0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Fender CD-140SCE - Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Chicago October 10, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur

    Go for it

    I'm an amatuer guitarist. I was looking for a decent guitar with a pick up so that i could record the rhythm portions for my songs. I wanted to decide among this and yamaha fg series and decided to get this fender. The delivery wa done the next day which amazed me. The packing was done so well and the guitar arrived in factory condition. Initial impression were awesome. It sounded great and was easy to play. The inbuilt tuner was so helpful and easy to use. So i went to try the pick up and connected it to my Steinberg Soundcard. The sound was electric and i was disappointed with it. The sound was so feeble and i was thinking of returning it. Then i tried it on an amp and it sounded exactly as it is when you hear it without the pick up. Thats when i realised it needs an amp before you connect to a soundcard. Im definitely happy with this guitar, my first fender.

  • from Goshen, IN September 4, 2016Music Background:
    Old school heavy metal head banger from way back

    Really like this one

    Been wanting an Acoustic for awhile now (never owned one).. I'm more of a metal playing type but wanted something different to play for those times when feeling mellow LOL... This is a really nice well built beautiful Guitar that sounds great unplugged or plugged into an Amp. it's fun to play too. my fingers still hurt after playing due to never playing an Acoustic before but that's to be expected. yes I would buy it again and recommend this Fender CD-140SCE. Thanks again Sweetwater, special thanks to Chris N for helping me pick out this beauty! see you guys again soon.

  • from Fort Worth, TX April 19, 2016Music Background:
    Playing mostly for fun for 60 years.

    Great with new strings

    Sounded tinny in the store, but I took the word of a friend that new strings would make a world of difference. I liked the look, the action, and the apparent build quality, so I took a chance. Put on a set of D'Addario EFT16 strings, and wow! 100% sound improvement. Also, the wires inside the guitar had come loose, so I had to re-attach them with some good double-sided tape (easy to do when the strings are off). Now I love it.

  • from United States May 7, 2015Music Background:
    guitarist for 8 years

    Disappointing. Not a long-term investment

    The first one I bought had to be sent back because of a dead fret. The second one has a string height/fret buzz problem that is not worth investing any more $$$ after 3 trips to luthiers already. Would not recommend. Can't wait to get rid of this instrument.

  • from March 14, 2015

    GREAT guitar for the money!!!

    I just purchased one of these guitars. I'm VERY happy. I checked out some other acoustic electrics that were about $100 cheaper and there is a world of difference. The solid top and fishman electronics make this guitar such a bargain. I played the Fender CD-60CE (laminate top) unplugged and it wasn't even close. I also checked out an Ibanez V70CE. It seemed to have almost identical tonal characteristics to the CD140 unplugged. But plugged in it and a tendency to feed back and the Ibanez electronics quite honestly sucked. So between the solid top and the fishman this guitar is a great buy!!!! I bought it primarily for small solo acoustic gigs where you just basically plug into the PA. This guitar is perfect for such things.

  • from Vidor, Tx December 22, 2012Music Background:
    Song writer and recording all day.

    Best Bang for the buck!

    It's a good writer guitar and great for any situation you can toss it one into. Simply put, it's a workhorse. I play mine everyday when writing music & play for others occasionally as well. I find that custom light strings exploit every facet of this guitars design.
    It's been mistaken for a Taylor if you do not see it before you hear it. There are some hurdles to get past, but those are negligible. All guitars require proper intonation adjustments to perform at their peak. While some higher end guitars come ready and set. This guitar does need some minor adjustments to perform at its finest. Get the neck setup proper and you'll feel the strings vibrate in your chest.
    I've played mine for 5 years and the only thing I can say is that the more you play it... the better she treats you!
    (Sound is amazing with Elixir custom light phosphor bronze nano and polywebs. Polywebs sound a bit deeper in tone, but you'll find the one you like.

  • from Covina, CA July 31, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great for the Money

    I would say the best thing about this guitar is its playability and price tag. The sound both plugged in and unplugged is decent due to its solid top. The guitar is easy to play, good action. The construction is also decent. The guitar is great for beginners or for more experienced players on a tight budget. If you are looking for a solid top acoustic with electronics this is a great choice.

  • from Kansas City, MO February 29, 2012Music Background:
    Songwriter, Pianist, Guitarist

    Best Value I've Seen

    I don't own this guitar yet, but I've played one in each of 4 different stores, and they were consistently well-built and sounded incredible. This model has a really balanced tone, almost like a small-bodied guitar, and the neck was straight, the action was low, and it played well with both light and heavy playing styles. And it sounded fantastic plugged in to an acoustic amp as well. For so little money, you can't possibly be disappointed with it. It just sounds so good!

  • from Rome City, IN USA December 28, 2011Music Background:
    student, performer, hobbyist

    Outstanding

    I've had this guitar for about two years now after i bought it new and im still amazed by it every time i set down and strum chord. This guitar has a beautiful rich and full tone and it will blow you away. The electronics in this guitar are outstanding as well, the control plate is simple but effective and i love it. I have owned two acoustics and multiple electric guitars from an Epiphone Firebird and Dot, to a Gretsch hollow body and many more in between and ill always keep this cheap gem through all of it. its my go to acoustic and will be for a long time! I love this guitar and you will to!

Questions about the Fender CD-140SCE - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway