0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

TASCAM CD-RW900SL Reviews

4.5 stars based on 55 customer reviews
  • from Elk Grove, CA April 7, 2014Music Background:
    Marching Band in HS

    TASCAM CD-RW900SL

    I can't live without one of these so I've bought three of them from Sweetwater. I record CD compilations daily, that's my hobby. These work perfectly. I will always need one so I've stockpiled them.

  • from United States January 17, 2014Music Background:
    Music Educator

    Everything we needed

    Just what the doctor ordered!

  • from Michigan USA August 12, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Professional Vocalist

    Great CD Recorder

    The thing that is so satisfying about the Tascam CD-RW900 SL is just how user friendly it is. Easy to use right out of the box. Glanced at the manual for an overview of features and went to work. The quality is....well it's a TASCAM after all, EXCELLENT! The only shame about this recorder is how fast technology changes which means CD's are getting to be an "old thing". That being said some folks are still using vinyl 33 rpm so I suspect will be the case with me and CD's!

    As always Sweetwater is the greatest and so is my Sweetwater sales associate. Ordered in the afternoon had it in the morning!

  • from Winston-Salem, NC August 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Overall Impressed

    This is my fourth CD recorder over several years and the other brands
    do not compare to the quality of the Tascam CD-RW900SL. The ease and the overall quality of the music does not compare to the ones I have had. I have also been impressed with the overall follow-up by
    Sweetwater and the overall guarantee. I previously owned one major brand where I went through grief getting a warranty backed up in the first
    year and it never played as well as the Tascam. I am very happy with the
    purchase and will continue to use Sweetwater as needed for addtional
    needs.

  • from Windsor,SC July 16, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Tascam CD-RW900SL

    I love it.It's a great recorder!!!

  • from Kea'au, Hawaii May 22, 2013Music Background:
    Church worship director

    Great sound system CD recorder!

    Bought this recorder to replace an older model by the same maker. Upon Sweetwater's recommendation we purchased this newer model and have been impressed with the quality of the recordings. Great purchase at a great price!

  • from Florida April 3, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Review The TASCAM CD-RW900SL - EXCELLENT!

    Excellent piece of equipment. We needed a recorder for our church, which will get Lots of use, and sometimes, a little abuse . This unit fits the bill perfectly. It's state of the art technology, as well as, rugged. Would recommend it to anybody!

  • from Marion SC March 18, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Works great

    This product works really great and the sound quality is great for recording and playback. It has all of the features that I need and more. If you need a CD recorder look no more cause this is the right one for you and the price range is really good.

  • from February 12, 2013

    Great recorder

    This Is an awesome cd recorder and you won't find a better price then sweetwater.

  • from New Yawk February 6, 2013

    "Simply" Wonderful

    I don't know about you guyz, but I'm sick of having to learn how to use every new piece of equipment. Well , this is just plug n play. Great sound, nice look, easy to use -- everything I thought technology was supposed to be about. And all that at a bargain basement price.

  • from Lafayette, Indiana February 1, 2013Music Background:
    Radio, stage, movie theatres, and play guitar.

    CD-RW900SL

    Bought two of these Tascams and had to make a few adjustments in how to uise them. These pro units have a few things that I am having to get used to compared with my old high end home gear. Nothing bad . These guys just have different language in doing things. Glad I bought them. Great sound. I have these two units hooked up with my mini disc all digital so I can make copies from any source. The one thing to note is that Tascam warns not to use discs that have affixed labels, they might peel off in the unit since they are slot load. They have more features than I have space to comment on. They are very good units. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • from West Palm Beach, FL. January 14, 2013Music Background:
    Corporate Trainer, Musician, Retired.

    The answer for CD recording

    Ever wanted to record your Music keyboard, guitar, LPs, CDs, Your voice. Your childerns voice, amateur radio contacts, endless ideas.
    Ever bought something that requires a PHD to work....900SL is easy,
    Insert CD, push record, it goes to stand by. Select input button. set
    input volume. set headphone volume. Q-up your input. Push PLAY.
    You are recording. Super fidelity. When done - push Finalize - push
    MULTI JOG buttom twice. wait 60 seconds. Eject your CD ready to
    play in car or any CD player. Out of the box and 15/20 minutes you have a Finished CD. I am totally impressed. But then it's a TASCAM
    The leader in electronics. The quality is equal to that found in TV and RADIO stations. Amazing piece of equipment. ps: add a mixer and your
    band has a live CD of your next concert.

  • from virginia beach , virginia December 27, 2012Music Background:
    Record player / DJ

    1clubkid

    I had search the net and wasn't impressed with the prices some of these so call audio store were offering for this component. it was a client who had mention Sweetwater as an option. Lord and behold , not only did they have the component I was in search of, it was the price and the saving which they offered, which sold me. You try beating the warranty they offer, their commitment to me a clientele sold me forever...Thank You

  • from Callicoon, NY December 22, 2012Music Background:
    none

    Very Pleased

    VERY simple to use. Did a great job right 'out of the box' by amateurs. Our church needed a replacement for its old cassette system and this is perfect. I'm sure as we fool around with it we'll find even greater value with all the options, but for a straight-forward unit we are delighted with the CD-RW900SL.

  • from ada,ok usa December 10, 2012Music Background:
    shower singing,sound tech

    excellent service

    forgot whom i talked to over the phone,but he was knowledgeable and very efficient about what i needed and suggested some things to help get my job accomplished,thanks

  • from Grand Junction, CO USA October 16, 2012Music Background:
    Radio/TV

    TASCAM CD-RW900SL WORKS GREAT!

    This new unit worked out of the box perfectly the first time and after. It is easy to operate and the recording quality is professional high end.

  • from West Milton, OH July 8, 2012Music Background:
    semi-pro singer

    records like a casette

    I purchased this to replace a casette recorder at church. Virtually no learning curve. All controls were easy to understand and operate. My concern was in adding track nunbers. No problem! Press REC while the unit is recording and the tracks increase to the next number. We have been very pleased. Also you do not have to use CD's that have "music" printed on them.

  • from San Francisco, CA May 17, 2012Music Background:
    Singer

    Best Recorded

    I've owned a couple of other recorders before buying the Tascam. This unit is easy to operate, very accurate, and records great tracks. I've used it extensively over the past 3 months and never encountered a glitch. I'm very happy with the unit.

  • from anchorage May 5, 2012Music Background:
    Gospel

    Thank you!

    thanks so much for a quality product that fits our pans and dedication in recording for the sermons within our church

  • from Florida USA February 24, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great unit for cutting own CD's

    This is one of Best I ever had as a recorder easy as 1 2 3

  • from Topeka, IN August 24, 2011Music Background:
    Secretary and Part Time Sound Help

    Very Nice

    We are very happy with the sound of our worship services on CD. We finally broke away from cassette recording, so I'm not sure if the recordings are great by other standards. But compared to the cassette recording, it's a hundred times better! Nice piece of equipment!

  • from Washington NC USA August 18, 2011Music Background:
    Musician (pianist)

    TASCAM CD-RW900SL

    I have owned my Tascam now for quite some time. The recordings are very clear and it is very user friendly. I use it to record at home from my Motif and also to record live performances. I am very satisfied and would highly recommend this product.

  • from Bethalto, IL December 12, 2010Music Background:
    sound board operator

    Clean Sound for little money.

    I have left several reviews on the various live sound pieces our church recently purchased- we are thrilled with them all. As with most smaller churches we have to guard our budgets. This is our first attempt at recording services- we chose these piece on the advice of Kurt Martin our salesmen. As with all the pieces he recommended, another quality piece within our budget. Although we are still playing with record levels; to date we can discern no audible hiss.
    I highly recommend you read through the manual before attempting your first disc. It is not a simple matter of hitting the record button; input selections must be made before a disc is inserted and recording begins. This might sound like a pain, but it assures a higher quality recording. We purchased the Microboards duplicator in conjunction with this piece. For under $1000 our church now has the capacity to record and duplicate CD's of our services. The sound is smooth, very audible, and clear. Thanks again Kurt-right as usual!

  • from February 27, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Buy

    Great working unit that records real well. Easy to use.

  • from dry ridge KY July 6, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician,engineer,songwriter

    works great with easy set-up

    I have used Tascam products for many years and have always had great results and dependable service.

  • from Houston, TX June 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro

    Great machine

    This replaced the warhorse we already had. Its predecessor gave us almost 6 years of trouble free service. It was used almost daily. If this one lasts as long we will be 5 star blown away! It is easy to operate. It may not have all the bells and whistles, but it is affordable and is worth every dime you spend.

  • from Sparta, IL. February 14, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer Assistant

    Great Equipment

    Component operates proficiently and easily. Operates great in a church setting. It is really a great value! This is professional equipment!

  • from Fairview, NC USA February 4, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Excellent CD Recorder

    The TASCAM CD-900SL fills an important niche in my studio, allowing me to provide an instant board recording to give to clients for evaluation prior to mastering. The controls and displays are very easy to understand and use with very little learning curve, and the subsequent recordings are of very high quality.

    The only feature I don't like is that it is slot-loaded, as opposed to tray-loaded. My experience with other, earlier slot-loaded CD players has not been good in the past; just have to wait and see how reliable this unit is turns out to be in the long run.

    Overall, an excellent, easy-to-use CD recorder. Highly Recommended.

  • from hernando ms. January 31, 2013Music Background:
    recording,live sound, and pro musician

    great recoarder

    easy to use best sound quality

  • from Charlamagne January 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro engineer

    Great box, but.. CDs?

    This is a great box. Tascam scores again. But--- why CDs? Why not make a box 1/5th of the size and just have a slot for a jump drive and record directly to jump drive? Then give the option to upload to Facebook, Twitter, Wordpress or Soundcloud. Now THAT would be an awesome product. I didn't know people were even still using CDs?

  • from detroit,mi December 25, 2012Music Background:
    musician,dj

    sweetwater is a great place to order equipment that you need!!

    i purchased the tascam cd-rw900sl and it has worked great no problems at all..i have also purchased some other items from sweetwater and i have been very satisfied with the products..i plan to order more equipment from sweetwater!!

  • from Clover, SC December 17, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Good Value

    When these are on sale the're a good value. Easy to use, basic recorder & player. No XLR, must use un-bal or digital in & outs.
    If you still use CDs just what you need.

  • from Phillipsburg, Missouri, U.S. of A. May 15, 2012Music Background:
    Owner/Engineer: Format Conversions; Archival; Forensics

    Full Featured & Robust

    As an owner of an earlier CD-RW700, that is still to this day in service, I can truly say that it's plethora of features are a vast step up. The only discerning point is still, as in earlier units, is their choice of converters. There is a substantial, albeit, a small difference in separation depending on the source input. Otherwise I would not hesitate to recommend this model. I wonder if the slot load will hold up as long as the tray styled decks. My earlier unit was upgraded by Tascam and was handled very gently. This says a good deal about pride. That's important when you must rely upon a machine to stay in business.

  • from Miami, FL February 20, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Professor

    Reliable Good Clean Sound

    I use this unit to record live performances direct to stereo. My clients are quite happy with their recordings which is why I own four of them! I only wish they had balanced inputs.

  • from Bangor, PA September 3, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    Like it very much.

    So far, I like it very much. Pitch control works good. Menu easy.
    Haven't tried recording yet, but will let you know how that goes.

  • from Spring Lake, NC USA May 25, 2011Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    TASCAM CD-RW900SL

    The TASCAM CD-RW900SL is very user friendly. The features and controls were really easy to use. Everything went perfectly straight out of the box. Even it's appearance was great! Overall, this CD recorder is a great value, I highly recommend it.

  • from Washington, Pa November 22, 2013Music Background:
    Sound equipment operator

    Great product

    This product does all that I expectd and more.

  • from LECANTO FLORIDA November 20, 2013Music Background:
    40 YEAR PRO ON THE ROAD

    NICE CLEAN SOUND

    PROBABLY THE SIMPLEST CD RECORDER I HAVE EVER USED,AND I'VE USED MANY. THE SOUND IS VERY CLEAR. A LITTLE SLOW CHANGING GEARS, BUT ACCEPTABLE.

  • from southeast US November 19, 2013Music Background:
    sound technician at medium sized church.

    Good easy to use recording tool

    Simple controls and well written instructions.

  • from Moultrie, GA July 15, 2013Music Background:
    40+ years playing music

    Great Unit, Easy to operate

    Purchased for recording in a church. Easy to operate and makes great recordings.

  • from Dallas,TX USA February 15, 2013Music Background:
    Recording & Live Sound Engineer and Pro Musician

    The Tascam CD-RW900SL

    I am a sound engineer and I use my Tascam CD-RW900SL at my recording studio, live concerts and with my band for live recordings & concerts. With all the great features, It is easy to use and I love have it read mp3 files within difference folders. I now own two units and I may just get another, for half price, you can't go wrong.

  • from Waterford, MI, USA February 13, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, church AV person.

    Tascam CD=RW900SL

    We bought this unit to record things at our church through our current sound system. All I did was run a wire from the back of the closest speaker to the analog plug ins and we now record sermons and entire services real time on playable CD's. Not only can we record sermons to be put on our web site but we can actually give a CD to the Bride and Groom of their wedding as well as record other special services or choir events, plays etc. This unit real met our needs.

  • from New York City February 11, 2013Music Background:
    Everything to do with the piano ! ( recording, technical, tuning etc)

    Great CD recorder @ "used CD rec." price !

    This CD recorder looks , sounds & works great !. It even has an old school ( not USB) keyboard input to label your track info. The only downside is that , albeit its sold as a pro unit, it only has RCA unbalanced ins & outs, so levels have to be adjusted properly, not to risk overloading inputs etc.

  • from NY January 31, 2013Music Background:
    Serious hobbyist and amateur musician

    Hopefully it will outlast my two previous Sony ones!

    So far so good. Lots of good features and it seems sturdy. It is certainly an asset that it uses regular CD's rather than the Music Cd's, which had so many defective ones in a pack. I do miss the disk to disk feature of the Sony CD makers and especially the fast speed duplication, but the Sonys seem to last at most 3 years and are no longer being made. Certainly the support system at Sweetwater and customer care seem to be another asset in this purchase.

  • from Belleview, FL December 26, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Choir director

    Easy to use and good value

    This unit is very easy to use. Within a couple minutes out of the box, I was on my way to a clean master recording from my electronic keyboard directly into the CD-RW900 SL. Watch the clip light so you don't get distortion.

  • from High Ridge Mo December 25, 2012Music Background:
    Media Director and Musician

    Well worth the money!

    Very nice unit. This was bought for the sound booth at church and all the techs really like a lot. It has a lot of great features.
    Has a great forward or reverse for practice also the key changing with out changing the speed of the track is great.

  • from San Diego September 12, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound

    Pretty good

    So far so good. We replaced our old hb unit with this one.
    They need to make a songle space of this exact machine & features. No reason nowadays why it should be any bigger. Do that and get rid of the hideous face plate and 5 stars.

    Otherwise its a decent unit for the $.
    Should not be disappointed. I never write these reviews but the Tim @ sweetwater provides great customer care.
    Oh yeah and although i shouldnt, i tear into the treats they send in the box as if i were a kid on halloween. Big ups to SW.

  • from Borger Tx August 13, 2012Music Background:
    musician

    Great quality

    ordered and installed this recorder for our church to replace cassette recording. I was blown away by the quality when i hit play to hear the service. The music sounded like a studio recording, everything came through very clear. Definitely a good addition.

  • from Marshfield, Maine July 27, 2012Music Background:
    I have a 16 track Digital Performer based project studio and play a little guitar and ukulele.

    A solid CD burner

    I very happy with my CD-RW900SL. It's very easy to use and burns flawless CDs every time. I recommend it.

  • from Connecticut May 9, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Audio Engineer, Business Owner

    Easy to use and works Flawlessly

    After removing the unit from its box and securing it into the padded case I purchased it was a simple matter of plugging it in and Start using it. The controls are very intuitive and I was able to get perfect levels within a minute.
    I purchased the CD-RW900SL largely because of the Tascam name. I've used Tascam gear for years and they have never let me down.
    All in all this unit is easy to use has many features that enhance the value and is Solidly built and easy to use. I also prefer the slot loaded disk mechanism over the tray. The operation is super quiet.
    Sound quality is just what you would expect from a professional level CD player. Neutral.

  • from Green Bay, WI May 1, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    A Great Value

    This is our second Tascam CD recorder. We have had such good success with our first one that we didn't consider any other brands. This product is a great value for the price.

  • from San francisco ca November 6, 2013Music Background:
    Dance studio owner over 35 years

    Pitch control way to difficult

    Great player and recorder EXCEPT if you need to use the pitch control. It almost takes a rocket scientist to use the pitch control function. Any other cd players Ive had was on button on or off not this one At least 4 function and buttons to reach the pitch option. Not a great system for dance instruction

  • from Medina, Ohio July 18, 2013Music Background:
    DJ at ball room dance studio in Cleveland, OHio

    Tascam CD RW 900 SL

    The reason I bought it was to burn a compilation of songs on a CD to play for a ball room dance studio. Now some people use their Mac's and I tunes programs to play it or the EZ DJ program (which is definately NOT EASY to use). I am computerized yet.
    My old superscope skips due to age (10) yrs old, so I decided to replace it with the 900 and then burn tascam 900 to my old tascam 700. But when I attempted to use the pitch control on the 900 to alter the speed of songs I was recording, it became much too time consuming to use to reset the speed of music using its' non user friendly pitch control features. So I have decided to return it and will try the Superscope 450 CD burner with a hard drive feature to attempt to accomplish my purpose. I have a tascam rw700 which I like, but it does not have a pitch control feature on it , which is why I bought the 900 model. But my suggestion to tascam is that they make a new model, and include a separatestand along toggle switch on the face of the machine ( not part of the remote control device) in order to use the pitch control feature when burning CD's.
    Otherwise, I think the tascam unit is a very good machine. It simply will not suit my purpose , so I returned it to try a different product.

  • from Dallas, Texas June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound engineer in a church.

    Not so great

    It did what they said, just not in the way I needed it to. I tried making a music CD but without a mixer, my voice was half of what the music was making me sound like I was outside recording inside. The mixer helped but had to be altered too much for my liking. I will try a different one.

  • from September 5, 2013

    Poor performance

    The Tascam CD-RW900SL performance is very poor when compare to Sony WRCD500. I would rather have a dual tray recorder, but for the time being, I have to endure the frustrations of the Tascam. The recording quality is poor and play back level is very low, when compared to the Sony WRCD500. I wish the Sony WRCD500 was still available.

Questions about the TASCAM CD-RW900SL?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway