0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Fender CD-140S - Natural w/solid top Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Hollister, CA USA May 18, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fender CD-140S

    It has a lot of tone! Fender has a winner! The guitar also looks beautiful!

  • from Peachtree City October 8, 2014Music Background:
    ptcmusic.org Teacher, producer, songwriter

    Bloody Brilliant

    I accidentally reviewed the mahogany one instead of this. You can read my review there if you like. Nothing under 7hundred bucks comes close to this guitar

  • from Chicago, IL USA October 7, 2014Music Background:
    Singer and guitarist

    AN EXCELLENT GUITAR TO MATCH HIGH-END GUITARS!!!

    I just bought recently a Fender’s new all-solid-wood CD-140S dreadnought that is crafted with the kind of stylish looks, smooth feel and full, resonant tone you’d expect from much more expensive instruments. I was so amazed with its features like a new tortoise shell pickguard and mother-of-pearl rosette design, rosewood bridge with compensated Graph Tech NuBone™ saddle, aged bridge pins with black dots, mother-of-pearl Fender logo headstock inlay, and smaller (3 mm) dot fingerboard inlays, scalloped X bracing, 20-fret rosewood fingerboard, dual-action truss rod, and die-cast tuners. They are to die for because they are not included in other guitars with its humble price range. But trust me, YOU WILL NEVER REGRET BUYING THIS GUITAR.

    Fender CD-140S may not be a high-end guitar like Taylor or Gibson or Ibanez, BUT IT PLAYS LIKE ONE. And for what it's worth, this guitar may be considered a real wonder
    because of its very wonderful and powerful sound to it, and a truly amazing sound that plays better than any guitar in its price range. This guitar is my new best friend and I think we'll go a long, long time just like my other Fender guitar which is the GDO-200 that I bought in the UK. Fender guitars stand the test of time and their sound gets better and better each time you play it. The sound is so incredibly haunting.

  • from Chicago, IL USA October 7, 2014Music Background:
    Singer and guitarist

    EXCELLENT GUITAR!!!

    I just bought recently a Fender’s new all-solid-wood CD-140S dreadnought that is crafted with the kind of stylish looks, smooth feel and full, resonant tone you’d expect from much more expensive instruments. I was so amazed with its features like a new tortoise shell pickguard and mother-of-pearl rosette design, rosewood bridge with compensated Graph Tech NuBone™ saddle, aged bridge pins with black dots, mother-of-pearl Fender logo headstock inlay, and smaller (3 mm) dot fingerboard inlays. Features scalloped X bracing, 20-fret rosewood fingerboard, dual-action truss rod, and die-cast tuners.

    Fender CD-140S may not be a high-end guitar, BUT IT PLAYS LIKE ONE. And for what it's worth, this guitar may be considered a real wonder
    because of its very wonderful and powerful sound to it, and a truly amazing sound that plays better than any guitar in its price range. This guitar is my new best friend and I think we'll go a long, long time.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN February 7, 2015Music Background:
    Beginner

    Great Beginner Guitar

    I recently started to learn how to play the acoustic guitar as a raw beginner. I did not want to spend a lot of money if I gave up. I read many reviews and decided I wanted a solid wood top rather than a laminated top.
    I looked at the Yamaha FD700S, Washburn WD10S and the Fender CD140S. The Yamaha did not grab me with it's sound although I liked it's size. The Washburn and Fender sounded good to me. Since the Fender was $50 less, I went with it. So far, I am very happy with my decision!
    I gave the Fender a 4 star as I am a Novice and don' feel qualified to rate it a 5 star.

  • from Albuquerque, NM February 12, 2014Music Background:
    Singer and Beginning Guitar

    Fantastic Fender For Frugals!

    Although the picture here at the Sweetwater website and at the Fender website do not match the actual hue on the guitar, I would disagree with the previous reviewer that stated the guitar was not "near as pretty as the photo". In fact,...the photo's simply DO NOT do this guitar justice! It's really beautiful to me! The neck has a natural satin finish to make it easier to play, and the head has a glossy finish, so obviously the colors are not an exact match, but the various golden browns and honey golds complement each other nicely throughout this instrument.
    I am not an expert on acoustic guitars and this is my 1st, but after one month of practice, am I falling in love with this guitar! I've become accustomed to the action, and it seems to stay in tune much longer now that the wood has become acclimated to my home. I would recommend to the 1st time or beginning guitarist on a budget.

  • from August 30, 2012Music Background:
    student

    Great Guitar, Great Price

    This is the first guitar I ever owned. It's got a great full sound, easy to play, and not to mention it's pretty.

  • from July 31, 2012

    CD 140

    Great guitar for the price.

    Fun to play.

  • from Crofton, MD May 14, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Doesn't match photo

    Customer service is great! Thank you Jason! But this is the second guitar I've ordered online that doesn't match the photo. The top is darker and more yellow. The neck and head don't match and aren't near as pretty as the photo. The other guitar was from a big music store chain. I special ordered a strat in Daphne Blue and it looks more like sea foam green. If the look if your guitar is important, shop in person. The Fender CD-140s doesn't stay in tune as well as my Applause.

Questions about the Fender CD-140S - Natural w/solid top?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway