0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Sony C-800G Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Sony C-800G?

Questions about the Sony C-800G?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Marcos Sanchez

    If you're looking for THE vocal mic, then look no further. The C-800G is a legendary microphone, with plenty of gold and platinum records to back it up. This microphone brings out the true character and nuances that vocalists need when they perform. When you pick up this microphone, you'll wonder how you ever got along without it.

  • Carson McClain

    This mic has been used on some of the top vocalists in the world, and on other unlikely new music stars bringing out the true unique elements of their vocals. If you are missing this from your mic locker, you are incomplete.

  • from New York, NY May 6, 2015Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Mixer

    You simply cannot go wrong investing in this microphone

    This was the one missing piece from my studio. I'm fortunate to have the best outboard gear at my disposal. But the one thing I was missing was a 'premier' microphone. I've had a U87 for many years, and it will always be a valued prize in my mic collection. But, when it comes to vocals, the 87 is not a perfect fit for every voice. That Neumann eq presence peak that so many knock-off mics try and emulate can get in the way of some voices. I've used the Sony C800G for many years at other studios, and it had become my first choice when I needed pristine, high fidelity quality for my vocals. For those vocalists that had never used it before, they always came away impressed. And it helps that its distinctive look makes it hard to forget as well. So when a project came in that I wanted to do exclusively at my private studio, I knew I had to FINALLY get my own C800G. Why did I not try and track down a vintage U67 or 47? Excellent question. Of course, those mics are icons for a reason. To many, myself included, those two models are the pinnacle of gorgeous sound. But, at the same time, no two mics sound the same. In the past when I've rented classics such as Telefunken Elam 251's, AKG C 12's, U47's, etc, I always have the provider bring me two, because on any given day, one of those mics is going to sound markedly better than the other. This is because of how the mic has been cared for, and how the electronic components age over time. Generally a 50 year old capacitor will not be operating anywhere near its original tolerance spec'ed at the time of manufacture. Which is exactly why no two classic mic models sound the same. All this said, as most of us do not have technicians on site to repair equipment when it goes down (like all the classic studios did) I couldn't take the chance of investing in a vintage classic that would be put into regular service. That when it dies, I'd have to send away to a specialist who could take an unspecified amount of time to repair it. For a hefty sum...money that I would have already surely lost because I didn't have my 'premier' mic available. Which brings me back to the C800G. Still manufactured to this day, a modern classic, used on countless hits in your music collection, comes with a warranty. But the clincher is, every mic shootout I've done with it, it always wins. Yes, its expensive, but the performances it will inspire with your clients actually saves you time you'd previously spend on editing, tuning and eqing to make it sound like a hit song. And, if time is money, its a bargain.

  • from Atlanta July 3, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer

    Wowsers

    I was fortunate enough to use this microphone while recording a v/o for an internationally recognized superstar. Him and his 2 partner artists use these microphones in their personal studios. The chain was the Sony C going into a TT Cl1b comp, and then into an ssl aws900. Between the artists vocal control, and everything in the signal path, I have never in my life heard a more crisp, clear, and authentic sound in my entire life. To say that he sounded like he was in the room with you is an understatement.

    This is one of the VERY few pieces of gear that would get a 6 / 5 rating.

  • from Israel May 16, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Pro Musician

    wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

    I'm producer from israel,i bought this mic for Hi End vocals sound . . .
    You turn on the the power supply and wait 2-3 hours for the tubes to worm up . . .. .and record !!!!!!

    Then you'll see magic!

  • from Los Angeles, CA September 23, 2009Music Background:
    Sound Designer

    Sony C-800G

    It took a big chunch of change but this is well worth it! To hear this mic check out:
    'One Sweet Day' - Mariah Carey/Boys II Men
    'Endless Love' - Mariah Carey/Luther Vandross
    'The Watcher' - Dr. Dre

    LOVE IT!!

  • from California July 14, 2009Music Background:
    Owner of Infinite Studios, Alameda, California

    I Own Two

    I have used these mics on talking Drums, Percussion tracks, Rap/R&B/Gospel Vocals and more. I did do a telefunken tube mod as well and these babies sing. My first call!

  • from Los Angeles, CA February 23, 2009Music Background:
    Hip Hop Artist

    U HEARD ANYTHING PRODUCED BY DR. DRE? U HEARD THIS MIC!

    first off let me just clarify i do not own this mic...but i been using it faithfully for 8 songs now in the passed 2 months as i have access to an amazing studio in downtown hollywood.

    HANDS DOWN THE KING OF MICS... FOR ANYTHING U CAN PUT IN FRONT OF IT.
    KILLS ANYTHING NEUMANN MAKES...IF YOU HEARD ANYTHING PRODUCED FROM DR. DRE YOUR HEARING THIS MIC! HE USES A NEVE 1073 PRE INTO AN SSL USING THE COMPRESSOR ON THE PARTICULAR CHANNEL STRIP. MY ENGINEER PUTS ME THROUGH THE SAME PRE BUT INTO A SUMMIT AUDIO TLA-100A COMPRESSOR THEN INTO PRO TOOLS HD 192. I NEVER IMAGINED MYSELF TO SOUND SO GOOD AND PROFESSIONAL...THANK YOU SONY FOR THE C-800G...AND SUMMIT FOR YOUR TLA-100a AND MOST IMPORTANT MY ENGINEER JASIN FOR WORKIN IT! MY MUSIC IS NOW AS MIND BLOWING IN QUALITY AS MY SONGS ARE IN GENERAL! IF YOU GOT THE CASH GET THIS MIC!!!!! WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR BALLERS?

  • from Dallas, TX USA February 13, 2009Music Background:
    Professional Recording Engineer

    Unfortunately I can't afford one. :(

    I sure wish I could afford this microphone, but I'm poor. Maybe someday in the future. I'm going to be the best recording engineer some day. That's my life goal. Look for "Jelly" in about 6 years!

  • from Miami, FL February 4, 2009Music Background:
    Recording artist

    sounding good

    I am a recording artist and I had never seen this mic before. I went to this studio one day and I was recording with it and was thinking how amazing it was sounding. Then another artist came in to see if they could use the mic, then another producer came in to ask if they could use it. I was like I didn't know this certain mic was in such high demand. I was thinking... maybe I'll try to buy one for myself... searched the internet, saw the price, **** my pants... simple enough.... incredible mic, worth the price but it's not a necessity for that price.

  • from ny May 25, 2006

    this mic is great!!!!

    this was my first order at sweetwater.. i have to say everyone on sweetwater team is friendly and give great advice there not gonna lie just to make a sale and sell you crap..there gonna work with your budget and give you the best you can get within your budget. i had a fairly good budget when i called and John Bamber at sweetwater suggested this mic. i benn extremely happy with this purchase and will continue to order my gear only from sweetwater....thanks John Bamber

  • from connecticut May 25, 2006

    sony c800g

    i recently bought one of these mics and i have to say if your doing rap,pop,rnb this mic is for you theres nothing better if your into more rock stuff than id say go with an old trusty u87.. match this mic up with an avalon 737,dw fearn,greatriver or neve design preamp and youll have yourself a world class studio sound

  • from Kansas City February 1, 2005

    Owning a Sony C-800g condensor Microphone

    If you are lucky enough to ever come in contact with this microphone you will remember that day. (or those days) I am lucky enough to be the owner of a sony c-800g. I don't think I can say enough about this piece of equipment. It is the most versatile microphone I have ever used. It is so precise and quiet. I have recorded thunderstorms both right over us and... far away storms with just a little sprinkle of rain left and it still picks every little sound including the crickets that you don't even notice. I have recorded vocals of women and men and I get the deep sonic resanance of a low male and crisp glass tonic from a womans voice. I have recorded as drum overhead, and didn't even need to mic any of the toms or cymbals... I even a have used it as a room mic ready for a heavy electic guitar that ran sure 57's in front of a full stack Marshall and a TLS 100 wt head together with a Mesa Boogie full stack run with a triple rectifier 100 wt head and that Sony just kept giving me an extra choice that when I tracked it with the two 57's on each cabinet and the sony out in the room ....WOW what an advantage... It is warm when you need it with vocals. It is so sensitive when you want to hear the reeds on your bow from a cello. If you want ONE microphone...don't bother with Neuman or Manley or Blue or any other classy mic's. You will never be disapointed.

Questions about the Sony C-800G?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway