0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Composite Acoustics Cargo Travel-size Acoustic-electric - Satin Back, Raw Carbon Fiber Finish Top Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Composite Acoustics Cargo Travel-size Acoustic-electric - Satin Back, Raw Carbon Fiber Finish Top?

Questions about the Composite Acoustics Cargo Travel-size Acoustic-electric - Satin Back, Raw Carbon Fiber Finish Top?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Maine March 19, 2015Music Background:
    Gypsy rhythm

    Love my Cargo

    I travel 50% of the time. they throw it in the hold. they stuff it behind seats. it goes in the over head with people jamming their bags around it. it freezes. it bakes. and it comes out of the gig bag in tune and ready to play. i never worry about it and it never fails to please. Expensive. If you travel worth it. Don't mess around with those wooden folding half scale weird headstock things. play this instead. Owned mine for over a year now and i expect to have it forever.

  • from Long Beach, California February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist Guitar Player, Clarinet, Saxophone, Hermonica Player!!

    I Love Sweetwater Music!!

    I would like to say Thank You to Sweetwater and to Philip Courtney!! I had such a Smooth Transaction and Everything Promised was given. Your Customer Service through Philip Courtney was Outstanding and that is Big in this day and age, when Customer Service barley exist!! My guitar shipped faster than I expected and it was pack up so good there was no way it could ever of had damage to it. My Guitar is Wonderful, Perfect sizes, Plays very Smooth and I Love it!! Thank You Sweetwater you will now be my #1 Music Store for All my purchases!! Thank You Pat Turbyfill (Happy Customer)

  • from Woodbridge,Va October 30, 2014Music Background:
    Pro-Musician

    Great Travel Guitar

    Purchased this guitar 5 years ago. Traveled to,into the interior and from China numerous as well as numerous trips to Europe. Fits nicely in the overhead compartment of all aircraft except the RJ's and small turbo props. It has also traveled down many white water rivers in Alaska and Canada. Own a couple of Martin D-28's but this is my choice for outstanding quality and tone on the road.

  • from Montgomery, AL September 12, 2014Music Background:
    Musical hack, but learning quickly.

    My

    Okay. I have only been playing about a year and have two other guitars. As an airline pilot I was looking for something to carry on my trips. I looked at an HPL Martin and some others but had the opportunity to play a Cargo on a NY layover. Although the price was a little scary, I threw down the $$$$ and have not looked back since. Great feel, great sound, nothing negative to say at all (except maybe being a bit pricey). My Alvarez Yairi and Gretsch Resonator hate this gal since I mostly play her now. I know a lot of purists hate the idea of carbon fiber guitars but I love the rich sound of this as much as the Yairi. As advertised, I went on vacation and carried my Cargo down to TX. Left her in the car a couple of times, took her out and she played lights out without skipping a note.

    As for the Sweetwater customer service-- top notch as usual. When the time comes for me to buy my Gretsch G100 Hollowbody, David Hess and his team will get the call -- Again. Thanks guys.

  • from September 6, 2014Music Background:
    Been playing from 9 yaers of age and now 53, self taught

    Very Happy

    I have owned this guitar four like 4years now and have never been happier with a guitar ! Take on holidays every year, put in over head storage. has never been a problem. I live in Canada and paid 2,400 for it and would do it again but This thing is so good I will never have to buy another ! When home I own 18 Guitars but always find myself back on my Composite Acoustics Cargo, Just TRY ONE !

  • from Canada August 10, 2014Music Background:
    student, nubie

    String change makes all the difference in the world

    Took the Elixirs off and changed to Martin SP mediums. Changed the tone and playability, making this already awesome guitar even better.

  • from Klamath Falls, OR June 25, 2014Music Background:
    Former pro musician, hobbyist, project studio

    Wow, they are really onto something here

    There's two angles you could base a review on: one, all the stuff about how awesome and trouble free carbon graphite is when it sounds and plays this good; and two, the whole topic of the "travel guitar" size and how awesome (or not) it is in THAT context. Very quickly on the first point, just emphatic five stars on this guitar and CA guitars in general. Along with a couple other makers, they have really truly achieved a sound quality and price-point worth serious attention (and customer loyalty. . . now the case for me).
    But relatedly, the other thing about this guitar is that it is so good in its own right, that I'd say it stands on its own merits and shouldn't be thought of as just a travel guitar. This could absolutely be used live, in a pro context, and I bet it will be. While it would be a perfect gift to a learning youth (I guess from a wealthy parent) you don't "need" small hands to appreciate and effectively use this guitar anymore than you would to play a mandolin. The guitar plays incredibly well in normal adult hands IMO. The fret spacing is similar to if you capoed at the second fret. The string tension is indeed a wee bit squishy, but that and the fret spacing are QUICKLY learned and then you have all these other opportunities open up based exactly on those qualities.
    Yes, great because it will never warp or crack, and yes, great because it's small and super tough for travel, but this is 5-stars because it is truly a top-rate guitar for a grand that actually provides something new in form. Oh, and to me it sounds around the area of a Martin 00--like one from the $2000 range.

  • from East Texas August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Traveling musician

    CA Cargo Acoustic/Electric Guitar

    Great travel guitar. Made two trips so far with it playing large conventions with a ministry team that I play with. Played it in Lansing, Mi recently. Flew out of DFW into Detroit Int. Actually had to jog across Detroit airport to a connecting flight to Lansing. Strapped the lite weight Cargo on my back and had no problems. No way I could have done this with my standard guitar and flight case. Also the gate people and flight attendants are much friendlier to you when you carry the guitar carry on board as it fits in all the bins. As for as sound it has a little bit of a "plastic sound" and heavy bass compared to my Martin and Takemine but the sound man helps with that. The ease of carry on to me makes up for this. I am going to experiment with different strings to see how it responds. Also being composite you don't have to worry about leaving it in a hot or cold vehicle for any extended period. If you travel either flying, on the road, or camping with a acoustic / electric guitar I would highly recommend you test one of these out. The people at Sweetwater are great to deal with. Ordered it on the phone and great customer service and positive experience.

  • from September 24, 2014Music Background:
    Working musician

    Well worth a try

    I ordered this guitar to Ontario and it actually shipped in tune! It still goes out of tune but I think that's more the strings than the guitar. The neck is smooth to play, action is consistent, and it's comfortable to play.
    Most importantly, it sounds great! I've had this in use for the past few weeks of shows and have gotten compliments from both the crowd as well as sound engineers. This does not sound small, I use it on stage with two other people using full size carbon body guitars and it has no problem running with the big boys. I bought this to be a backup to my all hard wood jumbo, now it's my starter.

Questions about the Composite Acoustics Cargo Travel-size Acoustic-electric - Satin Back, Raw Carbon Fiber Finish Top?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway