0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

TASCAM CD-RW900MKII Reviews

4.5 stars based on 32 customer reviews
Questions about the TASCAM CD-RW900MKII?

Questions about the TASCAM CD-RW900MKII?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Ohio March 23, 2017

    Love It!

    Everything works and grill even bought a 12.00 keyboard to title the tracks and title the CD.

  • from Bonaire, GA January 14, 2017

    CD Recorder

    I bought another make of CD Recorder and went through four brand new, never used recorders and each one had the same issue, when I hit the record button, sometimes it worked sometimes it did not. I was reluctant to purchase any new CD Recorder but finally decided to take a chance on the TASCAM CD-RW900MKII. Right out of the box this component has been great! I recorded about 25 discs so far and every action was flawless. It is fun recorded my Grateful Dead shows again, I also like the 'time remaining' feature. Jose, the assistant at Sweetwater I worked with was great in taking my order and keeping me informed with tracking information. Thank you Jose, Sweetwater, TASCAM, (and of course The Grateful Dead).

  • from The Woodlands, TX January 9, 2017

    Great CD Recorder!

    Wonderful piece of equipment with ease of connection and relatively easy operation. I'm not highly skilled with electronics, so I'm learning as I go, which I expected. The sound is wonderful and I know I am going to get many years of enjoyment from the TASCAM CD-900MKII

  • from April 13, 2016

    Very nice

    Great unit, great price. Flawless operation, simple (and large) operation keys. Had to read the manual to see what button to push to ok the finalization process, but that was a simple find. Very, very nice unit with more features than we will probably need.

  • from Connecticut December 25, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer, DJ, music lover.

    Excellent cd recorder!

    Replaced a sony recorder I had since 2003. Decided to go with this one after reading all the great reviews about this unit. Have recorded with Taiyo Yuden, Verbatim and Memorex cd-r's, no issues at all. High quality, easy to use. Highly recommended.

  • from Princeton, NJ October 2, 2015Music Background:
    Grammy Nominated Classical Music Producer/Engineer

    CD Session Back-Up A Must

    We use this unit at recording sessions to give the clients an immediate reference copy of the session when it ends. A CD seems to be the most useful and easiest way to make this, and the CD# and Track# are now integral to the session take sheets I have developed in case the talent has any questions or references a take after listening to the session CDs. Simple to set up, easy to operate, I have owned many similar Tascam CD recorders in my career, and will continue to do so with whatever latest model they have.

  • from Laurium, MI 49913-2109 September 29, 2015Music Background:
    Piano lessons and organ (self taught0

    TASCAM CD-RW900MKII

    It's a good recorder/player. It is a little complicated, and I am still learning about the operation, but it isn't anything I didn't understand, it just takes a little reading an doing, and I made a few practice CD"s with it....so far so good. Thank you for the good service from your company it arrived right on time!

    George Thurner

  • from United States August 3, 2015Music Background:
    Life sound engineer

    Excellent CD Recorder

    This is a replacement for 10 year old RW900, that was getting very temperamental. This unit is outstanding. So far we've recorded on Verbatim, Memorex, and TDK discs. No recording issues at all. Makes me wonder why we didn't upgrade sooner!!!

  • from Queen Valley, AZ July 27, 2015Music Background:
    Professional musican since the age of 14, that's when they started paying me for playing.

    Musician, retired school teacher

    TASCAM CD-RW900MKII, is "as good as advertised". Only issue I had was my own fault. I really appreciate the assistance I was given by Max and Jesse and the whole Sweetwater techs. I plan on doing a lot more business with Sweetwater. Their immediate attention to my problem was noted and put in my service response list as an A+. Thanks again Sweetwater for you equipment quality and service quality.

  • from Los Angeles July 2, 2015Music Background:
    Musician/Songwriter

    Tascam CD-RW900MKll

    I'd been using what was once a high end CD recorder with a hard drive. It was primarily for mix down in my studio. It gave up the ghost recently and my research pointed me to the Tascam CD-RW900MKll.
    To my ears this machine sounds better and is very easy to use. The addition of new PS-2 keyboard for it that makes it even more powerful, and it makes many feature much easier to navigate, i.e. naming the tracks, etc.
    If you're in need of a recorder to mix down to - or anything else - buy this one. The unit is of high quality, the manual in user friendly, the keyboard a great addition as well. Oh, yes, the price is a deal.
    Ryan Sloan got it to me with the extras I ordered and it was delivered on time as always.

  • from Long Beach, Ca June 29, 2015Music Background:
    N"Obody and the band

    TASCAM CD-RW900MKII

    Works like a dream. Does everything Tascam says it'll do and flawlessly. I've been through two other "name brand" CD recorders and I'm sorry I wasted my time with them. Should have trusted Tascam from the beginning.

    If you need to make CD's from multiple sources, this is your unit.

  • from June 11, 2015

    Perfect

    The CD-RW900MKII is exactly what I needed after my out dated recorder bit the dust. It has all the features required in a home studio setting!!!

  • from Browning, IL May 12, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro, experienced hobbiest in home recording but do not have a computer

    Another Quality Product By Tascam

    I just received an email from Ted Hunter on a Monday that he received my order and payment and received my new Tascam CD-RW900MKII recorder the very next day at my work before my lunch hour! Now that's service! Thanks for that Ted. Greatly appreciated and thanks for the candy with my order.

    Now to the product. I have only had it a week or so but I have put it to the test and made me a 4 track EP that I recorded from a Zoom R8 digital recorder and it is working as it should. I also like the fact that you can write your own title to your own CD plus write the song titles down for each track via the text option in the menu. I tried it in my Kenwood CD player in my car when I got it done and sure enough the name of the songs appeared after each track number as the song played. I'm 46 but I thought that was really neat to be able to do that. I also found that using the record mute function after you fade the song out, helps it to figure out when one track ends and the next one starts. I have only tried audio recordable CD-R Maxell CD's so far. That is what I have stocked up so I haven't tried a CD-RW re-writable CD yet.

    I still have a Tascam 4 track cassette recorder that I have had since 1998 and it still works and I still use it but the Maxell XLII cassette tapes that I like are getting harder and harder to find. It has been a great recorder and has never broke down on me so I wanted to say that my experience with Tascam has been all good so far. I just thought I better upgrade to a digital recorder in case cassettes become obsolete and they will eventually some day just like 8-Track tapes. Hopefully, CD's won't in my lifetime.

    The CD-RW 900MKII, to my ears, has very good quality sound and several recording options on the back. I have only used the analog in option so far. I kinda miss it not having the second CD deck like my old RCA recorder but that is less to go wrong and I feel that the Tascam is a better quality, more professional recorder than my old one.

    Sorry for rambling on. Can't thank you enough, Ted, and I will be making more purchases from Sweetwater in the future rather than from any other company. You guys have treated me good and I won't forget it. Try a Tascam CD-RW900MKII. If you are still into the CD era, like me, I don't think that you will be disappointed. Sweetwater ROCKS. I may send Ted a copy of my 4 track EP, so look out TED!

  • from From Ohio April 21, 2015Music Background:
    Piano for personal enjoyment

    Great machine, great buy!

    Purchased this particular unit after much on-line research. It is used primarily just for my personal use in converting my favorite music to CD format. This unit has many great features and the controls are foolproof. The end product is flawless and of excellent quality. The only thing making the deal better was the service from Sweetwater! Our Sales Engineer, Alex, was very personable and spent much time with me on the phone answering all of my questions at the time of purchase. He has also followed up with inquiries about my satisfaction since the sale. This unit was delivered within 26 hours of my credit card purchase. This is a company to trust and they really are out to earn your respect. Great product and even greater service.

  • from Panhandle Fl USA March 3, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Recording made easy

    Ease of operation 2 separate input level controls what more can you ask. Recordings are crisp and clear, auto fade, and pitch control. This definitely takes my studio to the next level in mix downs.

  • from Minneapolis, MN February 23, 2015Music Background:
    Live church sound

    Love it

    This is used to record church services twice a week.
    We used two consumer grade CD burners in the past, both were prone to errors and required music CD's. Each failed after about 5 years, one because of water damage.
    I can program the Tascam for how we use it so it's ready each time it's turned on.
    We have used it for 8 services so far and couldn't be happier. Will see how it is in 5 years.
    My first 5 star review ever.

  • from Shreveport, LA USA December 8, 2014Music Background:
    Myself...Play Piano, sang Alto in Church Choir, Learning the Fiddle and Songwriter, but the Recipient is a rare cording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Professional Muscian and 3 time #1 Hit Songwriter.

    My 3 Time, Number 1 Hit Songwriter, Musician, Recording Engineer, My Man, Steve Jobe, whom I purchased it for, without him knowing, but because his Prifessionsl Sales Rep, Tyler Moore keeps up with Steve's MOST WANTED LIST, Steve is TOTALLY satisfied w

    I purchased this as a gift, with the help of Sweetwater's Professional Sales Rep, Tyler Moore, who was able to tell me exactly what my man had been planning on purchasing himself. I can't relay all the details of how impressed HE is of its capabilities, but I can say that he is TOTALLY AMAZED and SATISFIED with it. (I think I'm a keeper... I mean it IS a keeper!

  • from Park Forest, IL December 7, 2014Music Background:
    Vocalist, keyboard, guitar, trumpet, audio and video recording, church A/V tech, MediaShout presentations

    TASCAM CD-RW900MKII

    This unit was purchased to replace an earlier, malfunctioning unit, same brand, which was spitting out un-finalized CDs, which I had saved so I wouldn't be looking for them as "missing somewhere." This new unit was able to repair and finalize ALL of the "bad discs" from the previous generation deck!!!

  • from September 17, 2016

    Review Tascam CD-RW900

    I am using the Tascam unit to record CD's from a Philips CDR 785. I can (program) select tracks from up to 3 CD's from the Philips unit and connect to the Tascam recorder via coaxial cable (digital). The Tascam unit synchronizes with the Philips unit and faithfully records each track -- even when the Philips unit changes CD's in the CD tray. Sound quality (WAV file) on the recorded (digital audio) CD's is excellent. Only two minor criticisms: (1) I wish the Tascam unit would automatically copy the track names from the (original) CD's, and (2) the Tascam unit is designed to accept inputs for album and track titles input manually from a standard computer keyboard. Unfortunately, the input jack for the keyboard is the old style (5-pin PS/2) instead of a USB connector. I could probably go on e-bay to find a computer keyboard with the old style connector, but using the jog wheel to input the titles is acceptable.

  • from Texas April 13, 2016Music Background:
    Prosumer

    A real workhorse!

    I had a previous Tascam model years ago and used the heck out of it. This model is just as good and I look forward to many years of service in recording high school bands. I definately recommend this device!

  • from Jamestown TN March 27, 2016

    Quality equipment great service

    Just the right features and very good price for what you get. It was the perfect recorder for our small Church. Very easy to use and very good owners manual, easy to understand. The service from Sweetwater was excellent. Good service still means a lot to me and determines if I will order again.

  • from August 9, 2015

    Tascum CD-RW900MKII

    So far the CD-recorder has been every thing we were looking for at our church. Customer support has been great.

  • from Spokane, wa March 24, 2015Music Background:
    Prfessional musician for over 40 years

    Exactly what I wanted

    Not much into the computer thing for recording. Wanted something that I could copy directly to and not have to worry about a computer program and converting files.
    This works great. I program on my keyboards and I can pug right in and have a CD copy in a few minutes.

  • from Chicago October 29, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Tascam CD-RW900MKII

    This CD recorder looks and acts just like an old cassette deck in that you can set the input/recording levels manually using level meters. In addition, there is a automatic recording level set for digital inputs.

    I found the overall operation of the unit to be user friendly and the functions were intuitive.

    One other added bonus is that, unlike the old "home CD" recorders, you don't have to use the CD-Audio/Music discs which are more expensive and don't always finalize correctly.

  • from October 23, 2014

    TASCAM CD-RW900MKII

    Works flawlessly! No problems easy to set up!

  • from Michigan September 5, 2014Music Background:
    musician, engineer

    Review The TASCAM CD-RW900MKII

    A well made piece of gear that's works just as expected

  • from Ohio September 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    tascam cd rw900mkll

    I really enjoy this , product,I'm very satisfied and I think that Nick is a very good sales rep , thats why I came back to buy this second purchase.
    I feel like whatever I buy from your company I will be completely satisfied with, Thanks,Nick keep up the good work!

  • from Pulsaki VA December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbist in Studio , musician 40 + yrs.

    Tascam RW 900

    I like it very much does what I wanted it to do. I have used the Tascam RW 700 for many years for my radio program, and song writing .Burning CD's . I bought the 900 because it was close to the 700 to operate my 700 is getting a few glitches . I use two XT Adats and master on the 900. So it does well for me. At my age I'll never go to computer for my studio , but I will stay with Adats because I've invested much and I know them. And they have good sound also.

  • from Ripley. Ms. November 27, 2014Music Background:
    None

    Tascam

    What I Have Used it it Has Work Great Will be Using it more in days to come Realy a Good Device .

  • from September 9, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great Product by TASCAM

    High quality Stand Alone CD-Recorder, thats eaasy to use and loaded with features. Enjoying the use of this recorder and will
    purchase another one of these. Well Done TASCAM.

  • from Iowa March 23, 2015Music Background:
    Self taught guitar hack.

    Difficult to divide LP's to digital tracks.

    I had to give up trying to copy individual songs from vinyl LP's as separate digital tracks. The auto-track feature in this recorder needs two seconds of some configurable low audio level to create a consecutive track on the CD. Many LPs of course have tracks that butt up against one another. Thus the recorder jams several songs into a single CD track. This is my first nice CD recorder, maybe I'm doing it all wrong, but I doubt it. My only choices are to (1) copy each LP side as one CD track, like copying to a cassette tape, or (2) previewing the LP to determine ahead of time when to cue a new CD track, requiring manually cueing the recorder during the record process when to create the next CD track. I'm lazy so have been opting for option (1). Haven't had the energy to try option (2). Other than this I like the recorder a lot. I did have some trouble with it not accepting some cheapo Best Buy CDs, but using Sony disks helped. Sure would like separate tracks though, I'm just going to have to bite the bullet and do it manually, crap.

  • from West Salem /Cleveland Ohio August 11, 2016

    Did I get the Bad One of the Bunch ?

    I bought this to replace my old Mini-CD Combo. Left it in box for abt 3 month's then decided to use it.,
    Has never worked properly. My pre-recorded discs and many other Blanks read "Disc Error."
    After I reboot the machine...the discs will play. ( Most of the time )

    Did a Copy "Record session" OPTICAL from My Sony Mastering Unit...and 1st disc seemed to play ok.
    2nd Copy Started getting really jumpy about 30 Min into the record mode...
    All these discs are undamaged....and play thru all my other machines. Maybe the Optical lens is loose?
    I see very favorable reviews for this Item. Maybe I just got a bad one ?

Questions about the TASCAM CD-RW900MKII?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway