rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Samson C-Control Reviews

3.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • Bill Bobrowski
    from Illinois October 22, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer

    Samson C-Control

    A real necessity for the home studio with seperate control and live rooms.Gives you the control of monitor and/or main mixing. Team it up with the C-Que 8, and have all the headphone sends you'll ever need in a small studio setting. Small in size, but big league features and simplicity make it a real winner!

  • Customer
    from October 11, 2013

    Works as advertised

    I needed flexible routing for multi-monitors with a headphone amp. This works perfectly. Would be a five-star review if this was a passive box, but as-is it fits the bill if you need to add control room capabilities to your interface for a reasonable price tag. Also travels well.

  • Paul Davis
    from Oakland, CA June 21, 2007Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician, Producer

    Works Great but does change sound slightly

    This unit does everything exactly as promised. It fits right on top of my MBox2 and I can easilly route various speaker outputs (PC speaker, MBox, Motu Sound Card) to various speakers ( Main monitors, mixcubes, pc speakers, home stereo) to see how they translate. The unit does definitely change the sound very slightly, and the change is dependent on how hard it is driven at the input and output. But the changes are not significant enough to alter my mix results so it is not a problem. Very handy device, very well designed and thought out.

  • Customer
    from March 4, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer

    Definetaly takes away some signal

    If you need really accurate monitoring then u should consider something else..The c-control is a little lacking in the high and low end

  • Jesse Morgan
    from Los Angeles, Ca. July 21, 2012Music Background:
    Artist, Writer & Music Producer

    Samson C-Control

    The unit is very quick to set-up with very little effort, and very easy to use. However, for professional use I cannot afford to have my sound and quality altered.after putting so much time into gettinh the sound I'm looking for to be changed by this unit. If this is not a factor for you - go for it!

  • Jes
    from USA April 6, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    The Samson CControl, my worst purchase ever.

    I purchased the C-Control because I wanted a monitor unit with a talkback function built in. The C-control looked like it would give me a professional piece of gear without breaking my bank in the process. When I plugged in the unit and started listening to my sound card through it, everything seemed fine. This product doesn't color or alter the sound at all as far as I can tell, and the unit is very compact and very mobile, but those are the only positives I can say about my experience with this unit. If you want a decent talkback unit, I would advise you not to buy the C-control for several reasons. The first reason is the talkback mic is only active as long as the talkback button is pressed and held. The second is there is no dimm function, so the talkback won't dimm the main outputs. But the final reason is the one that is most crucial. Whenever you use Talkback, you want a clear crisp signal. The first time I held the talkback button in, the unit gave me an intolerably loud and excruciatingly painful buzz for as long as the button was held. It was a buzz so loud I couldn't hear myself through the talkback mic! I at first thought it was a problem with one of my electrical outlets, but finally had to face the fact that I wasted almost two hundred dollars for a cheap product that doesn't deliver. Even though I had to send the unit back to Sweetwater, I now have another unit from a reputable and well-respected company. The unit has an excellent talkback feature, is very compact, and is extremely versital for under $200.00 I learned my lesson the hard way. I will never purchase another Samson product again.

  • PHIL LEACH
    from ALABAMA February 9, 2009Music Background:
    40 YRS AS MUSICIAN/ENTERTAINER/RECORDING ARTIST. 8YRS AS ENGINEER

    NOT TOO HOT

    I'M RECORDING WITH A BR-1600,AND USING BX8A ACTIVE MONITORS. THIS ITEM SUCKS THE LIFE RIGHT OUT OF MY PLAYBACK. THE TALK BACK WORKS FINE AND THAT'S ALL I REALY NEEDED IT FOR. SO ROUTING TO SPEAKERS FOR MIXING AND SOUND ROOM PLAY BACK IS DONE WITH RADIO SHACK ABC BOX WHICH WORKS GREAT WHEN HOOKED UP IN REVERSE.I HOOKED TH C-CONTROL DIRECTLY TO THE HEADPHONE BANK AND IMPLIMENTED A FOOT SWITCH FOR OFF-ON.

  • Mark
    from Rockville, MD (Washington DC metro area) October 1, 2005

    Great monitor management solution for project studios

    I do sound design and voice recording/editing for a videogame developer, and I recently chose the Samson C-Control when I needed an elegant talkback system between myself in the control room and voice talent in an adjacent vocal booth.

    As it turns out, the C-Control also afforded me a few other small mixer luxuries such as a universal mute, 20dB dimmer, mono sum and source/output control. My 'main mixer', if you want to call it that, is a Mackie 1402. It serves its purpose nicely, but of course there's no good talkback solution other than homemade mediocre methods.

    I'd definitely recommend the Samson C-Control to anyone else in a similar position who's looking for a talkback solution or any of the above-mentioned monitor management features. The two reasons I chose not to go with the Mackie Big Knob were 1) price, and 2) desktop real estate. I simply don't have any more room for more gear around here!

    Since I'm only running one pair of monitors (Mackie HR824), I haven't yet had to employ the unbalanced B and C outputs, so I can understand the previous reviewer's concern about those being unbalanced while the A outputs are balanced. It seems like they could have added that to this unit without any significant increase in price.

    I definitely recommend this box.

  • Laurie Scott
    from Sacramento, CA USA September 1, 2004

    C Control: Good but only partly "professionsal" grade

    I recently purchased the C Control to easily switch between my near-fields and my mains in my digital studio. It does a fine job for the price, and it's very versatile in it's routing. My one dissapointment is of the 3 main outputs (Speakers A, B & C), only Speaker A has balanced outputs. B and C are both unbalanced RCA connectors. Oddly enough, there are also 3 2-track inputs and outputs, and the first two are 1/4" balanced, and only the 3rd is RCA. Fortunately, my near fields are just that (near) and I only have a very short run of high quality Monster Cables feeding them. My near-fields also have balanced inputs and I could have saved quite a bit on cables if I could have used a short balanced cable to them. But again, for the price, it's a bargain. The RCA outputs don't appear to degrade the overall sound, and the switching capabilites are very good. I would recommend this for anyone on a budget. Save your money buying this unit and spend any extra money in your speakers, where you'll hear a bigger difference.

Questions about the Samson C-Control?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway