0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Fender CD-60CE - All Mahogany Reviews

4.5 stars based on 39 customer reviews
  • from New York February 12, 2017Music Background:
    Intermediate going for Full time performer

    First acoustic

    It exceeds what I was expecting. I'm an electric guitar player, but thought about dabbling a little in acoustic tonality. Worth every penny and then some.

  • from Guadalajara January 26, 2017

    MY BABY

    1 year with this guitar ... bought it

    warm sound
    good preamp
    comfortable
    great for recording
    lightweight
    sounds good mic'ed live or via DI box

  • from Nevada January 9, 2017

    Happy in Nevada

    This guitar is amazing, especially at this price point. Not to mention the plush hard shell case that was part of the deal. Awesome sound. It arrived on time. Took it out of shipping carton and let it set at room temperature for 24 hours before dressing the fret board with lemon oil. 12 hours later I tuned it and have been playing it since. Three weeks later it is still in perfect tune. I have a 3 grand Les Paul that won't stay tuned more than a day! Bottom line is that this guitar is ready for any assignment out of the box. And then there's the finish.....Gorgeous! I love it!

  • from Michigan January 3, 2017

    Very nice guitar for the money

    Everything about the deal I got was pretty good, if not downright impressive. The guitar showed up incredibly fast, less than 36 hours from the time I placed my order. It showed up double boxed and packed extremely well. This is the first time I have bought a guitar without playing it first, so I was apprehensive about the condition it would be in when it arrived. It was intact, spotless and in tune. Action was a little bit on the high side up past the 12th fret. But, after living with it for a few weeks I've determined that it really isn't that bad. After doing some measurements, it's actually pretty much set up to factory specs. The Fishman system is pretty cool and offers a lot more adjustment to the tone than I expected. I was just looking for an acoustic guitar to play around with outside, or the back porch, or whenever I just wanted to strum away. What I got was a guitar that would be comfortable doing anything from sitting around a campfire to doing gigs with. The included hsc was just the added bonus that made me decide to buy it. And I'm glad I did.

  • from September 11, 2016Music Background:
    Novice

    First Acoustic Electric

    I haven't had an acoustic guitar in 40 years so it's been fun learning again. I debated on whether to get a straight acoustic or acoustic/electric. I'm so glad I chose the latter. It sounds so good with my Fender Super Champ X2 with the Greeback speaker! It even sounds great with a Strymon Flint. The guitar is not master-crafted but it sure sounds good to a beginner like me.

    The onboard tuner works surprisingly well. Pretty much just as good as my TC PolyTune. The pickup EQ dials really do change the tone considerably. They're not Fischer Price dials.
    As impressive as the guitar is, the hard case that comes with it? Holy cow. 1/3 of the price of this guitar must be in the case. I really don't think you can do better than this guitar and case for the price. I'm super happy with it so far.

  • from Oklahoma June 8, 2016Music Background:
    playing for 30+ years

    Great Guitar

    I have Taylors, and Martins several fenders Strats and Tele's so when my son expressed an interest in learning to play guitar I was very happy... after looking around at the entry level guitars I chose this one, when it arrived I tuned it up played a few chords and was very surprised at the tonal quality of this guitar... to the point of briefly thinking about keeping it :-) it's very easy to play and after one leason my son has G, C, and D down pretty good

  • from Bridgecity,Louisiana May 25, 2016Music Background:
    Rap & R&b

    Guitar

    Iove it thank you for it i

  • from Salem, VA May 18, 2016

    Great Guitar

    I really enjoy this guitar. I ordered it on May 11, 2016 and it arrived on May 13, 2016. I ordered a DEMO model which saved me about 10% on the purchase. The guitar looks good, sounds good and the electronics work great.

  • from Savannah, GA May 9, 2016Music Background:
    20+ years playing guitar in church

    Bang for the buck!

    For the price, you'll have a hard time finding a better sounding guitar. This thing has a very full, rich and crisp sound when play acoustically. Plug it in and the electronics will blow you away. Amazing sound. I've played 4 gigs in the month I've owned it and originally bought it because my primary acoustic guitar was going to be in the shop when I had a gig. I needed a back up that was good enough and wouldn't break the bank. Well my this guitar went from back up to primary. At each of those gigs I've had a professional guitar player ask me about it and complement its sound.

  • from Maryville, Tennessee May 1, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist for 35 years

    Beautiful sight and sound

    Great play ability and beautifully made. Sounds sweet and beautiful. It is even more lovely than I thought it would be. This guitar has great tone! I am extremely happy with my purchase.

  • from bridge city, La April 30, 2016

    love it

    went I got the fender guitar is feel like a new born baby went I got it it a good guitar to hold on to thank sweetwater for it

  • from PA January 4, 2016

    Excellent starter

    Very pretty in person and what great sound for the price couldn't be happier!

  • from Florida November 11, 2015

    Excellent

    I bought this guitar as my first guitar. I knew Fender was a reliable name and made good products. I couldn't be happier with my purchase! This is a beautiful guitar with good sound... Buy it and you won't regret it. The people at Sweetwater are amazing and the customer service is top notch. I'll but all my future equipment from them. Thanks Sweetwater! Love you guys.

  • from NEW Mexico October 13, 2015Music Background:
    Family

    Great sound for the price .

    This is the 2nd one that I brought .
    Love the sound of this Guitar.
    Then it comes with a nice case also.
    Can't beat the sound and etc, that you get for the price.
    It's great.

  • from October 10, 2015

    Great guitar for the price

    this is a great sounding guitar for the money. nice action. Sweetwater did a good job with setting it up.

  • from Indiana September 26, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Fender CD 60 CE

    This guitar has a huge sound and plays incredibly well. Never been a Fender acoustic guy, but I am now.

  • from NEW Mexico August 28, 2015Music Background:
    Family

    Great sound

    Nice neck and super sound .

  • from Woonsocket, R.I. September 18, 2014Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Simply Beautiful !

    I just got this in over a hour ago via Fed-EX and I am blown away at the quality and sound of this beautiful instrument. My only fault with it is that the action is a tad too high but, I can fix that by sanding down the bridge saddle. This is my new baby and is not going anywhere !

  • from Bonners Ferry, ID September 2, 2014Music Background:
    Played piano, flute and guitar for many years.

    Great guitar

    This guitar is wonderful. It is beautiful, has a great sound and also many upgrades, such as the hard-shell case and built-in tuner, for free!

  • from Boston,MA July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Church band violonist.

    Better Than other expensive guitars

    IŽve bought this product and i im very happy with this guitar. This guitar sounds amazing, it has a awesome bass response, has a beautiful mid and treble, good for fingerstyle and to play live. Better than some martins and taylors.

  • from Fort Collins, CO July 1, 2014

    Great Choice!

    Great birthday present for my son! He was surprised and excited to add this to his guitar collection!

  • from United States May 13, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Fender Guitar

    i am pleased with my new fender guitar .

  • from Warrenm MN March 24, 2014Music Background:
    guitarist 40 years

    best deal I've seen

    They delivered my new CD 60 CE today and within an hour I was completely impressed. Better than I expected in all aspects. Plays well, sounds great and looks fabulous. The congregation will be pleased with the results. Thanks again Sweetwater for a Sweet deal!

  • from West Chicago, IL USA June 19, 2013Music Background:
    Long term hobbyist and constant student

    Better Then Expected

    Everything about this guitar was better then I expected for the price. The finnish, the tone with or w/out using an amp., the Fishman Electronics and even the quality of the included case. Nice Deal!

  • from adrian mi March 2, 2013Music Background:
    singer, songwriter, praise band leader

    Wow

    This guitar is what I have been looking for. Beautiful tone and looks great. Fishman electronics allows great plugged in sound. All mahogeny consruction provides a warm sound without sacrificing volumn. I would love to see a 12 string version of this guitar.

  • from Pilot Grove, MO February 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    CD-60CE

    Ordered my new guitar and it arrived within a few days. Just as described. Very beautiful guitar and sounds excellent. The Fishman pre-amp and tuner works great and it sounds wonderful when plugged into my Danelectro amp that I have had for years. The mahogany body looks very attractive and produces the best sound I have heard from comparable acoustic guitars. Best customer service I have seen in years. My sales engineer called me the day after I place my order to confirm everything with me. I appreciate the communication and the speed of delivery for my order.

  • from Jackson, MI December 9, 2016

    Good guitar for the money.

    I placed my order online for one of these on a Tuesday morning. By 2:30pm the next day, I had the guitar in my hands. I only used the free shipping option and it still only took 32 hours for the guitar to arrive. It was boxed very well and survived the trip completely intact. The string height is a little high right out of the box, but that is to be expected. Every guitar needs to adjusted a little bit for each individual player. The tone of the guitar is everything I expected an all mahogany Dreadnought would sound like. Nice warm, bellowing tones. The tuner works good enough to be considered a free option. The Fishman system works very well and I was surprised by how much the eq actually changes the tone. I don't have an amplifier specifically for acoustic guitars, but I couldn't resist trying out the Fishman system. I tried the guitar through a Vox AC30C2 with a little bit of reverb and tremolo and it sounded pretty darn good. For the beginner to intermediate level players this guitar is a great bargain. The included lockable Fender hardshell case is a nice added touch to the deal.

  • from Kerrville, TX December 11, 2015Music Background:
    Beginner

    I LOVE THIS GUITAR !!!

    This is a long review, but I think it will help some of you who might be on the fence about this guitar. This is my first acoustic-electric guitar. I purchased it because it is well within my budget, and I liked the look of the mahogany. The hard case fits the guitar well, and is well built. When I opened the case for the first time, I was amazed at how beautiful the guitar is. None, and I mean NONE of the pictures you see on any website does this guitar justice!!. I spent 10 or 15 minutes just looking at the guitar before I tuned it up and started playing. My knowledge of guitars is limited, but the fit and finish on this instrument is beautiful! I wasn't sure how good the Fishman tuner would work, so I used my Korg digital tuner and the Fishman tuner at the same time. For me, the Fishman tuner will be just fine. If you're worried about leaving the tuner on and running the battery down, you really have nothing to worry about...when the tuner is on, the green 'in tune' light flashes until the tuner is turned off. Also, if the tuner is on, audio to your amp is muted. When I started playing, I smiled a huge smile and giggled just a little bit. For me, this guitar sounds as beautiful as it looks...a nice warm, rich sound. I'm a 63 year old man, and my fingers are sensitive to a string action that I think is too high. I have no problem playing anywhere on the fretboard on this guitar. The first time I hooked the guitar up to an amp, I was very pleased with the sound (The amp is a Fender Acoustasonic 15). If I had it to do all over again, I'd still buy this guitar. If someone I know wanted to start playing a guitar, I'd tell them to get this guitar. So after all the praises of this guitar, why only 4.5 stars??? Because the wires from the tuner/amp control to the cable plug are visible in the sound hole, and if I pick up the guitar and give it a shake, the wires will hit the guitar body. If I were responsible for QA at Fender, that **** would not pass.

  • from California September 9, 2015Music Background:
    still learning...

    Great Sound

    My first mahogany acoustic, also my first acoustic electric. The guitar arrived in tune, and played beautifully. Nice deep base and suited for most styles of music. I play a lot of Eagles and country blues, and man does it have a sound! Much different than my spruce top Washburn. More bass, and an overall warmer tone. The built in electronics work very nicely...built in tuner is spot on. I typically bring my guitars to a luthier for set-up, but this one probably won't need to make that trip. Very pleased with my purchase.

  • from griffin ga. February 16, 2015Music Background:
    hobby 40 years now

    great guitar enjoy it very much plays good sounds good.

    best guitar for its price ,told friends about it .

  • from Canton, GA November 12, 2014Music Background:
    Professioanl hobbyist and lifestime student.

    Nice guitar for the money

    Guitar arrived in what appears to be good shape, just received it yesterday. The action is a little high and I will eventually have it reset and strung again professionally from my Luthier, after I play it awhile. The Fishman electronics sound real nice and was actually surprised it had a battery already installed. The one I received was listed as a Demo (great price), however I was told it was "brand new" and only the shading was off a little on the front and rear. I was sent photos while on the phone with Sweetwater of the guitar. When I carefully removed the Fender sticker from the pick guard.. it appears to have several scratches that were under the sticker. No big deal but wondering how they got their.

  • from newport n.c. October 1, 2014Music Background:
    church

    fender acoustic electric

    received my new fender and it was beautiful....was a little worried about the strings but now am afraid to change them because they sound so good for cheap strings...didnt know it required a battery for the electric side untill it quit playing after i had left it on....fixed that and its fine now...had several great comments on its looks and sound....am greatly pleased with this guitar....

  • from troy ny April 17, 2014Music Background:
    student and hobbyist

    love it

    im not the most experienced guitar player i will say that i love this guitar

  • from February 14, 2014

    Great acoustic

    Got this fender out of the case ready to jam. Solid body, stays in tune, and great low tones. perfect for the price

  • from fort wayne, in January 21, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    GREAT GUITAR

    all the other reviews i had read about the CD-60CE are very accurate. it is a great guitar with great sound. the fact that it came with a hard case was a real bonus.

  • from July 25, 2015

    Very Pleased

    Wanted a nice acoustic without breaking the bank - this Fender fit the bill! Beautiful sounding an looking guitar for the money. The included Fender hard travel case makes this deal even better. Would highly recommend this guitar to any beginner or intermediate player.

  • from Canton, GA November 27, 2014

    Update on my first review

    The scratches on the pick guard turned out to be because " I ".. did not take the clear plastic off... after sending some photos to Clint at Sweetwater he called me back immediately and solved the mystery. DUH ME!

    Thanks Clint

  • from Pennsylvania July 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Gorgeous!

    Fender CD-60CE Mahogany. This thing it Gorgeous! The tone is warm & cozy. Plays great. The hard shell case is very nice. Not thrilled with the Fishman Tuner. For the price, a great value.

  • from Ohio October 14, 2015Music Background:
    Budding artist

    Beautiful guitar

    I got this as a knock around piece and because it looks so darn good. The sound is good but not like my other models. The included case is a bonus.

    My sales engineer, Donte, was very helpful and above any other sales people I have dealt with at other sites.

    Overall, I am very pleased with the whole experience.

Questions about the Fender CD-60CE - All Mahogany?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway