0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Cordoba C5 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Cordoba C5?

Questions about the Cordoba C5?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Joanie Dodd
    from Bremerton, WA July 8, 2016

    Great Value and Great Sound

    I recently started to play the guitar and have really become interested in fingerpicking and classical style guitar. I really didn't want to spend a lot of money but I really wanted a great sounding guitar. I mean if I'm going to play I want my music to be pleasing to the ear. The sound quality and volume this beautiful guitar produces is mind blowing. I could not be happier with the product from Cordoba and the service provided by Sweetwater.

  • Scott
    from Oregon November 11, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar instructor

    Codoba C5

    I can't believe how good this guitar plays. And it sounds unbelievably good. I can't figure out how they offer this guitar at only $299. Back and sides are laminates. Cedar top is solid. It has a truss rod, so hard tension strings aren't a problem. The tone is somewhat breathy. Typical tone of mahogany and cedar. The frets are dressed at the edges and there are no sharp spots along the fretboard. The action is typical of nylon stringed guitars costing much more. The tuners are great right out of the box. No need to tighten them. No serial number on the tag inside the guitar but fit and finish are excellent.

  • Richard Crawford
    from Austin, TX November 26, 2014

    Very Nice!

    Got this guitar after researching many similar brands and it was the right choice! It was a vast upgrade from other lower-end classical guitars I had access to and now everything I play sounds much, much better thanks to this guitar.

  • Todd Morgan
    from Altamonte Springs Florida November 23, 2014Music Background:
    weekend warrior

    amazing sound and price

    I bought this with no high expectations on the sound, it was so I could learn a style of guitar playing (classical spanish) I receive d this guitar and was expecting the plinky sound you get from nylon string guitars but boy was I wrong, this cordoba has an amazing sound thats both loud and suttle compared to others I checked out and the feel while playing is very comfortable, for the price you just can't go wrong and case I got for it fits like a glove thanks again Roc and Sweetwater for another great reccomendation

  • Peter Workman
    from Cleveland, OH September 26, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great sound at a great price

    I bought this for my 11 year old son, based on the recommendation of his classical guitar teacher. For the price, I expected something pretty mediocre, so I was pleasantly surprised the first time I heard it. This guitar sounds really good! Definitely a 5 star product.

  • Josiah Tobas
    from 7620 NW 63rd Avenue Miami, FL 33166 April 29, 2013Music Background:
    Beginner Guitarist

    Cordoba C5 update

    For the past six months and more I have been playing this guitar and every where I go people always give me good comments on how wonderful it sounds. Some expressed that it as sounded "Sweet" others said with exclamation and with great expression that it sound really good and repeated it over and over.

  • Josiah Tobas
    from Florida, USA January 8, 2013Music Background:
    Beginner Classical Guitarist

    Great Guitar

    I gave this guitar a five star rating because I was very much impressed with the sound, considering the other guitars in it's price range. It surely does give you that clear sound but with a "punch" as it's top is made out of Canadian Cedar. I must say that Cordoba did their best to make this guitar affordable yet create a beautifully sounding guitar.

  • Customer
    from February 25, 2017

    Fine guitar

    I bought mine a couple of weeks ago and I can find nothing about this guitar to complain about. Excellent fit and finish and great tone. Entonation is spot on. Action and relief needed no adjustment. Mine came with a beautiful cedar top. I have never seen a cedar with dark brown striations and it took me by surprise when I first took it out of the box and I wasn't sure I liked it. However, the more I look at it the better I like it. Many people have commented on how beautiful it is!

  • Bob
    from Buckley WA September 11, 2016Music Background:
    Play for my own pleasure

    More for the money

    I have found nylon strings need to be stretched. This may require tuning until they have reached the full potential of staying in tune. It's usually not the guitar that is at fault. I have the C5 and the C10. The C5 is a very good guitar for the money. If someone wants to use it for firewood, then sell it and take your loss and move on.

  • Byron
    from Nashville October 13, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Session Musician

    Solid guitar for beginners to classical

    The guitar did not disappoint in any area.
    It plays great and looks good on top of it.
    For this kind of money it'd be tough to find better.
    The quality control seems tight. I did not find any flaws.
    The tuner winders (not the gears) seem to be made of plastic which, is why it didn't get 5 stars but, for this money, that seems Normal.
    Great guitar at a great price.

  • Zach Rollins
    from Tacoma, WA USA December 10, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Perfect for the price

    I have been using this guitar for over a year now, and compared to other classical guitars in this price, the Cordoba C5 is one of the best products on the market. The playability is more than satisfactory and the quality of the tone is quite impressive for $300. It has a particularly warm sound when played over the sound hole and near the neck. The sharp tone that is achieved by playing near the bridge of a nylon string is not as strong and crisp as it is on higher end guitars, but nonetheless it is a very tonally dynamic guitar. I use savarez strings on my Cordoba, which I think are one the best brands for this guitar.(At least according to my ears). If you are just starting out in classical, or want to upgrade from your current starter classical setup, I would say this model is one of the if not THE best buying options you will find.

  • Customer
    from December 9, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    First Guitar

    My Cordoba C5 is my first real guitar. I came to the guitar from piano and brass-winds. I have had a lot of fun over the last week teaching myself classical guitar from internet resources. I am fortunate to live within a few miles of Sweetwater. What a wonderful resource! The guitar sales staff brought out five guitars for me to choose from, including three C5s, and then patiently played them for me and answered all of my newbie questions. My C5 produces great sound, in spite of my clumsy fingers, and it is sharp looking too!

  • Richard Sewalt
    from Dauphin, Pa, USA February 24, 2014Music Background:
    Beginner

    Classic good looks, great tonal quality and wide fret board are all outstanding in this price range.

    As a retired beginner with minimal past experience, I find everything about this guitar outstanding. For years I heard that Martin guitars are the best and I had a Martin Sigma for awhile. This Cordoba C5 is every bit as good overall as the Martin plus it is easier for me to fret.

    As well I appreciate the personal attention both before and after the purchase of this guitar. The personal phone calls are unheard of in this day and age.

  • Pedro Generalao
    from June 26, 2013Music Background:
    Studio producer and musician.

    Great Deal

    It has a beautiful sound and very nice furniture. It is a fair price for a very good quality. I really would recommend this product.

  • Customer
    from Dallas August 30, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Cordoba

    Beautiful guitar. Sweetwater was great and guitar arrived very fast. Only issue is with buzzes, particularly on the D string. I am a beginner and don't have experience buying many guitars so this might be typical. Just frustrating to push the limits of my budget to find out I need to spend another $40-$50 to have the guitar set-up by a local shop. Though, as far as I can tell the C5 is a good buy even tacking on the cost of set-up. Plan on the cost of set-up though or you may, like me, need to return it since you didn't budget for the set-up cost.

  • Craig R Elliott
    from IL February 15, 2017

    JUNK!

    I am a guitar teacher and suggested this guitar to a few students. I am vey sorry that i did. The necks warped so bad they are no longer playable. Absolute garbage guitar!!!

  • John Long
    from Nevada August 16, 2016

    Trash

    Got it today it's a kind guitar the kind you don't need. It's my first and last Cordoba. I had a 15 dollar guitar that blows this away in fact I used it on two records. This is junk, The neck has to be the worst. It's going under my Mom's bed until we can use it for what its made for firewood. I love Sweetwater but you guys ought to be ashamed for taking a person's hard earned money it's got the pizzazz of a10 day old Pepsi. Congratulations Cordoba you made Silvertone look like a 5 Star collector

  • Customer
    from August 4, 2015

    Cordoba C5 Guitar

    The C5 guitar is well made and has a great tone but is very difficult to tune (using an electronic tuner). String intonation varies widely from one tuning attempt to another even after letting the strings stretch for a while. The D string could not be tuned at all. I had another guitar player try tuning the guitar which made no difference. At this point in time I am wondering if purchasing the Cordoba C5 was a good idea. I remain open to advice from other guitar players on resolving the tuning problem.

Questions about the Cordoba C5?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway