrity Elite Plus - Figured Koa?

Questions about the Ovation Celebrity Elite Plus - Figured Koa?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Indiana March 14, 2017Music Background:
    guitar/keys

    Bright and accurate

    I was looking for a guitar that could be used in a wide range of weather and temperatures to lead group singing with. This is a great choice! It's accurate throughout the fretboard, has a bright and loud tone that works nicely when unplugged with groups or plugged in.

  • from New Jersey February 10, 2017

    Ovation Celebrity Elite Plus

    Having bought my first Ovation in the early 80's I thought it was time for a new one. I couldn't be happier with this purchase. Sweetwater was fantastic shipping quickly and more than secure in their shipping and packing. The set up on it was very nice. The only thing I did was change to Elixir Poly Web Strings (sorry I didn't discover those years ago). I'm normally a Martin guy when it comes acoustics but when I want a different animal plugged in I adore this Ovation. I named her Vanessa Rose and she's found a home. Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from Claremore, Oklahoma October 11, 2016

    Ovation celebrity Elite, Koa

    This is the most beautiful guitar I have ever seen and the sound produced is phenomenal. It truly is a joy to play and own. The buying experience I received from Brad Thomsen made the whole process easy and truely satisfying. The quality of both the product and customer service was the best I have ever experienced. I will shop nowhere else from this point on.

  • from August 6, 2015

    Ovation Celebrity Elite Plus CE44P - FKOA

    I could not be more please with this guitar and have had many admirers so I feel lucky to own it. A case was not available at the time of purchase but the folks at Sweetwater packaged it in ways that show long term experience. She arrived safe and was perfect right out of the boxes with extra bubble wrap. The set up was perhaps the best of any guitar I have ever purchased. Frets were perfect and so was the action. It is a joy to play this instrument. The tone is everything I thought it would be and more. Many of us hesitate to buy on line but the professionals at Sweetwater deserve your trust. I have the same guitar rep. as my nephew and I didn't even know he was a client of Sweetwater. How nice of them to keep us together with the same rep. I will definitely buy again knowing that if anything goes wrong these folks will make it right. All the same for the Marshall AS50D I just purchased. Followup has been excellent and they have quickly responded to my questions regarding the Marshall AS50D.

  • from Outer Banks, NC July 1, 2015Music Background:
    musician at large

    Shimmering

    Thanks to Mike Godlove and the 55 point inspection team, this guitar arrived ready to play out of the box.
    This is no ordinary budget guitar. Although the price is in the lower range and it is made out of country, it is nothing short of spectacular in terms of articulation, depth and just plain sparkle.
    Each note unplugged rings loud and true; a little less than deep in the low end, but that is no surprise from a midbowl Ovation. Plugged in, it is readily apparent that the individual strings have their own piezo crystals, making note articulation phenomenal. For fun, I ran it with a slight boost and through a Carr Skylark and came across with a definite archtop vibe.
    With a Fishman Acoustic amp, there is all of the tweaking necessary to make this a stand out in any room, but I think I like just playing it unplugged and alone, best.
    My wife reminded me of dinner two hours after unboxing and starting to play this and I didn't show the least bit of fatigue from this slick and rapid play neck.
    The finish is gorgeous, the frets are well dressed and all joints show no signs of glue or any of the other typical out of country manufacturing concerns. It is well made and a standout for the price. I have played many well over a thousand dollars that don't play this well.
    Do switch out the strings for Martin Silk and Steel, you will not be disappointed.
    That said, it is not for everybody, as no doubt, some will miss the deep bottom end or dry woodsy sound of a large soundhole.
    Thanks Sweetwater for great service-you really delivered.

  • from Ashland, Wi USA February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Recording artist

    Ovation Celebrety

    What is most impressive to me is the general knowledge of my sales person and his willingness to make everything I need to happen immediately sweet water has done a great job delivering the product

  • from St. Petersburg, Florida October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Instructor, Pro Musician

    Great Guitar For A Great Price!

    I got this guitar because they are famous for tuning stability and react minimally to climate changes. Since I do a lot of duo work and outdoor gigs it seemed the perfect choice. I also like the option of being able to raise or lower the action by adding or removing the inserts that are provided. EQ is simple and easy and the on-board tuner is terrific. My Sweetwater Sales Engineer Alan as always took first rate care of me. I love the way the notes "pop" when you play them. Lots of control just from your fingers. Visually, the KOA gets a lot of compliments from people at gigs asking if this is a $3000 guitar. Nope....just a great sounding guitar at a great value.

  • from Cleveland ohio August 5, 2015

    Wonderful

    First off let me thank Ted and the rest of the guys at sweetwater this guitar is the most beautiful guitar that I ever owned it did need a set-up (I am very picky on how a guitar should play) once I completed the minor adjustments it played like a dream this guitar is built like a tank the fit and finish is perfect well I think I said enough now it's time to play it thanks again Ted and the rest of the guys at sweetwatet

  • from Tennnessee April 28, 2015Music Background:
    Folk and FolkRock and British Invasion

    a working guitar

    This guitar is for local gigs so I don't have to take one of my more valuable guitars, like my Dove or D-40. This Celebrity is not cheap but it is inexpensive. It is beautiful and can be made to sound beautiful also.

    The guitar came to my home quickly with no damage. The Sweetwater staff were helpful and genuine. I knew what I was getting and after I removed the strings and replaced them with my favorites.....light guage Martin Silk and Steel......it plays and sound even better.

  • from Southampton, NY June 2, 2014Music Background:
    home recording hobbyist

    great looks,sound & price

    I've had this beautiful Koa model for a few weeks now. It came quickly & in great shape (I ordered an Ovation case as well). The finish is flawless and stunning. The setup is easy to play and comfortable, no sharp frets. It has a nice bright sound, treble strings ring nicely. Compared to my Martin dreadnought it does not have as strong a bass response. Plugged in it sounds well balanced, the graphic EQ is helpful. Overall a nice sounding, looking guitar for the money. Fun to play.

  • from Rural New Hampshire November 2, 2015Music Background:
    Played bass and guitar a lot in school and college, recently returned to playing.

    Excellent guitars for the money!

    I bought a pair of these (one Koa, one Padauk) for my 50th birthday, so my wife and I could start playing again, after many years away from guitar.

    They're both very nice instruments for the price: good build quality, nice looks, very playable. I've been fortunate to have used some absolutely first class custom instruments in the past, so my criteria for excellence is set rather high. That's why I only ranked these 3.5 stars. It's not meant as an insult: they are somewhere between "Very Good" and "Great", and I have absolutely no regrets about getting them. You can certainly find better guitars, but the ones I know cost many times what these do.

    This was my first purchase from Sweetwater, and it was as good an experience as you could hope for. The high quality images of the individual instruments made selection easy. Nick LaMendola, my "Sales Engineer", was very helpful. The instruments arrived promptly and in great condition.

    It's almost a month since I got these and I'm happy to say that my wife and I play them every day.

  • from Waukesha, WI September 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very happy with the purchase

    The guitar was what I expected. I own thee other Ovations and this one did not dissapoint. Others may criticize the "plastic" back on Ovations but if the guitar is easy to play, is comfortable, and sounds good, what else is there? I didn't buy it as an investment, I bought it to play it. Very happy with the service I recieved and that fact that I could see photos of the exact guitar that would arrive at my doorstep. I was also very happy with the service from Johathan. This was my first purchase from Sweetwater and I was not used to such good service.

Questions about the Ovation Celebrity Elite Plus - Figured Koa?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway